Related to: 'Micro-Resilience'

Center Street

How Great Women Lead

Bonnie St. John, Darcy Deane
Authors:
Bonnie St. John, Darcy Deane

Ama Marston

Ama Marston is an international strategy and leadership expert as well as a recognized thought leader focused on Transformative Resilience and inclusive and purpose-driven leadership and business. She is the founder of Marston Consulting, which has provided services to Fortune 500 and FTSE companies, the United Nations, Oxford University and numerous others. Her work with leaders like Mary Robinson, Ireland's first female President and Joseph Stiglitz, the Nobel laureate economist and as a top advisor to the UN and international NGOs has placed her at dozens of decision-making tables and taken her to work in countries around the world. Ama has long been hailed as a leader and original thinker and has won several awards, including a Council of Women World Leaders Fellowship and Phi Beta Kappa national honors, and was nominated as a World Economic Forum Young Global Leader. She earned a master's degree from Columbia University's School of International and Public Affairs and currently splits her time between the UK and the US.

Amanda Spong

Amanda Spong is a clinical psychologist in the personality disorders community team, which offers adult and specialist mental health services for people with borderline personality disorder. She is the personality disorder pathway lead for the Cambridgeshire & Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust, and offers training and advice for other teams about how to understand and support people with personality disorder.

Anna Fleiss

Anna Fleiss is a digital media specialist living in LA. She has a BA in Visual Media Studies from Emerson College, and has been nominated for an Emmy award for her reality television work.

Benjamin Hardy

Benjamin Hardy is the writer of Slipstream Time Hacking, a self-help phenomenon that has been downloaded more than 200,000 times. In 2016, Hardy was the #1 writer on Medium.com. His writing is informed by his personal experiences - from a troubled upbringing in a broken, drug-afflicted family, to the three children he has fostered with wife Lauren - and passionate interest in self-help and psychology. Hardy is currently studying towards a PhD in Industrial and Organizational Psychology.

Bonnie J. Morris

BONNIE J. MORRIS is a women's history professor at George Washington University and Georgetown University. She is the award-winning author of fourteen books, and her work has also appeared in Ms. magazine. D-M WITHERS, one of the United Kingdom's most respected proponents of women's cultural history, has curated numerous major exhibitions on the women's movement, including Sistershow Revisited and Music & Liberation.

Daniel Freeman

Daniel Freeman is Professor of Clinical Psychology and a National Institute of Health Research (NIHR) Professor in the Department of Psychiatry, University of Oxford

David A. Clark

David A. Clark is one of the best respected names in the field of CBT, with more than 30 years of experience. In Controlling Your Mind he offers practical advice on how to identify problematic intrusive thoughts, correct faulty interpretations of the significance of intrusions, refrain from ineffective mental control strategies and adopt more effective mental self-control using a range of CBT techniques to help disrupt the persistence of damaging thoughts.

David Veale

David is the author of Overcoming Obsessive Compulsive Disorder and Manage Your Mood, along with Rob Willson. He is a consultant psychiatrist in Cognitive Behavioural Therapy at the South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust and the Priory Hospital, North London. He is an Honorary Senior Lecturer at the Institute of Psychiatry, King's College London. He is an accredited cognitive behaviour therapist and President of the British Association for Behavioural and Cognitive Psychotherapies 2006-8. He has about 50 publications to his name, accessible through his website www.veale.co.uk. He has been helping people with depression and anxiety disorders for more than 15 years.

Edmund J. Bourne

Edmund J. Bourne, PhD, has specialized in the treatment of anxiety, phobias, and other stress-related disorders for over two decades. His self-help books have helped over a million people and have been translated into numerous languages. He currently resides in California.

Jason Freeman

Jason Freeman is an experienced writer and editor.

Jason Selk

Dr. Jason Selk is one of the premier performance coaches in the United States, with dozens of professional athletes and Fortune 500 executives as his clients. As the Director of Mental Training for Major League Baseball's St. Louis Cardinals, Dr. Selk helped the team win two World Series championships, in 2006 and 2011. He is a regular contributor to Forbes, ABC, CBS, ESPN and NBC, and has been featured in USA Today, Men's Health, Muscle and Fitness, INC., and Self magazines.

Jean Klein

Jean Klein, master of Advaita Vedanta in the tradition of Ramana Maharshi and Atmananda Krishna Menon and author of many books on non-dualism, spent several years in India going deeply into the subjects of Advaita and Yoga. In 1955 the truth of non-dualism became a living reality. From 1960 he taught in Europe and later in the United States.

Joel Osteen

JOEL OSTEEN is the author of seven New York Times bestsellers. He is the senior pastor of America's largest congregation, Lakewood Church in Houston, Texas. More than 45,000 people attend services there every week. His televised messages are seen by more than 10 million viewers each week in the United States, and millions more in 100 nations around the world. His 24-hour channel on SiriusXM Satellite Radio and millions of social media followers have prompted numerous publications to name him as one of the most influential Christian leaders in the world. He resides in Houston with his wife, Victoria, and their children. You can visit his website at www.joelosteen.com.

John C. Maxwell

JOHN C. MAXWELL, the #1 New York Times bestselling author, coach, and speaker who has sold more than 26 million books, was identified as the #1 leader in business by the American Management Association® and the world's most influential leadership expert by Business Insider and Inc. magazine in 2014. His organizations--The John Maxwell Company, The John Maxwell Team, EQUIP, and the John Maxwell Leadership Foundation--have trained more than 5 million leaders worldwide. Maxwell speaks to Fortune 500 companies, presidents of nations, and many top world business leader

John Harrison

John Harrison has been following a frugal lifestyle for over 30 years. A long-term member of Garden Organic, he runs two popular websites which are visited by hundreds of thousands of people each month. He has been growing vegetables on his own allotment for many years. He uses many organic methods, working with nature rather than against it. He is passionate about the quality of our food and the ecology that supports us all on this planet.John joined Garden Organic (previously the Henry Doubleday Research Association) in 1976 and is a Fellow of the National Vegetable Society, serving on the National Executive.

Jonathan Black

Author Jonathan Black has been Director of the Careers Service at the University of Oxford for the last eight years. Before that, he's had a number of different jobs including: management consultant, professional publisher, co-founder of a start-up company, finance director, aerospace engineer, computer salesman, and strategy director. He has worked in the UK, Europe and the USA, in small businesses and large corporations, private and public sector. In his day job, he works one-to-one with students, presents at international conferences, on the radio and TV, and comes up with new ideas and programmes to help students in schools, university and beyond, to improve their career prospects.

Khizr Khan

Khizr Khan, the eldest of ten children, was born in rural Pakistan in 1950. He moved to the United States with his wife, Ghazala, in 1980. The couple became American citizens and raised their three sons in Silver Spring, Maryland. Their middle son, U.S. Army captain Humayun Khan, a graduate of the University of Virginia and its Army ROTC program, was killed in 2004 while stopping a suicide attack near Baqubah, Iraq, and was posthumously awarded a Purple Heart and Bronze Star. Khizr Khan holds a B.A. degree from the University of the Punjab, an LL.B. from Punjab University Law College, and an LL.M. from Harvard Law School. He is a member of the Bar of the Supreme Court of the United States, the District of Columbia Bar, the New York State Bar, and the American Bar Association. Khan's law practice includes complex civil litigation, electronic discovery, health privacy compliance law, and civil rights and veterans' rights advocacy. He and Ghazala live in Charlottesville, Virginia.

Krista Tippett

Krista Tippett is a Peabody Award-winning broadcaster and New York Times bestselling author. In 2014, she received the National Humanities Medal at the White House for 'thoughtfully delving into the mysteries of human existence.' She is the host of NPR's On Being.

Lee Brosan

Dr Lee Brosan is a consultant psychologist with the Cambridgeshire & Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust. Over a long career she has been Head of the Psychological Treatment Service, Trust Lead for the Development of Psychological Therapies, Clinical Associate at the MRC Cognitive and Brain Science Unit in Cambridge, a founder member of the Cambridge Clinical Research Centre for Affective Disorders, and Associate Lecturer in the Experimental Psychology Department at Cambridge.