Related to: 'Amanda Quick'

Piatkus

Tightrope

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick

'A master storyteller' The Huffington Post*New York Times bestselling author*'Quick's ambitious novel, set during the golden age of Hollywood, sparkles with wit and clever plotting' Publishers WeeklyAn unconventional woman and a man shrouded in mystery walk a tightrope of desire as they race against a killer . . .Trapeze artist Amalie Vaughn moved to Burning Cove to reinvent herself, but things are not going well. After spending her inheritance on a mansion with the intention of turning it into a bed-and-breakfast, she learns too late that the villa is said to be cursed. When the first guest, Dr. Norman Pickwell, is murdered by his invention during a sold-out demonstration, rumors circulate that the curse is real . . .In the chaotic aftermath, Amalie watches as a mysterious stranger from the audience disappears behind the curtain.Matthias is on the trail of a groundbreaking cipher machine. He suspects that Pickwell stole the device and planned to sell it. But now Pickwell is dead and the machine has vanished. When Matthias's investigation leads him to Amalie's front door, the attraction between them is dangerously intense. Amalie and Matthias must decide if they can trust each other and the passion that binds them, because time is running out.

Piatkus

Untouchable

Jayne Ann Krentz
Authors:
Jayne Ann Krentz
Piatkus

The Other Lady Vanishes

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick

In the second installment of her new series, Jayne Ann Krentz/Amanda Quick takes us back to California, where Hollywood moguls and stars seeking privacy for scandalous trysts and wild parties come together in the glitzy set of the 1930s. . .The New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Who Knew Too Much sweeps readers back to 1930s California - where the most dazzling of illusions can't hide the darkest secrets . . . After escaping from a private sanitarium, Adelaide Blake arrives in Burning Cove, California, desperate to start over. Working at a herbal tea shop puts her on the radar of those who frequent the seaside resort town: Hollywood movers and shakers always in need of hangover cures and tonics. One such customer is Jake Truett, a recently widowed businessman in town for a therapeutic rest. But unbeknownst to Adelaide, his exhaustion is just a cover. In Burning Cove, no one is who they seem. Behind facades of glamour and power hide drug dealers, gangsters and grifters. Into this make-believe world comes psychic to the stars Madame Zolanda. Adelaide and Jake know better than to fall for her kind of con. But when the medium becomes a victim of her own dire prediction and is killed, they're drawn into a murky world of duplicity and misdirection. Neither Adelaide nor Jake can predict that in the shadowy underground they'll find connections to the woman Adelaide used to be - and uncover the spectre of a killer who's been real all along . . .

Piatkus

Promise Not To Tell

Jayne Ann Krentz
Authors:
Jayne Ann Krentz

'Another complex, compelling romantic suspense novel from a queen of the genre' Kirkus ReviewsA broken promise reveals a terrifying legacy in this electrifying novel from the New York Times bestselling author of When All the Girls Have Gone.A painter of fiery, nightmarish visions throws herself into the sea - but she leaves her secrets behind . . . Seattle gallery owner Virginia Troy has spent years battling the demons that stem from her childhood time in a cult and the night a fire burned through the compound, killing her mother. And now one of her artists has taken her own life, but not before sending Virginia a last picture: a painting that makes Virginia doubt everything about the so-called suicide - and her own past.Like Virginia, private investigator Cabot Sutter was one of the children in the cult who survived that fire... and only he can help her now. As they struggle to unravel the clues in the painting, it becomes clear that someone thinks Virginia knows more than she does and that she must be stopped. Thrown into an inferno of desire and deception, Virginia and Cabot draw ever closer to the mystery of their shared memories - and the shocking fate of the one man who still wields the power to destroy everything they hold dear.A suspenseful read full of twists and with the darkest of secrets at its heart, this is perfect for fans of Nora Roberts or Sandra Brown'The master of romantic suspense . . . Krentz dives into sociopathic psychology and complex characterization to great effect in this twisty story, whose plot clips along at a terrific pace' BookPage

Piatkus

When All the Girls Have Gone

Jayne Ann Krentz
Authors:
Jayne Ann Krentz
Piatkus

The Girl Who Knew Too Much

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick
Piatkus

'Til Death Do Us Part

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick
Piatkus

Secret Sisters

Jayne Ann Krentz
Authors:
Jayne Ann Krentz
Piatkus

Garden of Lies

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick

The Kern Secretarial Agency provides reliable professional services to its wealthy clientele, and Anne Clifton was one of the finest women in Ursula Kern's employ. But Miss Clifton has met an untimely end - and Ursula is convinced it was not due to natural causes.Archaeologist and adventurer Slater Roxton thinks Mrs. Kern is off her head to meddle in such dangerous business. Nevertheless, he seems sensible enough to Ursula, though she does find herself unnerved by his self-possession and unreadable green-gold eyes...If this mysterious widowed beauty insists on stirring the pot, Slater intends to remain close by as they venture into the dark side of polite society. Together they must reveal the identity of a killer-and to achieve their goal they may need to reveal their deepest secrets to each other as well...

Piatkus

Trust No One

Jayne Ann Krentz
Authors:
Jayne Ann Krentz
Piatkus

River Road: a standalone romantic suspense novel by an internationally bestselling author

Jayne Ann Krentz
Authors:
Jayne Ann Krentz
Piatkus

Wicked Widow

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick
Piatkus

The River Knows

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick

The first kiss occurred in a dimly-lit hallway on the upper floor of Elwin Hastings's grand house. Louisa never saw it coming ...Of course, Anthony Stalbridge couldn't possibly have had romantic intentions. The kiss was an act of desperation, meant to distract the armed guard about to catch the pair in a place they did not belong. After all, Louisa Bryce is no man's idea of an alluring female in her dull maroon gown and gold-rimmed spectacles. The only thing the two interlopers have in common is a passionate interest in the private affairs of Mr. Hastings - a prominent member of Victorian Society whom they both suspect of hiding terrible secrets. Each has a reason for the quest. Anthony's fiancee was said to have thrown herself into the Thames - but Anthony has his own suspicions. Louisa - whose own identity is shrouded in layers of mystery - is convinced Hastings has a connection to a notorious brothel. But bringing Hastings to justice will be more perilous than either anticipates - and their hasty partnership will be more heated than either expects.

Piatkus

The Paid Companion

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick

The Earl of St. Merryn needs a woman. His intentions are purely practical - he simply wants someone sensible and suitably lovely to pose as his betrothed for a few weeks among polite society. He has his own agenda to pursue, and a false fiance will keep the husband-hunters at bay while he goes about his business. The simplest solution is to hire a paid companion. Finding the right candidate proves more of a challenge than he expected. But when he encounters Miss Elenora Lodge, her feisty manner and golden eyes sway him to make a generous offer. Elenora's sorry financial circumstances - and dreams of a life of independence - leave her little choice but to accept. But St. Merryn appears to be hiding a secret or two, and things seem oddly amiss in his gloomy London home. Elenora soon discovers that this lark will be a far more dangerous adventure than she'd been led to believe. And the Earl of St. Merryn will find that the meek and mild companion he'd initially envisioned has become a partner in his quest to catch a killer - and an outspoken belle of the ball who stirs a bothersome passion in his practical heart.

Piatkus

Wait Until Midnight

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick

Adam Hardesty has a serious problem. The secrets of his past are in danger of being exposed, and in the course of investigating his would-be blackmailer, he discovers the dead body of a prominent psychic. To make matters worse, her house has been torn apart, and the diary containing Adam's secrets is missing. His only lead is a list of the psychic's last visitors. The most likely suspect is a woman named Mrs. Caroline Fordyce, whom he confronts in her parlour, only to discover an inconvenient attraction to the beautiful young widow. Alarmed by Adam's insinuations and questions, Caroline concludes that she must conduct her own investigation- if she can discover the true killer, Adam will have no reason to expose her connection to the dead psychic, which would cause a scandal she and her aunts could ill-afford. Besides, her life has been boringly uncomplicated for too long, and the exciting tension she feels around Adam presents a welcome alternative to her mundane daily routine. But as Caroline and Adam journey deeper into the shadowy world of psychics, mediums and con artists, they find that the only ones they can count on are each other.

Piatkus

White Lies

Jayne Ann Krentz
Authors:
Jayne Ann Krentz
Piatkus

Running Hot

Jayne Ann Krentz
Authors:
Jayne Ann Krentz
Piatkus

Sizzle And Burn

Jayne Ann Krentz
Authors:
Jayne Ann Krentz

Raine Tallentyre, recently dumped, knows her gifted Aunt Vella was right - she should always keep her paranormal abilities a secret. And now that Vella, her last relative, has died, Raine's resigned herself to a lonely life. Then, while clearing out Vella's house, Raine's sensitivity leads her to a horrifying discovery: a young woman, bound and terrified, in the basement. The victim has survived, but the culprit is on the loose.Suddenly, a new man enters Raine's life: psychic investigator Zack Jones. But there's one complication - Zack's working for a secret organisation that shattered Raine's family. She's wary of his motives, but as a killer makes her his target, and a group of psychic criminals operating in the shadows surrounds them, Raine and Zack must rely not only on their powerful abilities, but on each other...

Piatkus

Lie By Moonlight

Amanda Quick
Authors:
Amanda Quick

Jayne Ann Krentz

Jayne Ann Krentz, who also writes historical and futuristic fiction under the pseudonyms Amanda Quick and Jayne Castle respectively, has more than fifty NEW YORK TIMES bestsellers under various pen names; more than twenty-five million copies of her books are in print. She lives in the Pacific Northwest. Visit her at www.krentz-quick.com