Alison Lucy - The Summer of Secrets - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780335193
    • Publication date:17 May 2012

The Summer of Secrets

By Alison Lucy

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Set in glamorous Mexico, three young women set off on personal adventures. Each hoping to unlock the missing clues that will help them find out who they really are ...

One heady summer. Three big secrets.

1989: Newlyweds Danny and Harriet arrive at their honeymoon paradise in the Caribbean. Days later Harriet returns home. Danny is left distraught but finds comfort in the arms of two women. Nine months later, three baby girls are born...

2010: Megan leaves her childhood sweetheart behind in the UK to go in search of her long-lost father. Miles from home and temptation is at every corner - not least in the arms of the gorgeous Ray...
Esmé, a Mexican beauty, married Miguel at fifteen. In unlocking the secrets of her past, can she shed the shackles of her enforced marriage?
Claudia has led a life of privilege but she's never really known what it feels like to be loved. Could David be the answer? Or will he disappoint her, just like her mother always did?

Three women set off on an adventure to uncover the secrets surrounding their missing father. It may be the only way to lay their demons to rest but seeking out the truth could tear their lives apart.

Biographical Notes

Alison Lucy likes writing books and traveling around the world. When not off gallivanting she lives in the Cotswolds with her husband and two children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780334981
  • Publication date: 17 May 2012
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Canvas
Canvas

The Summer of Secrets - the early years

Alison Lucy
Authors:
Alison Lucy

The Summer of Secrets is the scintillating debut from Alison Lucy, out in May 2012. But what happened before Danny and Harriet landed on their honeymoon paradise in the Caribbean? Find out in these three exclusive short stories, and read on for early chapters from The Summer of Secrets...'The Summer of Secrets is a love story about three sisters who do not know about each other until they each set out to search for their father in the last place he was seen, a mysterious island off the Caribbean coast of Mexico. To understand how a sweet man like Danny Featherbow came to father three children he never met, by women that he never saw again, I thought I would write about the three mothers who feature in The Summer of Secrets, because once upon a time they too were young women with huge dreams of romance. Romance that they found in Danny's arms. It was only time that changed them...' Alison Lucy, 2012Perfect for fans of Tasmina Perry, Veronica Henry and Lesley Lokko. The Summer of Secrets is a sizzling summer read about three women, relationships and the secret that binds them.

Virago

A Long Way From Paradise

Leah Chishugi
Authors:
Leah Chishugi

Leah Chishugi grew up in eastern Congo but, aged seventeen, she moved to Kigali, the Rwandan capital, to work as a model. She married and had a son. Then in 1994 she was caught up in the horrific conflict, and escaped only after being left for dead under a pile of corpses. She fled with her son to Uganda, then South Africa where she was miraculously reunited with her husband whom she believed dead. Leah finally settled in the UK where she was granted asylum and became a nurse. After her mother died, Leah decided to set up a charity to help the women and children of eastern Congo - victims of continuing war atrocities. A LONG WAY FROM PARADISE is a deeply courageous narrative of one woman's survival of personal trauma and finding a greater purpose in life through devotion to the service of others.

Sphere

The One That Got Away

Lucy Dawson
Authors:
Lucy Dawson
Sphere

Sisters-In-Law

Nina Bell
Authors:
Nina Bell

Sisters-in-law Kate, Helen and Olivia all have one thing in common - they're hiding something. It's not easy being part of the high-achieving Fox family: the expectations and demands of their husbands and children; the jealousies and rivalries; and the endless Sunday lunches where somehow everything feels like a competition. So when mysterious Sasha enters their lives, bloodied from the battlefield of a painful divorce, buried frustrations rush to the surface. Why is Kate's husband Jonny working so late at the office, and how will she cope at home alone? Can army-wife Helen trust Jago to come back to her next time, or is he drawn by temptations in a foreign field? And will Simon's explosive secret blow Olivia's marriage apart once and for all?Three sisters-in-law. One devastating divorcee. Whose husband is about to play with fire?

Virago

Miles From Nowhere

Nami Mun
Authors:
Nami Mun

Joon is a young Korean immigrant living in the Bronx of the 1980s. Her parents have crumbled under the weight of her father's infidelity and mental illness has rendered her mother nearly catatonic. So Joon, at the age of thirteen, decides she's better off on her own and sets out on a harrowing and sometimes tragic journey, exposing herself to all the pain and difficulty of a life lived on the margins. Joon's years on the streets take her from a homeless shelter to an escort club, through struggles with addiction, to jobs selling newspapers and cosmetics, committing petty crimes, and, finally, towards something resembling hope. In raw and beautiful prose, Nami Mun tells the story of a young woman who is at once tough yet vulnerable, world-weary yet naive, faced with insurmountable odds and yet fiercely determined to survive. Honest, inventive and profoundly moving, Miles From Nowhere is a dazzling debut novel that will haunt and inspire.

Barbara Comyns

Barbara Comyns (1909-92) was born in Bidford-on-Avon in Warwickshire. She was an artist and writer, worked in advertising, dealt in old cars and antiques, bred poodles and developed property. She was twice married, and she and her second husband lived in Spain for eighteen years, returning to the UK in the early 1970s. She is the author of eleven books, including Sisters by a River (1947), Our Spoons Came from Woolworths (1950), The Vet's Daughter (1959), The Skin Chairs (1962) and A Touch of Mistletoe (1967). She died in Shropshire in 1992.

Carol Goodman

Carol Goodman's work has appeared in such journals as Literal Latte and Other Voices. After graduation from Vassar Colege, she taught Latin in Austin, Texas. She then received an M.F.A. in fiction. Goodman currently teaches writing and works as a writer-in-residence. Visit her at www.carolgoodman.com

Christine Feehan

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Christine Feehan has received numerous honours including being a nominee for the Romance Writers of America RITA and receiving a Career Achievement Award from ROMANTIC TIMES. Visit her at www.christinefeehan.com

Christopher Ransom

Christopher Ransom is the author of internationally bestselling novels including The Birthing House and The People Next Door. He studied literature at Colorado State University and worked at Entertainment Weekly magazine in New York, and now lives near his hometown of Boulder, Colorado.

E. V. Thompson

E V Thompson was born in London and spent nine years in the Navy before joining Bristol police. He moved to Hong Kong, then Rhodesia and had over 200 stories published before returning to England to become a full-time award-winning writer. He passed away in 2012.

Elaine Dundy

Elaine Dundy was born in New York. As an actress she worked in Paris and London and then became a writer. She has written plays, biographies and novels including the bestselling THE DUD AVOCADO, her first novel.

Gabrielle Kimm

Gabrielle Kimm is the author of His Last Duchess and The Courtesan's Lover, also published by Sphere. She lives in rural West Sussex, and teaches English part-time at a small performing arts school.

Gillian Slovo

Gillian Slovo (father Joe Slovo, mother Ruth First) was educated in Britain where she has spent all her adult life. Since Nelson Mandela's release she has made frequent visits to South Africa. She has written seven books.

Iain Banks

Iain Banks came to widespread and controversial public notice with the publication of his first novel, THE WASP FACTORY, in 1984. He gained enormous popular and critical acclaim for both his mainstream and his science fiction novels. Iain Banks died in June 2013.

Jane Gardam

Jane Gardam has been awarded the Heywood Hill Literary Prize for a lifetime's contribution to the enjoyment of literature; has twice won a Whitbread Award and has been shortlisted for the Booker Prize.

Jenny Maxwell

Jenny Maxwell was born in Scotland, educated in England and until recently was resident in Germany. She now lives on a narrow boat which is currently moored near Stourbridge.

Joan Collins

JOAN COLLINS, OBE, has appeared in some sixty films and many television series, including the highly rated TV drama Dynasty. Her books have sold over 50 million copies in 30 languages. A devoted humanitarian, she lends her support and celebrity to causes that include finding a cure for breast cancer.

Josephine Hart

Josephine Hart (1942-2011) was the bestselling author of Damage, Sin, Oblivion and The Reconstructionist. She was a Director of Haymarket Publishing and founded Gallery Poets before going on to produce a number of West End plays. As well writing novels, she was a `poetry evangelist' and her Josephine Hart Poetry Hour at the British Library inspired two edited poetry books: Catching Life By the Throat and Words that Burn. She was married to Maurice Saatchi and had two sons.

Julia Hoban

Julia Hoban is a woman of many talents: she writes; designs her own clothes and handbags; and attended graduate school for physics and philosophy. She lives with her husband in New York City, and is working on her next novel (and outfit).

Mary Larkin

Mary Larkin was born in Belfast and spent 40 happy years there before moving to the North East of England.