Related to: 'Helen Black'

Constable

Taking Liberties

Helen Black
Authors:
Helen Black
Little, Brown

The Lie of the Land

Amanda Craig
Authors:
Amanda Craig
PublicAffairs

Narconomics

Tom Wainwright
Authors:
Tom Wainwright
Constable

Friendless Lane

Helen Black
Authors:
Helen Black
Sphere

The Replacement

Patrick Redmond
Authors:
Patrick Redmond

Everyone envies the Randalls: beautiful, accomplished and high-flying, their lives are almost too good to be true.No one envies Stuart. A tough childhood has left him making his way as best he can, vowing to lose a bit more weight and become a bit more successful.But a chance encounter sets in motion a series of events which will shatter everything. Some will think they've lost, others will think they've won, but none of them will be prepared for the final catastrophe of jealousy, betrayal and agonizing justice.They should never have invited Stuart in - and he should never have trusted them.A brilliantly assured psychological thriller that builds tension with such power and conviction, you will feel as if you are there with them, fighting for a say.

Sphere

Next to Die

Neil White
Authors:
Neil White
Sphere

The Wishing Game

Patrick Redmond
Authors:
Patrick Redmond

In the bleak winter term of 1954 something terrible happens at Kirkston Abbey School for Boys. Forty years later a journalist hovers near the truth, buried long ago by the panicked authorities.Kirkston Abbey is no place for the weak: its rules are harsh and its discipline savage. So the struggling Jonathan Palmer cannot believe his luck when Richard Rokeby - tough, handsome, aloof - befriends him.But Rokeby's possessive friendship is suffocating and, what starts out as an innocent game amongst friends, takes a shocking turn as Palmer finds himself powerless to stop Rokeby from unleashing a horrifying fate on them all.A brilliantly clever psychological thriller, The Wishing Game launched Redmond to his bestseller status.

C & R Crime

Dark Spaces

Helen Black
Authors:
Helen Black
Seal Press

Seeing Ezra

Kerry Cohen
Authors:
Kerry Cohen

Seeing Ezra is the soulful, beautifully written memoir of a mother's fierce love for her autistic son, and a poignant examination of what it means to be normal." When Kerry Cohen's son Ezra turns one, a babysitter suggests he may be different," setting her family on a path in which autism dominates their world. As he becomes a toddler and they navigate the often rigid and prescriptive world of therapy, Cohen is unsettled by the evaluations they undergo: At home, Ezra is playfully expressive, sharing profound, touching moments of connection and intimacy with his mother and other family members, but in therapy he is pathologized, prodded to behave in ways that undermine his unique expression of autism. It soon becomes clear that more is at stake than just Ezra's well-being Cohen and her marriage are suffering as well. Ezra's differentness, and the strain of pursuing varied therapies, takes a toll on the family,Cohen's husband grows depressed and she pursues an affair,all as she tries to help others recognize and embrace Ezra's uniqueness rather than force him to behave outside his comfort level. It isn't until they abandon the expected, prescriptive notions about love, marriage, and individuality that they are able to come back together as two parents who fiercely love their little boy.Powerful and eye-opening, Seeing Ezra is an inspirational chronicle of a mother's struggle to protect her son from a system that seeks to compartmentalize and fix" him, and of her journey toward accepting and valuing him for who he is,just as he is.

C & R Crime

Twenty Twelve

Helen Black
Authors:
Helen Black

As the UK struggles with a hopeless war in the Middle East, the worst recession in a hundred years and a fraud scandal which has rocked the government to its core, the Prime Minister is determined to host an unrivalled summer of sporting achievement at the London Olympics to propel the country into a new era.Joe Moran, MP for Primrose Hill and keen long distance runner and sports fan, is among the many around the world eagerly anticipating the games and is delighted when he is asked to become minister for Sports and Heritage, heavily involved in the plans for the opening ceremony.It beats the tedium of life in Westminster as even meetings are less boring when the subject matter is sport.Less boring that is, until the first bomb explodes... and MI5 uncover a plot to kill thousands of people while the world watches on television.

C & R Crime

Blood Rush

Helen Black
Authors:
Helen Black
by Nora Roberts

The Witness: Chapter 1

Chapter One of Nora Roberts' thrilling romance, The Witness.

Read an exclusive extract here

Countdown

Read an exclusive extract from Alan Weisman’s brilliant new book, Countdown.

Read an exclusive extract

Countdown

Read an exclusive extract from Alan Weisman's brilliant new book, Countdown.

author of The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul

Q&A with Deborah Rodriguez

Deborah Rodriguez, author of The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul, shares her experiences of Afghanistan in this fascinating Q&A.

13 June 2104

Terms and Conditions of Sale

These terms and conditions of sale (the "Terms") govern any orders placed using and purchases made in connection with the Website. Please read these Terms carefully. You agree to be bound by these Terms by placing orders using and/or by making purchases in connection with the Website. Do not place orders using or make purchases in connection with the Website if you do not agree to these Terms. Nothing in these Terms affects your statutory rights. The Website and the information contained on it may be supplemented, removed, changed and/or updated without notice to you. We may revise these Terms and any other legal notice on the Website (including the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy) without notice to you. All changes will be effective when posted on the Website and you should check the Website from time to time to review these Terms and other legal notices because they are binding on you.

Terms and Conditions of Sale

www. littlebrown.co.uk (the "Website") is operated by Littlehampton Book Services Limited and Little, Brown Book Group Limited (referred to as "we", "us" and "our" below). Littlehampton Book Services Limited (“LBS”) is a company registered in England and Wales (registration number 00250744) LBS whose registered office is at Faraday Road, Durrington, Worthing, West Sussex, England, BN13 3RB.

Prior to - 13-06-2014

Terms and Conditions of Sale

www. littlebrown.co.uk (the "Website") is operated by Littlehampton Book Services Limited (LBS) and Little, Brown Book Group Limited (referred to as "we", "us" and "our" below). Littlehampton Book Services Limited ("the Company", "our" or "us") provides a generic web-based payment gateway and generic web services (together, the "Services") to various publishers ("Publishers") for the purpose of handling order fulfilment of goods on behalf of the Publishers. By completing the order form you are submitting an order for the specified goods and you are accepting that your order and the contract between the Company and you are subject to these terms and conditions ("Service Terms"). These Service Terms and do not affect your statutory rights.

Chapter One

The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds

Read the first chapter of the latest book in Alexander McCall Smith's Sunday Philosophy Club series. The victim of an important art theft appeals to Isabel Dalhousie, Edinburgh philosopher and sleuth, for help.

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.