Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books Little, Brown Book Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books
  • The Quiet Death of Thomas Quaid

    By Craig Russell
    Authors:
    Craig Russell
    'Storytelling at its very best!' Michael ConnellyWhen you have as few friends as private investigator Lennox does, you can't afford to lose any. When you do, someone has to pay. Fast-paced Glasgow noir for fans of Philip Kerr and Raymond Chandler.Quiet Tommy Quaid is one of Lennox's few friends in Glasgow. Lennox appreciates Tommy's open, straightforward personality - even if he is a master thief.When Tommy is flung to his death from a factory roof in front of Lennox's eyes, Lennox discovers just how wrong he was about Tommy's quiet life.It seems Tommy knew a secret, and it cost him his life. But for once, Quiet Tommy didn't go quietly. His secret concerned people above the law - people in some cases who are the law - and so now, from beyond the grave, he leaves a trail for Lennox to follow to ensure justice is done. For once, Lennox is on the side of the angels. But he is an avenging angel, and in brutal Glasgow, justice has to get bloody.
  • Queen of the Flowers

    By Kerry Greenwood
    Authors:
    Kerry Greenwood
    With more than a dash of glamour and serious helpings of style, the witty and courageous Phryne Fisher returns.In 1928 St Kilda's streets hang with fairy lights. Magic shows, marionettes, tea dances, tango competitions, lifesaving demonstrations, lantern shows, and picnics on the beach are all part of the Flower Parade. And who else should be chosen to be Queen of the Flowers but the gorgeous, charming and terribly fashionable Hon Phryne Fisher? Phryne needs a new dress and a swimming costume but she also needs a lot of courage to confront her problems: a missing daughter, the return of an old lover, and a young woman found drowned at the beach at Elwood.
    • More
  • The Quality of Mercy

    By David Roberts
    Authors:
    David Roberts
    A murder mystery featuring Lord Edward Corinth and Verity BrowneWhen the Nazis seize Austria in March 1938, Verity Browne is one of the first to be deported from Vienna as a well-known anti-Fascist. Before she leaves, she is able to arrange for a young Jew, George Dreiser, to escape to England. But where he expects to find safety, he finds danger and sudden death instead. Lord Edward Corinth also finds death where he least expects it: in the grounds of Lord Mountbatten's country house. There his nephew Frank stumbles on a corpse. Although the police are satisfied that the man died of natural causes, Edward's niece persuades Edward that all is not as it seems...In this classic investigation, Verity and Edward find that death comes more often than not to the innocent, and that many lives are left to the mercy of strangers.Praise for David Roberts:'A gripping, richly satisfying whodunit with finely observed characters, sparkling with insouciance and stinging menace' Peter James'A really well-crafted and charming mystery story' Daily Mail'A perfect example of golden-age mystery traditions with the cobwebs swept away' Guardian
    • More

    Quicksilver

    By HRH Princess Michael of Kent
    Authors:
    HRH Princess Michael of Kent
    From HRH Princess Michael of Kent, bestselling author of The Queen of Four Kingdoms, comes the eagerly-anticipated third volume in the Anjou trilogy.The final volume of the Anjou trilogy focuses on merchant Jacques Coeur, a man of humble beginnings but fiercely ambitious, who became one of the richest and most powerful men in fifteenth century France. HRH Princess Michael of Kent vividly re-enacts the life of Jacques Coeur as he becomes trusted confidante and champion of the Anjou royal family, particularly of his beloved patroness Yolande, Queen of the Four Kingdoms, and, of course, the beautiful and captivating Agnes Sorel who Jacques comes to know and understand as a friend.As Jacques's star shines brighter and brighter, his story runs parallel to that of Yolande and Agnes Sorel until the three interlink in devastating fashion and Jacques's ambition and generosity become his downfall. Meticulously researched and powerfully evoked, HRH Princess Michael of Kent unveils a seldom told story, enriched by her own insider's perspective of royal life.
    • More
  • Queen of Hearts

    By Rhys Bowen
    Authors:
    Rhys Bowen
    Lady Georgiana Rannoch, thirty-fifth in line for the British throne, knows how to play the part of an almost royal - but now she's off to Hollywood, where she must reprise her role as sleuth or risk starring in an all-too-convincing death scene . . . My mother, the glamorous and much-married actress, is hearing wedding bells once again - which is why she must hop across the pond for a quickie divorce in Reno. To offer my moral support, and since all expenses are paid by her new hubby-to-be, Max, I agree to make the voyage with her.Crossing the Atlantic, with adventure in the air and wealthy men aboard, Mother all but forgets about Max and matrimony - especially when movie mogul Cy Goldman insists on casting her in his next picture.Meanwhile, I find myself caught up in the secret investigation of a suspected jewel thief. Lucky for me, the lead investigator happens to be my dashing beau, Darcy!Mother's movie and Darcy's larceny lead everyone to Cy's Hollywood home, where the likes of Charlie Chaplin are hanging about and there's enough romantic intrigue to fill a double feature. But we hardly get a chance to work out the sleeping arrangements before Cy turns up dead - as if there wasn't enough drama already . . .
    • More
  • Quadrille

    By M.C. Beaton
    Authors:
    M.C. Beaton
    Everyone in bon ton knew that Lord Hubert Challenge had married country mouse Mary Tyre for her dowry, but no one had yet guessed that Mary had actually fallen in love with her husband! And she would try anything - sumptuous clothes, a saucy manner, even flirting with another man - to get her handsome husband's attention. Until she learned that two could play at that particular game.

    The Queen Of Four Kingdoms

    By HRH Princess Michael of Kent
    Authors:
    HRH Princess Michael of Kent
    At the age of nineteen, Yolande of Aragon is sent away from her family, her friends, and everything she knows, to marry the young Duke of Anjou, King Charles VI's first cousin. Their marriage has been arranged to form an alliance between the previously warring kingdoms of Aragon and Anjou, and is politically fraught in a time of great danger and unrest. Yet the union between Yolande and Louis becomes not only a great love story, but also sets in motion events which will change the course of history.As Louis spends more and more time and money fighting in Italy for his claim to the Kingdom of Naples, Yolande is left alone with their six children to govern their lands. But through her charm, fierce intelligence and the clever use of her spies, she becomes the saviour of not just her kingdoms but also of France. Her Royal Highness Princess Michael of Kent unveils this seldom told story, enriched by her own insider's perspective of royal life. The Queen of Four Kingdoms is the epic true story of a rich and riveting period of French and English history, all witnessed by the captivating and complex heroine Yolande.
    • More

    The Queen's Lady

    By Barbara Kyle
    Authors:
    Barbara Kyle
    London 1527. Marry or serve: for Honor Larke, the choice is clear. Unwilling to perish of boredom as an obedient wife, she leaves the home of her guardian to attend Her Majesty Queen Catherine of Aragon. Angered by the humiliation heaped upon her mistress as Henry VIII cavorts with Anne Boleyn and presses Rome for a divorce, Honor volunteers to carry letters to the Queen's allies abroad. It's a risky game, and swept into a tide of intrigue and danger that stretches across Europe, the Queen's lady is about learn everything about passion, pride, greed - and the capricious nature of the King.
    • More
    1