Related to: 'Chasing Embers'

From the brilliant Libba Bray

The Diviners – amazing new acquisition for Atom

We recently acquired The Diviners, by Libba Bray, which is a wonderfully-drawn tale of Jazz-Age New York. With a heroine who is fierce yet vulnerable, a cast of intriguing characters with prophetic abilities, and a supernatural and sinister serial killer, The Diviners shows off Bray’s remarkable talents as an author and is sure to appeal to lovers of both historical and paranormal fiction.

Orbit

Raising Fire

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett

'Exciting, entertaining . . . This series is swiftly becoming a personal favourite!' The Eloquent Page'You owe it to yourself to read this!' Reader reviewFans of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher will revel in this fiery tale of magic, mayhem and modern-day mythology.Ben Garston has broken the Lore. Now it's time to face the music . . .Life isn't treating Red Ben Garston well. He's lost everything he once held dear, including the love of his life. Still, at least he escaped the clutches of a malevolent spirit bent on total destruction. So there is that.Now Ben just wants to drink, and forget, and drink some more. But he can't. Not yet.Because someone is stirring up trouble. Someone who wants to unleash a powerful ancient magic that could bring the realm of mythology crashing into the modern world.If Ben fails to stop them, the world will burn - and that's the last thing he needs on his conscience.Praise for the Ben Garston novels:'A thrilling fusion of myth and modernity' Kevin Hearne, author of the Iron Druid Chronicles'Blending together the best of action, adventure and urban fantasy . . . Chasing Embers is one of my highlights!' The Eloquent Page'Absolutely loving it. Gorgeous use of language, great humour, characterisation and storyline. New fan!' Elizabeth Chadwick'A superior piece of magical myth-making . . . An extremely promising debut' SFF World'Bennett has done an extremely good job of creating some detailed and believable characters' SFX'Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher are both fair comparisons to Bennett's attempts to fuse fantasy with a modern-day setting' SciFiNowReader reviews for The Ben Garston novels:'Ben Garston is one of my all time favourite characters''Brilliant and touching''This is a series I shall devour in flames, with each new instalment''This is a brilliant page-turner. And now Book 2 is out... there's no excuse!'The Ben Garston novels:Chasing EmbersRaising FireBurning Ashes (coming 2018)

Orbit

The Girl With All The Gifts

M. R. Carey
Authors:
M. R. Carey
Orbit

The Black Prism

Brent Weeks
Authors:
Brent Weeks

EVERY LIGHT CASTS A SHADOWGavin Guile is the Prism, the most powerful man in the world. His strength, wit and charm are all that preserve a tenuous peace. But Prisms never last, and Guile knows exactly how long he has left to live.When Guile discovers he has a son, born in a far kingdom after the war that put him in power, he must decide how much he's willing to pay to protect a secret that could tear his world apart.

Orbit

Storm Front

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher
Orbit

Fool Moon

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher

Meet Harry Dresden, Chicago's first (and only) Wizard P.I. Turns out the 'everyday' world is full of strange and magical things - and most of them don't play well with humans. That's where Harry comes in.Business has been slow lately for Harry Dresden. Okay, business has been dead. Not undead - just dead. You would think Chicago would have a little more action for the only professional wizard in the phone book. But lately, Harry hasn't been able to dredge up any kind of work - magical or mundane. But just when it looks like he can't afford his next meal, a murder comes along that requires his particular brand of supernatural expertise. A brutally mutilated corpse. Strange-looking paw prints. A full moon. Take three guesses. And the first two don't count . . . Magic - it can get a guy killed.'The Dresden Files is my favourite series ever' Patrick Rothfuss, author of The Name of the Wind'Butcher's storytelling is satisfying on a level that's bone-deep' io9'One of the most reliable post-Buffy supernatural thriller series on offer'Time Out'Dresden has a vitality that few urban fantasy heroes can match'SFXThe Dresden Files novels begin with STORM FRONT, and continues with FOOL MOON, GRAVE PERIL, SUMMER KNIGHT, DEATH MASKS, BLOOD RITES, DEAD BEAT, PROVEN GUILTY, WHITE NIGHT, SMALL FAVOUR, TURN COAT, CHANGES, GHOST STORY, COLD DAYS and SKIN GAME.For more of Harry Dresden's adventures, check out the Dresden Files short story collections SIDE JOBS and BRIEF CASES.

Orbit

Grave Peril

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher

Meet Harry Dresden, Chicago's first (and only) Wizard P.I. Turns out the 'everyday' world is full of strange and magical things - and most of them don't play well with humans. That's where Harry comes in.Harry has faced some terrifying foes during his career. Giant scorpions. Oversexed vampires. Psychotic werewolves. It comes with the territory when you're the only wizard in town. But in all Harry's years of supernatural sleuthing, he's never faced anything like this: the spirit world's gone loco. All over town, ghosts are causing trouble - and not the door-slamming, boo-shouting variety. These ghosts are tormented, violent, and deadly. Someone is stirring them up to wreak havoc. But why? And why do so many of the victims have ties to Harry? If Harry doesn't figure it out soon, he might just wind up a ghost himself.Magic - it can get a guy killed.

Brent Weeks

Brent Weeks studied at Hillsdale College before brief stints walking the earth like Caine from Kung Fu, also tending bar and corrupting the youth (not at the same time). He started writing on napkins and, eventually, someone paid him for it. Brent doesn't own cats or wear a ponytail.

Charles Stross

Charles Stross is a full-time science fiction writer and resident of Edinburgh, Scotland. The author of seven Hugo-nominated novels and winner of three Hugo awards for best novella, two of which are part of the Laundry Files series, Stross's works have been translated into over twelve languages. As the owner of degrees in pharmacy and computer science, he graduated as the world's only academically qualified cyberpunk writer just as cyberpunk died. Today he describes his job as telling lies for money and tormenting his imaginary friends. Follow his blog at http://www.accelerando.org/ and his Twitter feed at @cstross.

Christine Feehan

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Christine Feehan has received numerous honours including being a nominee for the Romance Writers of America RITA and receiving a Career Achievement Award from ROMANTIC TIMES. Visit her at www.christinefeehan.com

Claire North

Claire North is a pseudonym for Catherine Webb, a Carnegie Medal-nominated author whose debut novel was written when she was just fourteen years old. She is fast establishing herself as one of the most powerful and imaginative voices in modern fiction. Her first book published under the Claire North pen name was The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, which became a word-of-mouth bestseller and was shortlisted for the Arthur C. Clarke Award. The follow-up Touch received widespread critical acclaim and was described by the Independent as 'little short of a masterpiece'. Her next novel The Sudden Appearance of Hope won the 2017 World Fantasy Award for Best Novel, and her recent book The End of the Day has been shortlisted for the 2017 Sunday Times/PFD Young Writer of the Year Award. In addition to working on her next novel 84K, Claire is also one of three writers contributing to the upcoming Black Mirror book, which ties into Charlie Brooker's award-winning TV series. In between writing, Claire also works as a theatre lighting designer. She lives in London.

Heather Child

Heather Child's experience in digital marketing has brought her into close contact with the automation and personalisation technologies that herald the 'big data' age. She lives in Bristol and Everything About You is her debut novel.

J. R. Ward

After graduating from law school J.R. Ward began working in health care in Boston and spent many years as chief of staff for one of the premier academic medical centres in the US. She lives in Kentucky with her husband.

Jim Butcher

Jim Butcher is the no. 1 Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author of the Dresden Files, the Codex Alera and the Cinder Spires novels. He lives in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado.

Josiah Bancroft

Josiah Bancroft started writing novels when he was twelve and by the time he finished his first, he was an addict. Eventually, the writing of Senlin Ascends began, a fantasy adventure, not so unlike the stories that got him addicted to words in the first place. He wanted to do for others what his favourite writers had done for him: namely to pick them up and carry them to a wonderful and perilous world that is spinning very fast. If he's done that with this book, then he's happy.Josiah lives in Philadelphia with his wife, Sharon and their two rabbits, Mabel and Chaplin.More examples of his work, including updates on upcoming instalments in the Books of Babel series, can be found at www.thebooksofbabel.com.

Lilith Saintcrow

Lilith Saintcrow was born in New Mexico, bounced around the world as an Air Force brat, and fell in love with writing when she was ten years old. She currently lives in Vancouver, WA.

M. R. Carey

M. R. Carey has been making up stories for most of his life. His novel The Girl With All the Gifts was a word-of-mouth bestseller and is now a major motion picture based on his own screenplay. Under the name Mike Carey he has written for both DC and Marvel, including critically acclaimed runs on Lucifer, Hellblazer and X-Men. His creator-owned series The Unwritten appeared regularly in the New York Times graphic fiction bestseller list. He also has several previous novels, games, radio plays, and TV and movie screenplays to his credit.

N. K. Jemisin

N. K. Jemisin is a Brooklyn author who won the Hugo Award for Best Novel for The Fifth Season, which was also a New York Times Notable Book of 2015. She previously won the Locus Award for her first novel, The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, and her short fiction and novels have been nominated multiple times for Hugo, World Fantasy and Nebula awards, and shortlisted for the Crawford and the James Tiptree, Jr. Awards. She is a science fiction and fantasy reviewer for the New York Times, and you can find her online at nkjemisin.com.

Patricia Briggs

Patricia Briggs graduated from Montana State University with degrees in history and German. She worked for a while as a substitute teacher but now writes full-time. Patricia Briggs lives in the Pacific Northwest.

Peter Kenny

Thirty years working as an actor, musician, designer and director in Theatre and Radio; Peter has worked for: A&BC Theatre Co. The Royal Shakespeare Co. and The BBC Radio Drama Co. An award winning narrator of audio-books he has recorded over 100 titles, everything from: Iain M. Banks, Neil Gaiman, and Andrzej Sapkowski to Claire North, Jonas Jonasson Jeremy Vine and Paul O'Grady. He has worked with many of the major publishing houses including, Little Brown, Orion/Gollancz, Hachette, Harper, Hodder, Pan MacMillan, ISIS, RNIB, Podium and Penguin. Visit www.peterkenny.com @PeterKennyVoice

Rowenna Miller

Rowenna Miller grew up in a log cabin in Indiana and still lives in the Midwest with her husband and daughter, where she teaches English composition, trespasses while hiking, and spends too much time researching and recreating historical textiles. Visit her website http:/www.rowenamiller.com