Related to: 'Splintered Suns'

Orbit

Ancestral Machines

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley

'Proper galaxy-spanning space opera' Iain M. Banks on Seeds of EarthThe Warcage is a feat of unprecedented stellar engineering: two hundred worlds harnessed to an artificial sun. Built to travel through space as a monument to peace between alien species, its voracious rulers have turned it into a nightmarish wasteland, capturing new planets for slaves and resources, then discarding the old.Now, when a verdant agri-world is pulled out of its orbit and a deal goes bad, it is up to the captain of a smuggling ship to journey into the Warcage and rescue his crew.Science fiction on an epic scale - Ancestral Machines is a stand-alone science fiction adventure set in Michael Cobley's bestselling Humanity's Fire universe. Perfect for fans of Iain M. Banks or James S. A. Corey's Expanse series.For more epic space opera action from Michael Cobley, check out:Humanity's Fire Trilogy:Seeds of Earth The Orphaned Worlds The Ascendant Stars Standalone novels in the Humanity's Fire universe:Ancestral MachinesSplintered SunsAlso look out for Cobley's epic fantasy trilogy, Shadowkings!

Orbit

The Ascendant Stars

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley
Orbit

The Orphaned Worlds

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley

'Proper galaxy-spanning space opera' Iain M. Banks on Seeds of EarthDarien is no longer a lost outpost of humanity, but the prize in an intergalactic power struggle. Hegemony forces control the planet, while Earth merely observes, rendered impotent by galactic politics. Yet Earth's ambassador to Darien will become a player in a greater conflict as there is more at stake than a turf war on a newly discovered world.An ancient temple hides access to a hyperspace prison, housing the greatest threat sentient life has ever known. Millennia ago, malignant intelligences were caged there following an apocalyptic struggle, and their servants work on their release. Now a new war is coming.For more epic space opera action from Michael Cobley, check out:Humanity's Fire Trilogy:Seeds of Earth The Orphaned Worlds The Ascendant Stars Standalone novels in the Humanity's Fire universe:Ancestral MachinesSplintered SunsAlso look out for Cobley's epic fantasy trilogy, Shadowkings!

Orbit

Seeds Of Earth

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley

'Proper galaxy-spanning space opera' Iain M. Banks on Seeds of EarthThe first intelligent species to encounter mankind attacked without warning. Merciless. Relentless. Unstoppable. With little hope of halting the invasion, Earth's last roll of the dice was to dispatch three colony ships, seeds of Earth, to different parts of the galaxy. The human race would live on . . . somewhere.150 years later, the planet Darien hosts a thriving human settlement, which enjoys a peaceful relationship with an indigenous race, the scholarly Uvovo. But there are secrets buried on Darien's forest moon. Secrets that go back to an apocalyptic battle fought between ancient races at the dawn of galactic civilisation. Unknown to its colonists Darien is about to become the focus of an intergalactic power struggle, where the true stakes are beyond their comprehension. And what choices will the Uvovo make when their true nature is revealed and the skies grow dark with the enemy?For more epic space opera action from Michael Cobley, check out:Humanity's Fire Trilogy:Seeds of Earth The Orphaned Worlds The Ascendant Stars Standalone novels in the Humanity's Fire universe:Ancestral MachinesSplintered SunsAlso look out for Cobley's epic fantasy trilogy, Shadowkings!

Agnès Martin-Lugand

After several years as a clinical psychologist, Agnès Martin-Lugand now devotes herself to literature full time. She is also the author of Happy People Read and Drink Coffee (Les Gens Heureux Lisent et Boivent du Café) Michel Lafon 2013, and Happiness Slips Through My Fingers (Entre mes Mains le Bonheur se Faufile), Michel Lafon 2014. She lives in Paris.

Anna Harrington

Anna Harrington fell in love with historical romances--and all those dashing Regency heroes--while living in London, where she studied literature and theatre. She loves to travel, fly airplanes, and hike, and when she isn't busy writing her next novel, she loves fussing over her roses in her garden. Visit her website at www.AnnaHarringtonBooks.com or follow her at @aharrington2875.

Carole Matthews

Carole Matthews is the Sunday Times bestselling author of over thirty novels, including the top ten bestsellers The Cake Shop in the Garden, A Cottage by the Sea, Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses, The Chocolate Lovers' Christmas and Calling Mrs Christmas. In 2015, Carole was awarded the RNA Outstanding Achievement Award. Her novels dazzle and delight readers all over the world and she is published in more than thirty countries.For all the latest news from Carole, visit www.carolematthews.com, follow Carole on Twitter (@carolematthews) and Instagram (matthews.carole) or join the thousands of readers who have become Carole's friend on Facebook (carolematthewsbooks).

Chip Carter

Chip Carter began his trek into the written world with numerous STAR TREK trading cards. After selling a story pitch to STAR TREK: VOYAGER, he wrote the Obsessed With Star Trek trivia book, gift books highlighting Star Trek technology, and continues to work on other licensed products including thousands of questions for licensed Trivial Pursuit sets for THE WALKING DEAD, HARRY POTTER and of course, STAR TREK.

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is the author of the hugely popular Morland Dynasty novels, which have captivated and enthralled readers for decades. She is also the author of the contemporary Bill Slider Mystery series, as well as her new series, War at Home, which is an epic family drama set against the backdrop of World War I. Cynthia's passions are music, wine, horses, architecture and the English countryside.

David Brin

David Brin is the acclaimed Hugo and Nebula award-winning author of ten novels and two collections of short stories. He has a doctorate in astrophysics, and has been a consultant to NASA and a graduate-level physics professor. He lives in California.

David McPhail

David McPhail has been a passionate artist since the age of two. He studied at the School of the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston and began illustrating books for children in 1971. Since then he has helped to create over one hundred books, including the first book starring Baby Bear, I Promise; the celebrated Mole Music, a New York Times Best Illustrated Book of the Year; and the bestselling If You Were My Bunny, Lost!, and Drawing Lessons from a Bear. David lives in New Hampshire.

Diana Murray

Diana Murray loves to sit on her patio writing stories and poems, especially to the sound of passing showers. She is the author of many children's books, including City Shapes, Grimelda: The Very Messy Witch, Doris the Bookasaurus, and more. Her poems have appeared in magazines such as Highlights for Children, and Spider. Diana grew up in New York City and still lives nearby with her firefighter husband, two daughters, a lizard, and a hamster--all of whom enjoy sunny summer days.

Douglas Rees

Douglas Rees is a young adult librarian and also the award-winning author of fifteen children's books, ranging from picture books to YA titles, including Vampire High, The Juliet Spell, Uncle Pirate, and the soon to be published Tyrannosaurus Rex vs. Edna the Very First Chicken. Doug lives in San José, California

Dustin Mackay

Dustin Mackay is an animator and story artist for Disney and most recently worked on Planes: Fire & Rescue and Tinkerbell: Legend of the Neverbeast. Dustin lives in Cypress, California.

Elizabeth Singer Hunt

Elizabeth Singer Hunt is best known as the award-winning author of the SECRET AGENT JACK STALWART chapter book series for younger readers. The 14-book series has been named a 'must read' for boys by the British Education Secretary, serialized by BBC Radio, and featured on Virgin Atlantic Airways' international flights.Elizabeth lives in California with her husband and two children, and is an advocate for the Eco-Soap Bank, a public health nonprofit working to save lives in rural Cambodia.

Emily Lloyd-Jones

Emily Lloyd-Jones grew up on a vineyard in rural Oregon, where she played in evergreen forests and learned to fear sheep. After graduating from Western Oregon University with an English degree, she enrolled in the publishing program at Rosemont College. She currently resides in Northern California, working in a bookstore by day and writing by night. Visit her online at emilylloydjones.com.

Fonda Lee

Fonda Lee is a black belt martial artist, a former corporate strategist, and action movie aficionado. Born and raised in Calgary, Canada, she now lives in Portland, Oregon with her family. Lee is the award-winning author of the YA science fiction novels Zeroboxer and Exo; Jade City is her adult debut.

Heather Child

Heather Child's experience in digital marketing has brought her into close contact with the automation and personalisation technologies that herald the 'big data' age. She lives in Bristol and Everything About You is her debut novel. Find her on twitter at @Heatherika1.

J. R. Ward

After graduating from law school J.R. Ward began working in health care in Boston and spent many years as chief of staff for one of the premier academic medical centres in the US. She lives in Kentucky with her husband.

Jackson Ford

Jackson Ford is a pseudonym.