Barbara Delinsky - Escape - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780335001
    • Publication date:05 Apr 2012

Escape

By Barbara Delinsky

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

When the life you've built is the wrong one, where would you turn to make it right?

Have you ever wanted to walk out on your life?

One Friday morning, Emily realises that, somewhere in life, she has chosen the wrong path. She's stifled by her job as a New York lawyer, she barely sees her husband, James, and their attempts to start a family have proven unsuccessful.

So Emily escapes. She walks out of the office, turns her phone off, packs a bag and leaves New York. She doesn't even tell James she's leaving...

But when a new path leads back to her past, and an old lover, new problems arise. As Emily begins to carve out a new life, where does that leave everything and everyone she left behind?



Praise for Barbara Delinksy:

'Fans of Jodi Picoult will love this...a poignant family story' Daily Express

'Delinsky's writing is fluid and makes for a hard-to-put-down book as she deftly blends tense family drama with heavy political issues' Glamour

'...a sensitive exploration of the prejudices that many hold but few express...a page turner that asks serious questions about America's relationship with its past' The Times

'A really interesting and sometimes harrowing tale that makes for compelling reading' Sun

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780335018
  • Publication date: 05 Apr 2012
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: Canvas

Through Emily's suspenseful yet contemplative journey, Delinksy reminds us that we sometimes need to revisit the past to embrace the future.

— Diane Chamberlain, author of The Midwife’s Confession
Sphere

Before and Again

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky
Piatkus

Blueprints

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky

AN UPLIFTING, HEART-WRENCHING STORY OF THE UNBREAKABLE TIES BETWEEN A MOTHER AND HER DAUGHTER FROM NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR BARBARA DELINSKY'Fans of Jodie Picoult will love this.' Daily Express'Warm, rich, textured and impossible to put down.' Nora RobertsOn paper, Jamie MacAfee's life is perfect. She loves her fiancée, she's happy with her plans for the future and she gets to work alongside her beloved mother, Caroline, on their family home renovation show. In reality, she can't seem to make herself set a wedding date and an ageist, sexist decision by their TV network has thrown both her job and her relationship with Caroline into jeopardy. Meanwhile Caroline, who has been painfully putting herself back together after a difficult divorce, is watching the plans she's built her life around go up in flames.As loyalties shift and new relationships tempt, Jamie and Caroline will be tested as never before. Yet when all is said and done, there's nothing quite like the bond of family.'A poignant family story.' Daily Express'Compelling reading' The Sun'Delinsky's writing is fluid and makes for a hard-to-put-down book.' Glamour

Piatkus

The Real Thing

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky
Piatkus

Crossed Hearts

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky
Piatkus

The Invitation

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky
Piatkus

The Dream Unfolds

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky

Available for the first time in ebook, Barbara Delinsky's beloved Crosslyn Rise series, The Dream, The Dream Unfolds, and The Dream Comes True, consists of three sets of love stories. While there's no texting and no Google, there is great conflict. And great sex.Sometimes building a home can become a labor of love . . .As The Dream Unfolds, the building begins. As part of the consortium, Gideon Lowe has invested every last nickel to help save Crosslyn Rise. He knows how to keep his projects on time and on budget and his crew focused - until Christine Gillette shows up.Christine is the project's interior designer. Independent and self-contained, she finds Gideon intimidating to the extreme. Talk about focus? He homes in on her and doesn't let up. But Christine has responsibilities, fears and a secret that will take readers by surprise. For fans of Diane Chamberlain, Jill Shalvis and Marie Force, The Dream Unfolds is a love story between two people who thought they had everything they wanted . . . until they start to need each other

Piatkus

The Dream

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky
Piatkus

The Dream Comes True

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky
Canvas

Sweet Salt Air

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky

Can the bonds of friendship weather a betrayal? Charlotte and Nicole were once best friends, spending long, idyllic summers together in Nicole's family home on the island of Quinnipeague, but they have since grown apart. After ten years, their writing careers bring them back together - to write a cookbook about island food in their childhood haven. When both women reunite, it becomes clear that they are both guarding secrets of the years spent apart. But when Charlotte learns that her secret is the key to saving Nicole's husband's life, she must face her painful past and risk the consequences that honesty might bring ...

Canvas

The Forever Instinct

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky
Canvas

Pictures of You

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky
Canvas

Home Fires

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky

Deanna Hunt knows exactly who she is. Since the loss of her husband, she has stepped into her role as a dignified widow, content to live quietly and guard his memory through overseeing their business. Until the moment she first sees Mark. From their first shared glance, she begins to question whether she really is happy with the life she has. And after their first passionate encounter, a spark is ignited in her that shows her a glimpse of the woman she could become. But when Mark unexpectedly appears in her professional life, will Deanna be able to set aside her fear of scandal and allow herself the happiness she deserves?Previously published as Beyond Fantasy by Billie Douglass.Praise for Barbara Delinsky:'Delinsky reminds us that we sometimes need to revisit the past to embrace the future.' Diane Chamberlain, author of The Midwife's Confession

Grand Central Publishing

Commitments

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky

Sabrina Stone: elegant society wife, loving mother of a severely disabled child, tragic portrait of a woman in pain. These are the impressions she conjures for investigator Derek McGill in their first meeting on the rooftop terrace of her Manhattan home. As for Sabrina, it is in their introduction that she senses a deep caring in this man. Sabrina next meets Derek in a maximum security prison--after he is convicted of murder. When curiosity and proximity bid her visit, she finds a hardened man, yet one who retains a germ of caring for her and her son. Sustained by that, Sabrina must make decisions that no wife or mother should ever have to make...and begin to fight for a wronged man's revenge.

Grand Central Publishing

Heart Of The Night

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky

Assistant D.A. Savannah Smith, her jealous sister Susan, and society wife Megan Vandermeer are old friends-and sometimes bitter rivals. Then one horrifying night, Megan is kidnapped. Now, Savannah and Susan must move beyond the secrets and mistrust that have stood between them for years and team up to find their friend. While following a dangerous trail filled with lies and deception, the sisters find themselves mesmerized by two charismatic men. One is Jared Snow, the radio star with the voice Savannah cannot resist. The other is Sam Craig, the tough detective whose rugged sensuality Susan cannot deny. Shocking revelations will force each woman to reassess her life...and how far she is willing to go for the man she loves.

Grand Central Publishing

Twilight Whispers

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky

From superb storyteller Barbara Delinsky, the tale of a prominent American family, the tragedy that haunts them, and the love that can set them free... Privilege, Passions, and Secrets... Katia Morrell grew up amid wealth, sharing the idyllic childhood enjoyed by America's aristocracy without every really being one of them. As daughter of the housekeeper to the powerful Warren family, she never truly belonged. Now she is back at the Warren mansion, hoping to see the man she always loved, Jordan Whyte, heir to the Whyte fortune. The occasion is the mysterious deaths of Jordan's brother and his brother's wife. Now chic and rich in her own right, Katia returns feeling strong. But once she sees Jordan, and how much he needs her, the old feelings come flooding back. Soon she is learning secrets about the family she thought she knew-and getting trapped in a chilling drama of murder and money, men and women, and truths so shocking they can only be revealed in...TWILIGHT WHISPERS

Grand Central Publishing

Facets

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky
Piatkus

Uplift

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky

In Uplift bestselling popular novelist and cancer survivor Barbara Delinsky creates exactly the resource she wished had existed at the time of her treatment. Delinsky has collected a compendium of survival secrets that have nothing to do with doctors, machines or drugs and everything to do with women helping women. In her uplifting new book women recount the strategies that helped them through all aspects of cancer, including diagnosis, treatment, support groups and how to best conduct relationships with family, friends and in the workplace.· The practical and emotional side of losing a breast· Advice on what to expect from radiotherapy· How to handle chemotherapy and hair loss· How to make the workplace more user-friendly· Advice on your relationship with your partner and your sex life· Top exercise tips· How to take charge of your life and remain positive.

Alexander McCall Smith

Alexander McCall Smith is the author of over eighty books on a wide array of subjects, including the award-winning The No.1 Ladies' Detective Agency series. He is also the author of the Isabel Dalhousie novels and the world's longest-running serial novel, 44 Scotland Street. His books have been translated into forty-six languages. Alexander McCall Smith is Professor Emeritus of Medical Law at the University of Edinburgh and holds honorary doctorates from thirteen universities.

Angela Thirkell

Angela Thirkell (1890-1961) was the eldest daughter of John William Mackail, a Scottish classical scholar and civil servant, and Margaret Burne-Jones. Her relatives included the pre-Raphaelite artist Edward Burne-Jones, Rudyard Kipling and Stanley Baldwin, and her grandfather was J. M. Barrie. She was educated in London and Paris, and began publishing articles and stories in the 1920s. In 1931 she brought out her first book, a memoir entitled Three Houses, and in 1933 her comic novel High Rising - set in the fictional county of Barsetshire, borrowed from Trollope - met with great success. She went on to write nearly thirty Barsetshire novels, as well as several further works of fiction and non-fiction. She was twice married and had four children.

Bianca Zander

Bianca Zander is British-born but has lived in New Zealand for the past two decades. Her first novel, The Girl Below, was a finalist for the VCU Cabell First Novelist Award, and she is the recipient of the Creative New Zealand Louis Johnson New Writers' Bursary and the Grimshaw Sargeson Fellowship, recognizing her as one of New Zealand's eminent writers. She is a lecturer in creative writing at the Auckland University of Technology.