Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books Little, Brown Book Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

Introduction to Research Methods 5th Edition

By Catherine Dawson
Authors:
Catherine Dawson
Introduction to Research Methods contains everything from developing an initial idea into a proposal, through to analysing data and reporting results. Whether you have to undertake a project as part of your coursework, or as part of your employment, or simply because you are fascinated by something you have observed and want to find out more, this book offers you advice on how to turn your ideas into a workable project. Specifically it will show you how to: *Choose your research methods*Choose your participants*Prepare a research proposal*Construct questionnaires*Conduct interviews and focus groups*Analyse your data*Report your findings *Be an ethical researcher
  • More

Women Who Rock Cross-Stitch

By Anna Fleiss, Lauren Mancuso
Authors:
Anna Fleiss, Lauren Mancuso
Let's face it: women rock! Whether dominating stages on a major stadium tour, charming a small coffeehouse, or redefining entire genres, women have always been a powerful force in shaping the course of the music industry. Celebrate their accomplishments in style with Women Who Rock Cross-Stitch, a collection of patterns and stories about some of music's most badass women. With an introduction on the role of women in music, and instructions on the basics of cross-stitch, this book features patterns for embroidering twenty iconic women -- like Fleetwood Mac's Stevie Nicks, soul legend Aretha Franklin, rockstar Joan Jett, and innovator Lauryn Hill -- and ten classic song titles. This charming book provides everything readers need to create crafts that bring their inner divas to center stage!

Maps of the World

By Enrico Lavagno, Sacco and Vallarino
Authors:
Enrico Lavagno
Illustrated by:
Sacco and Vallarino
Covering every continent, country, even outer space, MAPS OF THE WORLD is a vibrant and comprehensive atlas that children of all ages will love to explore. The dozens of colorful, detailed maps are filled with charming, educational icons representing the aboriginal people in Australia, giant tortoises in the Galapagos, the Gold Rush in California, traditional dress in Mali, and even James Bond in England. Flip the next page in the book, and the corresponding icon key explains hundreds of these cultural, environmental, and societal illustrations. Organized by continent, the atlas also includes details on populations, language, agricultural, politics, and other bite-size facts. Each map includes a link allowing kids to download a version of them on computers and tablets to explore even further. Captivating and comprehensive, MAPS OF THE WORLD will entice even the most reluctant young explorer.

The Paris Seamstress

By Natasha Lester
Authors:
Natasha Lester
THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER'Fascinating and impeccably researched' GILL PAUL'A fantastically engrossing story. I love it' KELLY RIMMER'A beautiful story in every way' THE LADY'Intrigue, heartbreak... I cannot tell you how much I loved this book' RACHEL BURTONOne of the MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF THE YEAR - Publishers WeeklyCrossing generations, society's boundaries and international turmoil, The Paris Seamstress is a beguiling, transporting story perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Kate Furnivall and Penny Vincenzi.********************************************What must Estella sacrifice to make her mark?1940: Parisian seamstress Estella Bissette is forced to flee France as the Germans advance. She is bound for Manhattan with a few francs, one suitcase, her sewing machine and a dream: to have her own atelier.2015: Australian curator Fabienne Bissette journeys to the annual Met Gala for an exhibition of her beloved grandmother's work - one of the world's leading designers of ready-to-wear. But as Fabienne learns more about her grandmother's past, she uncovers a story of tragedy, heartbreak and secrets - and the sacrifices made for love.
  • More

Messages

By Matthew McKay, Martha Davis, Patrick Fanning
Authors:
Matthew McKay, Martha Davis, Patrick Fanning
Many people assume that good communicators possess an intrinsic talent for speaking and listening to others, a gift that can't be learned or improved. The reality is that communication skills are developed with deliberate effort and practice, and learning to understand others and communicate your ideas more clearly will improve every facet of your life.Messages has already helped thousands of people build communication skills and cultivate better relationships with friends, family members, coworkers, and partners. With this fully revised and updated fourth edition, you'll discover new skills to help you communicate your ideas more effectively and become a better listener. Learn how to:- Read body language- Develop skills for couples communication- Negotiate and resolve conflicts- Communicate with family members- Handle group interactions- Talk to children- Master public speaking- Prepare for job interviewsThis new edition features a much-needed chapter on digital communication. Effective communication can easily be compromised when you're not able to read your conversation partner's body language, facial expression, or vocal tone. This chapter teaches you how to express yourself well via phone, email, texting, and video-all the skills you need to thrive in the digital age.

The No-Kill Garden

By Angela Rio, Nikki Van De Car
Authors:
Angela Rio, Nikki Van De Car
Many of us love plants . . . but it often feels like plants don't love us back. For those people -- the people who have purchased several "impossible to kill" houseplants, only to find them dead mere weeks later -- there is The No Kill Garden, a charming collection of plants to craft and share.The handcrafted plants offered in this beguiling volume provide the sense of being surrounded by green, luscious plant life, without having to worry about that pesky watering. The No Kill Garden offers a wide variety of plants, from mushrooms and flowers to vines and terrariums, and a broad range of easy-to-follow crafts, including paper, felt, needle-felt, knit, and crochet. The more than 30 projects in this book are not just random flowers or leaves, either -- each of the crafted plants is inspired by a specific variety and is accompanied by a lively description of its main characters. Each of the plants is structured for a beginner, so that anyone with an interest in crafting can make them, and is paired with beautiful images of the finished project to delight and inspire readers.

PANTONE Magnet Set

By Running Press
Authors:
Running Press
Bring the iconic thought leader on colour, PANTONE, to your refrigerator or office with this one-of-a-kind magnet set, which features the 2018 Pantone Colour of the Year! As adorable as it is sophisticated, this irresistible box includes:* 10 3-D wood magnets featuring popular PANTONE colour chips* A 32-page, spiral-bound mini book featuring 30 PANTONE colours, allowing you to choose and display the colour that suits your mood each day* The 2018 Colour of the Year!
  • More

Zodiac Embroidery

By Anna Fleiss
Authors:
Anna Fleiss
Blend the wonders of astrology with the simple joy of embroidery in Zodiac Embroidery, an adorable kit that provides everything you need to stitch your sign! This kit includes:* A molded plastic embroidery hoop (2.5 inches). * 2 pieces of navy blue cloth. * 2 skeins of metallic gold embroidery floss. * 2 embroidery needles. * 12 pattern sheets. * 32-page miniature book.
  • More

By Hand

By Nicole Miyuki Santo
Authors:
Nicole Miyuki Santo
In a world of screens and social media, people are constantly searching for ways to reconnect to the handmade and the authentic-to add a personal spark and a beautiful look to everyday objects and occasions. The art of modern lettering is a point of connection, a way of crafting letters and words into something that delights the eyes and feeds the soul. With unique projects and an Instagram-worthy aesthetic, By Hand provides an inspirational jumping-off point for readers who want to incorporate lettering into a slower, more intentional lifestyle.Blending the aspirational and the instructional, By Hand brings the beauty of lettering beyond the page, through 30 distinct projects, from dip-dyed place cards to acrylic home furnishings. Relatable lessons introduce readers to the essentials of lettering, including tools (watercolor brushes, brush pens, and markers), fonts, and essential lessons, with the warm and welcoming approach of popular Instagram letterer Nicole Miyuki Santo. Encouraging lessons sprinkled throughout the book add a touch of mindfulness, while bright, airy photography and step-by-step lettered samples make this lovely volume a stunning approach to an on-trend pastime.
  • More

Pusheen: A Cross-Stitch Kit

By Claire Belton
Authors:
Claire Belton
Pusheen is the Internet's favorite chubby tabby who has warmed the hearts of millions with her animated GIFs and comics. For fans of I Am Pusheen the Cat; Pusheen: A Magnetic Kit; and the Pusheen coloring books, this craft kit includes everything you need to create cute embroidered designs of the lazy, lovable feline:* A 32-page mini book with cross-stitching instructions and two easy patterns (perfect for beginners and advanced stitchers alike)* Two 5" x 5" pieces of cotton Aida cloth* A 3-inch embroidery hoop* Two tapestry needles* Four skeins of embroidery thread
  • More

Sugar Skull Origami

By Running Press
Authors:
Running Press
A mashup of two big trends -- sugar skulls and origami -- this illustrated mini kit is the perfect gift for anyone who loves sugar skulls and paper crafts and provides step-by-step instructions for a variety of fun sugar skull designs and accessories.This kit includes: * 20 sheets of 5 ¾ x 5 ¾ papers in Day of the Dead colors* A pair of mini scissors* Full-color, 48-page book with illustrated instructions to make 5 sugar skull origami projects and 3 sugar skull kirigami designs
  • More

How Things Are Made

By Sharon Rose, Andrew Terranova
Authors:
Sharon Rose, Andrew Terranova
What are bulletproof vests made of? How do manufacturers get lipstick into the tube? How much brass does it take to make a trumpet? The answers-and so much more fascinating information-can be found in How Things Are Made, a behind-the-scenes look at the production everyday objects of all kinds, from guitars, sunscreen, and seismographs to running shoes, jetpacks, and chocolate.Each page of How Things Are Made features informative step-by-step text along with detailed but easy-to-follow illustrations, diagrams, and sidebars to tell the stories behind the things we sometimes take for granted but often wonder about. Did you know that Edison didn't really invent the light bulb? Or that the first bar code was on a pack of Wrigley Spearmint gum? Or that a maple seed inspired the design for the helicopter? Discover these fascinating anecdotes and much more in How Things Are Made.

The Felt Succulent Crafting Kit

By Nicole Miyuki Santo
Authors:
Nicole Miyuki Santo
The Felt Succulent Crafting Kit delivers the trendy joy of succulents in an easy-to-complete DIY package--no green thumb required!This kit includes:* 2 miniature terra cotta pots. * Pre-printed felt pieces (three colors)* 2 straight pins* 32-page miniature book.
  • More