Search results for: 'kate locke'

Constable

Cowboy Song

Graeme Thomson
Authors:
Graeme Thomson
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Historical Whodunnits Volume 2

Mike Ashley
Authors:
Mike Ashley

An all-new collection of exciting murder-mysteries with historical settings This new volume of historical murder and mystery contains over 20 specially commissioned stories ranging in period from Ancient Rome to the reign of Good Queen Bess. It features original stories from such masters as Steven Saylor, Peter Tremayne, Philip Gooden, Susanna Gregory, Kate Ellis, Michael Jecks, Edward D. Hoch and Marilyn Todd. · In Steven Saylor's Roman tale, Poppy and the Poisoned Cake, Gordianus the Finder feels his latest assignment is suspiciously easy to solve. · Edward D. Hoch puts a novel twist on the locked-room mystery by setting it on a "locked ship" - Christopher Columbus's, in fact! · In Flibbertigibbet Paul Finch unleashes a deranged serial killer on Elizabethan London. · Falstaff 's successor Sir Johan de Mandeville turns sleuth in Keith Taylor's Bene?t of Clergy. · Sister Fidelma must solve the mystery of a murdered Celtic monk in Death of an Icon by Peter Tremayne. · A pig provides the key to Michael Jecks's latest Sir Baldwin mystery.- · Cherith Baldry turns Geoffrey Chaucer into a secret agent in her version of The Pilgrim's Tale. · Anarchy and murderous intent rule when the Romans leave the British Isles in Richard Butler's The Last Legion. . . . plus many more tales of dark age murder and mayhem!

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Egyptian Whodunnits

Mike Ashley
Authors:
Mike Ashley

Mystery and murder from the Sands of Time; This anthology covers two periods in history - the time of 'Ancient Egypt' which stretches from the First Dynasty in 4000 BC to the time of the Roman Empire, and the time of the Discoveries, which covers the Napoleonic and Victorian periods of excavation. The anthology will be a collection of new stories and rare reprints, including contributions from Lynda Robinson, featuring Lord Meren, Lauren Haney and a Lieutenant Bak mystery, plus stories from Gillian Linscott, Kate Ellis, Marilyn Todd, Paul Doherty, Suzanne Franke, Amy Myers, Michael Pearce, Elizabeth Peters and many more. So from the famed Cleopatra to Howard Carter and the Curse of the Pharaohs, here are 25 stories to enthral and enchant devotees of the genre.

Orbit

Last to Rise

Francis Knight
Authors:
Francis Knight
Orbit

Long Live the Queen

Kate Locke
Authors:
Kate Locke
Orbit

Cold Steel

Kate Elliott
Authors:
Kate Elliott

'Kate Elliott is writing some of the best fantasy around' - Trudi CanavanWILL WAR SET THEM FREE?Trouble, treachery and magic seem to follow Cat Barahal wherever she goes. The Master of the Wild Hunt has stolen away her husband. The ruler of the Taino kingdom blames her for his mother's murder. An enraged fire mage wants to kill her. And Cat, her cousin Bee and her half-brother Rory aren't even back in Europa yet, where revolution is burning up the streets. Rebellions to plot. Enemies to crush. Handsome men to rescue. Cat and Bee have their work cut out for them.

Orbit

Before the Fall

Francis Knight
Authors:
Francis Knight
Orbit

Fade to Black

Francis Knight
Authors:
Francis Knight

FROM THE DEPTHS OF A VALLEY RISES THE CITY OF MAHALAIt's a city built upwards - where streets are built upon streets, buildings upon buildings. A city that the Ministry rules from the sunlit summit, and where the forsaken lurk in the darkness of Under.Rojan Dizon doesn't mind staying in the shadows, because he's got things to hide. Things like being a pain-mage, with the forbidden power to draw magic from pain. But when the fate of Mahala depends on him using his magic, he can't hide for ever.THE FIRST ADVENTURE OF ROJAN DIZONA debut fantasy tale of corruption and dark magic set in a world that's both vertigo-inducing and awe-inspiring.

Orbit

The Queen Is Dead

Kate Locke
Authors:
Kate Locke

Xandra Vardan is the newly crowned Goblin Queen of England. But her complicated life is by no means over. There are the political factions vying for her favor, and the all too-close scrutiny of Queen Victoria, who for some reason wants her head. Not to mention her werewolf boyfriend with demands of his own, and a mother hell bent on destroying the monarchy. Now she's the suspect in a murder investigation - and Xandra barely knows which way is up.What she does know is that nothing lasts forever - and immortality isn't all it's cracked up to be.

Orbit

The Revenge of Eli Monpress

Rachel Aaron
Authors:
Rachel Aaron

Eli Monpress is vain. He's cocky. And he's a thief.But he's a thief who has just seen his bounty topped and he's not happy about it. The bounty topper, as it turns out, is his best friend and master swordsman, Josef. He's been keeping secrets from Eli. Apparently, he's the only prince of a rather feisty country, and he's been ordered to come home to do his duty. This means throwing over personal ambitions like proving he's the greatest swordsman who ever lived. Family drama aside, Eli and Josef have their hands full. The Spirit Court has been usurped by the Council of Thrones and someone calling herself the Immortal Empress is staging a massive invasion. But it's not just politics - the Immortal Empress has a specific target in mind: Eli Monpress, the greatest thief in the world.This omnibus edition contains: THE SPIRIT WAR and SPIRIT'S END

Orbit

God Save the Queen

Kate Locke
Authors:
Kate Locke

The Year is 2012 - and Queen Victoria still rules with an immortal fist. She's the undead matriarch of a Britain where the Aristocracy is made up of werewolves and vampires, where goblins live underground and mothers know better than to let their children out after dark. A world where technology lives side by side with magic, where being nobility means being infected with the Plague (side-effects include undeath) and Hysteria is the popular affliction of the day.Xandra Vardan is a member of the elite Royal Guard, and it's her duty to protect the Aristocracy. But things get complicated when her sister goes missing. Xandra will not only realise she's the prize in a dangerous power struggle - but she'll also uncover a conspiracy that threatens to topple the empire itself.

Orbit

The Legend Of Eli Monpress

Rachel Aaron
Authors:
Rachel Aaron
Forever

Always A Temptress

Eileen Dreyer
Authors:
Eileen Dreyer
Hachette Audio

Port Mortuary

Patricia Cornwell
Authors:
Patricia Cornwell

Kay Scarpetta has been training at the Dover Port Mortuary, mastering the art of 'virtual autopsy' - a groundbreaking procedure that could soon revolutionise forensic science. And it is not too long before these new skills urgently need to be put into practice. A young man drops dead, apparently from a heart condition, eerily close to Scarpetta's home. But when his body is examined the next morning, there are stunning indications that he may have been alive when he was zipped inside a pouch and locked inside the cooler.When the revolutionary 3D radiology scans reveal more shocking details about internal injuries unlike any Scarpetta has ever seen, Scarpetta realizes that this is a case of murder - and that she is fighting a cunning and uniquely cruel enemy. Now it is a race against time to discover who and why before more people die. But that time is running out . . .

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Dickensian Whodunnits

Mike Ashley
Authors:
Mike Ashley
Virago

The Mother's Recompense

Edith Wharton
Authors:
Edith Wharton

Edith Wharton (1862-1937), the grande dame of American literature, was also a subtle and spirited critic of its society.Twenty years earlier, Kate Clephane had exiled herself from husband, child and the rigidity of New York society because of her guilty elopement. Now, living quietly on the Rivera, she is overjoyed to be summoned home by her daughter, Anne. But back in the charmed circle, she finds post-war New York, though changed in many ways, still locked into petty and snobbish constrictions. This touching study of complex issues shows how Kate's joy in being with Anne is soon threatened by the reappearance of the only man Kate had truly loved.

Kate Elliott

KATE ELLIOTT is the author of many novels, including BLACK WOLVES, COURT OF FIVES, the Spiritwalker trilogy, the Novels of the Jaran, and the Crossroads trilogy. KING'S DRAGON, the first novel in the Crown of Stars series, was a Nebula Award finalist, and THE GOLDEN KEY (with Melanie Rawn and Jennifer Roberson) was a World Fantasy Award finalist. Kate was born in Iowa, raised in Oregon, and now lives in Hawaii. She invites you to visit her website at kateelliott.com or follow her on Twitter @KateElliottSFF.

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

Karen Miller

Karen Miller was born in Vancouver, Canada, and came to Australia when she was two. Apart from a two year stint in the UK after graduating she's lived around Sydney ever since. She has held a variety of interesting jobs and fell in love with speculative fiction at primary school.

Kim Hunter

Kim Hunter is a new fantasy writer, currently working on the Red Pavilions series.