James S. A. Corey - Abaddon's Gate - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Abaddon's Gate

Book 3 of the Expanse

By James S. A. Corey

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The explosive third novel in James S. A. Corey's Expanse space opera series, which began with the critically acclaimed Leviathan Wakes

The third book in the New York Times bestselling Expanse series.

NOW A MAJOR TV SERIES FROM NETFLIX

For generations, the solar system - Mars, the Moon, the Asteroid Belt - was humanity's great frontier. Until now. The alien artefact working through its program under the clouds of Venus has emerged to build a massive structure outside the orbit of Uranus: a gate that leads into a starless dark.

Jim Holden and the crew of the Rocinante are part of a vast flotilla of scientific and military ships going out to examine the artefact. But behind the scenes, a complex plot is unfolding, with the destruction of Holden at its core. As the emissaries of the human race try to find whether the gate is an opportunity or a threat, the greatest danger is the one they brought with them.

Biographical Notes

James S. A. Corey is the pen name of fantasy author Daniel Abraham, author of the critically acclaimed Long Price Quartet, and Ty Franck. They both live in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781841499932
  • Publication date: 06 Mar 2014
  • Page count: 560
  • Imprint: Orbit
As close as you'll get to a Hollywood blockbuster in book form — io9.com
This is the future the way it was supposed to be — The Wall Street Journal on Leviathan Wakes
A politically complex and pulse-pounding page turner . . . Series fans will find this installment the best yet — PUBLISHERS WEEKLY (starred review)
The best space opera has to offer — LIBRARY JOURNAL (starred review)
Tense and thrilling — SciFi Now
The authors are superb with the exciting bits: shipboard coups and battles are a thrill to follow — WASHINGTON POST
Great characters, excellent dialogue, memorable fights, freakish experiments, and twisty-turny mysteries . . . Only an excellent book series can pull them all off, and the Expanse will definitely be added to the shortlist of science fiction tales that manage to do so — WIRED.COM
Orbit

Coming to You Live

Mira Grant
Authors:
Mira Grant

A Newsflesh novella from the New York Times bestselling author that brought you Feed, Mira Grant.More from Mira GrantInto the Drowning DeepNewsflesh Short FictionApocalypse Scenario #683: The BoxCountdownSan Diego 2014: The Last Stand of the California BrowncoatsHow Green This Land, How Blue This SeaThe Day the Dead Came to Show and TellPlease Do Not Taunt the OctopusAll the Pretty Little HorsesNewsfleshFeedDeadlineBlackoutFeedbackRise: A Newsflesh CollectionParasitologyParasiteSymbiontChimera

Orbit US

The Rule of Luck

Catherine Cerveny
Authors:
Catherine Cerveny

A thrilling new science fiction series -- perfect for fans of character-driven SF adventure. Linnea Sinclair, author of the Dock Five Universe novels calls it "an edge-of-your-seat ride."Year 2950. Humanity has survived devastating climate shifts and four world wars, coming out stronger and smarter than ever. Incredible technology is available to all, and enhancements to appearance, intelligence, and physical ability are commonplace. In this future, Felicia Sevigny has built her fame reading the futures of others. Alexei Petriv, the most dangerous man in the TriSystem, will trust only Felicia to read his cards. But the future she sees is darker than either of them could ever have imagined. A future that pits them against an all-knowing government, almost superhuman criminals, and something from Felicia's past that she could never have predicted, but that could be the key to saving -- or destroying -- them all.

Orbit US

The Chaos of Luck

Catherine Cerveny
Authors:
Catherine Cerveny

A thrilling new science fiction series -- perfect for fans of character-driven SF adventure. Linnea Sinclair, author of the Dock Five Universe novels calls it "an edge-of-your-seat ride."Mars, the terraformed jewel of the TriSystem, is the playground for the rich and powerful. A marvel of scientific engineering, the newly colonized world offers every luxury. For the first time in human history, the picture perfect life is possible.Felicia Sevigny's come to the Red Planet for a fresh start. She's brought the tarot cards that have been her family's trade for generations but is hoping to leave the rest of her troubled past behind.Felicia wants to believe that Mars will also be a clean slate for her and Alexei Petriv, notorious leader of the Tsarist Consortium, but her cards keep predicting something even darker and more insidious is ahead. Something that could mean the end, not just for her and Alexei, but for the entire TriSystem - and all of humanity.For more from Catherine Cerveny check out The Rule of Luck.

Orbit

Pretty Vicious

K. S. Merbeth
Authors:
K. S. Merbeth
Orbit

Persepolis Rising

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Orbit

Beyond the Empire

K. B. Wagers
Authors:
K. B. Wagers

The adrenaline-fueled, explosive conclusion to the Indranan War trilogy by K. B. Wagers.Gunrunner-turned-Empress Hail Bristol was dragged back to her home planet to take her rightful place in the palace. Her sisters and parents have been murdered, and the Indranan Empire is reeling from both treasonous plots and foreign invasion.Now, on the run from enemies on all fronts, Hail prepares to fight a full-scale war for her throne and her people, even as she struggles with the immense weight of the legacy thrust upon her. With the aid of a motley crew of allies old and new, she must return home to face off with the same powerful enemies who killed her family and aim to destroy everything and everyone she loves. Untangling a legacy of lies and restoring peace to Indrana will require an empress's wrath and a gunrunner's justice.Beyond the Empire is the adrenalin-fueled conclusion to the Indranan War space adventure trilogy by K. B. Wagers - perfect for fans of Star Wars.

Orbit

Into the Drowning Deep

Mira Grant
Authors:
Mira Grant

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR MIRA GRANT RETURNS WITH A RAZOR-SHARP TALE OF THE HORRORS THAT LIE BENEATH . . . Seven years ago the Atargatis set off on a voyage to the Mariana Trench to film a mockumentary, bringing to life ancient sea creatures of legend. It was lost at sea with all hands. Some have called it a tragedy; others have called it a hoax.Now, a new crew has been assembled to investigate. And they'll discover that whatever is down there is definitely no joke . . .Praise for Mira Grant:'ASTONISHING' New York Times 'GRIPPING, THRILLING AND BRUTAL . . . A MASTERPIECE OF SUSPENSE' Publishers Weekly'INTELLIGENT AND EXCITING' Telegraph'MYSTERY, DANGER AND EXCITEMENT ABOUND' RT Book Reviews

Orbit

Places in the Darkness

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

'This is as close to a city without crime as mankind has ever seen.'There has never been a homicide on Ciudad de Cielo. It's the 'city in the sky', where hundreds of scientists and engineers live and work in Earth's orbit, building the colony ship that will one day take humanity to the stars.When the mutilated body of a common criminal is found on CdC, the eyes of the world are watching - multiple governments and corporations have a stake in catching humanity's first spacebound killer. Top-of-the-class investigator Blake is sent to team up with CdC's Freeman - a jaded cop with no interest in working with a rookie from Earth. But the mismatched duo must learn to cooperate quickly, before they become the killer's next victims . . .

Orbit

Autonomous

Annalee Newitz
Authors:
Annalee Newitz
Orbit

Forbidden Suns

D. Nolan Clark
Authors:
D. Nolan Clark
Orbit

Untitled Expanse Novella 4

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey

Piatkus

Blue Shift

Jane O'Reilly
Authors:
Jane O'Reilly
Orbit

All the Pretty Little Horses

Mira Grant
Authors:
Mira Grant

A Newsflesh novella from the New York Times bestselling author that brought you Feed, Mira Grant.Stacy and Michael Mason are among the most famous heroes of the zombie apocalypse. Stacy, however, has fallen into a deep depression after having to shoot their infected son. In the aftermath of the pandemic, they start publicly documenting the recovery effort, which Michael hopes will take Stacy's mind off of her trauma and help her recover.As they film the rescue of an enclave of orphans and report on the orphanages that have sprung up to care for traumatized, parent-less children, they begin to consider the last, greatest step of recovery: adoption.More from Mira GrantInto the Drowning DeepNewsflesh Short FictionApocalypse Scenario #683: The BoxCountdownSan Diego 2014: The Last Stand of the California BrowncoatsHow Green This Land, How Blue This SeaThe Day the Dead Came to Show and TellPlease Do Not Taunt the OctopusNewsfleshFeedDeadlineBlackoutFeedbackRise: A Newsflesh CollectionParasitologyParasiteSymbiontChimera

Orbit

Provenance

Ann Leckie
Authors:
Ann Leckie
Orbit US

Extinction Evolution

Nicholas Sansbury Smith
Authors:
Nicholas Sansbury Smith

There's a storm on the horizon...Central Command is gone, the military is fractured, and the surviving members of Team Ghost, led by Master Sergeant Reed Beckham, have been pushed to the breaking point. Betrayed by the country they swore to defend and surrounded by enemies on all sides, Team Ghost has one mission left: protect Dr. Kate Lovato and Dr. Pat Ellis while they develop a weapon to defeat the Variants once and for all. But after a grisly discovery in Atlanta, Kate and Ellis realize their weapon might not be able to stop the evolution of the monsters.Joined by unexpected allies and facing a new threat none of them saw coming, the survivors are running out of time to save the human race from extinction.The fourth book in self-publishing sensation and USA Today bestselling author Nicholas Sansbury Smith's propulsive post-apocalyptic series about a soldier's mission to save the world.

Orbit

Strange Dogs

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Orbit

Spandex and the City

Jenny T. Colgan
Authors:
Jenny T. Colgan

LOCAL GIRL SWEPT OFF HER FEET Mild-mannered publicist Holly Phillips is unlucky in love. She's embarrassed beyond belief when the handsome stranger she meets in a bar turns out to be 'Ultimate Man' - a superpowered hero whose rescue attempt finds her hoisted over his shoulder and flashing her knickers in the newspaper the next day. But when Holly's fifteen minutes of fame make her a target for something villainous, she only has one place to turn - and finds the man behind the mask holds a lot more charm than his crime-fighting alter-ego. Can Holly find love, or is superdating just as complicated as the regular kind?

Orbit

The Boy on the Bridge

M. R. Carey
Authors:
M. R. Carey

M. R. Carey returns to the world of THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS, the phenomenal word-of-mouth bestseller which is now a BAFTA-nominated film.Once upon a time, in a land blighted by terror, there was a very clever boy.The people thought the boy could save them, so they opened their gates and sent him out into the world.To where the monsters lived.'Spectacular!' No. 1 bestselling author Martina Cole'Carey writes with compassion and fire - strange and surprising and humane' Lauren Beukes, author of The Shining Girls'A tense story with superbly rendered characters' SciFiNow'A terrifying, emotional page-turner that explores what it means to be human' Kirkus

Hachette Audio

The Vital Abyss

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Orbit

New York 2140

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson