Angela Carter - Several Perceptions - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349008134
    • Publication date:05 Nov 2015
Books in this series

Several Perceptions

By Angela Carter

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

* Full of the wit and irreverence for which Carter is renowned

Centre stage in Angela Carter's unruly tale of the Flower Power Generation is Joseph - a decadent, disorientated rebel without a cause. A self-styled nihilist whose girlfriend has abandoned him, Joseph has decided to give up existing. But his concerned friends and neighbours have other plans.

In an effort to join in the spirit of protest which motivates his contemporaries, Joseph frees a badger from the local zoo; sends a turd airmail to the President of the United States; falls in love with the mother of his best friend; and, accompanied by the strains of an old man's violin, celebrates Christmas Eve in a bewildering state of sexual discovery. But has he found the Meaning of Life?

Biographical Notes

One of Britain's most original writers, Angela Carter published her first novel, SHADOW DANCE, in 1965. THE MAGIC TOYSHOP won the 1969 John Llewellyn Rhys Prize and SEVERAL PERCEPTIONS the 1968 Somerset Maugham Prize. Carter's death in 1992 'robbed the English literary scene of one of its most vivacious and compelling voices' (INDEPENDENT).

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781860490941
  • Publication date: 06 Mar 1997
  • Page count: 160
  • Imprint: Virago
Sphere

Inheritance

Jenny Eclair
Authors:
Jenny Eclair

Virago

Noel Streatfeild’s Holiday Stories

Noel Streatfeild, Peter Bailey
Contributors:
Noel Streatfeild, Peter Bailey

A NEW COLLECTION OF HOLIDAY-THEMED STORIES BY THE BELOVED AUTHOR OF BALLET SHOESThere are stories for every reader in this delightful collection - exciting crime-solving adventures; nervous young actors in the spotlight for the first time; unforgettable holidays and unlikely friendships.Featuring beautiful illustrations by PETER BAILEYStories include: The Plain One Devon MettleChicken for SupperFlag's CircusThe SecretCoralieOrdinary Me Cows Eat FlowersAndrew's TroutThe Old FoolLet's Go CoachingHowardThe Quiet HolidayRobertaGreen SilkOriginally written for annuals and magazines from the 1930s-70s, these newly discovered stories will be an exciting discovery for Noel Streatfeild fans of all ages.

Little, Brown

The Lost Man

Jane Harper
Authors:
Jane Harper
Sphere

Blackpool Evacuee

Maggie Mason
Authors:
Maggie Mason

The perfect read for fans of Mary Wood, Kitty Neale, Val Wood and Nadine DorriesClara is forced to flee her home as the Nazis invade the beautiful island of GuernseySeparated from her mother, far away from anything familiar, she is at the mercy of a cruel shopkeeper. Clara is worked like a dog, but the warmth of her Blackpool friendships will go far to save her. Julia just wants to find her beloved daughter - but the trials of war will keep them far apart. They will meet again - but the war will change everything for mother and daughter...

Hachette Australia

Terra Nullius

Claire G. Coleman
Authors:
Claire G. Coleman
Constable

Splash!

Stephen Glover
Authors:
Stephen Glover
Virago

Nothing Sacred

Angela Carter
Authors:
Angela Carter

In the pursuit of magnificence, nothing is sacred,' says Angela Carter, and magnificence is indeed her own achievement. One of the most acclaimed novelists of her generation, her work as a journalist and critic was no less original. Long autobiographical pieces on her life in South Yorkshire and South London are followed by highly individual inspections of 'abroad'. Some of her most brilliant writing is devoted to Japan - exotically and erotically described here - so perfectly suited to the Carter pen. Domestically, Angela Carter used her mordant wit and accurate eye to inspect England and Englishness as it manifested itself throughout the land. Then she turns to her own craft, and her extraordinarily wide-ranging book reviews are masterpieces.

Virago

The Heart Goes Last

Margaret Atwood
Authors:
Margaret Atwood
Sphere

On the Other Side

Carrie Hope Fletcher
Authors:
Carrie Hope Fletcher
Virago

Angela Carter's Book Of Wayward Girls And Wicked Women

Angela Carter
Authors:
Angela Carter
Virago

On Writers and Writing

Margaret Atwood
Authors:
Margaret Atwood

By the author of THE HANDMAID'S TALE and ALIAS GRACEWhat is the role of the writer? Prophet? High Priest of Art? Court Jester? Or witness to the real world? Looking back on her own childhood and the development of her writing career, Margaret Atwood examines the metaphors which writers of fiction and poetry have used to explain - or excuse! - their activities, looking at what costumes they have seen fit to assume, what roles they have chosen to play. In her final chapter she takes up the challenge of the book's title: if a writer is to be seen as 'gifted', who is doing the giving and what are the terms of the gift?Margaret Atwood's wide and eclectic reference to other writers, living and dead, is balanced by anecdotes from her own experiences as a writer, both in Canada and on the international scene. The lightness of her touch is underlined by a seriousness about the purpose and the pleasures of writing, and by a deep familiarity with the myths and traditions of western literature.Praise for On Writers and Writing: '...a streetwise, erudite suggestive enquiry into problems and myths of the writer's role. Her light touch on hard thoughts, her humour and eclectic quotations, lend enchantment to an argument that has as many undulating tentacles as a well developed sea anemone' -INDEPENDENT'Her witty, occasionally self-deprecating and always ingenious approach is a delight' -SUNDAY TIMES'A witty and profound rumination about writing' -THE TIMES

Abacus

Everything I Never Told You

Celeste Ng
Authors:
Celeste Ng
Sphere

A Walk To Remember

Nicholas Sparks
Authors:
Nicholas Sparks

Can you resist the depths of the human heart?It is 1958 and seventeen-year-old Landon is revelling in his youth: dating girls and even claiming to have been in love. He is a world apart from shy, reclusive Jamie Sullivan, a Baptist's daughter who carries a bible with her school books, cares for her widowed father and volunteers at the orphanage. But fate will intervene.Forced to partner up at the school dance, Landon and Jamie embark on a journey of earth-shattering love and agonising loss far beyond their years. In the months that follow, Landon discovers the true depths of the human heart, and takes a decision that is so stunning it will lead him irrevocably down the road to manhood . . .

Sphere

Just Another Manic Mum-Day

Mink Elliott
Authors:
Mink Elliott
Sphere

The Circus Of Ghosts

Barbara Ewing
Authors:
Barbara Ewing
Corsair

A Visit From the Goon Squad

Jennifer Egan
Authors:
Jennifer Egan
Abacus

City Of Veils

Zoe Ferraris
Authors:
Zoe Ferraris
Abacus

What Happens Now

Jeremy Dyson
Authors:
Jeremy Dyson

Winter, 1981, and fifteen-year-old Alistair Black is wrestling with the fierce power of his imagination. The boundaries between what is real and what is fantasy are dissolving to increasingly dangerous effect. And then he falls in love with Alice . . . WHAT HAPPENS NOW is a mesmerizing story about love, fear and faith. Atmospheric, suspenseful and spiked with black humour, it confirms Jeremy Dyson as one of the most exciting and original writers of his generation.

Virago

The Sadeian Woman

Angela Carter
Authors:
Angela Carter

Sexuality is power' - so says the Marquis de Sade, philosopher and pornographer extraordinaire. His virtuous Justine keeps to the rules laid down by men, her reward rape and humiliation; his Juliette, Justine's triumphantly monstrous antithesis, viciously exploits her sexuality. In a world where all tenderness is false, all beds are minefields.But now Sade has met his match. With invention and genius, Angela Carter takes on these outrageous figments of his extreme imagination, and transforms them into symbols of our time - the Hollywood sex goddesses, mothers and daughters, pornography, even the sacred shrines of sex and marriage lie devastatingly exposed before our eyes. Angela Carter delves into the viscera of our distorted sexuality and reveals a dazzling vision of love which admits neither of conqueror nor of conquered.

Virago

The Passion Of New Eve

Angela Carter
Authors:
Angela Carter