Paul Doiron - The Poacher's Son - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472102805
    • Publication date:02 May 2013

The Poacher's Son

By Paul Doiron

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Set in the wilds of Maine, this is an explosive tale of an estranged son thrust into the hunt for a murderous fugitive - his own father. The first in a brand new series featuring Game Warden Mike Bowditch.

Set in the wilds of Maine, this is an explosive tale of an estranged son thrust into the hunt for a murderous fugitive - his own father.

Game warden Mike Bowditch returns home one evening to find an alarming voice from the past on his answering machine: his father Jack, a hard-drinking womanizer who makes his living from poaching illegal game. An even more frightening call comes the next morning from the police: they are searching for a cop-killer - and Mike's father is their prime suspect.

Now, alienated from the woman he loves and shunned by colleagues who have no sympathy for the suspected cop killer, Mike must come to terms with his haunted past. He knows firsthand of his father's brutality, but is he capable of murder? Desperate and alone, the only way for Mike to save his father is to find the real killer - which could mean putting everyone he loves into the line of fire...

Biographical Notes

A native of Maine, Paul Doiron is a registered Maine Guide and lives by a trout stream with his wife, Kristen Lindquist. Visit him at his website www.pauldoiron.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780338163
  • Publication date: 18 Oct 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: C & R Crime
An excellent debut - filled with murder, betrayal and a terrific sense of place — C J Box
A stunning debut...At its heart this is a tale of bitter betrayal, lost hopes and broken dreams. The book has a tautness that is impossible to forget and which left me close to tears. It is also the first in a series. Its successor, Trespasser, also featuring Bowditch, is on the way. Grab him now. — Daily Mail
Stunning vistas...eye popping scenes — The New York Times Book Review
This is a compelling, moving and utterly impressive debut — Andre Dubus III, author of House of Sand and Fog
The Poacher's Son is a haunting tale, and Paul Doiron is a powerful and evocative writer. — Tess Gerritsen
Doiron takes a provocative look at the ties between fathers and sons, unconditional love, and Maine's changing landscape in his outstanding debut. . . . Fans of C.J. Box and Nevada Barr will appreciate the vivid wilderness scenes. — Publishers Weekly (starred review)
One of the best-written debut novels I've read in years. This story has it all-a great plot, a wonderful Maine woods setting, and a truly remarkable and believable cast of characters. — Nelson DeMille
this is a cleverly written, action-packed debut... Brilliant characterization teamed with stunning descriptions of the area and a plot as winding and convoluted as an old forest trail make for a very satisfying read. — lovereading.com
Constable

The City in Darkness

Michael Russell
Authors:
Michael Russell
Constable

The Silence Between Breaths

Cath Staincliffe
Authors:
Cath Staincliffe
Constable

The Bone Orchard

Paul Doiron
Authors:
Paul Doiron
Constable

Massacre Pond

Paul Doiron
Authors:
Paul Doiron
C & R Crime

Bad Little Falls

Paul Doiron
Authors:
Paul Doiron
C & R Crime

Criminally Good

Cath Staincliffe, Elizabeth Hand, G.M. Malliet, James Craig, Paul Doiron
Authors:
Cath Staincliffe, Elizabeth Hand, G.M. Malliet, James Craig, Paul Doiron

Blink of an Eye by Cath StaincliffeIn a heartbeat, life changes. Blink of an Eye is a novel about the nightmare that could be just around the next bend for any one of us.The Poacher's Son by Paul DoironSet in the wilds of Maine, this is an explosive tale of an estranged son thrust into the hunt for a murderous fugitive - his own father. The first in a brand new series featuring Game Warden Mike Bowditch.Generation Loss by Elizabeth HandCass Neary is on her way down, and almost out when an old acquaintance sends her on a mercy gig to interview a famously reclusive photographer. When she arrives Cass stumbles across a decades-old mystery that is still claiming victims, and she finds one final shot at redemption. Patricia Highsmith meets Patti Smith in this mesmerizing literary thriller.The Circus by James Craig The fourth book in the bestselling Inspector Carlyle series. When the body of journalist Duncan Brown is found in the back of a rubbish truck, Inspector Carlyle is thrown into the middle of a scandal that threatens to expose the corrupt links between the police, the political establishment.Wicked Autumn by G.M. Malliet A delightful new cosy crime series starring Max Tudor. In Wicked Autumn, G M Malliet serves up an irresistible English village - deliciously skewered - a flawed but engaging protagonist and a brilliantly modern version of the traditional locked room mystery.

C & R Crime

Trespasser

Paul Doiron
Authors:
Paul Doiron

While on patrol on foggy March evening, Mike Bowditch receives a call for help. A woman has reportedly struck a deer on a lonely coast road. When the game warden arrives on the scene, he finds blood in the road - but both the driver and deer have vanished. The details of the disappearance seem eerily familiar. Seven years earlier, a jury convicted Erland Jefferts of the rape and murder of a college student and sentenced him to a life in prison. But when the missing woman is found brutalized in a manner that suggests Jefferts may have been framed, Bowditch receives a warning from state prosecutors to stop asking questions.For Bowditch, doing nothing is not an option. And as he closes in on his quarry, he suddenly discovers how dangerous his opponents are, and how far they will go to prevent him from bringing a killer to justice.Praise for The Poacher's Son:An excellent debut - filled with murder, betrayal and a terrific sense of place. C.J. Box.A stunning debut...At its heart this is a tale of bitter betrayal, lost hopes and broken dreams. The book has a tautness that is impossible to forget and which left me close to tears. It is also the first in a series. Its successor, Trespasser, also featuring Bowditch, is on the way. Grab him now. Daily Mail.Stunning vistas...eye popping scenes - The New York Times Book Review.This is a compelling, moving and utterly impressive debut - Andre Dubus III, author of House of Sand and Fog.The Poacher's Son is one of the best written debut novels I have read in years. This novel has it all - a great plot, a wonderful Maine woods setting and a truly remarkable and believable cast of characters. - Nelson de Mille.

Constable

A Pig of Cold Poison

Pat McIntosh
Authors:
Pat McIntosh
Sphere

The Rome Prophecy

Jon Trace
Authors:
Jon Trace

A woman has been arrested in the streets of Rome. She's young. She's beautiful. She's covered in blood. And she claims to be an ancient prophet in search of a mystical amulet hidden somewhere within the city.Ex-priest Tom Shaman teams up with a headstrong policewoman to unravel the mystery. But within Rome's churches and corridors of power, stealthy enemies are conspiring against them. And soon the woman's deadly visions begin to come true . . .

Beverly Connor

Before she began her writing career, Beverly Connor used to work as an archaeologist in the South-eastern United States. She weaves her professional experiences from archaeology and her knowledge of the South into interlinked stories of the past and present. Visit her at www.beverlyconnor.net

Caleb Carr

Caleb Carr is a military historian and a bestselling novelist, contributing editor to MHQ: The Quarterly Journal of Military History and contributor to the World Policy Journal.

Chevy Stevens

Chevy Stevens grew up on a ranch on Vancouver Island and still lives on the island with her husband and daughter. When she's not working on her next book, she's camping and canoeing with her family in the local mountains. Her debut novel, Still Missing, won the International Thriller Writers Award for Best First Novel.

Christobel Kent

Christobel Kent was born in London and educated at Cambridge. She has lived variously in Essex, London and Italy. Her childhood included several years spent on a Thames sailing barge in Maldon, Essex with her father, stepmother, three siblings and four step-siblings. She now lives in both Cambridge and Florence with her husband and five children.

Dick Wolf

Dick Wolf, an award-winning writer, director, producer, and creator, is the architect of one of the most successful brands in the history of television - Law & Order, the longest running scripted show in television history. He has won numerous awards, including two Emmys, a Grammy, and an Edgar.

Erica Spindler

Raised in Rockford, Illinois, New York Times bestselling author Erica Spindler went to university in New Orleans, where she now lives with her husband and two sons. She has won several awards for her fiction in the US and her books have been turned into graphic novels and a daytime drama in Japan.For more information about Erica visit her website www.ericaspindler.com or follow her on Twitter @EricaSpindler.

Frances Brody

Frances Brody is a pseudonym for Frances McNeil, author of four novels and winner of the Elizabeth Elgin Award for best new saga of the millennium for Somewhere Behind the Morning. Frances has written many stories and plays for BBC radio, and scripts for television. Her stage plays have been toured by several theatre companies and produced at Manchester Library Theatre, the Gate and Theatr Clwyd, with Jehad nominated for a Time Out Award. Frances lived in the USA for a time before studying at Ruskin College, Oxford, reading English Literature and History at York University, teaching English and History at Bradford College and tutoring writing courses for the Arvon Foundation. She lives in Leeds where she was born and grew up. Visit her at www.frances-brody.com

Frances Fyfield

Frances Fyfield has spent much of her professional life practising as a criminal lawyer, work which has informed her highly acclaimed crime novels. She has been the recipient of both the Gold and Silver Crime Writers' Association Daggers. She is also a regular broadcaster on Radio 4, most recently as the presenter of the series 'Tales from the Stave'. She lives in London and in Deal, overlooking the sea which is her passion.

Garry Douglas Kilworth

Garry Kilworth was raised in South Yemen, the son of an RAF sergeant, and later served in the RAF himself. He was most recently with the British Army in Hong Kong, where he wrote for the South China Morning Post. He has won numerous awards for both his children's and adult fiction.Garry Douglas Kilworth was raised in South Yemen, the son of an RAF sergeant. He served fifteen years in the RAF himself, and was with the British Army in Hong Kong, where he wrote for the South China Morning Post. He now spends his time between Suffolk and Spain, writing full time, and has won many awards.

J. D. Robb

Nora Roberts published her first novel using the pseudonym J.D. Robb in 1995, introducing to readers the tough as nails but emotionally damaged homicide cop Eve Dallas and billionaire Irish rogue, Roarke. With the In Death series, Robb has become one of the biggest thriller writers on earth, with each new novel reaching number one on bestseller charts the world over.For more information, visit www.jd-robb.co.ukBecome a fan on Facebook at Nora Roberts and J. D. Robb

Jesse Kellerman

Jesse Kellerman was born in Los Angeles in 1978. He is the bestselling author of The Brutal Art and three other novels: The Executor, Trouble and Sunstroke. He graduated from Harvard and has won many awards for his writing. He lives in California.