Related to: 'Sarah Ivens'

Piatkus

Away & Aware

Sara Clemence
Authors:
Sara Clemence
PublicAffairs

The H Spot

Jill Filipovic
Authors:
Jill Filipovic
Center Street

The 30-Minute Money Plan for Moms

Catey Hill
Authors:
Catey Hill
Dialogue Books

The Leavers

Lisa Ko
Authors:
Lisa Ko

'Sensational' - Guardian'Utterly immersive' - Daily Mail'There was a time I would have called Lisa Ko's novel beautifully written, ambitious, and moving, and all of that is true, but it's more than that now: if you want to understand a forgotten and essential part of the world we live in, The Leavers is required reading' - Ann Patchett, author of CommonwealthFINALIST, NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR FICTION 2017FINALIST, PEN/HEMINGWAY AWARD FOR DEBUT FICTION 2017WINNER OF THE 2016 PEN/BELLWETHER PRIZE FOR FICTIONNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF 2017 BY OPRAH, NPR, BUZZFEED AND HUFFINGTON POST*****One morning, Deming Guo's mother, Polly, an undocumented Chinese immigrant, goes to her job at a nail salon - and never comes home. No one can find any trace of her. With his mother gone, eleven-year-old Deming is left mystified and bereft. Eventually adopted by a pair of well-meaning white professors, Deming is moved from the Bronx to a small town upstate and renamed Daniel Wilkinson. But far from all he's ever known, Daniel struggles to reconcile his adoptive parents' desire that he assimilate with his memories of his mother and the community he left behind. Set in New York and China, The Leavers is a vivid examination of borders and belonging. It's a moving story of how a boy comes into his own when everything he loves is taken away, and how a mother learns to live with the mistakes of the past.*****'The Leavers feels as relevant as ever as the future of immigrants in America hangs in the balance' - TIMEA rich, multifaceted portrait of displacement and the trauma of not belonging - IndependentA rich and sensitive portrait of lives lived across borders, cultures, and languages ... One of the most engaging, deeply probing, and beautiful books I have read this year - Laila Lalami, author of The Moor's Account'Instantly compelling' - Stylist Magazine'A must-read' - Marie ClaireLisa Ko's writing is snappy, real and completely engrossing... it took my breath away - Books ft. Politics

Piatkus

Forest Therapy

Sarah Ivens
Authors:
Sarah Ivens

Who hasn't felt better after a walk in the woods, a picnic alfresco or a swim in the sea? There is something soul-soothingly simple and refreshing about being in nature, about making the most of the great outdoors, being mindful of Mother Nature's gifts and grabbing spring and summer - and those blue sky, brisk days of autumn and winter - with both hands. But sadly it is a skill we are losing. We are becoming creatures wrapped in walls and trapped by to-do lists, hibernating while the world sprouts, grows and changes.From a simple walk in the woods and countryside couples therapy to DIY natural beauty products and how to bring the outdoors to your home, Forest Therapy will provide seasonal tips to help you reconnect with nature. This book is not just for mountain climbers or white water rafters - it is for uninspired fathers wanting to reconnect their families, bookworms looking to shake off their cobwebs, cooped-up kids needing to let off steam, stressed-out professionals wanting to stop and smell the flowers and worn-down mums needing a rejuvenating boost. We all know getting outside is good for us. Our ancestors did it. We should too. This book will help you live your most unforgettable, fabulous alfresco life.

Hachette Audio

Not The Whole Story

Angela Huth
Authors:
Angela Huth
Sphere

Departures

Anna Hart
Authors:
Anna Hart

'Humorous, emotional and useful...Don't read Departures if you've got any annual leave left to play with'GraziaHave you ever turned up on a post-heartbreak holiday hopelessly unprepared and been forced to sleep on the floor wrapped up in a curtain? How about that eagerly-awaited solo adventure when you had to be airlifted home? Or what about the time you went to a fascinating European cultural capital and neglected to visit any of the world-renowned sights because you were in the bar? Well, Anna Hart has been on all those holidays, and more. As an avid traveller and then travel journalist, she's spent most of her working life on a plane somewhere, and over 10 years writing about the places she's ended up. In Departures she brings all of that knowledge together with the signature warmth and wit of her journalism. Anna is here to show that even the experts get it wrong, and how to get it right . . .

New Harbinger

The Perfectionism Workbook for Teens

Ann Marie Dobosz
Authors:
Ann Marie Dobosz
Piatkus

The Hating Game: 'Warm, witty and wise' The Daily Mail

Sally Thorne
Authors:
Sally Thorne

'Charming, self-deprecating, quick-witted and funny.' The New York Times'The next Sophie Kinsella.' BustleLucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman sit across from each other every day . . . and they hate each other. Not dislike. Not begrudgingly tolerate. HATE. Lucy can't understand Joshua's joyless, uptight approach to his job and refusal to smile. Joshua is clearly baffled by Lucy's overly bright clothes, quirkiness, and desire to be liked.Now they're up for the same promotion and Lucy, usually a determined people-pleaser, has had enough: it's time to take him down. But as the tension between Lucy and Joshua reaches its boiling point, it's clear that the real battle has only just begun . . .This bestselling, laugh-out-loud romantic comedy is an unmissable, utterly loveable treat and is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella's MY NOT SO PERFECT LIFE or Jo Watson's LOVE TO HATE YOU'A smart and funny modern romance.' Good Housekeeping 'The most uplifting novel you'll read this year' Amazon reviewer

Constable

The Art of Being Middle Class

Not Actual Size
Authors:
Not Actual Size

Middle-class Brits are embarrassed, awkward, and charmingly insecure in their tastes. The Art of Being Middle-Class, based on stories from cult blog The Middle Class Handbook, is here to help.What are the essential topics to cover when talking about other couples? What do you do about the awkward bag on the seat moment? How do you subtly boast about your summer holiday destination? What does your cooker hood say about you? With tips on taste and etiquette, a conspiratorial cheer here and there, and a kick up the bum when necessary, this book sets out to help our marvellous British MCs be the best they can be. Praise for The Middle Class Handbook:"Indispensable... whether you're middle class or pretending not to be." GQ magazine."Hilarious... we laughed our organic, brushed cotton socks off." Grazia."The Middle Class Handbook skewers the middle classes, and then dissects them with ruthless comical accuracy." Esquire.

Piatkus

Mindfulness for Women

Vidyamala Burch, Claire Irvin
Authors:
Vidyamala Burch, Claire Irvin
Piatkus

Leave Your Mark

Aliza Licht
Authors:
Aliza Licht
Seal Press

Seeing Ezra

Kerry Cohen
Authors:
Kerry Cohen

Seeing Ezra is the soulful, beautifully written memoir of a mother's fierce love for her autistic son, and a poignant examination of what it means to be normal." When Kerry Cohen's son Ezra turns one, a babysitter suggests he may be different," setting her family on a path in which autism dominates their world. As he becomes a toddler and they navigate the often rigid and prescriptive world of therapy, Cohen is unsettled by the evaluations they undergo: At home, Ezra is playfully expressive, sharing profound, touching moments of connection and intimacy with his mother and other family members, but in therapy he is pathologized, prodded to behave in ways that undermine his unique expression of autism. It soon becomes clear that more is at stake than just Ezra's well-being Cohen and her marriage are suffering as well. Ezra's differentness, and the strain of pursuing varied therapies, takes a toll on the family,Cohen's husband grows depressed and she pursues an affair,all as she tries to help others recognize and embrace Ezra's uniqueness rather than force him to behave outside his comfort level. It isn't until they abandon the expected, prescriptive notions about love, marriage, and individuality that they are able to come back together as two parents who fiercely love their little boy.Powerful and eye-opening, Seeing Ezra is an inspirational chronicle of a mother's struggle to protect her son from a system that seeks to compartmentalize and fix" him, and of her journey toward accepting and valuing him for who he is,just as he is.

Robinson

The DIY Wedding Manual

Lisa Sodeau
Authors:
Lisa Sodeau

This book will show you that with a little bit of planning and preparation, it is possible to have the day of your dreams without starting married life in debt. The average cost of a wedding is about as much as a deposit on a house, but one thing the 'credit crunch' taught us all is that there are many areas in our lives where we can save money by doing things ourselves. So why should weddings be an exception? Whether it's boom or bust you don't have to spend a fortune. You really can create your own special day by doing it yourself and having fun along the way. This book is packed with top tips and money saving ideas for: Stationery, Venues, Flowers, Transport, Hair and Make-up, Photographs, Food and Drink, the Reception and much more - including tips from live brides and over 100 budget busting ideas.

Piatkus

A Modern Girl's Guide To The Perfect Single Life

Sarah Ivens
Authors:
Sarah Ivens
Piatkus

A Modern Girl's Guide To Networking

Sarah Ivens
Authors:
Sarah Ivens

This fun, info-packed guide is the perfect book for those seeking personal or career success and improved communication skills. Sarah Ivens, bestselling author of A Modern Girl's Guide to Etiquette, tells you how to network with integrity, how to win friends, work a room at social occasions and get ahead in business. Ideas to improve your confidence along with case studies of successful networkers will help you become the successful woman you want to be. Topics covered include: Basic etiquette and body language; Conversation starters; The art of communication; Social situations; Hosting an event; Friendships and dating; In the office.

Piatkus

The Bride's Guide To Unique Weddings

Sarah Ivens
Authors:
Sarah Ivens
Piatkus

A Modern Girl's Guide To Etiquette

Sarah Ivens
Authors:
Sarah Ivens

Have you ever felt out of your depth in a social situation? Not known what cutlery to use or how to fend off your boss's advances? This fun but essential 21st Century guide tells the modern girl what to do and how to behave in every situation. A Modern Girl's Guide to Etiquette gives tips, guidance and lively examples on how to be cool, calm and collected when entertaining, when out and about or simply meeting and communicating with others. Packed full of common dilemmas and advice as well as secrets of success and experience, this book is a must-have for every woman. Topics covered include: Basic rules for everyday manners; How to be a cool companion; The art of conversation; Success in the workplace; Sending out the right messages; Eating out; Being the hostess with the mostest; Being the perfect guest; Handling the rude, crude and undesirable

Piatkus

A Modern Girl's Guide To Getting Hitched

Sarah Ivens
Authors:
Sarah Ivens

Sarah Ivens Moffett

Sarah Ivens is the Editor of OK! Magazine in New York. She has also written for Marie Claire, Tatler, Woman's Journal, Daily Mail, Mail on Sunday, News of the World and GQ. She is the author of the bestselling Modern Girl's Guide to Getting Hitched.