Related to: 'Pamela Hart'

Fleet

The Bus on Thursday

Shirley Barrett
Authors:
Shirley Barrett

'Intoxicating' Jeff VanderMeer, author of Annihilation'Barrett's brilliant second novel plummets headlong into a darkly funny tale' Mail on SundayBridget Jones meets Twin Peaks in this black comedy about a woman's retreat to a remote Australian town and the horrors awaiting her.It wasn't just the bad breakup that turned Eleanor Mellett's life upside down. It was the cancer. And all the demons that came with it.One day she felt a bit of a bump when she was scratching her armpit at work. The next thing she knew, her breast was being removed by an inappropriately attractive doctor, and she was subsequently inundated with cupcakes, besieged by judgy support groups, and the ungrateful recipient of hand-knitted sweaters from her mum.Luckily, Eleanor finds that Talbingo, a remote little town, needs a primary-school teacher. Their Miss Barker upped and vanished in the night, despite being the most caring teacher ever, according to everyone. Unfortunately, Talbingo is a bit creepy. It's not only the communion-wine-swigging priest prone to rants about how cancer is caused by demons. Or the unstable, overly sensitive kids, always going on about Miss Barker and her amazing sticker system. It's living alone in a remote cabin, with no phone service or wifi, wondering why there are so many locks on the front door, and who is knocking on it late at night.Riotously funny, deeply unsettling, and surprisingly poignant, Shirley Barrett's The Bus on Thursday is a wicked, weird, wild ride for fans of Maria Semple, Stephen King and Henry James's The Turn of the Screw. And when have those three writers ever appeared in the same sentence?

Hachette Australia

The Lebs

Michael Mohammed Ahmad
Authors:
Michael Mohammed Ahmad
Piatkus

The Desert Nurse

Pamela Hart
Authors:
Pamela Hart
Piatkus

A Letter From Italy

Pamela Hart
Authors:
Pamela Hart
Hachette Australia

Songs of a War Boy

Deng Thiak Adut, Ben Mckelvey
Authors:
Deng Thiak Adut, Ben Mckelvey
Piatkus

The War Bride

Pamela Hart
Authors:
Pamela Hart

January, 1920. Young Englishwoman Margaret Dalton is full of excitement as she arrives in Sydney to begin a new life in the warm, golden land of Australia. She leaves behind the horrors of WWI and can't wait to see her husband, Frank, after two years of separation.But when Margaret's ship docks, Frank isn't there to greet her and Margaret is informed that he already has a wife . . .Devastated, Margaret must make a new life for herself in this strange city, but she soon falls in love with its vibrant harbour, sweeping ocean and clean sea breezes. A growing friendship with army sergeant Tom McBride gives her a steady person to rely on. But just as Margaret and Tom begin to grow closer, news arrives that Frank may not have abandoned her. Will Margaret's life be thrown upside down once again? And where should her loyalties lie: with the old life or with the new?Inspired by the true stories of war wives who arrived in Australia, THE WAR BRIDE is a gorgeously romantic, inspiring story of love and forgiveness, of healing hurts past, and of making a new home for yourself on the other side of the world, by the author of THE SOLDIER'S WIFE.

Constable

The Swan Book

Alexis Wright
Authors:
Alexis Wright

The Swan Book is set in the future, with Aboriginals still living under the Intervention in the north, in an environment fundamentally altered by climate change. It follows the life of a mute teenager called Oblivia, the victim of gang-rape by petrol-sniffing youths, from the displaced community where she lives in a hulk, in a swamp filled with rusting boats, and thousands of black swans driven from other parts of the country, to her marriage to Warren Finch, the first Aboriginal president of Australia, and her elevation to the position of First Lady, confined to a tower in a flooded and lawless southern city.The Swan Book has all the qualities which made Wright's previous novel, Carpentaria, a prize-winning bestseller. It offers an intimate awareness of the realities facing Aboriginal people; the wild energy and humour in her writing finds hope in the bleakest situations; and the remarkable combination of storytelling elements, drawn from myth and legend and fairy tale, has Oblivia Ethylene in the company of amazing characters like Aunty Bella Donna of the Champions, the Harbour Master, Big Red and the Mechanic, a talking monkey called Rigoletto, three genies with doctorates, and throughout, the guiding presence of swans.

Orbit

Wake of Vultures

Lila Bowen
Authors:
Lila Bowen

'I don't care what else you've seen in the bookstore today. Read this one' - Kevin Hearne'I enjoyed the hell out of it' - Patrick RothfussNettie Lonesome lives in a land of hard people and hard ground dusted with sand. She's a half-breed who dresses like a boy, raised by folks who don't call her a slave but use her like one. She knows of nothing else. That is, until the day a stranger attacks her. When nothing, not even a sickle to the eye can stop him, Nettie stabs him through the heart with a chunk of wood and he turns to black sand. And just like that, Nettie can see. But her newfound sight is a blessing and a curse. Even if she doesn't understand what's under her own skin, she can sense what everyone else is hiding - at least physically. The world is full of evil, and now she knows the source of all the sand in the desert. Haunted by the spirits, Nettie has no choice but to set out on a quest that might lead her to find her true kin . . . if the monsters along the way don't kill her firstA rich, dark fantasy of destiny, death and the supernatural world hiding beneath the surface.

Piatkus

The Soldier's Wife

Pamela Hart
Authors:
Pamela Hart

It is 1915 and the world is being torn apart, but newlyweds Ruby and Jimmy Hawkins are sure their love will survive the trauma and tragedy of war. Sent away to fight in the desperate battles raging in Gallipoli, Jimmy plans for the future they promised each other and struggles to keep his dreams whole amidst the brutality of the trenches. Back home in Sydney, Ruby reads his romantic letters, full of longing. But as weeks slip into months she is forced to forge her own life. A new job throws her into a man's world fraught with complications and as the lives of those around her begin to shatter, a powerful new attraction beckons. Realising she must change to truly find her way, Ruby discovers her own strength and independence - but will the price be her marriage?An unforgettable love affair set during WW1 and inspired by the true story of the author's own family history, The Soldier's Wife is a heart-soaring saga of passion, loss and learning how to live when all you hold dear is threatened.

Orbit

Ember And Ash

Pamela Freeman
Authors:
Pamela Freeman

Two peoples have been fighting over the same land for a thousand years. Invaders crushed the original inhabitants, and ancient powers have reluctantly given way to newer magics. But Ember was to change all this with a wedding to bind these warring people together - until her future goes up in flames.Ember's husband-to-be is murdered by a vengeful elemental god, who sees peace as a breach of faith. Set on retribution, she enlists the help of Ash, son of a seer. Together they will pit themselves against elementals of fire and ice in a last attempt to end the conflicts that have scarred their past. They must look to the present, as old furies are waking to violence and are eager to reclaim their people.

Orbit

Full Circle

Pamela Freeman
Authors:
Pamela Freeman

Saker has devoted himself to dark enchantments and desires nothing but vengeance. And vengeance he has in abundance. His ghost army is slaughtering those of the new blood, fuelled by an ancient wrong. But while Saker had thought revenge would be simple, he's now plagued by voices foreshadowing a calamity beyond his comprehension.Ash and Bramble raise the warrior spirit of Acton, mighty in life and powerful in death. Only he can stop Saker's rampage. But is Acton, Lord of War, murderer or saviour? And why would he help strangers protect a world he's never known?Bramble has been marked as Saker's nemesis, but will be challenged by deeper powers than Saker can command - as well as by her own feelings for Acton. As the living fight the dead, strange forces will shape an uncertain future from pain and suffering.

Orbit

The Castings Trilogy

Pamela Freeman
Authors:
Pamela Freeman

Bramble is impetuous with a talent for trouble, and she finds it when an accident brands her a criminal. But she expects no mercy with her Traveller blood - so when the village gods tell her to flee, she hits the road. In ghost-ridden Turvite, Ash leaves the road for an apprenticeship, the only one available for a Traveller such as himself. Then his employer trains him to kill on demand and his future looks bleak. But the gods have deeper plans for both Ash and Bramble. Their shared heritage grants them hidden strengths, which are needed to combat a new evil. Saker also remembers Travellers once owned this land. But he intends to take it back in vengeance, using enchantment and the blood of innocents.This omnibus edition contains: BLOOD TIES, DEEP WATER and FULL CIRCLE.

Orbit

The High Lord

Trudi Canavan
Authors:
Trudi Canavan
Orbit

Deep Water

Pamela Freeman
Authors:
Pamela Freeman

As unrest stirs across the Eleven domains, subversive questions lead to unexpected answers. And ghosts of the dead walk in increasing numbers - for those few that can see. In a land where stonecasters foretell destinies for a fee and gods talk to those who can listen, the future is uncertain and is built on a bloodsoaked past.So what did happen one thousand years ago, when Acton's people came across the mountains? Was Acton himself a hero and liberator, or a bloodthirsty invader and scourge of the travelling people? Wild magic gives Bramble some dangerous insights into a land's disturbed history. And why did Ash's Traveller father not teach him the secret songs of his people? The ultimate answers to all these questions are hidden in time, where perhaps they should stay.

Orbit

Blood Ties

Pamela Freeman
Authors:
Pamela Freeman

Bramble is impetuous, with a talent for attracting trouble, and she finds it when an accident brands her a criminal. But she can expect no mercy. Her dark colouring marks her as a Traveller, one of the despised original people of the domains. And the local gods are warning her to flee ...In Turvite, where ghosts drift along dark, cobbled streets, Ash must leave the Road to begin an apprenticeship with the only person who will accept a Traveller. His new mistress is devious yet irresistible, but the gods have other plans for Ash ...Death casts Bramble and Ash on separate journeys across valleys and mountains, deep into themselves and the dark history of their ancestors. The gods have not forgotten, and old blood is calling for vengeance.

Pamela Freeman

Pamela Freeman has a Doctorate of Creative Arts and has also lectured in creative writing. She has won awards for children's writing and biography and the Castings trilogy is Pamela's first adult fantasy work. She lives in Sydney with her husband and young son.

on Courtenay Grimwood’s The Outcast Blade

Grimwood’s Venice: Love and War in the ‘City of Sex and Death’

This week (4th May 2012) saw Orbit UK’s publication of Jon Courtenay Grimwood’s second Assassini book, THE OUTCAST BLADE, sequel to THE FALLEN BLADE which was released last year.

from Jane Gardam

Old Filth - Introduction

Introduction to the Abacus 40 edition of Jane Gardam's 'Old Filth': the book that made the stiff upper lip tremble.

by Gregory David Roberts

Shantaram - Introduction

The introduction the Gregory David Roberts' Abacus 40 edition of 'Shantaram': the book that inspired a million journeys.