Alan Hunter - Gently with the Ladies - Little, Brown Book Group

Gently with the Ladies

By Alan Hunter

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A police man-hunt fails to find the husband of a brutally murdered woman - until he turns up in Gently's office.

A police man-hunt fails to find the husband of a brutally murdered woman - until he turns up in Gently's office.

The hunted man is, in fact, a far-distant relative of Gently and throws himself on the Chief Inspector's mercy. Gently will have none of it and is ready to hand the man over to his colleagues in charge of the investigation, but there are some intriguing elements to the case.

The fact that the prime suspect had fled to be with his mistress and then taken to the open sea in a chartered yacht seems hugely incriminating. But the affluent and exotic lifestyle of the victim, whose apartment was designed for erotic pleasure with her lesbian lover, supports the accused man's protestations of innocence.

Biographical Notes

Alan Hunter was born in Hoveton, Norfolk in 1922. He left school at the age of 14 to work on his father's farm, spending his spare time sailing on the Norfolk Broads and writing nature notes for the Eastern Evening News. He also wrote poetry, some of which was published while he was in the RAF during World War II. By 1950, he was running his own book shop in Norwich and in 1955, he wrote the first of 45 George Gently novels. He died in 2005 aged 82.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780339399
  • Publication date: 18 Oct 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Constable
Sphere

The Killer You Know

S. R. Masters
Authors:
S. R. Masters

What if your childhood friend turned out to be a serial killer? 'Compelling' ELISABETH CARPENTER'Original' LAURA MARSHALL'Gripping' TM LOGANThe Killer You Know is a gripping, original story about toxic friendships and revenge - perfect for fans of Laura Marshall, Ruth Ware and C. J. Tudor.************ I'll murder three people. And you'll know it was me . . . Summer 1997. When Will jokes about becoming a serial killer, his friends just laugh it off. But Adeline can't help but feel there's something darker lurking behind his words.Winter 2015: Years later, Adeline returns to Blythe for a reunion of the old gang - except Will doesn't show up. Reminiscing about old times, they look up the details of his supposed murder spree. But the mood soon changes when they discover two recent deaths that match.As the group attempts to track Will down, they realise that he is playing a sinister game that harks back to one they used to play as kids. Only this time there are lives at stake . . .************What people are saying about THE KILLER YOU KNOW:'A twisty, clever exploration of claustrophobic childhood friendships and the darkness they can lead to' DERVLA MCTIERNAN, author of THE RUIN 'A compelling, unpredictable thriller that conveys the changing nature of long-lasting friendships beautifully. How well do we know even our closest of friends? Highly recommended' ELISABETH CARPENTER, author of 99 RED BALLOONS'An original and gripping thriller combined with an evocative coming of age story that will be achingly familiar' LAURA MARSHALL, author of FRIEND REQUEST'A gripping, compelling read with a brilliant premise and a wonderfully twisting storyline. An incredible debut' TM LOGAN, author of LIES'A thrilling read and an exceptional debut novel' RACHEL EDWARDS, author of DARLING'Compelling, creepy, and brilliantly executed, THE KILLER YOU KNOW is an original new voice in the thriller world' PHOEBE MORGAN, author of THE DOLL HOUSE'Brilliantly atmospheric tale of toxic friendship, with a killer hook - what if one of your gang turned out to be a serial killer? Loved it' LIZ BARNSLEY, lizlovesbooks.com

Sphere

Fall Down Dead

Stephen Booth
Authors:
Stephen Booth
Sphere

The Brutal Telling

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny
Sphere

Bury Your Dead

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny
Sphere

A Rule Against Murder

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny
Sphere

Three Little Lies

Laura Marshall
Authors:
Laura Marshall
Sphere

A Fatal Grace

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny
Abacus

The Girl in the Fog

Donato Carrisi
Authors:
Donato Carrisi
Constable

Gently Heartbroken

Alan Hunter
Authors:
Alan Hunter

The burning of a light aircraft in a lonely field in Scotland and the daring kidnap of French industrialist Hugo Barentin are, on the face of it, two unconnected incidents. But there is a tenuous link: the mysterious Gabrielle Orbec has suddenly checked out of her home and disappeared. Chief Superintendent Gently, shortly back from France himself, is called on again as events from the 'Hornfleur Affair' are thrown into a new, and painful, relief. Is Gabrielle still involved? And, if she is, will Gently be quick enough to beat her to the showdown and to deflect his colleague, Empton, from precipitating a bloodbath? With no time to spare Gently pits himself against the hooligans on both sides of the law, and against a woman determined to sacrifice herself to save a man who was kind to her and to salvage her conscience.

Constable

Gently in the Past

Alan Hunter
Authors:
Alan Hunter

In a lonely thicket of gorse near the Suffolk coast, a man lies dead on a summers afternoon: Frederick Quennell, amateur yachtsman and head of a successful local firm of printers. Later examining the site, Chief Superintendent Gently (newly married to Gabrielle Orbec, and reluctantly in charge of the investigation) wonders who wanted Quennell dead.There is no shortage of suspects, as the Suffolk police point out. Quennell's neglected wife is deeply in love with an artist - a man moreover, who's been suspected of murder once before. What about Raymond Tallis, who headed the printing firm until Quennell took his place? Tallis's own family affairs are complex: his brother Arthur drowned in a yachting accident, with Tallis and Quennell both on board at the time, and Tallis then married his brother's widow . . .In the tranquil Suffolk countryside, scented with heather and sea-breezes, Gently sets to work to disentangle the emotional bonds - the jealousy, love, hatred, and remorse - that enmesh the dead man's family and friends. And he starts by contemplating not just one previous death, but two . . .

Constable

Gently Between Tides

Alan Hunter
Authors:
Alan Hunter
Constable

Gently with Passion

Alan Hunter
Authors:
Alan Hunter
Sphere

Life or Death

Michael Robotham
Authors:
Michael Robotham

The Shawshank Redemption meets No Country for Old Men in the breathtaking new novel from international bestseller Michael Robotham -- already receiving rave reviews, this is the most original, compelling thriller you'll read all year and winner of the CWA Gold Dagger Award 2015.Why would a man escape from prison the day before he's due to be released?Audie Palmer has spent a decade in prison for an armed robbery in which four people died, including two of the gang. Seven million dollars has never been recovered and everybody believes that Audie knows where the money is.For ten years he has been beaten, stabbed, throttled and threatened almost daily by prison guards, inmates and criminal gangs, who all want to answer this same question, but suddenly Audie vanishes, the day before he's due to be released.Everybody wants to find Audie, but he's not running. Instead he's trying to save a life . . . and not just his own.

Constable

Gently to a Sleep

Alan Hunter
Authors:
Alan Hunter

The twenty-fifth George Gently adventure, featuring the indomitable Inspector George Gently.

Piatkus

Redemption Road

Lisa Ballantyne
Authors:
Lisa Ballantyne
Sphere

Watching You

Michael Robotham
Authors:
Michael Robotham
C & R Crime

Gently Sinking

Alan Hunter
Authors:
Alan Hunter
C & R Crime

Gently Where The Birds Are

Alan Hunter
Authors:
Alan Hunter
C & R Crime

Gently Instrumental

Alan Hunter
Authors:
Alan Hunter

The unflappable Inspector George Gently has become a household name through the hit BBC TV series starring Martin Shaw. These are the original books on which the TV series was based, although the George Gently in Alan Hunter's whodunits is somewhat different to his TV counterpart. He is more calculating, more analytical, and his investigations are even more enthralling.In this title: Following the death of a young musician, George Gently is assigned to the case, mainly because his boss is such a fan of the composer, Walter Hozeley. Things look bad for Hozeley when details emerge of a vicious argument between the composer and the murdered clarinetist, Terence Virtue, who was also Hozeley's lover. The other musicians who were present at the rehearsal where the quarrel took place soon fall under suspicion when Gently begins to realise that Hozeley may not have been the only one who wanted Virtue dead. As the musicians prepare for a special performance, Gently's investigation builds to a crescendo and the killer is set to take his final bow.

Sphere

The Cruellest Month

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny

The New York Times BestsellerIt's Easter, and on a glorious spring day in peaceful Three Pines, someone waits for night to fall. They plan to raise the dead...When Chief Inspector Gamache of the Surete du Quebec arrives the next morning, he faces an unusual crime scene. A séance in an old abandoned house has gone horrifically wrong and someone has been seemingly frightened to death. In idyllic Three Pines, terrible secrets lie buried, and even Gamache has something to hide. One of his own team is about to betray him. But how far will they go to ensure Gamache's downfall?