Related to: 'Diane Janes'

Constable

The Puppet Show

M. W. Craven
Authors:
M. W. Craven

Hachette Audio

Splinter in the Blood

Ashley Dyer
Authors:
Ashley Dyer
Sphere

The Sons

Anton Svensson
Authors:
Anton Svensson

'Unique and stunning. One of the most powerful novels you'll read this year'Stephen Booth on The FatherIn the second part of the highly acclaimed and internationally bestselling series Made in Sweden, one brother fictionalises the real crimes of his own family for a remarkable and epic novel.After six years in prison, Sweden's most notorious criminal Leo Duvnjac is free, acquitted of all but two of the ten bank robberies he and his two younger brothers pulled off.While behind bars, he befriended Sam Larsen, who was convicted of murdering his own father - and also happens to be the brother of the cop who caught Leo, Detective John Broncks.With Sam at his side, Leo seeks out his now-law-abiding brothers for one last job and a chance at redemption - or revenge. But Bronks is on to him, and Leo's father has other plans for his sons . . .Now two sets of brothers will play out the tragic and thrilling destinies of childhoods built on heartbreaking betrayal.

Sphere

The Spy's Daughter

Adam Brookes
Authors:
Adam Brookes

'Authentic, taut and compelling. Brookes is the real deal'Charles CummingThe stunning third novel from multi-award-nominated author Adam Brookes is paranoid, tense and spy fiction at its very finest.Meet Pearl Tao: an American girl with a lethal secret.Pearl longed for the life of a normal American teenager: summers at the pool, friends, backyard barbecues in the Washington DC suburbs. But she was different. Pearl had a gift for mathematics, a college sponsorship from a secretive technology corporation, and a family riven with anger and dysfunction. And it's only now, at nineteen years old, that she has started to understand what role she is to play. What her parents intend for her. For Pearl Tao, any hope of escape lies with two British spies: Trish Patterson, sidelined in disgrace, and Philip Mangan, blown and discredited - and following his own trail of corruption. Finding out the truth about Pearl will be the most urgent, the most dangerous mission they'll ever undertake.'The final instalment of Brookes' Mangan trilogy secures its status as a classic'Telegraph (50 Best Books of 2017)'Riveting and accomplished'Sunday Times

Constable

The Burnings

Julian Lees
Authors:
Julian Lees

'Lees' strikingly descriptive writing transports you directly to the streets of Jakarta... this will make you want to book a flight right now' IndependentA killer hides in plain sight on the crowded streets of Jakarta . . . When a woman's scorched remains are discovered in her burnt-out car, Ruud Pujasumarta and his team are brought in to investigate what appears to be a routine homicide. But when another woman's charred body is found a few days later, Ruud also finds a banner unfurled by the corpse's feet. A verse from the Quran is scribbled across it, calling for unbelievers to be burned. Suspicions that the team have a religiously-motivated serial killer on their hands seem to be confirmed when a third body turns up with the same MO.But who is responsible? Is it the Australian diplomat who was obsessed with the first victim? The imam who preaches Sharia law? Or the military general taking backhanders and living a life of luxury in Jakarta? Despite the many possible suspects, Ruud is suspicious that the killer may actually be someone much closer to home, someone he has trusted for many years. What unravels next is a terrifying chain of events . . . And what Ruud discovers puts his life, and the lives of those around him, in danger.Praise for Julian Lees'Lee's striking descriptive writing transports you directly to the streets of Jakarta' Irish Independent'A darkly compelling tale of family secrets, lies and murder' Crime Review

Little, Brown

Force of Nature

Jane Harper
Authors:
Jane Harper
Little, Brown

Young Jane Young

Gabrielle Zevin
Authors:
Gabrielle Zevin
Orbit

Soul of the World

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing

'A great epic fantasy debut' - James Islington, author of the The Shadow of What Was LostEnter a world of royalists and rebels, spies and sorcerers . . . Sarine is a young artist just trying to survive on the streets of New Sarresant - but soon her magical abilities will draw the attention of royalists and rebels alike.Arak'Jur is a guardian, responsible for keeping his tribe safe. Now he must master an ancient magic if he hopes to protect his people from bloodshed. Erris is a brilliant cavalry officer whose leadership has delivered countless victories, but now her enemies seem to know her plans before she's even made them. These three heroes must rise - or the world will fall. Soul of the World is a stellar debut from a major new talent, an epic fantasy perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson, Robert Jordan and Brent Weeks.'A magical book, almost overflowing with originality . . . Fascinating world, fun characters, and captivating magic' - The Quill to Live'Tense enough to make your spine crack . . . This is one hell of a debut novel' - Bookworm BluesThe Ascension Cycle Soul of the WorldBlood of the GodsChains of the Earth (forthcoming)

Abacus

The Dry

Jane Harper
Authors:
Jane Harper

'One of the most stunning debuts I've ever read...Read it!' David BaldacciWINNER OF THE BRITISH BOOK AWARDS CRIME THRILLER BOOK OF THE YEAR 2018WINNER OF THE CWA GOLD DAGGER AWARD 2017Amazon.com's #1 Pick for Best Mystery & Thriller 2017The Gold Australian Book Industry Award for Book of the Year Australian Book Industry Award for Fiction Book of the Year WATERSTONES THRILLER OF THE MONTHTHE SIMON MAYO RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB CHOICESUNDAY TIMES CRIME THRILLER OF THE MONTH'Packed with sneaky moves and teasing possibilities that keep the reader guessing...The Dry is a breathless page-turner' Janet Maslin, New York TimesWHO REALLY KILLED THE HADLER FAMILY?I just can't understand how someone like him could do something like that.Amid the worst drought to ravage Australia in a century, it hasn't rained in small country town Kiewarra for two years. Tensions in the community become unbearable when three members of the Hadler family are brutally murdered. Everyone thinks Luke Hadler, who committed suicide after slaughtering his wife and six-year-old son, is guilty.Policeman Aaron Falk returns to the town of his youth for the funeral of his childhood best friend, and is unwillingly drawn into the investigation. As questions mount and suspicion spreads through the town, Falk is forced to confront the community that rejected him twenty years earlier. Because Falk and Luke Hadler shared a secret, one which Luke's death threatens to unearth. And as Falk probes deeper into the killings, secrets from his past and why he left home bubble to the surface as he questions the truth of his friend's crime.And if you loved The Dry and Force of Nature, pre-order The Lost Man by Jane Harper now

Hachette Audio

Spy Games

Adam Brookes
Authors:
Adam Brookes

Fearing for his life, journalist Philip Mangan has gone into hiding from the Chinese agents who have identified him as British spy. His reputation and life are in tatters. But when he is caught in a terrorist attack in East Africa and a shadowy Chinese figure approaches him in the dead of night with information on the origins of the attack, Mangan is suddenly back in the eye of the storm.Meanwhile, thousands of miles away on a humid Hong Kong night, a key MI6 source is murdered minutes after meeting spy Trish Patterson. From Washington, D.C. to the hallowed halls of Oxford University and dusty African streets, a sinister power is stirring which will use Mangan and Patterson as its pawns - if they survive.Deeply steeped in tension and paranoia, Spy Games is Adam Brookes' follow-up his award-nominated debut Night Heron and a remarkable, groundbreaking spy thriller.

Corsair

Believe No One

A.D. Garrett
Authors:
A.D. Garrett

Forensic expert Professor Nick Fennimore has engineered lectures in Chicago and St Louis - a ploy to get to Detective Chief Inspector Kate Simms. She's in the United States on sabbatical with St Louis PD, and he's keen to see her again. Simms is working with a 'method swap' team, reviewing cold cases, sharing expertise. But Simms came to the US to escape the fallout from their previous case - the last thing she needs is Fennimore complicating her life.A call for help from a sheriff's deputy in Oklahoma seems like a welcome distraction for the professor - until he hears the details: a mother dead, her child gone - echoes of Fennimore's own tragedy.Nine-year-old Red, adventuring in Oklahoma's backwoods, has no clue that he and his mom are in the killer's sights. Back in St Louis, investigators discover a pattern: victims - all of them young mothers - dumped along a 600 mile stretch of I-44. The Oklahoma and St Louis investigations converge, uncovering serial murders across two continents and two decades. Under pressure, the killer begins to unravel, and when a fresh body surfaces, the race is on to catch the I-44 killer and save the boy.

Sphere

Night Heron

Adam Brookes
Authors:
Adam Brookes

Tell them, the Night Heron is hunting . . . A lone man escapes a labour camp in the dead of night, fleeing across the winter desert of north-west China.Two decades earlier, he was a spy for the British. Now he finds Beijing transformed and crawling with danger - the fugitive must quickly disappear on its surveillance-blanketed streets or face death. Desperate and ruthless, he reaches out to his one-time MI6 paymasters via journalist Philip Mangan, offering secrets in return for his life.Mangan is dragged into a deeper and deeper whirlpool of lies, as the secrets prove more valuable than either of them could ever have known... and not only to the British.

C & R Crime

Exit The Thief

Danny Miller
Authors:
Danny Miller
Sphere

The Beautiful Mystery

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny

Winner of the Anthony Award for Best Crime NovelWinner of the Macavity Award for Best Crime Novel Winner of the Agatha Award for Best Crime Novel***A monastery . . .Hidden deep in the wilderness are the cloisters of two dozen monks - men of prayer and music, famous the world over for their glorious voices.A murder . . .But a brutal death throws the monastery doors open to the world. And through them walks the only man who can shine light upon the dark deeds within: Chief Inspector Armand Gamache.A mystery . . .Who among the brothers has become an angel of death? As the peace of the monastery crumbles around him, Gamache finds clues in the divine, the human, and the cracks in between.Ingenious, gripping, and powerful, The Beautiful Mystery is the most outstanding novel yet from international bestselling phenomenon Louise Penny.

Constable

Empire of the Summer Moon

S.C. Gwynne
Authors:
S.C. Gwynne
C & R Crime

Why Don't You Come for Me?

Diane Janes
Authors:
Diane Janes
C & R Crime

The Pull of The Moon

Diane Janes
Authors:
Diane Janes
Read an exclusive extract here

Countdown

Read an exclusive extract from Alan Weisman’s brilliant new book, Countdown.

Read an exclusive extract

Countdown

Read an exclusive extract from Alan Weisman's brilliant new book, Countdown.

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.