Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books Little, Brown Book Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

Maximillian Villainous

By Margaret Chiu Greanias, Lesley Breen Withrow
Authors:
Margaret Chiu Greanias
Illustrated by:
Lesley Breen Withrow
Maximillian Villainous is a monster who doesn't have the heart to be a villain. His famous family pulls pranks on the likes of Santa Claus and the Tooth Fairy, and Max spends his time undoing them. So when he brings home a bunny to be his sidekick, Max's disapproving mother hatches a plan. She challenges Max and the bunny to become a devious duo; otherwise . . . the bunny hops. If they want to stay together, Max and the bunny have no choice but to go against their nature. They blunder into villainy with comical effect until Max discovers that embracing his good heart may just be the key to pulling off the most devious deed of all and winning his family's acceptance.Delightfully fun and irreverent, Maximillian Villainous is an empowering story about embracing one's true self and finding acceptance. Up and coming illustrator Lesley Breen Withrow brings the characters to life with bold and colorful illustrations in a style reminiscent of Richard Scarry.

A Big Mooncake for Little Star

By Grace Lin
Authors:
Grace Lin
When Little Star's mother bakes a delicious-looking mooncake, she leaves it in the night sky to cool. But it looks so tasty that Little Star can't wait, and every night she must take a little nibble of the perfectly round confection until instead of a glowing, round cookie, there is only a shining trail of crumbs!As Little Star takes bites out of the mooncake, readers see that the moon itself wanes, passing through each phase until it becomes a new moon--and Little Star's mother bakes a new mooncake!Illustrated in a limited palette of mainly black and yellow, this striking, book is the latest dazzling offering from award-winning author Grace Lin.

Alpaca Lunch

By John Churchman, Jennifer Churchman
Authors:
John Churchman, Jennifer Churchman
Poppy the alpaca loves going on adventures and trying new things! She's excited to explore the farm and discover all of the plants, fruits, and vegetables growing around every bend. But when she hears about the winter frost coming, she's worried--where will she and her family get their food? Poppy and her animal friends learn how everyone on the farm works together to prepare for the colder season. Alpaca Lunch encourages healthy eating and trying new things as the animals explore a beautiful array of interesting and colorful foods growing around the farm. This charming story by John and Jennifer Churchman features real animals on their bustling Vermont farm including a brand-new herd of adorable alpacas, as well as fan favorites Sweet Pea from The SheepOver, Finn from Brave Little Finn, and Maisie from A Farm for Maisie.

The Secret Life of Squirrels: Back to School!

By Nancy Rose
Authors:
Nancy Rose
Mr. Peanuts' friend Rosie needs help preparing for the first day of school! The two squirrels go shopping for school supplies, set up the library and music corners, bring all the sports equipment out to the blacktop, and decorate the classroom. Mr. Peanuts even practices driving the school bus! This school year is going to be a blast.Nancy Rose brings this back-to-school story to life with her photographs of real wild squirrels in handcrafted, homemade miniature settings.

Dad By My Side

By Soosh
Authors:
Soosh

Once Upon a Slime

By Andy Maxwell, Samantha Cotterill
Authors:
Andy Maxwell
Illustrated by:
Samantha Cotterill
A slapstick, fractured fairy-tale mashup meets the evergreen kid obsession with slime.Once upon a time--gloooooooorp! Ew, gross! Who slimed Goldilocks? Was it the Three Bears, exacting revenge? Not a chance! They're next on the list of fairy-tale sliming victims! Red Riding Hood, the Wolf, Rapunzel, the Three Pigs...they're all under attack. Who could be the mastermind behind this icky, sticky plan?Young detectives can look for clues and solve the mystery in this picture book whodunnit that's positively oozing with wit and charm, perfect for fans of Patrick McDonnell's A Perfectly Messed-Up Story.

Doll-E 1.0

By Shanda McCloskey
Authors:
Shanda McCloskey
A STEM-friendly tale of a girl and the doll she upgrades to be her new friend, for fans of The Most Magnificent Thing and Rosie Revere, Engineer.Charlotte's world is fully charged! With her dog at her side, she's always tinkering, coding, clicking, and downloading. She's got a knack for anything technological--especially gadgets that her parents don't know how to fix! Then, she receives a new toy that is quite a puzzle: a doll! What's she supposed to do with that? Once she discovers the doll's hidden battery pack, things start to get interesting...while her faithful canine sidekick wonders if he'll be overshadowed by the new and improved Doll-E 1.0! With a little ingenuity and an open mind, everyone can be friends in this endearing, modern tribute to the creative spirit of play.

Nothing Stopped Sophie

By Cheryl Bardoe, Barbara McClintock
Authors:
Cheryl Bardoe
Illustrated by:
Barbara McClintock
The true story of eighteenth-century mathematician Sophie Germain, who solved the unsolvable to achieve her dream.When her parents took away her candles to keep their young daughter from studying math...nothing stopped Sophie. When a professor discovered that the homework sent to him under a male pen name came from a woman...nothing stopped Sophie. And when she tackled a math problem that male scholars said would be impossible to solve...still, nothing stopped Sophie.For six years Sophie Germain used her love of math and her undeniable determination to test equations that would predict patterns of vibrations. She eventually became the first woman to win a grand prize from France's prestigious Academy of Sciences for her formula, which laid the groundwork for much of modern architecture (and can be seen in the book's illustrations).Award-winning author Cheryl Bardoe's inspiring and poetic text is brought to life by acclaimed artist Barbara McClintock's intricate pen-and-ink, watercolor, and collage illustrations in this true story about a woman who let nothing stop her.

Summer Color!

By Diana Murray, Zoe Persico
Authors:
Diana Murray
Illustrated by:
Zoe Persico
A celebration of the wonder and colors of every child's favorite season--summer!In this celebration of the outdoors, two rambunctious children take off on an adventure from their own backyard. In each new scene they discover the wondrous details--and beautiful colors--of nature. Even when a little summer rain threatens to dampen their grand adventure, the fun continues as woodland scenes come to life in a whole new way.Diana Murray's spirited verse paired with Zoe Persico's charming illustrations hits a wonderful balance of sophisticated and sweet, with details that young children will immediately relate to and layered verse that will enchant readers of all ages.

Pink Is for Boys

By Eda Kaban, Robb Pearlman
Authors:
Eda Kaban, Robb Pearlman
An empowering and educational picture book that proves colors are for everyone, regardless of gender. Pink is for boys . . . and girls . . . and everyone! This timely and beautiful picture book rethinks and reframes the stereotypical blue/pink gender binary and empowers kids-and their grown-ups-to express themselves in every color of the rainbow. Featuring a diverse group of relatable characters, Pink Is for Boys invites and encourages girls and boys to enjoy what they love to do, whether it's racing cars and playing baseball, or loving unicorns and dressing up. Vibrant illustrations help children learn and identify the myriad colors that surround them every day, from the orange of a popsicle, to the green of a grassy field, all the way up to the wonder of a multicolored rainbow. Parents and kids will delight in Robb Pearlman's sweet, simple script, as well as its powerful message: life is not color-coded.

Yoga Frog

By Running Press
Authors:
Running Press
Learn Kid-Friendly Yoga Poses with a Meditative, Mindful FrogFrog loves to practice yoga. And he will inspire kids to enjoy doing yoga, too. Follow Frog's yoga flow, from warming up to cooling down. Start with the mountain and chair poses, then work into giraffe, cat-cow, downward-facing dog, butterfly, and bridge. End with the quieting happy baby and savasana poses to help your muscles relax before going to bed or starting your day. For fans of Yoga Bunny and I Am Yoga, Yoga Frog's simple, meditative text is complemented by playful yet instructive illustrations by Mark Chambers to teach youngsters how to start their very own yoga practice--and to have fun while doing so, too.

Otis and Will Discover the Deep

By Barb Rosenstock, Katherine Roy
Authors:
Barb Rosenstock
Illustrated by:
Katherine Roy
The suspenseful, little-known true story of two determined pioneers who made the first dive into the deep ocean.On June 6, 1930, engineer Otis Barton and explorer Will Beebe dove into the ocean inside a hollow metal ball of their own invention called the Bathysphere.They knew dozens of things might go wrong. A tiny leak could shoot pressurized water straight through the men like bullets! A single spark could cause their oxygen tanks to explode! No one had ever dived lower than a few hundred feet...and come back. But Otis and Will were determined to become the first people to see what the deep ocean looks like.This suspenseful story from acclaimed author Barb Rosenstock with mesmerizing watercolors by award-winning artist Katherine Roy will put you right in the middle of the spine-tingling, record-setting journey down, down into the deep.

Neck & Neck

By Elise Parsley
Authors:
Elise Parsley
In the first stand-alone picture book from the creator of the bestselling Magnolia Says DON'T! books, a giraffe's self-esteem is tested during a hilarious confrontation between unlikely look-alikes!Everybody loves Leopold the giraffe. He inspires awe and wonder. His adoring fans gaze and cheer. Best of all, they feed him lots of deeeelicious snacks! But, one day, a shiny, bobble-headed new rival comes in and ruins everything...a giraffe-shaped balloon! Just how far will Leopold go to prove that he's the hero of the zoo? Readers learn that actions speak far louder than looks in this laugh-out-loud face-off from Elise Parsley--the New York Times bestselling creator of If You Ever Want to Bring an Alligator to School, Don't!