Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books Little, Brown Book Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

Dust Falls On Eugene Schlumberger/Toddler on the Run

By Shena Mackay
Authors:
Shena Mackay
  • More
  • Daphne du Maurier Omnibus 4

    By Daphne Du Maurier
    Authors:
    Daphne Du Maurier
    Includes Rebecca and My Cousin Rachel. Rebecca, Daphne du Maurier's best-known and bestselling novel, is the classic tale of a young woman who marries handsome widower Maxim de Winter and moves to his great house at Manderley in Cornwall, only to find that all is not as it first seems . . . In My Cousin Rachel, Philip Ashley, an orphan raised by his benevolent cousin Ambrose, is drawn into the orbit of Ambrose's beautiful, mysterious new wife Rachel.
    • More
  • Daphne du Maurier Omnibus 3

    By Daphne Du Maurier
    Authors:
    Daphne Du Maurier
    Includes Jamaica Inn, The Flight of the Falcon, The King's General, The Glass Blowers, Mary Anne, and The Breaking Point & Other Stories.Jamaica Inn weaves a tale of mystery at the eponymous inn on Cornwall's bleak moorlands. The Flight of the Falcon is set in the Italian town of Ruffano: in the 20th century the town has nearly forgotten its violent history, but is it still stained by its dark past? Set in the 17th century at Menabilly in Cornwall, The King's General is the story of a country and a family riven by war. The French Revolution is the backdrop to The Glass Blowers, a tale of family tragedy. Mary Anne is a vivid portrait of one woman's ambition as she rises from ordinary beginnings to become an influential royal mistress to the Duke of York.
    • More
  • Daphne du Maurier Omnibus 2

    By Daphne Du Maurier
    Authors:
    Daphne Du Maurier
    Includes The House on the Strand, Julius, The Loving Spirit and The Doll: Short Stories.Written in the tradition of Poe and Lovecraft, The House on the Strand is a gripping, time-travelling horror tale. The eponymous hero of Julius is a quick-witted urchin caught up in the Franco-Prussian war, who is soon on his way to seek a fortune in London. The Loving Spirit, Daphne du Maurier's first published novel, is the history of the lives, loves and hardships of a Cornish family at the turn of the twentieth century. This omnibus also includes The Doll, a collection of some of du Maurier's most thrilling short stories.
    • More
  • Daphne du Maurier Omnibus 1

    By Daphne Du Maurier
    Authors:
    Daphne Du Maurier
    Includes the novels Frenchman's Creek and Hungry Hill, and the story collection The Birds & Other Stories.Frenchman's Creek tells the story of Lady Dona St Columb's escape from the Restoration Court in search of love and adventure at Navron in Cornwall. Hungry Hill is a powerful tale of the feud between two great families, the Donovans and the Brodricks. Daphne du Maurier's short story 'The Birds' was the basis for the classic Hitchcock film.
    • More
  • The Diary Of A Provincial Lady

    By E.M. Delafield
    Authors:
    E.M. Delafield
    With a cover design by Cath KidstonBehind this rather prim and proper title lies the hilarious fictional diary of a long-suffering, disaster-prone Devon lady of the 1930s, and her attempts to keep her somewhat ramshackle household from falling into chaos: there's her husband Robert, who, when he's not snoozing behind The Times, does everything with grumbling reluctance; her gleefully troublesome children; and a succession of tricky servants who invariably seem to gain the upper hand. And if her domestic trials were not enough, she must keep up appearances. Particularly with the maddeningly patronising Lady Boxe, whom the Provincial Lady eternally (and unsuccessfully) tries to compete with.
    • More
  • The Diviners

    By Margaret Laurence
    Authors:
    Margaret Laurence
    Morag Gunn, now in her mid-forties, lives in a riverside farmhouse in Eastern Ontario. Through a series of flashbacks she reviews the painful and exhilarating moments of her earlier life: her childhood on the social margins of the small prairie town of Manawaka; her escape from a demeaning marriage into writing fiction; and her travels to England, Scotland and finally back to Canada where she faces a different challenge - the necessity to understand, and let go of, the daughter she loves. A feminist saga as inspirational as when it was first published in 1974, The Diviners is an evocative exploration of one woman's search for her identity.
    • More
  • Dusty Answer

    By Rosamond Lehmann
    Authors:
    Rosamond Lehmann
    Mamma was fast asleep at home, her spirit lapped in unconsciousness. Her dreams would not divine that her daughter had stolen out to meet a lover.And next door also they slept unawares, while one of them broke from the circle and came alone to clasp a stranger . . .'Judith Earle, over-earnest and inexperienced, has always been a little in love with each of the four cousins who come to stay next door and, on her return from Cambridge, becomes madly in love with one of them - Roddy, the 'sensation-hunter'. DUSTY ANSWER traces with delicate nostalgia childhood friendships and the pangs of thwarted young love.
    • More
  • The Devastating Boys

    By Elizabeth Taylor
    Authors:
    Elizabeth Taylor
    A collection of stories, of which the title story The Devastating Boys depicts two black waifs from London, guests of a settled country couple. They cause upheaval, but bring unexpected joy and renewal.
    • More
    1