Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books Little, Brown Book Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books
  • An East End Christmas

    By Elizabeth Waite
    Authors:
    Elizabeth Waite
    Carla Scofield has looked after her family since she was a teenager but it's never been a bother because there isn't anything she wouldn't do for those closest to her. Warm, friendly, and with the ability to make everyone around her laugh, she carries her burden proudly.As the years roll past, Carla sees life around her change dramatically. Wartime brings new challenges and a new job for Carla in a sewing factory, and she shines. It also brings with it love and Carla has a chance at real happiness - but not everyone is rooting for her. With Christmas ahead of her, and her sights set firmly on love and the future, will she be too distracted to sense the danger before it's too late?An East End Christmas is an emotional, compelling and page-turning story that will be perfect for fans of Katie Flynn, Annie Groves and Carol Rivers.
    • More

    Annie's Legacy

    By Ken McCoy
    Authors:
    Ken McCoy
    When Annie Jackson's father doesn't return from war, her mother remarries. But while the outside world thinks Leonard Spode is a loving husband and father, behind closed doors he reveals his true colours - and Annie is forced to grow up very quickly. In her brave attempts to expose Spode for the monster he is, she finds himself branded a trouble-maker, and sent to a children's home - where she discovers she is pregnant.One thought keeps Annie going: that Spode will one day be brought to justice. If not in her lifetime, then in her daughter's, to whom she plans to tell the full story on her 18th birthday . . .Set in post-war Yorkshire, ANNIE'S LEGACY is a powerful story of one girl's battle against all that life throws at her, and her determination to have the last word.
    • More

    As The Years Go By

    By Anne Douglas
    Authors:
    Anne Douglas
    For Madge Gilbride, her Edinburgh tenement home in the shadow of the Castle is the best place in the world. But in the post-war boom she is forced to move to a bungalow on the outskirts of the city, far from the friends and neighbours who shared her life.
    • More

    An Apple From Eden

    By Emma Blair
    Authors:
    Emma Blair
    Bridie gets a job as a maid on Sir Ian of Seaton's estate and, much against her better judgement and will, falls in love with Sir Ian's brother's step-son, also called Ian. Ian optimistically feels that his father will understand and let them marry but Bridie expects what she gets - dismissal, with Ian threatened with the loss of his inheritance. Ian then gets involved with a burglary on the estate and is killed and Bridie, on hearing this, deciding she can't bear to live with Ian dead, goes out into the snow, lies by his grave and freezes to death....The various sub-plots which flesh out this moving story make it a great Scottish women's read.
    • More
    1