Related to: 'Elly MacKay'

Moon Travel

Moon Toronto & Ontario (First Edition)

Carolyn B. Heller
Authors:
Carolyn B. Heller

This diverse province and its vibrant capital are buzzing with creative cuisine, art, and outdoor adventure. Inside Moon Toronto & Ontario you'll find:Flexible, strategic itineraries for any budget or timeline, including three days in Toronto, a Georgian Bay coastal road trip, and a week covering the whole regionThe top sights and unique activities for making the most of your trip: Catch dramatic views of Niagara Falls on a helicopter flightseeing tour, watch the Changing of the Guards at Ottawa's Parliament Building, or tread the thrilling Edgewalk 116 stories above Toronto. Dine at farm-to-table restaurants or sip your way through wine country. Hike a section of the Bruce Trail (Canada's longest hiking route!), pedal along Lake Erie, or canoe through Algonquin. Go scuba diving to deep shipwrecks in Lake Superior, relax on the world's longest freshwater beach, or go skiing, snowboarding, or dog-sledding through fresh, powdery snowFull-color photos and detailed maps throughoutHonest advice on when to go, where to eat, and where to stay, from campgrounds and hostels to spa retreats and B&Bs Expert perspective from Carolyn B. Heller, who has spent over a decade living and traveling throughout CanadaRecommendations for getting around by plane, car, boat, train, and public transportationHandy tips for international visitors, seniors, travelers with disabilities, and moreBackground information on the landscape, plants and animals, history, and cultureFull coverage of Toronto, Niagara Falls, Lake Erie, Lake Huron, Eastern Ontario, Ottawa, Lake Superior, Georgian Bay, Cottage Country, Algonquin, and the NortheastWith Moon Toronto & Ontario's expert insight, myriad activities, and practical tips, you can plan your trip your way.

Running Press Kids

Waltz of the Snowflakes

Elly MacKay
Authors:
Elly MacKay
Moon Travel

Moon Vancouver

Carolyn B. Heller
Authors:
Carolyn B. Heller

Piatkus

Ravage

Tillie Cole
Authors:
Tillie Cole

The thrilling third installment of USA Today bestselling author Tillie Cole's #ScarredSouls series.Taken by the Jakhua Clan as a teen, 194 was stripped of his name, his identity, and his freewill, meticulously honed to be a ruthless, soulless killing machine, trained solely to spill blood and stop hearts. This is a role he resents with every fiber of his being, but one he embraces to gain back the precious leverage the Georgians wield as their weapon of control: his younger sister, 152.Mzia Kostava is in shock. After fleeing her mafia family's massacre in Georgia as a child, Mzia lives in secret, hiding from her enemies in the dark shadows of Manhattan. At age twenty-five, believing all her family is dead, word reaches Mzia that her brother Zaal is very much alive... and living with their family's greatest enemy: the Volkov Bratva in Brooklyn.Yearning to be reunited with her beloved Zaal, Mzia risks her safety and anonymity for the brother she had mourned since childhood. But just as she reaches Zaal's apartment, Mzia is seized and taken captive by a strange man, who is strong, dark, and brutal... Unyielding, he demands her utter obedience as he locks her away in darkness. He is highly skilled in torture and inflicting pain, and demands to know everything about her brother Zaal and everything about her. He is a man that'll do anything to get what he wants.Sometimes love requires the sacrifice and betrayal of those held most dear. But is finding one's true love worth committing the greatest sacrifice of all?

Moon Travel

Moon Vancouver & Canadian Rockies Road Trip

Carolyn B. Heller
Authors:
Carolyn B. Heller
Running Press Kids

Bella's Best of All

Jamie Harper
Authors:
Jamie Harper

Bella thinks her purse, necklace, and shoes are good. And Mommy's? Well, Mommy's things are always better. But what happens when Bella misplaces her favourite toy? Follow this busy little mouse as she discovers what truly is the best of all.

Virago

Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl

Carrie Brownstein
Authors:
Carrie Brownstein

Emma Watson's Book Club pick for July and August 2016Before Carrie Brownstein became a music icon, she was a young girl growing up in the Pacific Northwest just as it was becoming the setting for one of the most important movements in rock history. Seeking a sense of home and identity, she would discover both while moving from spectator to creator in experiencing the power and mystery of a live performance. With Sleater-Kinney, Brownstein and her bandmates rose to prominence in the burgeoning underground feminist punk-rock movement that would define music and pop culture in the 1990s. They would be cited as "America's best rock band" by legendary music critic Greil Marcus for their defiant, exuberant brand of punk that resisted labels and limitations, and redefined notions of gender in rock.Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl is an intimate and revealing narrative of her escape from a turbulent family life into a world where music was the means toward self-invention, community, and rescue. Along the way, Brownstein chronicles the excitement and contradictions within the era's flourishing and fiercely independent music subculture, including experiences that sowed the seeds for the observational satire of the popular television series Portlandia years later.With deft, lucid prose Brownstein proves herself as formidable on the page as on the stage. Accessibly raw, honest and heartfelt, this book captures the experience of being a young woman, a born performer and an outsider, and ultimately finding one's true calling through hard work, courage and the intoxicating power of rock and roll.

Forever

Summer at the Shore

V.K. Sykes
Authors:
V.K. Sykes
Running Press Kids

Butterfly Park

Elly MacKay
Authors:
Elly MacKay

When a little girl moves to a new town, she finds a place called Butterfly Park. But when she opens the gate, there are no butterflies. Determined to lure the butterflies in, the girl inspires her entire town to help her. And with their combined efforts, soon the butterflies,and the girl,feel right at home. Elly MacKay's luminous paper-cut illustrations and enchanting story encourage community, friendship, and wonderment in the beauty of everyday life. Free poster on reverse side of book jacket.

Moon Travel

Moon El Salvador

Jaime Jacques
Authors:
Jaime Jacques

Moon Handbooks give you the tools to make your own choices. Can't-miss sights, activities, restaurants, and accommodations, marked with M Essential info on San Salvador, El Salvador's resilient urban heart Suggestions on how to plan a trip that's perfect for you, including: The Best of El Salvador Surf's Up! From Cool Cloud Forests to Warm Waves Art and Culture: Past and Present13 detailed and easy-to-use mapsThe firsthand experience and unique perspective of author Jaime Jacques

Running Press Kids

Shadow Chasers

Elly MacKay
Authors:
Elly MacKay

Once evening paints the summer sky, shadows will come out to play. You must move fast, because as quickly as the wind blows, the shadows will be on their way. Chasing after our hopes and dreams may take many tries before we finally catch them. This magical nighttime story shows that the journey is just as remarkable as the destination.

Running Press Kids

Princesses on the Run

Smiljana Coh
Authors:
Smiljana Coh

Even the prettiest dresses, latest toys, and friendliest elephant can't cure Princess Antonia's boredom. And when she becomes so bored, she decides to run away! Luckily, with friends like Rapunzel, Cinderella, Snow White, and Sleeping Beauty, a big adventure is sure to follow! 2014 Amelia Bloomer Project Recommended Feminist Literature for Birth through 18

Running Press Kids

If You Hold a Seed

Elly MacKay, Elly MacKay
Contributors:
Elly MacKay, Elly MacKay
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Birdie Plays Dress-Up

Sujean Rim
Authors:
Sujean Rim

Birdie just loves to play dress-up, trying on all of her fancy clothes, shoes, and accessories to find the perfect new look. Dresses make her feel like a princess, and sunglasses make her feel like a movie star... but in the end, Birdie realizes that the most fun person to be is herself.Birdie Plays Dress-Up introduces our beloved character and her passion for fashion to a whole new group of board book readers. Features an eye-catching dimensional cover treatment.

Carolyn B. Heller

Carolyn B. Heller first vacationed in Ontario as a child, spending family holidays exploring the Thousand Islands, touring Canada's tomato capital, and cruising under the spray at Niagara Falls. Later, she took her own children to Niagara, where their favorite activities were anything that involved getting wet. After moving to Canada in 2003, Carolyn began scouting out Toronto's multicultural neighborhoods, taking in theater festivals at Stratford and Niagara-on-the-Lake, and discovering Ontario's outdoors, from the Bruce Peninsula's rocky shores to the pink cliffs of Killarney and the lakes and trails in Algonquin Provincial Park.A full-time travel, food, and feature writer, Carolyn has contributed to more than 50 travel and restaurant guides to destinations ranging from Canada and New England to China. She's the author of Moon Ontario, Moon Spotlight Georgian Bay & Cottage Country, and Moon Living Abroad in Canada and its companion website, livingabroadincanada.com. Her articles have appeared in Forbes Travel, Viator Travel, the Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, FamilyFun, Real Weddings, and Perceptive Travel, as well as the book Travelers' Tales Paris.Carolyn is an avid traveler and passionate food lover who has eaten on the streets, in fine restaurants, and everywhere in between in more than 40 countries. A graduate of Brown University, she lives in Vancouver with her husband and twin daughters, where you can often find her trying out a new recipe, running on the beach, practicing her storytelling skills, or struggling to learn Mandarin Chinese.

Chapter One

The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds

Read the first chapter of the latest book in Alexander McCall Smith's Sunday Philosophy Club series. The victim of an important art theft appeals to Isabel Dalhousie, Edinburgh philosopher and sleuth, for help.

by Nora Roberts

The Witness: Chapter 1

Chapter One of Nora Roberts' thrilling romance, The Witness.

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

An exclusive extract

The Red Book

The Red Book is the name of the annual yearbook produced by Harvard University that helps keep alumni abreast of their former classmates achievements. Deborah Kogan's highly acclaimed new novel is the story of four such Harvard students and friends, who's lives have taken very different paths in the twenty years since graduating in 1989, and who are brought together once more over the course of a turbulent reunion weekend.

Is there a story that has a permanent place in your heart?

Coming of age classics

Is there a story that you would wish to pass on to the next generation, and would yourself happily read again now?