Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books Little, Brown Book Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

Once Upon a Slime

By Andy Maxwell, Samantha Cotterill
Authors:
Andy Maxwell
Illustrated by:
Samantha Cotterill
A slapstick, fractured fairy-tale mashup meets the evergreen kid obsession with slime.Once upon a time--gloooooooorp! Ew, gross! Who slimed Goldilocks? Was it the Three Bears, exacting revenge? Not a chance! They're next on the list of fairy-tale sliming victims! Red Riding Hood, the Wolf, Rapunzel, the Three Pigs...they're all under attack. Who could be the mastermind behind this icky, sticky plan?Young detectives can look for clues and solve the mystery in this picture book whodunnit that's positively oozing with wit and charm, perfect for fans of Patrick McDonnell's A Perfectly Messed-Up Story.
  • More

Summer Color!

By Diana Murray, Zoe Persico
Authors:
Diana Murray
Illustrated by:
Zoe Persico
A celebration of the wonder and colors of every child's favorite season--summer!In this celebration of the outdoors, two rambunctious children take off on an adventure from their own backyard. In each new scene they discover the wondrous details--and beautiful colors--of nature. Even when a little summer rain threatens to dampen their grand adventure, the fun continues as woodland scenes come to life in a whole new way.Diana Murray's spirited verse paired with Zoe Persico's charming illustrations hits a wonderful balance of sophisticated and sweet, with details that young children will immediately relate to and layered verse that will enchant readers of all ages.
  • More

Doll-E 1.0

By Shanda McCloskey
Authors:
Shanda McCloskey
A STEM-friendly tale of a girl and the doll she upgrades to be her new friend, for fans of The Most Magnificent Thing and Rosie Revere, Engineer.Charlotte's world is fully charged! With her dog at her side, she's always tinkering, coding, clicking, and downloading. She's got a knack for anything technological--especially gadgets that her parents don't know how to fix! Then, she receives a new toy that is quite a puzzle: a doll! What's she supposed to do with that? Once she discovers the doll's hidden battery pack, things start to get interesting...while her faithful canine sidekick wonders if he'll be overshadowed by the new and improved Doll-E 1.0! With a little ingenuity and an open mind, everyone can be friends in this endearing, modern tribute to the creative spirit of play.
  • More

Nothing Stopped Sophie

By Cheryl Bardoe, Barbara McClintock
Authors:
Cheryl Bardoe
Illustrated by:
Barbara McClintock
The true story of eighteenth-century mathematician Sophie Germain, who solved the unsolvable to achieve her dream.When her parents took away her candles to keep their young daughter from studying math...nothing stopped Sophie. When a professor discovered that the homework sent to him under a male pen name came from a woman...nothing stopped Sophie. And when she tackled a math problem that male scholars said would be impossible to solve...still, nothing stopped Sophie.For six years Sophie Germain used her love of math and her undeniable determination to test equations that would predict patterns of vibrations. She eventually became the first woman to win a grand prize from France's prestigious Academy of Sciences for her formula, which laid the groundwork for much of modern architecture (and can be seen in the book's illustrations).Award-winning author Cheryl Bardoe's inspiring and poetic text is brought to life by acclaimed artist Barbara McClintock's intricate pen-and-ink, watercolor, and collage illustrations in this true story about a woman who let nothing stop her.
  • More

Pink Is for Boys

By Eda Kaban, Robb Pearlman
Authors:
Eda Kaban, Robb Pearlman
An empowering and educational picture book that proves colors are for everyone, regardless of gender. Pink is for boys . . . and girls . . . and everyone! This timely and beautiful picture book rethinks and reframes the stereotypical blue/pink gender binary and empowers kids-and their grown-ups-to express themselves in every color of the rainbow. Featuring a diverse group of relatable characters, Pink Is for Boys invites and encourages girls and boys to enjoy what they love to do, whether it's racing cars and playing baseball, or loving unicorns and dressing up. Vibrant illustrations help children learn and identify the myriad colors that surround them every day, from the orange of a popsicle, to the green of a grassy field, all the way up to the wonder of a multicolored rainbow. Parents and kids will delight in Robb Pearlman's sweet, simple script, as well as its powerful message: life is not color-coded.
  • More

Otis and Will Discover the Deep

By Barb Rosenstock, Katherine Roy
Authors:
Barb Rosenstock
Illustrated by:
Katherine Roy
The suspenseful, little-known true story of two determined pioneers who made the first dive into the deep ocean.On June 6, 1930, engineer Otis Barton and explorer Will Beebe dove into the ocean inside a hollow metal ball of their own invention called the Bathysphere.They knew dozens of things might go wrong. A tiny leak could shoot pressurized water straight through the men like bullets! A single spark could cause their oxygen tanks to explode! No one had ever dived lower than a few hundred feet...and come back. But Otis and Will were determined to become the first people to see what the deep ocean looks like.This suspenseful story from acclaimed author Barb Rosenstock with mesmerizing watercolors by award-winning artist Katherine Roy will put you right in the middle of the spine-tingling, record-setting journey down, down into the deep.
  • More

Neck & Neck

By Elise Parsley
Authors:
Elise Parsley
In the first stand-alone picture book from the creator of the bestselling Magnolia Says DON'T! books, a giraffe's self-esteem is tested during a hilarious confrontation between unlikely look-alikes!Everybody loves Leopold the giraffe. He inspires awe and wonder. His adoring fans gaze and cheer. Best of all, they feed him lots of deeeelicious snacks! But, one day, a shiny, bobble-headed new rival comes in and ruins everything...a giraffe-shaped balloon! Just how far will Leopold go to prove that he's the hero of the zoo? Readers learn that actions speak far louder than looks in this laugh-out-loud face-off from Elise Parsley--the New York Times bestselling creator of If You Ever Want to Bring an Alligator to School, Don't!
  • More

Yoga Frog

By Running Press
Authors:
Running Press
Learn Kid-Friendly Yoga Poses with a Meditative, Mindful FrogFrog loves to practice yoga. And he will inspire kids to enjoy doing yoga, too. Follow Frog's yoga flow, from warming up to cooling down. Start with the mountain and chair poses, then work into giraffe, cat-cow, downward-facing dog, butterfly, and bridge. End with the quieting happy baby and savasana poses to help your muscles relax before going to bed or starting your day. For fans of Yoga Bunny and I Am Yoga, Yoga Frog's simple, meditative text is complemented by playful yet instructive illustrations by Mark Chambers to teach youngsters how to start their very own yoga practice--and to have fun while doing so, too.
  • More

What If...

By Samantha Berger, Mike Curato
Authors:
Samantha Berger, Mike Curato
Creativity, the power of imagination, and the importance of self-expression are celebrated in this inspiring picture book written and illustrated by real-life best friends.This girl is determined to express herself! If she can't draw her dreams, she'll sculpt or build, carve or collage. If she can't do that, she'll turn her world into a canvas. And if everything around her is taken away, she'll sing, dance, and dream...Stunning mixed media illustrations, lyrical text, and a breathtaking gatefold conjure powerful magic in this heartfelt affirmation of art, imagination, and the resilience of the human spirit.
  • More
  • Books That Drive Kids CRAZY!: This Book Is Red

    By Beck Stanton, Matt Stanton
    Authors:
    Beck Stanton, Matt Stanton
    This clever companion to This Is a Ball and Did You Take the B from My _ook? is the perfect read-aloud for the giggling masses who love Hervé Tullet's Press Here, Lane Smith's It's a Book!, and BJ Novak's The Book With No Pictures.The Books That Drive Kids CRAZY! series offers parents, teachers, and storytellers a hilarious script for fun reading time with children. In book 3, This Book Is Red, something is clearly bonkers when the narrator insists that frogs and penguins are obviously the same color as lobsters--and the claims get more outrageous from there. What is up with this nonsense? Kids will demand to know--and all readers will be howling with laughter all along the way. With strikingly simple text and art, Books That Drive Kids CRAZY! are ideal picks for emergent readers.
    • More

    Neither

    By Airlie Anderson
    Authors:
    Airlie Anderson
    In this touching story that celebrates the differences in all of us, a little creature that's not quite a bird and not quite a bunny--it's "neither"--searches for a place to fit in.In the Land of This and That, there are only two kinds: blue bunnies and yellow birds. But one day a funny green egg hatches, and a little creature that's not quite a bird and not quite a bunny pops out. It's neither!Neither tries hard to fit in, but its bird legs aren't good for jumping like the other bunnies, and its fluffy tail isn't good for flapping like the other birds. It sets out to find a new home and discovers a very different place, one with endless colors and shapes and creatures of all kinds. But when a blue bunny and a yellow bird with some hidden differences of their own arrive, it's up to Neither to decide if they are welcome in the Land of All.This colorful, simple, and touching story from author/artist Airlie Anderson promotes diversity and offers a valuable lesson to the youngest of audiences: It is our differences that unite us.
    • More

    The True Adventures of Esther the Wonder Pig

    By Steve Jenkins, Derek Walter, Caprice Crane, Cori Doerrfeld
    Authors:
    Steve Jenkins, Derek Walter, Caprice Crane
    Illustrated by:
    Cori Doerrfeld
    The true story of social media sensation Esther the Wonder Pig and her two dads that inspired the New York Times bestselling memoir for adults is now being told in a picture book with adorable illustrations and a message of love.When Steve and Derek adopted a mini pig named Esther, they had no idea that she would turn out to be not-so-mini after all. When her new family saw just how big and wonderful Esther really was, they fell in love--and their lives changed forever. Esther would soon grow too large for her bed, and their small apartment. She got into everything, including her neighbor's tasty garden. So the whole family moved from a small apartment to a big farm, where Esther and her animal friends could fit happily (and get into a little less mischief). Eventually, that farm would become the Happily Esther After animal sanctuary, home to rescued animals of all kinds.
    • More

    Sheep 101

    By Richard Morris, LeUyen Pham
    Authors:
    Richard Morris
    Illustrated by:
    LeUyen Pham
    A slapstick, rollicking mashup of nursery rhyme characters and the time-honored bedtime ritual of counting sheep.One night, a boy counts sheep as he tries to fall asleep.99. 100. 101....Crash!Sheep 101 is stuck in the fence. Will he ever get out and get the little boy to sleep? Meet Sheep 101 and his colorful cast of characters, like Humpty Dumpty, Blind Mouse, Little Piggy, and more!From Richard T. Morris, author of This Is a Moose, and beloved illustrator LeUyen comes a hilarious story with vibrant illustrations full of late-night hijinks that will spark every child's imagination.
    • More