Related to: 'The Witch's Kind'

M.C. Beaton

Hamish Macbeth

Hamish Macbeth is a lanky, tall, red-haired unambitious man who wants nothing more than a quiet life with his beloved dog, but being the police constableof Lochdubh, this is a pleasure that is denied to him as he investigates many peculiar and singular crimes in his beloved Scottish highlands.

Orbit

A Secret History of Witches

Louisa Morgan
Authors:
Louisa Morgan

Discover a magical historical saga of mothers, daughters and the power of witchcraft - perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches, Outlander and Nora Roberts.'Will sweep you away to a time of magic, love, and loss . . . mesmerising' Tish Thawer'It's true, ma petite. If they know - if they discover what we are - they will try to kill us'Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mere Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her. Even so, the Orchires fight to keep the old ways alive, practicing half-remembered spells and arcane rites in hopes of a revival. And when their youngest daughter comes of age, magic flows anew. The lineage continues, though new generations struggle not only to master their power, but also to keep it hidden.But when World War II looms on the horizon, magic is needed more urgently than ever - not for simple potions or visions, but to change the entire course of history.A Secret History of Witches is a moving historical saga that traces five generations of fiercely powerful mothers and daughters - witches whose magical inheritance is both a dangerous threat and an extraordinary gift.*SHORTLISTED FOR THE ENDEAVOUR AWARD*'A deeply satisfying and magical work of great craft' Carol Goodman, author of Incubus'Deftly captures the greatest magic of all: the love between mothers and daughters' Jordanna Max Brodsky'Enthralling . . . Deeply moving and richly conceived' Kay Kenyon'I loved it. A beautiful generational tale, reminiscent of Practical Magic . . . Grounded and real, painful and hopeful at the same time' Laure Eve'Epic in scope and heartbreakingly tender . . . Recommended for fans of Nora Roberts' Booklist

Anne Douglas

Best-selling author Anne Douglas, after a varied life spent elsewhere, has written a number of novels and has now made her home in Edinburgh, a city she has known for many years. She very much enjoys life in the modern capital, but finds its ever-present history fascinating.

Christine Feehan

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Christine Feehan has received numerous honours including being a nominee for the Romance Writers of America RITA and receiving a Career Achievement Award from ROMANTIC TIMES. Visit her at www.christinefeehan.com

E. V. Thompson

E V Thompson was born in London and spent nine years in the Navy before joining Bristol police. He moved to Hong Kong, then Rhodesia and had over 200 stories published before returning to England to become a full-time award-winning writer. He passed away in 2012.

Emma Blair

Emma Blair was a pen name for Scottish actor and author Iain Blair, who began writing in his spare time and whose first novel, Where No Man Cries, was published in 1982. During a writing career spanning three decades he produced some thirty novels, but his true identity remained a secret until 1998 when his novel Flower of Scotland was nominated for the RNA Romantic Novel of the Year award. He was one of Britain's most popular authors and his books among the most borrowed from libraries. Iain Blair died in July 2011.

Emma Fraser

Emma Fraser emigrated to Africa with her Gaelic-speaking parents when she was nine years old and remembers lying in bed and listening to her father playing the bagpipes. She returned to the Western Isles of Scotland years later and went on to qualify as a nurse, working in Edinburgh and Glasgow before leaving to study English Literature at Aberdeen University. Emma began writing when her daughters started school and she has published three historical novels, two of which were shortlisted for the Romantic Novel of the Year Award. Her third book, The Shipbuilder's Daughter, was inspired by, as always, true events - this time by the Glasgow shipyards where her grandfather once worked.Keep up to date with Emma by following her on Twitter (@EmmaFraserBooks) or becoming her friend on Facebook (www.facebook.com/emmafraserauthor).

Frances Brody

Frances Brody is the author of ten mysteries featuring Kate Shackleton as well as many stories and plays for BBC Radio, scripts for television and three sagas, one of which won the HarperCollins Elizabeth Elgin Award. A Woman Unknown was short-listed for the Mary Higgins Clark Award. Her stage plays have been toured by several theatre companies and produced at Manchester Library Theatre, the Gate and Nottingham Playhouse. Jehad was nominated for a Time Out Award.Frances lived in New York for a time before studying at Ruskin College, Oxford, and reading English Literature and History at York University. She has taught in colleges, and on writing courses for the Arvon Foundation.

Hailey Edwards

Hailey Edwards writes about questionable applications of otherwise perfectly good magic, the transformative power of love, the family you choose for yourself, and blowing stuff up. Not necessarily all at once. That could get messy. She lives in Alabama with her husband, their daughter, and a herd of dachshunds.Visit her website at www.haileyedwards.net

Jason Arnopp

Jason Arnopp is a British author and scriptwriter. His background is in journalism: he has worked on titles such as Heat, Q, The Word and Kerrang!. He recently co-authored the Black Mirror tie-in book with Charlie Brooker and Annabel Jones, and has also written comedy for Radio 4 and official tie-in fiction for Doctor Who and Friday the 13th. The cult hit The Last Days of Jack Sparks was the first novel which was entirely Jason's own fault, and it is followed by the chilling supernatural thriller Ghoster.

Jesse Bullington

Born and raised in rural Pennsylvania, Jesse Bullington spent his childhood alternating between deep pine woods and rich libraries. He holds Bachelor degrees in both History and English Literature from Florida State University.

Jo Walton

Jo Walton comes from Wales but lives in Montreal, where the food and books are much better. She writes science fiction and fantasy, reads a lot, talks about books, and eats great food. She plans to live to be ninety-nine and write a book every year.

Jonathan Aycliffe

JONATHAN AYCLIFFE was born in Belfast in 1949. He studied English, Persian, Arabic and Islamic studies at the universities of Dublin, Edinburgh and Cambridge, and lectured at the universities of Fez in Morocco and Newcastle upon Tyne. The author of several ghost stories, he lives in the north of England with his wife. He also writes as Daniel Easterman, under which name he has penned several bestselling thrillers.

Judy Finnigan

Judy Finnigan is a bestselling author, television presenter and columnist. Judy's name became synonymous with discovering and sharing great fiction through the Richard and Judy Book Club, where authors including Clare Mackintosh, Liane Moriarty and Victoria Hislop were championed and brought to the attention of millions of readers. Both Judy's previous novels, Eloise and I Do Not Sleep, were Sunday Times Top Ten bestsellers.

K. J. Parker

K. J. Parker is a pseudonym for Tom Holt. He was born in London in 1961. At Oxford he studied bar billiards, ancient Greek agriculture and the care and feeding of small, temperamental Japanese motorcycle engines. These interests led him, perhaps inevitably, to qualify as a solicitor and emigrate to Somerset, where he specialised in death and taxes for seven years before going straight in 1995. He lives in Chard, Somerset, with his wife and daughter.

Katherine Wilson

Katherine Wilson was born and raised in Wash­ington, DC. She graduated Magna Cum Laude and Phi Beta Kappa from Princeton University, where she was taught by Toni Morrison and Peter Sellars. She has lived in Italy for the past nineteen years, working in television, film and theatre. Most recently, she acted in Giuseppe Tornatore's The Best Offer with Geoffrey Rush and Donald Sutherland. She lives in Rome with her husband and two children.

M. R. Carey

M. R. Carey has been making up stories for most of his life. His novel The Girl With All the Gifts has sold over a million copies and became a major motion picture, based on his own BAFTA Award-nominated screenplay. Under the name Mike Carey he has written for both DC and Marvel, including critically acclaimed runs on Lucifer, Hellblazer and X-Men. His creator-owned books regularly appear in the New York Times bestseller list. He also has several previous novels including the Felix Castor series (written as Mike Carey), two radio plays and a number of TV and movie screenplays to his credit.

Mary Larkin

Mary Larkin was born in Belfast and spent 40 happy years there before moving to the North East of England.

Matthew Crow

Matthew Crow was born and raised in Newcastle. Having worked as a freelance journalist since his teens he has contributed to a number of publications including the Independent on Sunday and the Observer. He has written for adults and YA. His book My Dearest Jonah, was nominated for the Dylan Thomas Prize.

Mike Ashley

Mike Ashley is the author and editor of over sixty books including the bestselling Mammoths Comic Fantasy, Seriously Comic Fantasy and Fantasy, and the crime-fiction collections The Mammoth Book of Locked Room Mysteries, The Mammoth Book of Roman Whodunnits and The Mammoth Book of Historical Whodunnits.He lives in Chatham, Kent.

Nicholas Sparks

With over 105 million copies of his books sold, Nicholas Sparks is one of the world's most beloved storytellers. His novels include thirteen number one New York Times bestsellers. All Nicholas Sparks' books have been international bestsellers and have been translated into more than fifty languages. Eleven of his novels have been adapted into major films - The Longest Ride, The Best of Me, Safe Haven, The Lucky One, The Last Song, Dear John, Nights in Rodanthe, Message in a Bottle, A Walk to Remember, The Notebook and The Choice. For all the latest news from Nicholas Sparks, sign up for his e-Newsletter at www.nicholassparks.com, and follow him on Facebook and Twitter: @NicholasSparks.