Related to: 'Allison Glock-Cooper'

Seal Press

I'm Not Really a Waitress

Suzi Weiss-Fischmann
Authors:
Suzi Weiss-Fischmann

Today, OPI is known as a global beauty icon, famous for its trend-setting colors, unforgettable shade names, and celebrity collaborations with the biggest stars from film, television, music, and sports. But behind all the glamour is the little-known tale of OPI's unlikely origins-an intimate and inspiring story of a timid schoolgirl who arrives in this country with little money and no English and becomes the business leader and industry game-changer known worldwide as "Suzi, the First Lady of Nails."In I'm Not Really a Waitress--titled after OPI's top-selling nail color--Suzi reveals the events that led her family to flee Communist Hungary and eventually come to New York City in pursuit of the American dream. She shares how those early experiences gave rise to OPI's revolutionary vision of freedom and empowerment, and how Suzi transformed an industry by celebrating the power of color-and of women themselves.

FaithWords

God vs. Religion

Creflo A. Dollar
Authors:
Creflo A. Dollar

Over centuries, religion has broken churches, fueled wars, and driven people away from the true Gospel of Jesus. Dr. Creflo Dollar shows why God hates religion--but loves for people to have genuine connections with Him. He presents 10 compelling reasons, such as: Religion makes people try to earn their way into Heaven, but Christ offers grace; Religion says God uses calamity to teach His people, but Christ comforts us; and Religion makes prayer a powerless "form of godliness," but Christ hears every word. WHY I HATE RELIGION will give readers an empowering understanding of the true values of Christianity and beliefs that transform church-going into a full, authentic, and meaningful relationship with God.

Seal Press

Passed and Present

Allison Gilbert
Authors:
Allison Gilbert

Passed and Present is a one-of-a-kind guide for discovering creative and meaningful ways to keep the memory of loved ones alive. Inspiring and imaginative, this bona fide "how-to" manual teaches us how to remember those we miss most, no matter how long they've been gone. Passed and Present is not about sadness and grieving,it is about happiness and remembering. It is possible to look forward, to live a rich and joyful life, while keeping the memory of loved ones alive. This much-needed, easy-to-use roadmap shares 85 imaginative ways to celebrate and honor family and friends we never want to forget. Chapter topics include: Repurpose With Purpose: Ideas for transforming objects and heirlooms. Discover ways to reimagine photographs, jewellery, clothing, letters, recipes ,virtually any inherited item or memento. Use Technology: Strategies for your daily, digital life. Opportunities for using computers, scanners, printers, apps, mobile devices, and websites. Not Just Holidays: Tips for remembrance any time of year, day or night, whenever you feel that pull , be it a loved one's birthday, an anniversary, or just a moment when a memory catches you by surprise. Monthly Guide: Christmas, Thanksgiving, Mother's Day, Father's Day, and other special times of year present unique challenges and opportunities. This chapter provides exciting ideas for making the most of them while keeping your loved one's memory alive. Places to Go: Destinations around the world where reflecting and honoring loved ones is a communal activity. This concept is called Commemorative Travel. Also included are suggestions for incorporating aspects of these foreign traditions into your practices at home. Being proactive about remembering loved ones has a powerful and unexpected benefit: it can make you happier. The more we incorporate memories into our year-round lives ,as opposed to sectioning them off to a particular time of year,the more we can embrace the people who have passed, and all that's good and fulfilling in our present. With beautiful illustrations throughout by artist Jennifer Orkin Lewis, Passed and Present includes an introduction by Hope Edelman, bestselling author of Motherless Daughters.

ATOM

Changers, Book Two

Allison Glock-Cooper, T. Cooper
Authors:
Allison Glock-Cooper, T. Cooper

Changers Book Two: Oryon finds our hero Ethan/Drew on the eve of her second metamorphosis - into Oryon, a skinny African American skater boy with more swagger than he knows what to do with.Enter a mess of trouble from the Changers Council, the closed-minded Abiders, the Radical Changers, and his best friend Audrey - at least she was his best friend when Oryon was Drew - and now, it's complicated.But that's life for Changers, an ancient race of humans who must live out each year of high school as a completely different person. Before next summer, Oryon will learn what it means to be truly loved, scared spitless, and at the centre of a burgeoning national culture war. Most of all, he will learn again how much the eyes of the world try to shape you into what they see - and how only when you resist do you clearly begin to see yourself.

ATOM

Changers, Book One: Drew

Allison Glock-Cooper, T. Cooper
Authors:
Allison Glock-Cooper, T. Cooper
Sphere

Till the Butchers Cut Him Down

Marcia Muller
Authors:
Marcia Muller

Sharon McCone has just left the All-Souls Legal Cooperative and opened her own business when an eccentric friend from her UC-Berkeley days, who now specializes in rescuing failing corporations, asks her to find out who is sabotaging his efforts to save a San Francisco shipping firm and threatening his life. T. J. "Suitcase" Gordon reports some odd accidents, but McCone suspects that he might be be paranoid until there is a tragic death close to him. Unearthing possible revenge motives and another murder victim, she draws the killer's malevolent attention to herself back in San Francisco...

Seal Press

All the Things We Never Knew

Sheila Hamilton
Authors:
Sheila Hamilton

"A boldly beautiful page-turner about loving and losing someone with mental illness. I'll be recommending this absorbing memoir for years to come." ,Cheryl Strayed, best-selling author of Wild Even as a reporter, Sheila Hamilton missed the signs as her husband David's mental illness unfolded before her. By the time she had pieced together the puzzle, it was too late. Her once brilliant and passionate partner was dead within six weeks of a diagnosis of bipolar disorder, leaving his young daughter and wife without so much as a note to explain his actions, a plan to help them recover from their profound grief, or a solution for the hundreds of thousands of dollars in debt that they would inherit from him. All the Things We Never Knew takes readers on a breathtaking journey from David and Sheila's romance through the last three months of their life together and into the year after his death. It details their unsettling spiral from ordinary life into the world of mental illness, examines the fragile line between reality and madness, and reveals the true power of love and forgiveness.

FaithWords

You're Supposed to be Wealthy

Creflo A. Dollar
Authors:
Creflo A. Dollar

When it comes to going to the next level in life, the area of finances is one in which God desires to increase and expand us to greater levels. Wealth and riches are the inheritance of the believer; however we must release our faith in God's ability to increase us more and more, even to the point of bringing generational wealth into our lives. As we prioritise our finances and commit to making God's way of doing things our primary focus, we can begin to experience the financial blessing God promises in His Word. In YOU'RE SUPPOSED TO BE WEALTHY, Creflo Dollar gives spiritual and practical wisdom on how to position yourself for financial increase. Not only must you activate spiritual principles such as walking by faith and obedience, but you must also learn how to operate in a level of stewardship that demonstrates character, responsibility, and wisdom. Anyone can reach the level of divine wealth that God desires for His people to walk in by doing what is necessary to recieve the abundance that rightfully belongs to us as songs of God. You are supposed to be rich.

Constable

Phileas Dogg's Guide to Dog Friendly Holidays in Britain

Jane Common
Authors:
Jane Common
Running Press Adult

Sammy Davis Jr.

Nina Bunche Pierce, Tracey Davis
Authors:
Nina Bunche Pierce, Tracey Davis
Virago

Henry James

Lyndall Gordon
Authors:
Lyndall Gordon

James's friendship with Constance Fenimore Woolson ended in 1894 when he tried to drown a boatload of her dresses in the Venetian lagoon; she had fallen to her death three months before. It was an elusive friendship that echoed his mysterious relationship with Minny Temple who had died twenty years earlier. From their graves, these two women haunted his imagination and his fiction, inspiring the creation of his heroines.

Piatkus

The Search

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

It's been a few years since Fiona Bristow moved to Orcas Island to rebuild her life. Within the small, tight-knit island community she's built up a canine rescue centre that trains dogs to track missing persons in Washington's vast wilderness. Other than her work, Fiona wants to be left alone. Romantic entanglements are very far down on her list - and certainly not with Simon Doyle, an artist newly arrived from the mainland. Simon doesn't know that Fiona harbours a terrible secret, and that her past still puts them both in very real danger . . .

Constable

There'll Always be an England

Sue Macartney-Snape, Victoria Mather
Authors:
Sue Macartney-Snape, Victoria Mather

A brilliant new collection of stereotypes from the long running Daily Telegraph series.In this hilariously mordant, yet touchingly sympathetic, book, no aspect of English life is spared. Victoria Mather and Sue Macartney-Snape return in sparkling form to immortalize those very English characters and situations we come across every day. For all of us, there'll always be an England, and, we're afraid, this is it...Stereotypes include:The Post Office QueueThe Cheryl Cole WannabeThe Rebellious CongregationThe Pub Quiz TeamThe Comical Dog ShowThe Hateful HostsThe MilkmanThe Village OrganistThe Pet FuneralPraise for previous collections:'Mather and Macartney-Snape are not so much observers, more collectors, pinning their victims like butterflies in a display cabinet ... Very enjoyable.' - Michael Parkinson'With consummate skill the authors have once again skewered our national smugness' - Nicky Haslam'A dazzling combination' - Jilly Cooper

How To Books

How to Succeed As A Freelancer In Publishing

Charlie Wilson, Emma Murray
Authors:
Charlie Wilson, Emma Murray
Corsair

Crazy Heart

Thomas Cobb
Authors:
Thomas Cobb

At the age of fifty-seven, Bad Blake is on his last legs. His weight, his ticker, his liver, even his pick-up truck are all giving him trouble. A renowned songwriter and "picker" who hasn't recorded in five years, Bad now travels the countryside on gigs that take him mostly to motels and bowling alleys. Enter Ms. Right. Can Bad stop living the life of a country-western song and tie a rope around his crazy heart?

T. Cooper

T COOPER and ALLISON GLOCK-COOPER are best-selling and award-winning authors and journalists. Between them, they have published seven books, raised two children, and rescued six dogs. The CHANGERS series is their first collaboration in print. The two also write for television and film, and they can be reached at their websites: www.t-cooper.com and www.allisonglock.com.

Parts One and Two Script Book

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.