Maria Sveland - Bitter Bitch - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781849019682
    • Publication date:18 Aug 2011

Bitter Bitch

By Maria Sveland

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The international bestseller that shocked Europe.

On a miserable January morning Sarah is sitting on a plane to Tenerife - dickheads' destination of choice - for a week-long getaway. She's just realised that she's very angry and becoming a bitter bitch, despite being just thirty years old. With her on the plane she has a copy of Erica Jong's Fear of Flying and wishes it were 1975 instead of 2005.

Sarah never intended for things to turn out the way they have: she just dreamed of love like everyone else. But now she's sitting here, thinking about all the injustices she's suffered. Thinking about how thoroughly fooled she was by the promise of love - the one that makes us want to start a family. Thinking about all the women she knows who, like her, were drained of all their energy by family hell - an inheritance passed down directly from generation to generation, from her restless mother's eczema-covered dishpan hands to her own nervous over-achiever complex.

Angry and candid, Bitter Bitch is an uncompromising novel, at the heart of which is one of the most important women's issues: how can we ever have an egalitarian society when we can't even live in equality with those we love?

Biographical Notes

Maria Sveland was born in Sweden in 1974. She graduated from Dramatiska Institutet (University College of Film, Radio, Television and Theatre) in 2000 and has since made a number of acclaimed programmes for Swedish public radio and television. Bitter Bitch is her first novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781849013215
  • Publication date: 27 Jan 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Corsair
A compelling and thought-provoking read. — Florence Welch, Dazed and Confused.
This is one of the books that really gets at you. And it is entertaining. (...) It is not just a polemic, not just divisive, not narrow-minded. After Bitterfittan the discussions round the dinner table can do more for equality than all the extremist speeches in the world. — Mattias Bergman, Expressen
The book's strength lies in Maria Sveland's honesty and conviction - her anger, sorrow, powerlessness and rebelliousness reach out to us in a way that feels absolutely genuine. — Paulina Helgeson, Svenska Dagbladet
There should be a law demanding that all parents-to-be must read this book. — Moa Eriksson, Hallandsposten
If Maria Sveland's very first book isn't among the paperback bestsellers within six months, then I'll be surprised. Because here there is something sweet and something salty for everyone. — Agneta Rosendal, Nerikes Allehanda
Sphere

Untitled Carole Matthews 3

Corsair

Future Home of the Living God

Louise Erdrich
Authors:
Louise Erdrich
Abacus

My Italian Bulldozer

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith
Virago

Love & Fame

Susie Boyt
Authors:
Susie Boyt
Little, Brown US

Fly Me

Daniel Riley
Authors:
Daniel Riley
Little, Brown US

Swell

Jill Eisenstadt
Authors:
Jill Eisenstadt
Fleet

Everything You Do Is Wrong

Amanda Coe
Authors:
Amanda Coe

'Do You Know This Girl?'Harmony's teenage craving for drama is answered when a body is discovered by her aunt Mel on Evensand beach. But the naked, lifeless young woman turns out - problematically - to be alive. Unable to speak or remember where she came from, the woman is named Storm by her nurses. Surrounded by doctors, psychiatrists and policemen, Storm remains provocatively silent. Harmony is desperate to fill in the gaps in Storm's story, while the responsibility Mel feels for the woman she rescued begins to skew the course of her own settled life. Their efforts to solve the mystery clash with the efforts of rookie constable Mason, assigned to the case and determined to help this damsel he feels to be very much in distress.Will any of them be able to find out who Storm really is? And what if the distress belongs to everyone but her?Everything You Do Is Wrong is a compelling exploration of how this enigma sets a family's good and bad intentions crashing into each other, with unforgettable consequences.

Hachette Audio

Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights

Join Fay and her friends this Christmas and indulge in this wonderful, cake-filled novel of romance and friendship. Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights is Sunday Times bestselling Carole Matthews doing what she does best! Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson.Fay and Danny are madly in love and it's all Fay's ever dreamed of. But she left everything - including the delightful cake shop she used to run - to be with Danny on his cosy canal boat The Dreamcatcher. And as she soon finds out, making delicious cakes on the water isn't always smooth sailing!Then Fay gets a call from her friends, a call that sends her back to where it all began, back to where she first met Danny, back to her friends and the Cake Shop in the Garden. It will be hard being away from Danny but their relationship is strong enough to survive . . . isn't it?Fay soon falls happily back in love with her passion for baking - especially now she's on dry land again! - and starts to wonder if she ever should have left. With Christmas around the corner, Fay is determined that her friends will have a very merry time, but does that mean even more time away from Danny? Can Fay really get everything she ever wanted in Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights.

Corsair

Under the Frog

Tibor Fischer
Authors:
Tibor Fischer

Corsair

Don't Read This If You're Stupid

Tibor Fischer
Authors:
Tibor Fischer
Corsair

The Thought Gang

Tibor Fischer
Authors:
Tibor Fischer

Sphere

The Last Flag Flying

Darryl Ponicsán
Authors:
Darryl Ponicsán
Sphere

The Last Detail

Darryl Ponicsán
Authors:
Darryl Ponicsán

Little, Brown

The House of Unexpected Sisters

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith

Precious Ramotswe has always idolised her father, the late Obed Ramotswe. She feels that she knows all about his life - but does she? Sometimes our parents surprise us, and we discover that things were not quite what we thought them to be. And the same goes for Mma Makutsi, Mma Ramotswe's feisty assistant, who also makes certain discoveries about her own past that cause some surprise. The placid world of the No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency is further disturbed by the arrival in Gaborone of somebody whom Mma Ramotswe - and Mr J.L.B. Matekoni, for that matter - definitely do not want to see. Of course calm eventually prevails - as it always does in the timeless world of these remarkable ladies. Tea is served, and life continues.

Abacus

English Animals

Laura Kaye
Authors:
Laura Kaye
Constable

A Cold Case in Amsterdam Central

Anja de Jager
Authors:
Anja de Jager

Detective Lotte Meerman is convinced the death of Frank Stapel, a painter and decorator, isn't an accident after she and his widow Tessa find a skeleton in a sports bag in his left luggage locker at Amsterdam Central train station. The remains date from the Second World War and Lotte's colleagues consider it of minor importance . . . until forensic tests show that amongst the bones is the arm bone of a crime boss who recently went missing.

Little, Brown

Little Fires Everywhere

Celeste Ng
Authors:
Celeste Ng
Corsair

Midwinter

Fiona Melrose
Authors:
Fiona Melrose

'Finely judged writing like this comes from a place of instinct, and it marks Melrose out as someone to watch . . . Midwinter is a great success' Melissa Harrison, Guardian Father and Son, Landyn and Vale Midwinter, are Suffolk farmers, living together on land their family has worked for generations. But they are haunted there by a past they have long refused to confront: the death of Cecelia, beloved wife and mother, when Vale was just a child. Both men have carried her loss, unspoken. Until now.With the onset of a mauling winter, something between them snaps.While Vale makes increasingly desperate decisions, Landyn retreats, finding solace in the land, his animals - and a vixen who haunts the farm and seems to bring with her both comfort and protection.Tender and lyrical, alive to language and nature, Midwinter is a novel about guilt, blame, lost opportunities and, ultimately, it is a story about love and the lengths we will go to find our way home.'Melrose elegantly weaves narratives detailing the men's internal tumult with lush descriptions of their natural surroundings . . . A moving story about the cruelty of chance, modern masculinity and the transformative power of the bonds between men' Financial Times'I have rarely read a narrative voice as distinctive as Landyn's, and the loving depiction of regional English working-class masculinity is unusual and timely . . . This is certainly not a light-hearted book, but it offers the true consolation of some very good writing' Sarah Moss, TLS'A penetrating study of grief and guilt' Daily Mail

Sphere

Nineteen Letters

Jodi Perry
Authors:
Jodi Perry

Sphere

Before I Was Yours

Virginia Macgregor
Authors:
Virginia Macgregor