Related to: 'Garden of Lies'

Piatkus

The Other Lady Vanishes

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick
Piatkus

The Girl Who Knew Too Much

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick
Piatkus

'Til Death Do Us Part

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick
Piatkus

Otherwise Engaged

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick

One does not expect to be kidnapped on a London street in broad daylight. Yet Amity Doncaster barely escapes with her life after meeting a man in a black silk mask who whispers the most vile taunts and threats into her ear. Her quick thinking, and her secret weapon, save her - for now. But the monster known in the press as the Bridegroom has left a trail of female victims in his wake, and will soon be on his feet again. He is unwholesomely obsessed by Amity's scandalous connection to Benedict Stanbridge - and Benedict refuses to let this resourceful, daring woman suffer for her romantic link to him-as tenuous as it may be. For a man and woman so skilled at disappearing, so at home in the exotic reaches of the globe, escape is always an option. But each intends to end the Bridegroom's reign of terror in the heart of the city they love, which means they must also face feelings neither of them can run away from. . . .

Piatkus

The Mystery Woman

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick
Piatkus

Crystal Gardens

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick

Welcome to the sensational new Ladies of Lantern Streetseries by Amanda Quick, where the lives of the Victorian gentry are filled with secrets - and secret powers . . .Novelist and professional companion Evangeline Ames has rented a cottage on the outskirts of Little Dixby, far from the London streets where she was recently attacked. Fascinated by the paranormal energy of nearby Crystal Gardens, she instinctively goes there for safety where she meets Lucas Sebastian.Lucas and Evangeline immediately sense each other's psychic talents, as well as their mutual desire. But who wants Evangeline dead? With Evangeline's skill for detection, and Lucas's sense of the criminal mind, they soon discover that they share a common enemy. And as the dangerous energy emanating from Crystal Gardens grows stronger, they realise that to survive they must unearth what has been buried for too long.

Piatkus

Wicked Widow

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick

Madeline Deveridge is aware of the whispers behind her back, the rumours that she dispatched her husband to the next world and concealed her crime. But she has a far more pressing problem than her reputation as the Wicked Widow. It's impossible to believe that her late husband is haunting her and her aunt, but something odd is happening, and Madeline doesn't dare take chances. Summoning the brilliant, reclusive Artemas Hunt, secret owner of London's favorite pleasure pavilions and master of arcane talents, she blackmails him into providing help. As soon as the bargain is struck, Artemas and Madeline find their arrangement complicated by searing desire, and the frightening recognition that the ghost poses a very real danger. Now they must plunge into a world of intrigue and ancient mysteries, where a calculating killer - and a tantalising passion - will not be denied.

Piatkus

Wait Until Midnight

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick

Adam Hardesty has a serious problem. The secrets of his past are in danger of being exposed, and in the course of investigating his would-be blackmailer, he discovers the dead body of a prominent psychic. To make matters worse, her house has been torn apart, and the diary containing Adam's secrets is missing. His only lead is a list of the psychic's last visitors. The most likely suspect is a woman named Mrs. Caroline Fordyce, whom he confronts in her parlour, only to discover an inconvenient attraction to the beautiful young widow. Alarmed by Adam's insinuations and questions, Caroline concludes that she must conduct her own investigation- if she can discover the true killer, Adam will have no reason to expose her connection to the dead psychic, which would cause a scandal she and her aunts could ill-afford. Besides, her life has been boringly uncomplicated for too long, and the exciting tension she feels around Adam presents a welcome alternative to her mundane daily routine. But as Caroline and Adam journey deeper into the shadowy world of psychics, mediums and con artists, they find that the only ones they can count on are each other.

Piatkus

Quicksilver

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick

In the latest sizzling Victorian novel from the compelling world of the mysterious Arcane Society, a paranormal killer pushes an unlikely duo's powers and passions to the limit.Virginia Dean wakes at midnight beside a dead body, with a bloody knife in her hand and no memory of the evening's events. Dark energy, emanating from the mirrors lining the room, overpowers her senses. With no apparent way in or out, she's rescued by a man she's met only once before, but won't soon forget.Owen Sweetwater inherited his family's talent for hunting the psychical monsters that prey on London's women and children, and his investigation into the deaths of two glass-readers has led him here. The high-society types of the exclusive Arcane Society would consider her an illusionist, a charlatan, even a criminal, but Owen knows better. Virginia's powers are real - and they just might be the key to his investigation.

Piatkus

The Perfect Poison

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick

Plagued by rumours that she poisoned her fiance, Lucinda Bromley manages to live on the fringes of polite society, tending her beloved plants - and occasionally consulting on a murder investigation. For the notorious botanist possesses a unique talent: she can detect almost any type of poison. But the death of a lord has shaken Lucinda to her core. At the murder scene, she picks up traces of a poison containing a very rare species of fern - stolen from her conservatory just last month. To keep her name out of the investigation, and to find the murderer, Lucinda hires fellow Arcane Society member, Caleb Jones. As a nearly overwhelming desire blooms between them, they are drawn into a deadly conspiracy that can be traced to the early days of the Arcane Society - and to a legacy of madness that could plunge Caleb into the depths of his own tortured soul...

Piatkus

The Third Circle

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick

Leona Hewitt, disguised in men's formal evening clothes, has secretly made her way into Lord Delbridge's private museum to find a relic stolen from her family. But someone else is in the dimly lit gallery on the same errand: a tall, black-cloaked man whose very voice is enough to put her in a trance. Thaddeus Ware, a mesmerist with psychic gifts, is accustomed to fearful reactions from others - women in particular. But Leona shows no trace of hysteria in his presence. A gifted crystal worker, she exerts a rather hypnotic power over the hypnotist himself. And she is determined to keep the crystal they recovered. Thaddeus, on assignment for the Arcane Society, knows the menace Leona is courting by absconding with the crystal. A source of remarkable energy, it holds the potential for great destruction. Lord Delbridge has already killed to acquire it, for it is his key to membership in the elite, shadowy group known as the Third Circle. And, with the help of a ruthless hunter of preternatural skill, dubbed the Midnight Monster by the press, Delbridge intends to find her. With the stolen crystal in their possession, the danger is only beginning...

Piatkus

I Thee Wed

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick
Piatkus

Slightly Shady

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick
Piatkus

Mischief

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick
Piatkus

Affair

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick
Piatkus

With This Ring

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick

'A top-drawer historical romance that delivers the perfect fusion of witty dialogue, intriguing characters, and seductive passion' BooklistLeo Drake, the 'Mad Monk of Monkcrest', is notoriously eccentric and unquestionably reclusive. But he is also a noted antiquities expert, which is why Beatrice Poole has demanded his reluctant assistance. The free-thinking authoress of 'horrid novels', Beatrice is searching for the Forbidden Rings of Aphrodite, a mythic treasure she suspects played a role in her uncle's death. Beatrice finds Leo every bit as fascinating as one of the heroes in her novels - and she's convinced he's the only one who can help her. But after only five minutes in her company, Leo is sure he's never met a woman more infuriating . . . and more likely to rescue him from boredom. Yet the alliance may well prove to be the biggest mistake of their lives. For a villain lurks in London, waiting for the pair to unearth the Forbidden Rings - knowing that when they do, that day will be their last.A sparkling, witty Historical romance by the worldwide bestselling Jayne Ann Krentz (Amanda Quick), perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James and Georgette Heyer. What readers are saying about Amanda Quick:'One of the most creative, inventive storytellers in the field, Quick infuses her own addictive brand of breathless, sexy adventure with dashes of vengeance, greed and violence and a hefty splash of delectable, offbeat humour' Library Journal'Stellar plotting, exquisite dialogue, and impeccable characterisation' Kirkus Reviews

Piatkus

The River Knows

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick
Piatkus

Second Sight

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick
Piatkus

Lie By Moonlight

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick

During an investigation into a woman's death, gentleman thief turned private inquiry agent Ambrose Wells finds himself at Aldwick Castle - and in the middle of chaos. The building is in flames. Men are dead. And a woman and four young girls are fleeing on horseback. A confirmed loner, Ambrose nevertheless finds himself taking Miss Concordia Glade and her young charges under his wing. With their lives at risk, he insists they must remain in hiding until he is able to unravel the truth behind their recent imprisonment at the castle. Concordia has never met anyone like Ambrose Wells before. He is bold, clever, and inscrutable - even to the perceptive gaze of a professional teacher such as herself. He is also her only hope to protect her pupils from the unscrupulous men who are after them - powerful, shadowy figures who will stop at nothing to get what they want.

Piatkus

The Paid Companion

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick