Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books Little, Brown Book Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

Keeping At It

By Paul A. Volcker, Christine Harper
Authors:
Paul A. Volcker, Christine Harper
Paul Volcker has devoted his life's work to public service and the critical importance of open, disciplined and efficient government. As chairman of the Federal Reserve (1979-1987) he literally rescued the American economy from destroying itself, summoning the courage to take radical and controversial steps to slay the inflation dragon. And whenever the going got really tough--the financial crash of 2008, the need to reform banking, the oil for food UN scandal, the turmoil in Switzerland over theft of Holocaust victims, cheating in Major League Baseball--US presidents and other leaders said to "get Volcker in here to help me work this thing through."Told with wit, humor, and down-to-earth erudition, Volcker's memoir brings to life the changes that have taken place in American life, government, and the economy since World War II. Readers will of course find his penetrating insight into the strengths, weaknesses, and foibles of presidents, chancellors, and finance ministers of great interest. But the person who stands above all and resonates most is his father, the town manager of Teaneck, N.J.--Volcker's role model throughout his life of the critical importance of good government and the absolute need for dedicated, experienced public servants to competently lead us through the changes that await us in our lifetime.

Keep Calm . . . It's Just Real Estate

By Amber Noble Garland, Egypt Sherrod
Authors:
Amber Noble Garland, Egypt Sherrod
Egypt Sherrod knows how to take nervous prospective home-buyers by the hand and lead them through the process. She does it every week as host of HGTV's highly-rated show, Property Virgins . Now she translates her reassuring personality onto the page, with this "No-Stress" guide to buying a home. Egypt takes readers through, simplifying all the many steps of the process, and giving them invaluable information, including:-Top ten things to consider before buying a home-How sticking with one agent works in your favour-Eight ways to be an attractive homebuyer on paper, and ease the mortgage-approval process.-What to do in a bidding war-Why you should NEVER overlook the home inspection-And much more! Egypt blends her professional know-how and her personable touch with this down-to-earth guide, providing plenty of anecdotes, handy lists, and even a glossary to ensure that readers keep calm...and experience the thrill of home ownership.

Keeping Your Head After Losing Your Job

By Robert L. Leahy
Authors:
Robert L. Leahy
Although the current economic crisis creates a sense of urgency, we have always had and will always have a large number of people who are unemployed. For many, it is the most difficult time that they have ever faced. Without help, the unemployed face an increased risk of binge drinking, depression, anxiety and suicide. For many, there is a decreased quality of mental health, life satisfaction and objective physical wellbeing. Most feel alone and helpless.Dr Robert Leahy has worked with many unemployed people over the years, examining the psychological consequences of unemployment and exploring ways to help people cope with the emotional fallout of losing their job. This book gives readers psychological tools to handle their period of unemployment and simple, self-help strategies that can be used immediately to help them feel better and act better. The book draws on cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) as well as practices such as mindfulness to help readers boost their self-esteem and confidence, decrease anxiety and feelings of helplessness, and develop resiliance and strength going forward.
  • More

K Blows Top

By Peter Carlson
Authors:
Peter Carlson
Khrushchev's 1959 trip across America was one of the strangest exercises in international diplomacy ever conducted. Khrushchev told jokes, threw tantrums, sparked a riot in a San Francisco supermarket, wowed the coeds in a home economics class in Iowa, and ogled Shirley MacLaine as she filmed a dance scene in Can-Can . He befriended and offended a cast of characters including Nelson Rockefeller, Richard Nixon, Eleanor Roosevelt, Elizabeth Taylor, and Marilyn Monroe. K Blows Top is a work of history that reads like a Vonnegut novel. This cantankerous communist's road trip took place against the backdrop of the fifties in America, with the shadow of the hydrogen bomb hanging over his visit like the Sword of Damocles. As Khrushchev kept reminding people, he was a hot-tempered man who possessed the power to incinerate America.

King Of The Ants

By Charlie Higson
Authors:
Charlie Higson
It seemed straightforward enough. Sean had now consumed so much alcohol that everything seemed perfectly reasonable. He'd started planning the job already. The first problem was how to do it. Thirteen thousand pounds in an envelope seems a fair price for a man's life. Particularly if you don't know the man, he seems a nonentity, and you quite fancy his wife. And there's no chance of being caught. Sean is a drifter, working as a building labourer and waiting for something to happen. When Sean is offered easy money to tail someone and even more easy money to dispose of him, it's all more tempting than you might think. Except when you realize that you've been led up the garden path the whole way... KING OF THE ANTS is dark, disturbing and violently comic. In the tradition of both Joe Orton and Iain Banks, Charlie Higson pinpoints the casual vagaries of evil and its attendant powers. Unnerving, horribly accurate and wickedly enjoyable, it remains Higson's finest book.
  • More
  • Kushiel's Scion

    By Jacqueline Carey
    Authors:
    Jacqueline Carey
    I was afraid of the dark tide that stirred in me. I did not want any part of my mother's blood. And yet it called to me.'Imriel de la Courcel, third in line to the throne, was enslaved and tortured as a boy, leaving him scarred and wary of his future. Son of a traitor, Imriel fears the dangerous passions of his bloodline - and his potential for destruction.His beloved stepmother, exotic and lovely, has trained him in the arts of covertcy - espionage skills that will either serve his country well, or draw him into a web of corruption and treachery. Imriel will need all of these resources as he travels, incognito, to escape the demands of court and family ... What he discovers is not freedom, but a city at war, and a political game so deep that he may never escape its net.
    • More

    Kill the Princess

    By Stephanie Vermeulen
    Authors:
    Stephanie Vermeulen
    What does it truly mean to be a modern woman? Do women still hunger for that fairytale life?In Kill the Princess author Stephanie Vermeulen tackles a wide range of issues facing women today, from body image to popular notions of femininity, from women's business personas to the politics of family. In an attempt to keep everything together and strive for unattainably perfect lives, women increasingly fall prey to exhaustion and fatigue. A huge reason for this, Vermeulen agues, is that women are still programmed to be self-sacrificing and as a result don't take care of themselves. Vermeulen uncovers that although women hold their own,they are earning more, maintaining jobs and family, and indeed have more freedoms than they did even 30 years ago,their personal, artistic, and professional needs continue to go unnoticed and unmet. Hard-hitting, provocative, and empowering, Kill the Princess is a wake-up call for women everywhere, shedding light on the ways that society naturally expects more from women but fails to fully recognize and respect their efforts and results. Verlmeulen's serious but ultimately hopeful message is that women deserve better, and it is time that they demand it.

    Kill Me

    By Stephen White
    Authors:
    Stephen White
    He's a rich, anonymous white guy. When he's not making money in the boardrooms of multi-national pharmaceutical companies, he's at one of his palatial homes with his wife and daughter or he's deep cave diving in Belize. He enjoys power as well as money, and in all matters - business, pleasure, sex - he's happiest on dangerous ground. He only has one fear: the fear of being dependent on others. But money can buy the means to circumvent this indignity, and he buys into an organisation - dubbed 'Death's Angels' - who guarantee to kill him if he ever reaches that point. Certain of the parameters he's set, life goes on a normal. But it isn't long before his past and his genes catch up with him, and he wants to change those parameters. Nobody told him that things weren't going to be as easy as that. Because Death's Angels never back out of a bargain . . .
    • More
    1