Related to: 'Burning Ashes'

From the brilliant Libba Bray

The Diviners – amazing new acquisition for Atom

We recently acquired The Diviners, by Libba Bray, which is a wonderfully-drawn tale of Jazz-Age New York. With a heroine who is fierce yet vulnerable, a cast of intriguing characters with prophetic abilities, and a supernatural and sinister serial killer, The Diviners shows off Bray’s remarkable talents as an author and is sure to appeal to lovers of both historical and paranormal fiction.

Orbit

Raising Fire

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett
Orbit

Chasing Embers

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett

'A thrilling fusion of myth and modernity' Kevin Hearne, author of the Iron Druid Chronicles'Blending together the best of action, adventure and urban fantasy . . . Chasing Embers is one of my highlights!' The Eloquent PageFans of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher will revel in this fiery tale of magic, mayhem and modern-day mythology.BEHIND EVERY MYTH THERE IS A SPARK OF TRUTH . . .There's nothing special about Ben Garston.Or so he'd have you believe. He won't tell you, for instance, that he's also known as Red Ben. Or that the world of myth and legend is more real than you think.Because it's his job to keep all that a secret. But now a centuries-old rivalry has resurfaced, and the delicate balance between his world and ours is about to be shattered.Something is hiding in the heart of the city - and it's about to be unleashed. 'Absolutely loving it. Gorgeous use of language, great humour, characterisation and storyline. New fan!' Elizabeth ChadwickReader reviews for The Ben Garston novels:'Ben Garston is one of my all time favourite characters''Brilliant and touching''This is a series I shall devour in flames, with each new instalment''This is a brilliant page-turner. And now Book 2 is out... there's no excuse!'The Ben Garston novels:Chasing EmbersRaising FireBurning Ashes (coming 2018)

Adrian Selby

Adrian Selby studied creative writing at university before embarking on a career in video game production. He is a Tolkien fanatic and an online gaming addict, and lives with his wife and family on the south coast of England. His debut novel Snakewood is an epic and inventive fantasy about a company of mercenaries and the assassin trying to destroy them. You can find Adrian on Twitter, tweeting as @adrianlselby.

Brent Weeks

Brent Weeks studied at Hillsdale College before brief stints walking the earth like Caine from Kung Fu, also tending bar and corrupting the youth (not at the same time). He started writing on napkins and, eventually, someone paid him for it. Brent doesn't own cats or wear a ponytail.

Catherynne M. Valente

Catherynne M. Valente is the New York Times bestselling author of over two dozen works of fiction and poetry, including Palimpsest, the Orphan's Tales series, Deathless and the crowdfunded phenomenon The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making. She is the winner of the Andre Norton, Tiptree, Mythopoeic, Rhysling, Lambda, Locus and Hugo awards. She has been a finalist for the Nebula and World Fantasy Awards. She lives on an island off the coast of Maine with a small but growing menagerie of beasts, some of which are human.

Charles Stross

Charles Stross is a full-time science fiction writer and resident of Edinburgh, Scotland. The author of seven Hugo-nominated novels and winner of three Hugo awards for best novella, two of which are part of the Laundry Files series, Stross's works have been translated into over twelve languages. As the owner of degrees in pharmacy and computer science, he graduated as the world's only academically qualified cyberpunk writer just as cyberpunk died. Today he describes his job as telling lies for money and tormenting his imaginary friends. Follow his blog at http://www.accelerando.org/ and his Twitter feed at @cstross.

Claire North

Claire North is a pseudonym for Catherine Webb, a Carnegie Medal-nominated author whose debut novel was written when she was just fourteen years old. She is fast establishing herself as one of the most powerful and imaginative voices in modern fiction. Her first book published under the Claire North pen name was The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, which became a word-of-mouth bestseller and was shortlisted for the Arthur C. Clarke Award. The follow-up Touch received widespread critical acclaim and was described by the Independent as 'little short of a masterpiece'. Her next novel The Sudden Appearance of Hope won the 2017 World Fantasy Award for Best Novel, and her recent book The End of the Day has been shortlisted for the 2017 Sunday Times/PFD Young Writer of the Year Award. She lives in London.

David G. Hartwell

David G. Hartwell, World Fantasy Award-winning editor and anthologist, and a senior editor at Tor Books, has twice before redefined a genre - first, the horror field with The Dark Descent and, second, with hard SF in The Ascent of Wonder.

David Mealing

David Mealing grew up adoring all things fantasy. He studied philosophy, politics and economics at the University of Oxford, where he taught himself to write by building worlds and stories for pen and paper RPGs. He enjoys board games and card games of all sorts, once spent a summer in Paris learning and subsequently forgetting how to speak French and gave serious thought to becoming a professional bass player before deciding epic fantasy novelist was the wiser choice. He lives in Washington State with his wife and three daughters, and aspires to one day own a ranch in the middle of nowhere.

Elizabeth Moon

Elizabeth Moon served in the US Marine Corps, reaching the rank of 1st Lieutenant during active duty. She has also earned degrees in history and biology, run for public office and been a columnist on her local newspaper. She lives near Austin, Texas, with her husband and their son. Twenty-six of her books are in print, and she won the Nebula Award with her science fiction novel Speed of Dark (also shortlisted for the Clarke Award), and was a finalist for the Hugo in 1997.

Fiona McIntosh

Fiona McIntosh was born in Brighton, and has lived in England, Ghana and France. She currently resides in Adelaide, South Australia, with her husband and two sons.

Gabriella Pierce

GABRIELLA PIERCE is an American who lives in Paris with her two dogs. 666 Park Avenue in the first of three books in the 666 Park Avenue series.

Gardner Dozois

Gardner Dozois edited Asimov's Science Fictionmagazine for twenty years. He has won the Hugo Award for Best Editor fifteen times and has also received numerous Nebula Awards. He lives in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Gareth Hanrahan

Gareth Hanrahan's three-month break from computer programming to concentrate on writing has now lasted fifteen years and counting. He's written more gaming books than he can readily recall, by virtue of the alchemical transmutation of tea and guilt into words. He lives in Ireland with his wife and twin sons. Follow him on twitter @mytholder.

Ian Irvine

Ian Irvine lives in the mountains of NSW, Australia. He has been writing epic fantasy novels for over a decade and is the author of classic series the View from the Mirror, the Well of Echoes, the Song of the Tears and the Tainted Realm. His latest novels, The Summon Stone and The Fatal Gate, are a return to the fan-favourite world of the View from the Mirror.

J. R. Ward

After graduating from law school J.R. Ward began working in health care in Boston and spent many years as chief of staff for one of the premier academic medical centres in the US. She lives in Kentucky with her husband.

Jackie Kessler

Jackie Kessler lives in Upstate New York with her husband, two children, two cats, and about 9,000 comics. Visit her at www.jackiekessler.com

James Clemens

James Clemens was born in Chicago, Illinois in 1961. He now has a veterinary practice in Sacramento, California, where he shares his home with two Dalmations, a stray German Shepherd and a love-sick parrot named Igor.

Janina Scarlet

Dr. Janina Scarlet is a Licensed Clinical Psychologist at the Center for Stress and Anxiety Management and a scientist at Alliant International University. She is experienced in using ACT to treat anxiety, depression, and trauma. In addition, she has contributed chapters to Posttraumatic Stress Disorder, Star Wars Psychology, Star Trek Psychology, The Walking Dead Psychology and Game of Thrones Psychology.

Jeffrey Cranor

Jeffrey Cranor co-writes the hit podcast, novel and touring live show Welcome to Night Vale. He has also written more than one hundred short plays with the New York Neo-Futurists, co-wrote and co-performed a two-man show about time travel with Joseph, and collaborated with choreographer (also wife) Jillian Sweeney to create three full-length dance pieces. Jeffrey lives in New York State.