Winifred Holtby - Remember, Remember! - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

Remember, Remember!

The Selected Stories of Winifred Holtby

By Winifred Holtby

  • Paperback
  • £15.00

* A delightful volume of short stories by Winifred Holtby, the much-loved Yorkshire writer

This selection of Winifred Holtby's short stories is drawn from her two published volumes, TRUTH IS NOT SOBER and PAVEMENTS OF ANDERBY, which were published posthumously by her two friends, Vera Brittain and Hilda Reid and have been collected here in one volume for the first time.
Brightly written, in an unselfconscious, matter-of-fact style, these stories are irreverent and entertaining, fulfilling what she saw as the short story's purpose in a reader's life:
'nice for chance guests - easy to pick up and more tantalising for one's bedside than a novel'.
Many of these stories are autobiographically based, and feature the Yorkshire farming community in Rudston where she was brought up. This was the setting for her most famous novel, SOUTH RIDING, also published posthumously. Some of the stories relate to the last years of her life when she was contending with the incessant headaches and nausea of Bright's disease.

Biographical Notes

Winifred Holtby (1898-1935) was born in Yorkshire. In the First World War she joined the Women's Auxiliary Army Corps and then went to Oxford where she became a great friend of Vera Brittain. SOUTH RIDING, her most famous novel, was published posthumously.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781860491641
  • Publication date: 05 Aug 1999
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Virago
Sphere

A Party in San Niccolo

Christobel Kent
Authors:
Christobel Kent

'In the far distance, the great terracotta dome of the cathedral appeared, like a mirage shimmering in the heat haze . . .'Gina Donovan arrives in Florence on a beautiful spring morning to stay with an old friend. She is hoping for nothing more than a break from her demanding young family, but as she soon finds out, this most ancient and beautiful of cities has its dark side. Within hours of her arrival, Gina meets the elegant Frances Richardson, who invites her to her birthday party. As Gina learns, Frances' party is the highlight of the expatriate calendar. This year it is to be held in the gardens beneath the city's medieval wall.However, as Gina's week in Florence unfolds and the party draws near, a terrible discovery is made. And no one in this close-knit community is free of suspicion . . .

Sphere

Late Season

Christobel Kent
Authors:
Christobel Kent
Hachette Audio

The Summer House

Christobel Kent
Authors:
Christobel Kent

Rose Fell's friends think she's taking a big risk when she leaves the security of home and career to move to the beautiful but isolated village of Grosso, near Genoa. But after a year of emotional turmoil Rose no longer has any ties back home, and she relishes the challenges of a new start. Making a home, however, in the ravishing, haunted landscape of Italy's Riviera coast turns our to be lonelier than Rose had anticipated. And it is only when she is asked to write a profile on one of her reclusive neighbours, the once-glamorous film star Elvira Vitale, that Rose feels her new life is really beginning. But when a young girl's body is found on the local beach, and the following day Elvira's hard-working cleaner, Ania, goes missing, Rose finds herself embroiled in a murder investigation that threatens the idyll she has worked so hard to establish.

Hachette Audio

A Florentine Revenge

Christobel Kent
Authors:
Christobel Kent
Orbit

Blackfish City

Sam J. Miller
Authors:
Sam J. Miller
Center Street

Vengeance

Newt Gingrich
Authors:
Newt Gingrich

Leading politician and bestselling author Newt Gingrich and novelist Pete Earley are back with another gripping international thriller. A bomb attack in Washington D.C. that kills the U.S. President again pits Major Brooke Grant against the world's master terrorist, The Falcon, only this time around there's more at stake than his fatwa against her. With the financial backing of Africa's wealthiest tycoon, The Falcon has obtained a North Korean nuclear device that a jihadist called "The Destroyer" is converting into "dirty bombs" destined for three cities. Grant recruits Esther Cohen, a formidable Mossad agent, and Khalid Ibrahim from Saudi Arabia's General Intelligence Directorate, to help her thwart the attacks after a new president intent on shaking up the nation's capital frees her from traditional CIA restraints in this new thriller by former House Speaker Newt Gingrich and former Washington Post reporter Pete Earley following their 2016 bestseller TREASON.

Grand Central Publishing

Commitments

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky
Sphere

All That She Can See

Carrie Hope Fletcher
Authors:
Carrie Hope Fletcher

The Top Three Sunday Times bestselling novel from Carrie Hope Fletcher, the author of On the Other Side. A story of love, food and a little bit of magic, All That She Can See is an enchanting and beautiful novel that's guaranteed to be the most magical story you'll read all year. Feelings are part of life - feelings are life. If you take away what people feel, you take away anything meaningful. Wanting to diminish the evil in this world is a good cause, one I have fought for the majority of my life, but not like this . . . Cherry has a hidden talent. She can see things other people can't and she decided a long time ago to use this skill to help others. As far as the rest of the town is concerned she's simply the kind-hearted young woman who runs the local bakery, but in private she uses her gift to add something special to her cakes so that after just one mouthful the townspeople start to feel better about their lives. They don't know why they're drawn to Cherry's bakery - they just know that they're safe there and that's how Cherry likes it. She can help them in secret and no one will ever need to know the truth behind her gift. And then Chase turns up and threatens to undo all the good Cherry has done. Because it turns out she's not the only one who can see what she sees . . .

Little, Brown

Want You Gone

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Sphere

The Chocolate Lovers' Wedding

Carole Matthews
Authors:
Carole Matthews

A wonderful story of love, romance and friendship from readers' favourite and the Sunday Time Top Ten bestselling Carole Matthews. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson.The ladies of The Chocolate Lovers' Club should be gearing up for the wedding of the year but life keeps getting in the way . . . Lucy is worried about her financial situation and it keeps distracting her. Should she accept an offer of help from an untrustworthy source?Nadia may have a real chance at finding love but other areas of her life aren't so rosy. Something needs to change - but what?Autumn can't wait to meet someone she hasn't seen in a very long time. She's full of hope for the future but then things don't exactly go to plan . . . Chantal has been through so much and she's finally starting to feel settled. The last thing she needs is the kind of bad news that could change her life all over again.And yet, despite all the ups and downs, the Chocolate Lovers' ladies know they can get through it all as long as they have each other. They're not going to let anything get in the way of their happy-ever-afters in . . . The Chocolate Lovers' Wedding.

Piatkus

Blueprints

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky

AN UPLIFTING, HEART-WRENCHING STORY OF THE UNBREAKABLE TIES BETWEEN A MOTHER AND HER DAUGHTER FROM NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR BARBARA DELINSKY'Fans of Jodie Picoult will love this.' Daily Express'Warm, rich, textured and impossible to put down.' Nora RobertsOn paper, Jamie MacAfee's life is perfect. She loves her fiancée, she's happy with her plans for the future and she gets to work alongside her beloved mother, Caroline, on their family home renovation show. In reality, she can't seem to make herself set a wedding date and an ageist, sexist decision by their TV network has thrown both her job and her relationship with Caroline into jeopardy. Meanwhile Caroline, who has been painfully putting herself back together after a difficult divorce, is watching the plans she's built her life around go up in flames.As loyalties shift and new relationships tempt, Jamie and Caroline will be tested as never before. Yet when all is said and done, there's nothing quite like the bond of family.'A poignant family story.' Daily Express'Compelling reading' The Sun'Delinsky's writing is fluid and makes for a hard-to-put-down book.' Glamour

Hachette Audio

The Cake Shop in the Garden

Carole Matthews
Authors:
Carole Matthews

Fay Merryweather runs her cake shop from her beautiful garden. She whips up airy sponges and scrumptious scones, while her customers enjoy the lovely blossoms and gorgeous blooms. Looking after the cake shop, the garden and her cantankerous mother means Fay is always busy but she accepts her responsibilities because if she doesn't do all this, who will?Then Danny Wilde walks into her life and makes Fay question every decision she's ever made.When a sudden tragedy strikes, Fay's entire world is thrown off balance even further and she doesn't know which way to turn. Can Fay find the strength to make a life-changing decision - even if it means giving up the thing she loves the most? Life, love and family are about to collide in The Cake Shop in the Garden.

Little, Brown

Dead Girl Walking

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Sphere

The Silver Collection

Carole Matthews
Authors:
Carole Matthews

The publication of my novel, The Christmas Party, has seen me celebrating a career that has spanned twenty-five books and eighteen years. Yet it seems like only yesterday when I had my first book, Let's Meet on Platform 8, published. I'm so lucky to have an enthusiastic and devoted following of readers - some who've stayed with me from the very beginning and some who are recent converts. Without you reading and enjoying my books, I would never have had the fabulous career I've been blessed with. We make a great team!I thought it would be nice for you all to join the celebration with me and to offer a small token of my thanks and appreciation for all your support over the years. I love writing short stories and that's what helped to get me started on this road so I've put together a collection of a few of my favourites that have interspersed the last twenty-five books. Each one is very special to me for a different reason and has lovely memories. I hope you enjoy them too. Find half an hour to curl up on the sofa with them and raise a glass to toast twenty-five books and us!Cheers!Carole xx*Includes an exclusive extract from The Cake Shop in the Garden*

Sphere

I Let You Go

Clare Mackintosh
Authors:
Clare Mackintosh
Sphere

The Christmas Party

Carole Matthews
Authors:
Carole Matthews
Piatkus

The Invitation

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky
Piatkus

The Real Thing

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky
Piatkus

Crossed Hearts

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky
Sphere

A Place to Call Home

Carole Matthews
Authors:
Carole Matthews