Helen Black - Twenty Twelve - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781849014755
    • Publication date:05 Apr 2012

Twenty Twelve

By Helen Black

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An exciting topical crime thriller set in the run up to the London Olympics from the bestselling Helen Black.

As the UK struggles with a hopeless war in the Middle East, the worst recession in a hundred years and a fraud scandal which has rocked the government to its core, the Prime Minister is determined to host an unrivalled summer of sporting achievement at the London Olympics to propel the country into a new era.

Joe Moran, MP for Primrose Hill and keen long distance runner and sports fan, is among the many around the world eagerly anticipating the games and is delighted when he is asked to become minister for Sports and Heritage, heavily involved in the plans for the opening ceremony.It beats the tedium of life in Westminster as even meetings are less boring when the subject matter is sport.Less boring that is, until the first bomb explodes... and MI5 uncover a plot to kill thousands of people while the world watches on television.

Biographical Notes

Helen grew up in Pontefract, West Yorkshire. At 18 she went to Hull university and left three years later with a tattoo on her shoulder and a law degree. She became a lawyer in Peckham and soon had a loyal following of teenagers needing legal advice and bus fares.She ended up working in Luton, working predominantly for children going through the care system.

Helen is married to a long-suffering lawyer and is the mother of young twins which take up 90% of her waking hours.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780330198
  • Publication date: 05 Apr 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: C & R Crime
A dark and gripping read that will have you on the edge of your seat. — Closer magazine
A fantastic first novel [A Place of Safety]. — Jane Elliott
Unexpected and moving ... A Place of Safety is written with sympathy and humour. — EuroCrime
Constable

The Book Club

C. J. Cooper
Authors:
C. J. Cooper
Hachette Audio

The Scholar

Dervla McTiernan
Authors:
Dervla McTiernan
Sphere

Let Me Lie

Clare Mackintosh
Authors:
Clare Mackintosh
Constable

Bang to Rights

Helen Black
Authors:
Helen Black
Sphere

Kingdom of the Blind

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny
Piatkus

When Darkness Calls

Mark Griffin
Authors:
Mark Griffin
Little, Brown

The Lost Man

Jane Harper
Authors:
Jane Harper

'I read it in 24 hours. It's gripping, atmospheric and ultimately deeply satisfying' Val McDermidThe gripping new novel from the author of the Sunday Times top ten bestsellers, The Dry and Force of Nature. He had started to remove his clothes as logic had deserted him, and his skin was cracked. Whatever had been going through Cameron's mind when he was alive, he didn't look peaceful in death.Two brothers meet at the remote border of their vast cattle properties under the unrelenting sun of the outback. In an isolated part of Australia, they are each other's nearest neighbour, their homes hours apart.They are at the stockman's grave, a landmark so old that no one can remember who is buried there. But today, the scant shadow it casts was the last hope for their middle brother, Cameron. The Bright family's quiet existence is thrown into grief and anguish. Something had been troubling Cameron. Did he choose to walk to his death? Because if he didn't, the isolation of the outback leaves few suspects...What readers are saying:'Jane Harper is an incredible story teller''So good I couldn't put it down and finished it too quickly!''I could almost taste the dust and feel the relentless heat''Take a duvet day off work and read it cover to cover. You won't be disappointed!'

Hachette Audio

Lost Creed

Alex Kava
Authors:
Alex Kava
Sphere

Bright Young Dead

Jessica Fellowes
Authors:
Jessica Fellowes
Sphere

Lethal White

Robert Galbraith
Authors:
Robert Galbraith

'Hugely absorbing. . . the best Strike novel yet' SUNDAY MIRROR'Highly inventive storytelling' GUARDIAN'Outrageously entertaining' FINANCIAL TIMES 'Come for the twists and turns and stay for the beautifully drawn central relationship' INDEPENDENT'Blistering piece of crime writing' SUNDAY TIMES'Fans will love it' HEAT-----When Billy, a troubled young man, comes to private eye Cormoran Strike's office to ask for his help investigating a crime he thinks he witnessed as a child, Strike is left deeply unsettled. While Billy is obviously mentally distressed, and cannot remember many concrete details, there is something sincere about him and his story. But before Strike can question him further, Billy bolts from his office in a panic.Trying to get to the bottom of Billy's story, Strike and Robin Ellacott - once his assistant, now a partner in the agency - set off on a twisting trail that leads them through the backstreets of London, into a secretive inner sanctum within Parliament, and to a beautiful but sinister manor house deep in the countryside.And during this labyrinthine investigation, Strike's own life is far from straightforward: his newfound fame as a private eye means he can no longer operate behind the scenes as he once did. Plus, his relationship with his former assistant is more fraught than it ever has been - Robin is now invaluable to Strike in the business, but their personal relationship is much, much more tricky than that . . .The most epic Robert Galbraith novel yet, LETHAL WHITE is both a gripping mystery and a page-turning next instalment in the ongoing story of Cormoran Strike and Robin Ellacott.-----PRAISE FOR THE STRIKE SERIES: 'One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years' MARK BILLINGHAM'The work of a master storyteller' DAILY TELEGRAPH'Unputdownable. . . Irresistible' SUNDAY TIMES'Will keep you up all night' OBSERVER'A thoroughly enjoyable classic' PETER JAMES, SUNDAY EXPRESS

Sphere

Beau Death

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Little, Brown

The Killing Habit

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham
Constable

Mrs Jeffries and the Best Laid Plans

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Piatkus

Bone Driven

Hailey Edwards
Authors:
Hailey Edwards

Book Two in the powerfully addictive fantasy series The Foundling, perfect for fans of Ilona Andrews, Jenn Stark and Helen HarperThe bayou is burning, the battle is just beginning - and Luce Boudreau is smack in the middle of no-man's land . . .Life as a cop in Canton Town, Mississippi, is never dull - particularly when hiding deep within you is a demon bent on the apocalypse. Luce is doing her best to pretend her two worlds aren't crashing into each other, but what should be a routine arson investigation takes a shocking turn when Luce discovers a link between the suspects and her own dark secrets. There's no turning back, even though her search for the truth threatens to burn her old life down around her.Lines are being drawn in a war Luce barely understands, and she just might be on the wrong side of them. Now she must embrace her powerful destiny, or the ones she loves most will pay the ultimate price.Readers LOVE Hailey Edwards:'Edwards creates amazing fantasy worlds' - (Goodreads reviewer) 'A fantasy of a five-star read!' (Amazon reviewer)'Hailey Edwards has exceeded all expectation' (Goodreads)'Well-plotted fantasy with intriguing characters, heart-pounding action, suspenseful intrigue and subtle romance' (RT Book Reviews)'Edwards has this way of writing that makes you feel like the narrator is talking to you and that you're old friends' (Goodreads)'The world building is fresh . . . The characters are well-drawn and easy to root for. And the romance really hits the spot' (Red Hot Books)'She builds dynamic character bases, using common mythology but takes it one step further using previously unseen species or imbibing currently known species with skills and know how that offers readers something new in the paranormal world' (Smexybooks)

Constable

Cambridge Black

Alison Bruce
Authors:
Alison Bruce
Constable

Taking Liberties

Helen Black
Authors:
Helen Black
Sphere

Before Evil

Alex Kava
Authors:
Alex Kava

'O'Dell could be Reacher's long-lost twin' LEE CHILDSpecial Agent Maggie O'Dell doesn't need to set foot at a crime scene to catch a serial killer. From her small Quantico office, she's profiled criminals using just Polaroids and faxed copies of evidence from homicide detectives across the country.Then comes Albert Stucky . . . and nothing will ever be the same.Stucky is a sadistic madman who places pieces of his victims in takeout containers and leaves them for innocent bystanders to find. He enjoys his twisted games as much as he enjoys the kill. And when Maggie is tasked with profiling his murders, Stucky is only too happy to rise to the challenge:'Let the chase begin.'New York Times bestselling author Alex Kava returns with a heart-stopping new thriller featuring special agent Maggie O'Dell, who will face one of the most terrifying serial killers of her career.'Rip-roaring action that only builds in intensity with every page' TESS GERRITSEN

Piatkus

Apprentice in Death

J. D. Robb
Authors:
J. D. Robb
Sphere

Reckless Creed

Alex Kava
Authors:
Alex Kava

In the new edge-of-your seat thriller from New York Times-bestselling author Alex Kava, Ryder Creed, his K9 search-and-rescue dogs and FBI agent Maggie O'Dell find themselves at the centre of a dire and mysterious case. In Chicago, a young man jumps from his thirtieth-storey hotel room; along the Missouri river, a hunter and his son find a lake whose surface is littered with snow geese, all of them dead; and in Southern Alabama, Ryder Creed and his search-and-rescue dog Grace find the body of a young woman who went missing in the Conecuh National Forest . . . and it appears she filled her pockets with rocks and walked into the river. Before long Ryder Creed and FBI profiler Maggie O'Dell will discover the ominous connection between these mysterious deaths. What they find may be the most prolific killer the United States has ever known . . .

Piatkus

The Marriage Hearse

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis