Related to: 'The House of Eyes'

Piatkus

The Mechanical Devil

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Sphere

The Mole Catcher's Daughter

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Mermaid's Scream

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

Why did Wynn Staniland, a legend in the literary world, suddenly become a recluse in the 1980s? Most assumed he stopped writing because of his wife's bizarre suicide; a death that mirrored a murder case from the nineteenth century. And now a promising young author called Zac Wilkinson is working on Staniland's biography and hopes to reveal the true story to a waiting world - while at the same time keeping his own troubled past hidden from public view.When Wilkinson is found brutally murdered, DI Wesley Peterson finds links to the unexplained poisoning of a middle-aged couple at a local caravan park - and Wynn Staniland appears to be the connection.As Wesley delves further into the case he suspects a sinister puppet show might provide the solution: a grim re-enactment of the murder of Mary Field, a cause celebre from the reign of Queen Victoria that inspired Staniland's best-known novel.The case becomes personal for Wesley when he discovers his son is involved, and as he begins to unravel decades of secrets and deception, the shocking truth proves almost too much to bear . . .

Piatkus

A High Mortality of Doves

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

1919. The Derbyshire village of Wenfield is still reeling from four terrible years of war, and now, just when the village is coming to terms with the loss of so many of its sons, the brutal murder of a young girl shatters its hard-won tranquillity.Myrtle Bligh is found stabbed and left in woodland, her mouth slit to accommodate a dead dove, a bird of peace. During the war Myrtle worked as a volunteer nurse with Flora Winsmore, the local doctor's daughter, caring for badly wounded soldiers at the nearby big house, Tarnhey Court.When two more women are found murdered in identical circumstances, Inspector Albert Lincoln is sent up from London, a man not only wounded in war but damaged in peace by the death of his young son and his cold, loveless marriage. Once in Wenfield, Albert begins to investigate the three recent murders and the Cartwright family of Tarnhey Court and their staff fall under suspicion as their hidden lives and secrets are uncovered. With rumours of a ghostly soldier with a painted face being spotted near the scene of the murders, the village is thrown into a state of panic - and with the killer still on the loose, who will be the next to die at the hands of this vicious angel of death?

Piatkus

The Death Season

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

A complex case . . .When DI Wesley Peterson is summoned to investigate a killing, he assumes that the case is a routine matter. But soon dark secrets and deadly deceptions start to emerge from the victim's past, and Wesley begins to realise that a simple incident of cold-blooded murder is altogether more calculated and complicated that he could ever imagine. Tracing back through time . . .Meanwhile, archaeologist Neil Watson is pulled from the historic Paradise Court to a ruined village from the First World War. Even with the help of the attractive and enigmatic Lucy, Neil cannot shake the feeling that something is missing from his explorations: a cryptic clue that might have been lost when Sandrock tumbled into the sea many years ago. A clue that could help Wesley solve his most puzzling case to date. DI Wesley Peterson is standing on the edge . . . As more victims fall prey to a faceless killer, Wesley sees the investigation affecting him more personally than ever before. And when his precious family becomes a target, Wesley has no time to lose. Just like the fallen village of Sandrock, Wesley will have to stand tall if he is to withstand the coming storm . . .

Piatkus

The Shroud Maker

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

A grisly find . . .A year on from the mysterious disappearance of Jenny Bercival, DI Wesley Peterson is called in when the body of a strangled woman is found floating out to sea in a dinghy.The discovery mars the festivities of the Palkin Festival, held each year to celebrate the life of John Palkin, a fourteenth century Mayor of Tradmouth who made his fortune from trade and piracy. And now it seems like death and mystery have returned to haunt the town. A faceless enemy . . .Could there be a link between the two women? One missing, one brutally murdered? And is there a connection to a fantasy website called Shipworld which features Palkin as a supernatural hero with a sinister, faceless nemesis called the Shroud Maker?Will history repeat itself once again?When archaeologist Neil Watson makes a grim discovery on the site of Palkin's warehouse, it looks as if history might have inspired the killer.And it is only by delving into the past that Wesley comes to learn the truth . . . a truth that will bring mortal danger in its wake.

Piatkus

The Shadow Collector

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

Lilith Benley and her mother, rumoured to be witches, were convicted of the brutal murder of two teenage girls. Eighteen years later Lilith is released from prison, and shortly after she returns to her old home, a young woman is found dead at a neighbouring farm where a celebrity reality TV show is being filmed. When DI Wesley Peterson is called in to investigate he has to deal with fragile egos and hidden truths, as well as the possibility that Lilith Benley has killed again.Meanwhile, archaeologist Neil Watson discovers a gruesome wax doll at a house that once belonged to a woman hanged for witchcraft in the seventeenth century. And when Neil has a near fatal accident, some suspect a supernatural connection.Even though Wesley has problems closer to home to solve, it is up to him to uncover terrible secrets, banish dark shadows collected in the past and bring a dangerous killer to justice - a killer who will stop at nothing to dispense vengeance and death.

Piatkus

The Cadaver Game

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Marriage Hearse

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Merchant's House

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

Seeking The Dead

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Flesh Tailor

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

A Cursed Inheritance

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

The brutal massacre of the Harford family at Potwoolstan Hall in Devon in 1985 shocked the country and passed into local folklore. And when a journalist researching the case is murdered twenty years later, the horror is reawakened. Sixteenth century Potwoolstan Hall, now a New Age healing centre, is reputed to be cursed because of the crimes of its builder, and it seems that inheritance of evil lives on as DI Wesley Peterson is faced with his most disturbing case yet. As more people die violently, Wesley needs to discover why a young woman has transformed a dolls house into a miniature reconstruction of the massacre scene. And could the solution to his case lie across the Atlantic Ocean, in the ruined remains of an early English settlement in Virginia USA? When the truth is finally revealed, it turns out to be as horrifying as it is dangerous.

Piatkus

An Unhallowed Grave

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Funeral Boat

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Armada Boy

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

Four centuries, two murders, one motive...When the body of US army veteran Norman Oppenheim is discovered in the ruins of an old chapel, Tradmouth quickly becomes the scene of a disturbing murder inquiry for DS Wesley Peterson.As the investigation deepens, DS Wesley and his team soon realise that there's no shortage of motives amongst the residents of Tradmouth and with the list of suspects growing every day, is there anyone left that they can trust?The stakes are raised when a near identical crime comes to light but there's just one problem - it happened over 400 years ago.As DS Wesley pieces together new evidence with old, he soon discovers a horrific truth that has remained buried deep in the past. Until now.But with time running out, is it already too late...?A gripping and thoroughly chilling police procedural with a nail-biting ending - perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Elly Griffiths.Read why people are loving Kate Ellis'I hardly put this novel down from the moment I picked it up. Oh yes, and as with all great crime novels, I would never have guessed 'whodunnit'!!' Amazon Reviewer, 5 stars'Kate Ellis and Wesley Peterson have done it again. Strong characters, strong plotting, no detail escapes Kate Ellis.' Amazon Vine Reviewer, 5 stars'Enjoyed the first in the series but through this was even better!' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars'It's fast paced with twists and turns guaranteed to keep you hooked right until the final page.' York Evening Press'A cracking multi-layered mystery with red-herrings a-plenty...an outstanding read. Highly recommended!' In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel

Piatkus

Playing With Bones

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

Is the Doll Strangler back? Or is a copycat killer on the loose...?Singmass Close has a sinister past. Reputedly haunted by the ghosts of children, in the 50s it was the hunting ground of the Doll Strangler, a ruthless killer who was never brought to justice. Now DI Joe Plantagenet wonders whether a copycat killer is at work when the strangled body of teenager Natalie Parkes is found in the same close, a mutilated doll lying by her side.With the recent disappearance of a young female model and an escaped convict at large, this new, horrific murder stretches Joe's team to their limit. But as the bodies start mounting up and Joe's questioning brings him closer to the real strangler, he comes to suspect a shockingly creepy connection between all three cases...

Piatkus

A Perfect Death

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

When a woman is burned to death in Grandal Field in Devon, it seems like a case of mistaken identity. Until DI Wesley Peterson learns of a legend involving a French woman who burned to death there in the thirteenth century. And when he discovers that records of a previous excavation on the site have vanished, and that two archaeologists involved in that dig died in tragic circumstances, Wesley starts to investigate the possibility of a link between the legend and recent events.But edging closer to the truth brings unexpected danger to Wesley. For the truth echoes a story of twisted love and obsession from many centuries ago - a truth that almost costs Wesley his life . . .

Piatkus

The Bone Garden

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

An excavation at the lost gardens of Earlsacre Hall is called to a halt when a skeleton is discovered under a 300 year old stone plinth, a corpse that seems to have been buried alive. But DS Wesley Peterson has little time to indulge in his hobby of archaeology. He has a more recent murder case to solve. A man has been found stabbed to death in a caravan at a popular holiday park and the only clue to his identity is a newspaper cutting about the restoration of Earlsacre. Does local solicitor Brian Willerby have the answer? He seems eager to talk to Wesley but before he can reveal his secret he is found dead during a 'friendly' game of village cricket, apparently struck by a cricket ball several times with some force. If Wesley is looking for a demon bowler this appears to let out most of the village side. But what is it about Earlsacre Hall that leads people to murder?

Piatkus

The Plague Maiden

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis