Related to: 'Brent Weeks'

Orbit

Perfect Shadow

Brent Weeks
Authors:
Brent Weeks
Robinson

A Brief History of the Martial Arts

Jonathan Clements
Authors:
Jonathan Clements

Folk tales of the Shaolin Temple depict warrior monks with superhuman abilities. Today, dozens of East Asian fighting styles trace their roots back to the Buddhist brawlers of Shaolin, although any quest for the true story soon wanders into a labyrinth of forgeries, secret texts and modern retellings.This new study approaches the martial arts from their origins in military exercises and callisthenics. It examines a rich folklore from old wuxia tales of crime-fighting heroes to modern kung fu movies. Centre stage is given to the stories that martial artists tell themselves about themselves, with accounts (both factual and fictional) of famous practitioners including China's Yim Wing-chun, Wong Fei-hong, and Ip Man, as well as Japanese counterparts such as Kano Jigoro, Itosu Anko and So Doshin.The history of martial arts encompasses secret societies and religious rebels, with intimate glimpses of the histories of China, Korea and Japan, their conflicts and transformations. The book also charts the migration of martial arts to the United States and beyond. Special attention is paid to the turmoil of the twentieth century, the cross-cultural influence of Japanese colonies in Asia, and the post-war rise of martial arts in sport and entertainment - including the legacy of Bruce Lee, the dilemma of the ninja and the global audience for martial arts in fiction.

Orbit

The Way of Shadows: The Graphic Novel

Brent Weeks, Andy MacDonald
Contributors:
Brent Weeks, Andy MacDonald

THE PERFECT KILLER HAS NO FRIENDS, ONLY TARGETS.For Durzo Blint, assassination is an art. And he is the city's most accomplished artist, his talents required from alleyway to courtly boudoir. For Azoth, survival is precarious. Something you never take for granted. As a guild rat, he's grown up in the slums and learned the hard way to judge people quickly - and to take risks. Risks like apprenticing himself to Durzo Blint. But to be accepted, Azoth must turn his back on his old life and embrace a new identity and name. As Kylar Stern, he must learn to navigate the assassins' world of dangerous politics and strange magics - and cultivate a flair for death.See Brent Weeks's New York Times bestselling fantasy of assassins and thieves come to life in this graphic novel adaptation with art by Marvel and DC Comics artist Andy MacDonald.

Hachette Audio

The Broken Eye

Brent Weeks
Authors:
Brent Weeks
Sphere

A Girl Walks into a Wedding

Helena S. Paige
Authors:
Helena S. Paige

*A CHOOSE YOUR OWN DESTINY NOVEL*Your best friend is getting married. You're going to be her bridesmaid so you have a lot to deal with - the hen party, pre-wedding nerves, your dress, the men . . . So many men. And you have to choose between them. Maybe you'll end up having fun at this wedding after all.* The priest is definitely heaven-sent but he's off limits, isn't he?* Or perhaps you'll pick the best man. He's very attractive but the best man and the bridesmaid is such a cliché. Right?* And then there's the rugged pilot - his offer of a brief encounter might have surprising consequences . . .Whichever way you decide to go, each twist and turn will lead to an unforgettable encounter. Can you choose the ultimate sensual experience? Remember: if your first choice doesn't hit the spot, then start over and try something (and someone) new. The power is entirely yours in this fully interactive, choose your own destiny novel.

Sphere

A Girl Walks into a Bar

Helena S. Paige
Authors:
Helena S. Paige
Orbit

Promise of Blood

Brian McClellan
Authors:
Brian McClellan
Seal Press

The Posh Girl's Guide to Play

Alexis Lass
Authors:
Alexis Lass
Orbit

The Blinding Knife

Brent Weeks
Authors:
Brent Weeks
Orbit

Blade of Tyshalle

Matthew Stover
Authors:
Matthew Stover

The perfect assassin, the perfect revenge.On Earth, Hari Michaelson was a superstar. But on Overworld, he was the assassin Caine. Real monarchs lived and died at his hands and entire governments were overthrown - all for the entertainment of millions back on Earth. But now Hari, stripped of his identity as Caine, must fight his greatest battle: against the powerful corporate masters of Earth and the faceless masses who are killing everything he loves. Enemies old and new array themselves against him. And Hari is just one man - alone, half-crippled, powerless. They say he doesn't have a chance. They are wrong.Welcome to the world of Caine: Assassin. Hero. Superstar . . .From a New York Times bestselling author comes a gritty action fantasy series like no other - perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie, Brent Weeks, Mark Lawrence and the Assassin's Creed novels. Praise for the Acts of Caine books:'A gritty, bloody, deeply touching work of genius' - Scott Lynch'Hands down one of the most bad-ass, brutal - and brilliant - fantasy series of the last double-decade. You know this if you're already reading it. If you're not already reading it, then good lord, it's time you found out - John Scalzi'If you like really really gritty, dark fantasy like George RR Martin, Richard Morgan (Takashi Kovaks books) or ESPECIALLY Joe Abercrombie, you should get this book' - Felicia Day

Orbit

The Black Prism

Brent Weeks
Authors:
Brent Weeks

EVERY LIGHT CASTS A SHADOWGavin Guile is the Prism, the most powerful man in the world. His strength, wit and charm are all that preserve a tenuous peace. But Prisms never last, and Guile knows exactly how long he has left to live.When Guile discovers he has a son, born in a far kingdom after the war that put him in power, he must decide how much he's willing to pay to protect a secret that could tear his world apart.

Orbit

The Way Of Shadows

Brent Weeks
Authors:
Brent Weeks

The perfect killer has no friends. Only targets. For Durzo Blint, assassination is an art. And he is the city's most accomplished artist, his talents required from alleyway to courtly boudoir.For Azoth, survival is precarious. Something you never take for granted. As a guild rat, he's grown up in the slums, and learned the hard way to judge people quickly - and to take risks. Risks like apprenticing himself to Durzo Blint.But to be accepted, Azoth must turn his back on his old life and embrace a new identity and name. As Kylar Stern, he must learn to navigate the assassins' world of dangerous politics and strange magics - and cultivate a flair for death. ***Also available as a graphic novel adaptation, coming April 2014***

Orbit

Beyond The Shadows

Brent Weeks
Authors:
Brent Weeks

A new queen has usurped the throne and is leading Cenaria into disaster. The country has become a broken realm with a threadbare army, little food, and no hope. Kylar Stern plans to reinstate his closest friend Logan as King, but can he really get away with murder?In the north, the Godking's death has thrown Khalidor into civil war. To gain the upper hand, one faction attempts to raise the goddess Khali herself. But they are playing with volatile powers, and trigger conflict on a vast scale. Seven armies will converge to save - or destroy - an entire continent.Kylar has finally learnt the bitter cost of immortality, and is faced with a task only he can complete. To save his friends, and perhaps his enemies, he must assassinate a goddess. Failure will doom the south. Success will cost him everything he's ever loved.

Hachette Audio

Shadow's Edge

Brent Weeks
Authors:
Brent Weeks
Constable

Consumer Kids

Ed Mayo and Agnes Nairn
Authors:
Ed Mayo and Agnes Nairn
How To Books

A Vegetable Gardener's Year

Dirty Nails
Authors:
Dirty Nails
Abacus

American Shaolin

Matthew Polly
Authors:
Matthew Polly

Matthew Polly was your typical 98-pound weakling with sand kicked in his face - until he decided to learn to kick back. Dropping out of university, he travelled to China to study at the granddaddy of all Chinese martial arts monasteries: the Shaolin Temple, the birthplace of both Zen Buddhism and kungfu. But, as Confucius might have said, path to becoming kung fu master very difficult. For one thing, no one knew where exactly the Shaolin Temple was. And asking for directions proved problematic - after three years spent learning Mandarin in college, Matthew couldn't understand a word outside the classroom. He finally found the Shaolin village hidden away between five mountain peaks. But the hard part was yet to come. The Chinese term for tough training is chi ku (eating bitter) - and Matthew quickly leaned to appreciate the phrase. By the end of the second day of training his knees were in agony and he was walking like the dead - and that was just the induction.American Shaolin is the hilarious story of Matthew's remarkable two-year travel odyssey - a tale of gruelling training, forbidden romance and an eye-watering insight into the art of 'iron-crotch' kungfu.

by Nora Roberts

The Witness: Chapter 1

Chapter One of Nora Roberts' thrilling romance, The Witness.

Now a major film

An extract from Safe Haven

The eighth Nicholas Sparks mega-seller to be adapted for the big screen, Safe Haven is a thrilling tale of secrets, betrayals, heartbreaks, new beginnings and the redemptive power of love. An absolute must-read for those wanting to bring a little North Carolina sun into their lives, the gorgeous film tie-in edition of Safe Haven is available now.

Chapter One

The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds

Read the first chapter of the latest book in Alexander McCall Smith's Sunday Philosophy Club series. The victim of an important art theft appeals to Isabel Dalhousie, Edinburgh philosopher and sleuth, for help.