Search results for: 'kate locke'

Hachette Australia

Bumper: The Life and Times of Frank 'Bumper' Farrell

Larry Writer
Authors:
Larry Writer

The sprawling saga of legendary Australian cop, Bumper Farrell, the most feared and revered policeman in Australia's history.Frank 'Bumper' Farrell was the roughest, toughest street cop and vice-squad leader Australia has ever seen. Strong as a bull, with cauliflowered ears and fists like hams, Bumper's beat from 1938 to 1976 was the most lawless in the land - the mean streets of Kings Cross and inner Sydney. His adversaries were such notorious criminals as Abe Saffron, Lennie McPherson, Tilly Devine and Kate Leigh and their gangs as well as the hooligans, sly groggers, SP bookies, pimps and spivs.Criminals knew just where they stood: he would catch them, he would hurt them, and then he would lock them away. He was a legendary Rugby League player for Newtown, and represented Australia against England and New Zealand.Here's Bumper Farrell in brutal, passionate and hilarious action . . . saving Ita Buttrose from a stalker; sparking a national scandal when accused of biting off a rival player's ear; beating Lennie McPherson so severely the hard man cried; single-handedly fighting a mob of gangsters in Kings Cross and winning; terrorising the hoons who harassed the prostitutes in the brothel lanes by driving over the top of them; commandeering the police launch to take him home to his beach home, diving overboard in full uniform and catching a wave to shore; dispensing kindness and charity to the poor.Bumper Farrell: lawman, sportsman, larrikin . . . legend.'fascinating . . . [a] fine biography' SYDNEY MORNING HERALD

Constable

Cowboy Song

Graeme Thomson
Authors:
Graeme Thomson
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Historical Whodunnits Volume 2

Mike Ashley
Authors:
Mike Ashley
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Egyptian Whodunnits

Mike Ashley
Authors:
Mike Ashley

Mystery and murder from the Sands of Time; This anthology covers two periods in history - the time of 'Ancient Egypt' which stretches from the First Dynasty in 4000 BC to the time of the Roman Empire, and the time of the Discoveries, which covers the Napoleonic and Victorian periods of excavation. The anthology will be a collection of new stories and rare reprints, including contributions from Lynda Robinson, featuring Lord Meren, Lauren Haney and a Lieutenant Bak mystery, plus stories from Gillian Linscott, Kate Ellis, Marilyn Todd, Paul Doherty, Suzanne Franke, Amy Myers, Michael Pearce, Elizabeth Peters and many more. So from the famed Cleopatra to Howard Carter and the Curse of the Pharaohs, here are 25 stories to enthral and enchant devotees of the genre.

Orbit

Long Live the Queen

Kate Locke
Authors:
Kate Locke
Orbit

Knight's Dawn

Kim Hunter
Authors:
Kim Hunter
Orbit

Cold Steel

Kate Elliott
Authors:
Kate Elliott
Orbit

Before the Fall

Francis Knight
Authors:
Francis Knight
Orbit

The Queen Is Dead

Kate Locke
Authors:
Kate Locke
Orbit

The Revenge of Eli Monpress

Rachel Aaron
Authors:
Rachel Aaron
Orbit

God Save the Queen

Kate Locke
Authors:
Kate Locke
Orbit

The Legend Of Eli Monpress

Rachel Aaron
Authors:
Rachel Aaron

Eli Monpress is talented. He's charming. And he's a thief.But not just any thief. He's the greatest thief of the age, and he's also a wizard. And with the help of his partners - a swordsman with the most powerful magic sword in the world, and a demonseed who can step through shadows and punch through walls - he's going to put his grand plan into effect.Because Eli won't rest until he's amassed a fortune. Step one in his plan is to increase the bounty on his head, so he'll need to steal some big things. He'll start small for now though: he'll just steal something that no one will miss - at least for a while. Like a king . . .This omnibus edition contains: THE SPIRIT THIEF, THE SPIRIT REBELLION and THE SPIRIT EATER

Forever

Always A Temptress

Eileen Dreyer
Authors:
Eileen Dreyer
Hachette Audio

Port Mortuary

Patricia Cornwell
Authors:
Patricia Cornwell
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Dickensian Whodunnits

Mike Ashley
Authors:
Mike Ashley

Charles Dickens created some of the most memorable characters in English literature. But just what became of the convict that frightened young Pip in Great Expectations? Was he guilty, or framed? And what really did become of Edwin Drood? Was the case ever solved? Mike Ashley presents over 25 vivid new whodunnits from the world of Dickens - recorded for posterity by such writers as Michael Pearce, Amy Myers, Peter Tremayne, Alanna Knight, Kage Baker, and Edward D. Hoch. Many of the stories feature one or more of Dickens's characters, as a sleuth or as the victim of crime; while others are set in Dickens's real life, with him investigating people closely associated with him, such as Wilkie Collins, Elizabeth Gaskell or Hablot Browne. Interlinking the stories is a narrative that brings alive Dickens's own life and part in the early development of crime sleuthing.The stories include: Miss Havisham's Revenge by Alanna Knight, in which we discover the part Estella Havisham played in the fate of Bentley Drummle; Murder in Murray's Court by David Stuart Davies, in which Oliver Twist has to help the Artful Dodger who has been accused of murder; The Thorn of Anxiety by Keith Miles, in which the mystery of Edwin Drood is at last solved; The Divine Nature by Kate Ellis, in which David Copperfield finds himself investigating the disappearance of Edward Murdstone; The Letter by Joan Lock, in which the skills of Inspector Bucket are once again put to the test in solving a crime that apparently never happened.

Virago

The Mother's Recompense

Edith Wharton
Authors:
Edith Wharton

Edith Wharton (1862-1937), the grande dame of American literature, was also a subtle and spirited critic of its society.Twenty years earlier, Kate Clephane had exiled herself from husband, child and the rigidity of New York society because of her guilty elopement. Now, living quietly on the Rivera, she is overjoyed to be summoned home by her daughter, Anne. But back in the charmed circle, she finds post-war New York, though changed in many ways, still locked into petty and snobbish constrictions. This touching study of complex issues shows how Kate's joy in being with Anne is soon threatened by the reappearance of the only man Kate had truly loved.

Kate Elliott

KATE ELLIOTT is the author of many novels, including BLACK WOLVES, COURT OF FIVES, the Spiritwalker trilogy, the Novels of the Jaran, and the Crossroads trilogy. KING'S DRAGON, the first novel in the Crown of Stars series, was a Nebula Award finalist, and THE GOLDEN KEY (with Melanie Rawn and Jennifer Roberson) was a World Fantasy Award finalist. Kate was born in Iowa, raised in Oregon, and now lives in Hawaii. She invites you to visit her website at kateelliott.com or follow her on Twitter @KateElliottSFF.

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

Karen Miller

Karen Miller was born in Vancouver, Canada, and came to Australia when she was two. Apart from a two year stint in the UK after graduating she's lived around Sydney ever since. She has held a variety of interesting jobs and fell in love with speculative fiction at primary school.

Kim Hunter

Kim Hunter is a new fantasy writer, currently working on the Red Pavilions series.