Related to: 'Authentic'

AN EXTRACT

THE JULIETTE SOCIETY

In her debut novel, Sasha Grey takes us inside a private, high-profile, sex society where anything and everything can happen. Read the prologue.

Piatkus

What Doesn't Kill Us

Stephen Joseph
Authors:
Stephen Joseph

Research has shown than anywhere from 30 to 90 per cent of people confronted by tragedy, horror and adversity emerge as wiser, more mature and more fulfilled people, sometimes despite great sadness. Relationships become stronger. Perspectives on life change. Inner strengths are found.For the past twenty years, Stephen Joseph has worked with survivors of trauma and sufferers of posttraumatic stress. In this groundbreaking book, he boldly challenges the notion that trauma and its aftermath devastate and destroy the lives. His studies have shown that a wide range of traumatic events - from illness, separation, assault and bereavement to accidents, natural disasters and terrorism - can act as catalysts for positive change, strengthening relationships, changing one's perspective and revealing inner strengths.In What Doesn't Kill Us, Stephen Joseph shares the six steps we can all use to manage our emotions and navigate adversity to find new meaning, purpose and direction in our lives.

Barney Hoskyns

Barney Hoskyns is the co-founder and editorial director of online rock-journalism library Rock's Backpages (www.rocksbackpages.com), and author of several books including Across the Great Divide: The Band & America (1993), Waiting for the Sun: Strange Days, Weird Scenes, & the Sound of Los Angeles (1996), Hotel California: Singer-Songwriters & Cocaine Cowboys in the LA Canyons (2005) and Lowside of the Road: A Life of Tom Waits (2009). A former US correspondent for MOJO, Hoskyns writes for Uncut and other UK publications, and has contributed to Vogue, Rolling Stone and GQ.

Colin Espie

Colin A. Espie PhD, DSc is Professor of Sleep Medicine in the Nuffield Department of Clinical Neuroscience and a Fellow of Somerville College, University of Oxford. He is Research Director of the Experimental and Clinical Sleep Medicine program within the Sleep & Circadian Neuroscience Institute, and Clinical Director of the Oxford Online Program in Sleep Medicine. Dr Espie has authored/co-authored over 200 publications and books, particularly on CBT, and is co-founder of Big Health (Sleepio) which develops digital interventions for insomnia.

Derrick Silove

Professor Silove is the author of Overcoming Panic and the Overcoming Panic and Agoraphobia Self-help Course, along with Vijaya Manicavasagar. He is a clinical psychiatrist and Director of the Centre for Population Mental Health Research and the Psychiatry Research and Teaching Unit at the School of Psychiatry, the University of New South Wales. He has worked for many years in the area of anxiety and traumatic stress, his main area of clinical work, research, service development and teaching.

Greg Goode

Dr. Greg Goode is known for a unique combination of penetrating insight, comfort with both Eastern and Western sources, and a down-to-earth sense of humor. He is the author of Standing as Awareness, Nondualism in Western Philosophy and many popular articles. Greg studied psychology at the University of California, and philosophy at the University of Rochester and the Universität zu Köln. He became drawn to self-inquiry initially through the work of Brand Blanshard, George Berkeley, the Chinmaya Mission and Arsha Vidya Gurukulam. Greg's spiritual search came to its sweet conclusion through the Direct-Path influences of Francis Lucille and Sri Atmananda. Greg is a member of the American Philosophical Practitioners Association and serves as the technical consultant for their peer-reviewed journal, Philosophical Practice.

Helen Kennerley

Dr Helen Kennerley works as a consultant at the highly regarded Oxford Cognitive Therapy Centre. In 2002 she was shortlisted by the British Association for Behavioural and Cognitive Psychotherapies for the award of most influential female cognitive therapist in Britain. She is the author of Overcoming Anxiety, Overcoming Childhood Trauma and How to Beat Your Fears and Worries.

Irvin D. Yalom

Dr Irvin Yalom is an emeritus professor of psychiatry at Stanford University and the author of many books, including Creatures of a Day and the bestselling Love's Executioner. He and his wife, the author Marilyn Yalom, live in Palo Alto, California.

Jean Klein

Jean Klein, master of Advaita Vedanta in the tradition of Ramana Maharshi and Atmananda Krishna Menon and author of many books on non-dualism, spent several years in India going deeply into the subjects of Advaita and Yoga. In 1955 the truth of non-dualism became a living reality. From 1960 he taught in Europe and later in the United States.

Joel Osteen

JOEL OSTEEN is the author of seven New York Times bestsellers. He is the senior pastor of America's largest congregation, Lakewood Church in Houston, Texas. More than 45,000 people attend services there every week. His televised messages are seen by more than 10 million viewers each week in the United States, and millions more in 100 nations around the world. His 24-hour channel on SiriusXM Satellite Radio and millions of social media followers have prompted numerous publications to name him as one of the most influential Christian leaders in the world. He resides in Houston with his wife, Victoria, and their children. You can visit his website at www.joelosteen.com.

John C. Maxwell

JOHN C. MAXWELL, the #1 New York Times bestselling author, coach, and speaker who has sold more than 26 million books, was identified as the #1 leader in business by the American Management Association® and the world's most influential leadership expert by Business Insider and Inc. magazine in 2014. His organizations--The John Maxwell Company, The John Maxwell Team, EQUIP, and the John Maxwell Leadership Foundation--have trained more than 5 million leaders worldwide. Maxwell speaks to Fortune 500 companies, presidents of nations, and many top world business leader

Jon Kabat-Zinn

Jon Kabat-Zinn, PhD, is founding Executive Director of the Center for Mindfulness in Medicine, Health Care, and Society at the University of Massachusetts Medical School. He is also the founding director of its renowned Stress Reduction Clinic and Professor of Medicine emeritus at the University of Massachusetts Medical School. He teaches mindfulness and Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) in various venues around the world. He received his Ph.D. in molecular biology from MIT in 1971 in the laboratory of Nobel Laureate, Salvador Luria.He is the author of numerous bestselling books about mindfulness and meditation. Overall, his books have been translated into over 30 languages.

Lauren Handel Zander

Lauren Handel Zander is a life coach, university lecturer, and public speaker. As Co-Founder and Chairman of Handel Group, an international corporate consulting and private coaching company, she has coached countless private clients: professors, politicians, award-winning artists, and Fortune 500 CEOs. The Handel Method has been taught at MIT, Stanford University, NYU, and in the New York City Public School System. Lauren has also led seminars and conferences all over the world and has contributed to The New York Times, Forbes, Self, Women's Health, Vogue, Marie Claire, Elle, and The Huffington Post.

Leonora Brosan

Dr Lee Brosan is a consultant psychologist with the Cambridgeshire & Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust. Over a long career she has been Head of the Psychological Treatment Service, Trust Lead for the Development of Psychological Therapies, Clinical Associate at the MRC Cognitive and Brain Science Unit in Cambridge, a founder member of the Cambridge Clinical Research Centre for Affective Disorders, and Associate Lecturer in the Experimental Psychology Department at Cambridge.

Marie Chellingsworth

Marie Chellingsworth is Executive Director of CBT Programmes at the University of East Anglia. Prior to this, she was Director of training programmes for Psychological Wellbeing Practitioners (PWPs) and undergraduate Applied Psychology students at the universities of Nottingham and Exeter. She has worked at national level within the Department of Health, BABCP and BPS committees and Chairs the national IAPT conferences and National Networking Forum for Low Intensity Workers/PWPs.

Melanie Fennell

Melanie Fennell is one of the pioneers of cognitive therapy for depression in the UK and developed the Oxford Diploma in Cognitive Therapy and Oxford/MSc in Advanced Cognitive Therapy. She is a research clinician in the Oxford Mindfulness Centre and teaches on the Masters Degree in MBCT in Oxford University.

Michelle Knight

Michelle Knight, now known as Lillian Rose Lee, is an artist, author, speaker, and a survivor living in Cleveland, Ohio. Lily is passionate about inspiring others and now spends most of her time helping animals and volunteering at local shelters, creating art, and advocating for change to ensure others are safe from the experience she has overcome.

Nikki Van De Car

Nikki Van De Car is a blogger, knitter, and mother whose books What To Knit When You're Expecting and What To Knit: The Toddler Years chronicle the way her knitting changed as her daughter grew. Her popular knitting blog has received over 1.5 million pageviews since its inception in June 2008, and her patterns have been published in Interweave and Ply magazines, among others. Nikki lives in Hawaii with her family.

Paul Farrand

Paul Farrand is an Associate Professor and Director of Post-Graduate Psychological Wellbeing Practitioner (PWPs) clinical training programmes within Clinical Education, Development and Research (CEDAR) at the University of Exeter. He is involved in various Department of Health education, training and accreditation committees and chairs related committees within the British Psychological Society (BPS) and BABCP.

Peter Cooper

Peter Cooper is Professor of Psychology at the University of Reading. He is also a practising clinical psychologist and Series Editor of the 'Overcoming' series. Peter Cooper is Professor of Psychopathology at the Winnicott Research Unit at the University of Reading. Recognised as one of the world's experts in the treatment of bulimia he has more recently focused on the treatment of postpartum depression.

Ramesh Manocha

Dr Ramesh Manocha is an Australian GP and researcher based at the Discipline of Psychiatry, Sydney Medical School, Sydney University, where he coordinates the Meditation Research Programme. For the past 15 years he has conducted clinical trials and scientific investigations into the practical applications of meditation. As a result he is now recognised as a leading authority in this field. Recently, Dr Manocha founded Generation Next a national education programme aimed at educating professionals and parents about the mental health crisis facing our young people and how it to deal with it. He is also recognised as a leading developer of professional education resources in the field of women's and children's health, mental health and adolescent medicine. For more information visit: http://www.beyondthemind.com