Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books Little, Brown Book Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights

Join Fay and her friends this Christmas and indulge in this wonderful, cake-filled novel of romance and friendship. Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights is Sunday Times bestselling Carole Matthews doing what she does best! Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson.Fay and Danny are madly in love and it's all Fay's ever dreamed of. But she left everything - including the delightful cake shop she used to run - to be with Danny on his cosy canal boat The Dreamcatcher. And as she soon finds out, making delicious cakes on the water isn't always smooth sailing!Then Fay gets a call from her friends, a call that sends her back to where it all began, back to where she first met Danny, back to her friends and the Cake Shop in the Garden. It will be hard being away from Danny but their relationship is strong enough to survive . . . isn't it?Fay soon falls happily back in love with her passion for baking - especially now she's on dry land again! - and starts to wonder if she ever should have left. With Christmas around the corner, Fay is determined that her friends will have a very merry time, but does that mean even more time away from Danny? Can Fay really get everything she ever wanted in Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights.
  • More

Don't Read This Book If You're Stupid

By Tibor Fischer
Authors:
Tibor Fischer
  • More

The Thought Gang

By Tibor Fischer
Authors:
Tibor Fischer
  • More

Under the Frog

By Tibor Fischer
Authors:
Tibor Fischer
  • More

Untitled Claire North Novel 2

By Claire North
Authors:
Claire North
  • More

The Last Detail

By Darryl Ponicsán
Authors:
Darryl Ponicsán
Discover the classic, acclaimed story that continued in the new book Last Flag Flying, now a major motion picture from Oscar-nominated director Richard Linklater.In this funny, bawdy, moving novel set during the height of the Vietnam War, two career sailors in Virginia - Billy "Bad-Ass" Buddusky and Mule Mulhall - are assigned to escort eighteen-year-old Larry Meadows to the brig in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, where he is to serve an eight-year sentence for petty theft.It's good duty, until the two realize the injustice of the sentence and are oddly affected by the naive innocence of their young prisoner. In the five days allotted for the detail, they decide to show Meadows something of the life he doesn't yet know, to help him survive the long ordeal ahead and to purge their own shame. What follows is an indelible journey of initiation and discovery, filled with beer-soaked wisdom, big city lights, revelry, brawls, debauchery, love, and surprising moments of tenderness.
  • More

Class

By Lucinda Rosenfeld
Authors:
Lucinda Rosenfeld
For Karen Kipple, being a good person isn't just something to aspire to. It's something that she can-and will-succeed at. Karen works for a nonprofit that helps feed disadvantaged youth. For the sake of championing local businesses, she frequents the neighborhood's overpriced coffee shop even though their slow drip tastes like it's been filtered through a dirty sock. And she sends her daughter, Ruby, to an integrated urban public school, where white people like herself are the minority, because she values diversity.But when a troubled boy starts bullying kids in Ruby's class, and Ruby's similarly privileged best friend leaves the school for safer grounds, Karen finds herself questioning her values. Will she stick to her ideals or become the type of person she loathes? Just how far she will go with practically everything--her marriage, her daughter's education, her sense of right and wrong--is at the core of Class. Because it turns out that life as we live it, and not as we like to imagine it, often unfolds in gray areas. Hailed by Kirkus Reviews as a "take-no-prisoners satire" that's "grimly hilarious," Class is a brilliant novel for our times.
  • More

Nest

By Inga Simpson
Authors:
Inga Simpson
'[a] truly rich novel' SYDNEY MORNING HERALDOnce an artist and teacher, Jen now spends her time watching the birds around her house and tending her lush sub-tropical garden near the small town where she grew up. The only person she sees regularly is Henry, who comes after school for drawing lessons.When a girl in Henry's class goes missing, Jen is pulled back into the depths of her own past. When she was Henry's age she lost her father and her best friend Michael - both within a week. The whole town talked about it then, and now, nearly forty years later, they're talking about it again. Everyone is waiting - for the girl to be found and the summer rain to arrive. At last, when the answers do come, like the wet, it is in a drenching, revitalising downpour . . .Longlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award 2015Longlisted for The Stella Prize 2015
  • More

Dogs

By Mark Bryant
Authors:
Mark Bryant
  • More
  • The Silkworm

    By Robert Galbraith
    Authors:
    Robert Galbraith
    Now a major BBC drama: The Strike series When novelist Owen Quine goes missing, his wife calls in private detective Cormoran Strike. At first, she just thinks he has gone off by himself for a few days - as he has done before - and she wants Strike to find him and bring him home.But as Strike investigates, it becomes clear that there is more to Quine's disappearance than his wife realises. The novelist has just completed a manuscript featuring poisonous pen-portraits of almost everyone he knows. If the novel were published it would ruin lives - so there are a lot of people who might want to silence him. And when Quine is found brutally murdered in bizarre circumstances, it becomes a race against time to understand the motivation of a ruthless killer, a killer unlike any Strike has encountered before . . . A compulsively readable crime novel with twists at every turn, The Silkworm is the second in the highly acclaimed series featuring Cormoran Strike and his determined young assistant Robin Ellacott.
    • More

    English Animals

    By Laura Kaye
    Authors:
    Laura Kaye
    'A joy to read' Amanda Craig'Shades of Cold Comfort Farm...Charming' GuardianEnglish Animals is a subversive, wry debut that fans of Marina Lewycka's A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian will love. When Mirka gets a job in a country house in rural England, she has no idea of the struggle she faces to make sense of a very English couple, and a way of life that is entirely alien to her. Richard and Sophie are chaotic, drunken, frequently outrageous but also warm, generous and kind to Mirka, despite their argumentative and turbulent marriage.Mirka is swiftly commandeered by Richard for his latest money-making enterprise, taxidermy, and soon surpasses him in skill. After a traumatic break two years ago with her family in Slovakia, Mirka finds to her surprise that she is happy at Fairmont Hall. But when she tells Sophie that she is gay, everything she values is put in danger and she must learn the hard way what she really believes in.
    • More

    Midwinter

    By Fiona Melrose
    Authors:
    Fiona Melrose
    'Finely judged writing like this comes from a place of instinct, and it marks Melrose out as someone to watch . . . Midwinter is a great success' Melissa Harrison, Guardian Father and Son, Landyn and Vale Midwinter, are Suffolk farmers, living together on land their family has worked for generations. But they are haunted there by a past they have long refused to confront: the death of Cecelia, beloved wife and mother, when Vale was just a child. Both men have carried her loss, unspoken. Until now.With the onset of a mauling winter, something between them snaps.While Vale makes increasingly desperate decisions, Landyn retreats, finding solace in the land, his animals - and a vixen who haunts the farm and seems to bring with her both comfort and protection.Tender and lyrical, alive to language and nature, Midwinter is a novel about guilt, blame, lost opportunities and, ultimately, it is a story about love and the lengths we will go to find our way home.'Melrose elegantly weaves narratives detailing the men's internal tumult with lush descriptions of their natural surroundings . . . A moving story about the cruelty of chance, modern masculinity and the transformative power of the bonds between men' Financial Times'I have rarely read a narrative voice as distinctive as Landyn's, and the loving depiction of regional English working-class masculinity is unusual and timely . . . This is certainly not a light-hearted book, but it offers the true consolation of some very good writing' Sarah Moss, TLS'A penetrating study of grief and guilt' Daily Mail
    • More

    Saints for all Occasions

    By J. Courtney Sullivan
    Authors:
    J. Courtney Sullivan
    'This year's best book about family' Ron Charles, The Washington PostA sweeping, unforgettable novel from The New York Times best-selling author of Maine, about the hope, sacrifice, and love between two sisters and the secret that drives them apart.Nora and Theresa Flynn are twenty-one and seventeen when they leave their small village in Ireland and journey to America. Nora is the responsible sister; she's shy and serious and engaged to a man she isn't sure that she loves. Theresa is gregarious; she is thrilled by their new life in Boston and besotted with the fashionable dresses and dance halls on Dudley Street. But when Theresa ends up pregnant, Nora is forced to come up with a plan - a decision with repercussions they are both far too young to understand. Fifty years later, Nora is the matriarch of a big Catholic family with four grown children: John, a successful, if opportunistic, political consultant; Bridget, privately preparing to have a baby with her girlfriend; Brian, at loose ends after a failed baseball career; and Patrick, Nora's favorite, the beautiful boy who gives her no end of heartache. Estranged from her sister and cut off from the world, Theresa is a cloistered nun, living in an abbey in rural Vermont. Until, after decades of silence, a sudden death forces Nora and Theresa to confront the choices they made so long ago. A graceful, supremely moving novel, Saints for All Occasions explores the fascinating, funny, and sometimes achingly sad ways a secret at the heart of one family both breaks them and binds them together.
    • More