Maria Sveland - Bitter Bitch - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781849019682
    • Publication date:18 Aug 2011

Bitter Bitch

By Maria Sveland

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The international bestseller that shocked Europe.

On a miserable January morning Sarah is sitting on a plane to Tenerife - dickheads' destination of choice - for a week-long getaway. She's just realised that she's very angry and becoming a bitter bitch, despite being just thirty years old. With her on the plane she has a copy of Erica Jong's Fear of Flying and wishes it were 1975 instead of 2005.

Sarah never intended for things to turn out the way they have: she just dreamed of love like everyone else. But now she's sitting here, thinking about all the injustices she's suffered. Thinking about how thoroughly fooled she was by the promise of love - the one that makes us want to start a family. Thinking about all the women she knows who, like her, were drained of all their energy by family hell - an inheritance passed down directly from generation to generation, from her restless mother's eczema-covered dishpan hands to her own nervous over-achiever complex.

Angry and candid, Bitter Bitch is an uncompromising novel, at the heart of which is one of the most important women's issues: how can we ever have an egalitarian society when we can't even live in equality with those we love?

Biographical Notes

Maria Sveland was born in Sweden in 1974. She graduated from Dramatiska Institutet (University College of Film, Radio, Television and Theatre) in 2000 and has since made a number of acclaimed programmes for Swedish public radio and television. Bitter Bitch is her first novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781849013215
  • Publication date: 27 Jan 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Corsair
A compelling and thought-provoking read. — Florence Welch, Dazed and Confused.
This is one of the books that really gets at you. And it is entertaining. (...) It is not just a polemic, not just divisive, not narrow-minded. After Bitterfittan the discussions round the dinner table can do more for equality than all the extremist speeches in the world. — Mattias Bergman, Expressen
The book's strength lies in Maria Sveland's honesty and conviction - her anger, sorrow, powerlessness and rebelliousness reach out to us in a way that feels absolutely genuine. — Paulina Helgeson, Svenska Dagbladet
There should be a law demanding that all parents-to-be must read this book. — Moa Eriksson, Hallandsposten
If Maria Sveland's very first book isn't among the paperback bestsellers within six months, then I'll be surprised. Because here there is something sweet and something salty for everyone. — Agneta Rosendal, Nerikes Allehanda
Piatkus

The Little Café of Second Chances

J.D. Barrett
Authors:
J.D. Barrett
Sphere

The Trouble With Love

Rosemary Dun
Authors:
Rosemary Dun

'Quirky, charming and laugh-out-loud funny' Julie CohenA hilarious and romantic love story that's guaranteed to have you laughing out loud! Perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Alex Brown and Kat French.When Polly Park meets Spike, the fact that he's emigrating to Australia in six months' time is not a problem - no commitment or messy endings. But she doesn't bank on falling in love, or on making a certain discovery after he's gone. Three years on, Polly is a single mum to her gorgeous daughter Rowan, she's dating the lovely Max and she might finally be ready to take a chance on love. Then, out of the blue, Spike returns with his glamorous girlfriend in tow, and suddenly Polly finds herself in the middle of a very sticky situation . . . Will Spike's return resurrect Polly's feelings for him? Where does that leave Max and Polly? And how will all this change effect Rowan? Nothing is simple - but then, that's the trouble with love . . . The Trouble with Love is a fresh and funny romantic comedy that explores both conventional and modern dilemmas in love. It will make you think, it will make you laugh and above all else, it will make you believe that love really can conquer all.

Sphere

We'll Always Have Paris

Sue Watson
Authors:
Sue Watson
Sphere

You Had Me at Merlot

Lisa Dickenson
Authors:
Lisa Dickenson

'We lapped up every single word of this romantic comedy gem' Heat'Crying out to be read in one big, hilarious gulp!' Fabulous magazine'A lovely romantic yarn' Marie Claire'Feisty, fun and fierce! Beyonce would be proud!' Ali McNamara, author of The Little Flower Shop by the SeaElle and Laurie are the last ones standing: they're single, they're not having babies any time soon and their weekends aren't filled with joyful meetings about mortgages. For Elle, this is fine. She likes her independent life, but Laurie wants love and she wants it now.So when Laurie begs Elle to come with her on a singles holiday to a beautiful vineyard in Tuscany, Elle is reluctant. She has no intention of swapping her perfectly lovely life for someone else's idea of her Mr Perfect, but ten days under the Italian sun with her best friend and lashings of wine? How bad could that be?Full of sultry summer nights, hilarious moments and plenty of adventure, You Had Me at Merlot will warm even the most cynical of hearts and have you believing in the magic of romance (and the power of a decent glass of wine).

Sphere

First Touch

Laurelin Paige
Authors:
Laurelin Paige
Sphere

To Love Again

Danielle Steel
Authors:
Danielle Steel
Sphere

The Happy Ever Afterlife of Rosie Potter (RIP)

Kate Winter
Authors:
Kate Winter
Sphere

The Notebook

Nicholas Sparks
Authors:
Nicholas Sparks

Christopher Buckley

Christopher Buckley, "the quintessential political novelist of his time" according to Fortune magazine, is the winner of the distinguished ninth annual Thurber Prize for American Humor. Tom Wolfe has described him as "one of the funniest writers in the English language." Buckley is the author of twelve books, many of them national bestsellers, including Thank You For Smoking, God Is My Broker, No Way To Treat A First Lady, Florence of Arabia, and the memoir Losing Mum and Pup.

Clare Jay

Clare Jay's short stories and poetry have won prizes and appeared in anthologies. She has a PhD in Creative Writing and tutors the subject at university level. She has led 'Dreaming into writing' workshops at international conferences and has lived in five European countries and travelled extensively in South-East Asia. BREATHING IN COLOUR is her first novel. Visit her at www.clarejay.com

Farahad Zama

Farahad Zama moved to London in 1990 from Vizag in India, where the novel is set. He is a father of two, and he works for an investment bank.

Gillian Slovo

Gillian Slovo (father Joe Slovo, mother Ruth First) was educated in Britain where she has spent all her adult life. Since Nelson Mandela's release she has made frequent visits to South Africa. She has written seven books.

Jane Rogers

Jane Rogers has written six novels including MR WROE'S VIRGINS (dramatised as an award-winning television serial) and PROMISED LANDS, which won the Writers' Guild Best Novel Award 1996. She also writes for TV and radio, and teaches at Sheffield Hallam University.

Jenny Diski

Jenny Diski is the author of eight novels and two memoirs: Skating to Antarctica and Stranger on a Train. She lives in Cambridge.

John Brandon

John Brandon was raised on the Gulf Coast of Florida, and has worked at a lumber mill, a windshield warehouse, and a Coca-Cola distributor. Acclaim for his first novel, Arkansas, led to his appointment as John & Renee Grisham Fellow in Creative Writing at the University of Mississippi.

Josephine Hart

Josephine Hart (1942-2011) was the bestselling author of Damage, Sin, Oblivion and The Reconstructionist. She was a Director of Haymarket Publishing and founded Gallery Poets before going on to produce a number of West End plays. As well writing novels, she was a `poetry evangelist' and her Josephine Hart Poetry Hour at the British Library inspired two edited poetry books: Catching Life By the Throat and Words that Burn. She was married to Maurice Saatchi and had two sons.

Kate Mosse

Kate Mosse is the No 1 international bestselling author of six novels, three works of non fiction, three plays and short stories and essays. The first of her Languedoc Trilogy, Labyrinth, was a multi-million bestselling and critical success on an international scale. It won the Best Read category at the British Book Awards 2006, was No 1 in UK paperback for six months and was named as one of the Top 25 books of the past 25 years by Waterstones and was translated into thirty-eight languages. The second in the Languedoc Trilogy, Sepulchre, was also a worldwide bestseller, as was Citadel, the final novel in the series. Inspired by the forgotten women's stories of the Occupation in France, it tells the history of an all-female resistance unit in Carcassonne during World War II. Kate will be taking part in the inaugural event of the Resistance Studies Initiative at the University of Sussex in May. Other fiction includes the No 1 bestselling The Winter Ghosts and The Mistletoe Bride & Other Haunting Tales. Her non fiction includes Chichester Festival Theatre at Fifty and The House: Behind the Scenes at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. Kate is the Co-Founder and Chair of the Board of the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction (previously the Orange Prize). She is on the Board of the National Theatre and a Patron of the Sussex based Consort of Twelve and the Fishbourne Centre. In 2012, she won the 'Spirit of Everywoman Award' for services to literature. In 2013, she was named as one of the Bookseller's Top 100 most influential people in publishing and in January 2014 was included in the Sunday Times/Debretts 500 Most Influential People list in the UK. In June 2013, Kate was awarded an OBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours List for services to literature.

Linda Grant

Linda Grant is a novelist and journalist. She won the Orange Prize for Fiction in 2000 and the Lettre Ulysses Prize for Literary Reportage in 2006, and was longlisted for the Man Booker in 2002 for Still Here. The Clothes on Their Backs was shortlisted for the Man Booker in 2008 and went on to win the South Bank Show Award.

Lucy-Anne Holmes

Lucy-Anne Holmes is a writer, actress and campaigner living in Sussex. She is the author of three previous novels - 50 Ways to Find a Lover, The (Im)perfect Girlfriend and Unlike a Virgin - which have been published in ten countries. Lucy is also the founder of the No More Page 3 campaign. To find out more about Lucy follow her on Twitter: @lucyanneholmes.

Maree Giles

Maree Giles is Australian and has had a variety of careers including journalism and editor for PARENTS Magazine. She was winner of the SHE magazine short story competition in 1997 and in 1998 her short stories were highly commended in the Ian St James Awards.