Related to: 'Speaking of Death'

AN EXTRACT

THE JULIETTE SOCIETY

In her debut novel, Sasha Grey takes us inside a private, high-profile, sex society where anything and everything can happen. Read the prologue.

Sphere

It Was Her

Mark Hill
Authors:
Mark Hill

Do you want a thriller where nothing is as it seems?Twenty years ago Tatia was adopted into a well-off home, where she seemed happy, settled. Then the youngest boy in the family dies in an accident, and she gets the blame. Did she do it?Tatia was cast out, away from her remaining adopted siblings Joel and Sarah. Now she yearns for a home to call her own. So when she see families going on holiday, leaving their beautiful homes empty, there seems no harm in living their lives while she is gone. But somehow, people keep ending up dead.Did she kill them?As bodies start to appear in supposedly safe neighbourhoods, DI Ray Drake and DS Flick Crowley race to find the thinnest of links between the victims. But Drake's secret past is once more threatening to destroy everything.Will they catch her?PRAISE FOR MARK HILL'A fantastic debut: dark, addictive and original. I couldn't put it down'Robert Bryndza, author of The Girl in the Ice'Grips from the start and never lets up' The Times 'Wreaks havoc with your assumptions. Hill has a hell of a career ahead of him' Alex Marwood, author of The Wicked Girls and The Darkest Secret 'A cracking debut. I can't wait to see more of Ray Drake' Mark Billingham, #1 bestselling author of Love Like Blood and In The Dark 'Utterly gripping, packed with unforgettable characters - and SO well-written. The twists had me reeling!' Louise Voss

Grand Central Publishing

At Peace

Samuel Harrington
Authors:
Samuel Harrington

The authoritative, informative, and practical follow up to BEING MORTAL, on end-of-life care for patients over the age of 65.Most people say they would like to die quietly at home. But overly aggressive medical advice, coupled with an unrealistic sense of invincibility, results in the majority of elderly patients misguidedly dying in institutions while undergoing painful procedures, instead of having the better and more peaceful death they desired.At Peace outlines specific active and passive steps that older patients and their health care proxies can take to insure loved ones pass their last days comfortably at home and/or in hospice, when further aggressive care is inappropriate.Through Dr. Harrington's own experience with his parents and patients, he describes the terminal patterns of the six most common chronic diseases; how to recognize a terminal diagnosis even when the doctor is not clear about it; how to have the hard conversation about end-of-life wishes; how to minimize painful treatments; when to seek hospice care; and how to deal with dementia and other special issues.Informed by more than thirty years of clinical practice, Dr. Harrington came to understand that the American health care system wasn't designed to treat the aging population with care and compassion. His work as a hospice trustee and later as a hospital trustee informed his passion for helping patients make appropriate end-of-life decisions.

Piatkus

Becoming Myself

Irvin D. Yalom
Authors:
Irvin D. Yalom
Piatkus

The Hating Game: 2017's funniest romcom

Sally Thorne
Authors:
Sally Thorne

'Warm, witty and wise.' The Daily Mail'The next Sophie Kinsella.' Bustle'Charming, self-deprecating, quick-witted and funny.' The New York Times'I made a mistake when I first met Joshua: I smiled at him.My best sunny smile with all my teeth, my eyes sparkling with stupid optimism. His eyes scanned me from the top of my head to the soles of my shoes. Then he looked away out the window. He did not smile back, and somehow I feel like he's been carrying my smile around in his breast pocket ever since. He's one up.'Lucy Hutton, baker-of-cakes and usually a determined people-pleaser, has finally had enough. Joshua Templeman is officially her nemesis. Over months in a shared office they've faced off against each other and now that a big promotion is up for grabs, it's time to take him down. But as the tension between Lucy and Joshua reaches its boiling point, it's clear that the real battle has only just begun . . . Perfect for fans of Fiona Gibson's THE WOMAN WHO MET HER MATCH, Christina Lauren's DATING YOU HATING YOU and Sarra Manning's UNSTICKY'A smart and funny modern romance.' Good Housekeeping**RT REVIEWERS CHOICE WINNER****iBooks Best Romance 2016****Amazon Pick Best Romance 2016**

Virago

A View Of The Harbour

Elizabeth Taylor
Authors:
Elizabeth Taylor
Virago

Shared Lives

Lyndall Gordon
Authors:
Lyndall Gordon
Grand Central Publishing

Reason For Hope

Jane Goodall, Phillip Berman
Authors:
Jane Goodall, Phillip Berman
Robinson

Client Centred Therapy (New Ed)

Carl Rogers
Authors:
Carl Rogers
Little, Brown

Best-Loved Poems

Neil Philip, Isabelle Brent, Isabelle Brent
Contributors:
Neil Philip, Isabelle Brent, Isabelle Brent

This highly accessible collection gathers together the best-loved gems of English language verse, from the deeply moving to the hilariously silly. The poems span the entire range of verse from high drama to stuff-and-nonsense and are presented in nine sections: Poems of Childhood and Youth; Poems of Love and Marriage; Poems of Life; Poems of Loss and Comfort; Poems of War and Peace; Poems to Read Aloud; Poems to Read Quietly; Poems of Animals and Nature and Poems of Magic and Mystery.The anthology includes works by William Blake, Dylan Thomas, Seamus Heaney, Robert Burns, T S Eliot, Rudyard Kipling, W B Yeats and many, many more. The poems have all been chosen and arranged by Neil Philip and the volume is illustrated throughout with watercolour borders and decorative motifs by Isabelle Brent, glowing with her trademark gold leaf.

Abacus

The Search For Shangri-La

Charles Allen
Authors:
Charles Allen

The idea of a hidden refuge, a paradise far from the stresses of modern life, has universal appeal. In 1932 the writer James Hilton coined the word 'Shangri-La' to describe such a place, when he gave that name to a hidden valley in the Himalayas in his novel LOST HORIZON.In THE SEARCH FOR SHANGRI-LA acclaimed traveller and writer Charles Allen explores the myth behind the story. He tracks down the sources that Hilton drew upon in writing his popular romance, and then sets out to discover what lies behind the legend that inspired him. In the course of a lively and amusing account of his four journeys into Tibet, Allen also gives us a controversial new reading of the country's early history, shattering our notions of Tibet as a Buddhist paradise and restoring the mysterious pre-Buddhist religion of Bon to its rightful place in Tibetan culture. He also locates the lost kingdom of Shang-shung and, in doing so, the original Shangri-La itself: in an astounding gorge beyond the Himalayas, full of extraordinary ruins.

Abacus

A Tall Man In A Low Land

Harry Pearson
Authors:
Harry Pearson

Most British travel writers head south for a destination that is hot, exotic, dangerous or all three. Harry Pearson chose to head in the opposite direction for a country which is damp, safe and of legendary banality: Belgium. But can any nation whose most famous monument is a statue of a small boy urinating really be that dull? Pearson lived there for several months, burying himself in the local culture. He drank many of the 800 different beers the Belgians produce; ate local delicacies such as kip kap (jellied pig cheeks) and a mighty tonnage of chicory and chips. In one restaurant the house speciality was 'Hare in the style of grandmother'. 'I didn't order it. I quite like hare, but had no wish to see one wearing zip-up boots and a blue beret.' A TALL MAN IN A LOW LAND commemorates strange events such as The Festival of Shrimps at Oostduinkerke and laments the passing of the Underpant Museum in Brussels. No reader will go away from A TALL MAN IN A LOW LAND without being able to name at least ten famous Belgians. Mixing evocative description and low-grade buffoonery Harry Pearson paints a portrait of Belgium that is more rounded than a Smurf after a night on the mussels.

Abacus

The Far Corner

Harry Pearson
Authors:
Harry Pearson
Virago

Wouldn't Take Nothing For My Journey Now

Maya Angelou
Authors:
Maya Angelou
Robinson

The Carl Rogers Reader

Howard Kirschenbaum
Authors:
Howard Kirschenbaum

This volume stands as a splendid introduction to the life and work of a pioneering psychotherapist. Selections ranging from 1942 to 1987 provide a personal look at his early influences and marriage, and reveal his approach to psychotherapy, individual case studies, research, and even crosscultural efforts to improve communication with professionalsin the Soviet Union. We see the beginning of "client-centered" therapy and can trace Rogers's commitment to its ideas through a lifetime.

Irvin D. Yalom

Dr Irvin Yalom is an emeritus professor of psychiatry at Stanford University and the author of many books, including Creatures of a Day and the bestselling Love's Executioner. He and his wife, the author Marilyn Yalom, live in Palo Alto, California.

Mary C. Morrison

Mary C. Morrison was born in New Hampshire and raised in Virginia, Maryland and Florida. A graduate of Smith College, she described herself as 'a compulsive writer from the age of seven'. At age 70, she learned Greek so she could interpret the New Testament herself. She began to write Let Evening Come after an Episcopal priest asked her to give a talk on ageing. Mary Morrison died in 2003. She is survived by three children, eight grandchildren and six great-grandchildren.

Peter Cooper

Peter Cooper is Professor of Psychology at the University of Reading. He is also a practising clinical psychologist and Series Editor of the 'Overcoming' series. Peter Cooper is Professor of Psychopathology at the Winnicott Research Unit at the University of Reading. Recognised as one of the world's experts in the treatment of bulimia he has more recently focused on the treatment of postpartum depression.

Samuel Harrington

Samuel Harrington, MD, an honors graduate of Harvard College and the University of Wisconsin Medical School, concentrated his practice at Sibley Memorial Hospital. His work as Sibley's patient safety officer representative to the Johns Hopkins Medicine Board of Trustees and his service on the board of trustees of a nonprofit hospice in Washington D.C. has brought Dr. Harrington into the discussion of end of life medical care.

Sue Morris

SUE MORRIS is a CBT-trained clinical psychologist and director of bereavement services at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, USA. She has previously worked in community mental health and private practice in Sydney, Australia. She is the author of An Introduction to Coping with Grief and has co-authored four self-help books about relationships and motherhood.

Vidyamala Burch

Vidyamala Burch is the co-founder of the well-respected Breathworks organisation. She has taught meditation for over two decades as a member of the Triratna Buddhist Community.