Richard Shankman - The Art and Skill of Buddhist Meditation - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Art and Skill of Buddhist Meditation

Mindfulness, Concentration, and Insight

By Richard Shankman

  • Paperback
  • £12.99

For the first time ever, a leading Insight meditation teacher presents an innovative and practical guide to building a strong meditation practice by unifying both concentration and insight meditation.

In our busy modern world, it's easy to get stressed out. In The Art and Skill of Buddhist Meditation, mindfulness teacher Richard Shankman offers a foundational guide to the art and skill of Buddhist meditation, showing you how to construct a calming daily practice that unifies two major Vipassana Buddhist traditions concentration meditation and insight meditation.

Whether you are a beginning or intermediate student of Buddhism, this book provides a user-friendly meditation regime. New readers are presented with a strong foundation in multiple meditation approaches, while those who've been training for a while will be able to better integrate what they've already learned with new and unfamiliar approaches drawn from other streams of Buddhist thought.

This new, integrative, and simple approach to meditation will help you to better manage stress, quiet your busy mind, and cultivate a lasting sense of well-being.

Biographical Notes

Richard Shankman has been a meditator since 1970, and teaches at dharma centers and groups internationally. He is guiding teacher of the Metta Dharma Foundation, and cofounder of the Sati Center for Buddhist Studies, and of Mindful Schools. Shankman is the author of The Experience of Samadhi. Shankman resides in Oakland, CA.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781626252936
  • Publication date: 28 Jan 2016
  • Page count: 176
  • Imprint: New Harbinger
Little, Brown Young Readers US

CatStronauts: Robot Rescue

Drew Brockington
Authors:
Drew Brockington
Hachette Books

The Clear Skin Diet

Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson
Authors:
Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson

From YouTube rising stars Nina and Randa Nelson comes the doctor-approved, clinically-tested, low-fat vegan diet that instantly and dramatically transformed their skin.The Clear Skin Diet is the natural and safe solution to banish acne and remain acne-free for good. The vegan diet, developed by twin actors and social media stars Nina and Randa Nelson (whose careers and personal lives were nearly destroyed by out of control acne) teaches people how to naturally conquer acne once and for all.Before they created The Clear Skin Diet, Nina and Randa and-tried nearly everything to deal with their acne-expensive facials, lotions, antibiotics, and other painful procedures. Several doctors told them their only hope for recovery was Accutane. So they decided to try to deal with their problem from the inside out-by changing their diet. Their dietary intervention worked, and there has been no stopping them since. The girls now share the good news about how they achieved beautiful skin without drugs with millions of people across the world, many of whom write regularly with their own heart-warming success stories. The recipes Nina and Randa created for The Clear Skin Diet are based on diets eaten by a variety of people around the world who have no acne in their society, such as Papua New Guinea, Eastern Paraguay, and rural South Africa. The food is healthy, starch-based, low-fat, inexpensive, and delicious. An acne solution and easy diet, all in one.

Life and Style

The Freds at Barneys New York Cookbook

Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield
Authors:
Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield
Running Press Kids

The Battle of Junk Mountain

Lauren Abbey Greenberg
Authors:
Lauren Abbey Greenberg

For fans of Rebecca Stead and Jennifer L. Holm, this is an atmospheric summer beach read for middle school readers. Twelve-year-old Shayne Whittaker has always spent summers on the Maine coast, visiting her grandmother Bea and playing with her BFF Poppy. Both Shayne and Bea are treasure seekers, in their own ways: Bea trolls flea markets and garage sales for valuable finds, while Shayne revels in golden memories of gorging on lobster rolls, searching for sea glass, and weaving friendship bracelets with Poppy. This summer, though, everything has changed. Poppy would rather talk about boys than bracelets, and Bea's collecting mania has morphed into hoarding. Only Linc, the weird boy next door who is obsessed with the Civil War, seems to care about her. Turns out Linc's coveting a treasure of his own. What begins as the worst summer of Shayne's life becomes the most memorable as she learns when to hang on, when to let go, and how to find treasures in unexpected places.

Sphere

The Empire Girls

Sue Wilsher
Authors:
Sue Wilsher

Sue Wilsher, author of When My Ship Comes In, makes an emotional return to 1950s EssexTilbury, 1950s. The Empire is a boarding house run by Vi, Doris's mother - the Empire Girls of the title. When Doris becomes pregnant out of marriage, she is kicked out of the house and forced to fend for herself. Desperate to look after her daughter, she takes any job going. She falls in with the Windrush immigrants and finds herself helping one to a new life in Britain.

Little, Brown

The Old Man and the Knee

Christopher Matthew
Authors:
Christopher Matthew

Although in his seventies, Christopher Matthew is convinced he is not yet old. No one one has ever stood up for him on a crowded bus or tube. He plays golf and walks the dog. He has all his own teeth, hair, and does not require a hearing aid. He is, in short, enjoying late middle age and is making the best of it while he still can. 'I know it can't last for ever, but while it does, it gives me the chance to look at life in the last lane, as I am now experiencing it, and to consider what might be to come.' Subjects range from what's the point of a grandparent; the perils and pleasures of replacing one's partner with a younger model; and acquiring new interests and hobbies (bridge? ocean cruising? ballet? marathon running?) to the arrival of old age and the last leg of all. How do we know when we are old? Does old age creep up slowly or arrive out of the blue? Will we be able to summon up some half-decent last words and what should they be? Witty, like Oscar Wilde's about the wallpaper, or helpful like the 1st Lord Grimthorpe's 'We are low on marmalade'?

Little, Brown

Lightning Men

Thomas Mullen
Authors:
Thomas Mullen
Little, Brown

Travelling Light

Alastair Sawday
Authors:
Alastair Sawday

A charming and beautifully written account of the pleasures of slow travel - for readers of Patrick Leigh Fermor, Colin Thubron and Eric Newby.'Lawrence Sterne once suggested that we travel for one of just three reasons: imbecility of mind, infirmity of body or inevitable necessity. One might add to Sterne's little list: envy, curiosity - or just too much bloody rain at home. Escape, in other words.' Campaigner, publisher and wanderer Alastair Sawday has spent his life travelling. En route he has unearthed a multitude of stories - stories of people ploughing their own furrows, of travellers' tales, stories from the 'front line' of his publishing , ruminations and reflections about places, people and ideas. In this deeply charming, erudite and spirited book, he shares his experiences and explores the value of travel.'The richer our imaginations, the richer our travel experience. We British do things one way and the Spaniards another; there are unlimited ways of doing everything. Kindness is found in unexpected places, as is eccentricity. Eccentrics are an endangered species and need as much protection as does the house sparrow.'Travelling Light is a gradual awakening to the fragility of everything we love through contemplative, consciously slow journeying. Every visit uncovers difference - from France profonde to the darker side of Sicily, and to the woodland, flora, fauna, views and silence of rural Britain. Alastair Sawday gives voice to those of us who have climbed no mountains, discovered no rivers, created no great institutions, powered no legislation, changed very little - but who yearn to understand the world and make sense of its infinite variety.

Hachette Australia

New York Nights

CJ Duggan
Authors:
CJ Duggan
Robinson

Superstition and Science, 1450-1750

Derek Wilson
Authors:
Derek Wilson
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Star Thief

Lindsey Becker
Authors:
Lindsey Becker

Honorine's life as as maid at the Vidalia mansion is rather dull, dusting treasures from faraway places and daydreaming in front of maps of the world. But everything changes when she catches two brutish sailors ransacking Lord Vidalia's study, and then follows a mysterious girl with wings out into the night....Suddenly, Honorine is whisked into the middle of a battle between the crew of a spectacular steamship and a band of mythical constellations. The stars in the sky have come to life to defend themselves against those who want to harness their powers. Much to her surprise, Honorine is the crux of it all, the center of an epic clash between magic and science, the old ways and the new. But can this spirited young girl bring both sides of a larger-than-life fight together before they unleash an evil power even older than the stars?

ATOM

Missing

Kelley Armstrong
Authors:
Kelley Armstrong
Corsair

The Return of the Witch

Paula Brackston
Authors:
Paula Brackston
Virago

Peace Breaks Out

Angela Thirkell
Authors:
Angela Thirkell
Forever

Change of Heart

Nicole Jacquelyn
Authors:
Nicole Jacquelyn
Forever

Unbreak My Heart

Nicole Jacquelyn
Authors:
Nicole Jacquelyn

Kate Evans has had a crush on Shane Anderson for years, so she was devastated when he married her best friend. But by avoiding Shane, she's managed to maintain their close friendship until the day her pregnant friend is killed in a tragic car accident. When the infant miraculously survives and Shane is set to leave on a six-month military deployment, of course Kate steps in to care for the baby and the couple's older children. But as her bond with Shane's family grows, her emotional entanglements with Shane grow too. Just as Kate is willing to acknowledge the painful past and move forward, Shane betrays her trust...and her heart is broken once again.

Moon Travel

Moon Coastal California (5th ed)

Stuart Thornton
Authors:
Stuart Thornton

Travel writer and longtime California resident Stuart Thornton covers the best of Coastal California, from hiking through redwoods in Big Sur to surfing the waves at Black's Beach in San Diego. Moon Coastal California is the perfect tour guide, offering unique trip ideas for a wide variety of travellers, including Pacific Coast Road Trip and Romantic Getaways. Packed with expert advice on everything from choosing the best beaches to whale-watching to planning a fun side trip to Disneyland, Moon Coastal California gives travellers the tools they need to create a more personal and memorable experience.Coverage includes:San Francisco and the Bay AreaWine CountryNorth CoastMonterey BayBig Sur and the Central CoastSanta Barbara and VenturaLos Angeles and Orange CountySan Diego

Constable

Her Royal Spyness

Rhys Bowen
Authors:
Rhys Bowen

Lady Victoria Georgiana Charlotte Eugenie, 34th in line for the throne, is flat broke. She's bolted Scotland, her greedy brother, and her fish-faced betrothed for London. The place where she'll experience freedom, learn life lessons aplenty, do a bit of spying for HRH - oh, and find a dead Frenchman in her tub. Now her new job is to clear her long family name.

Abacus

The Savage Wars Of Peace

Charles Allen
Authors:
Charles Allen
Moon Travel

Moon Monterey & Carmel (5th ed)

Stuart Thornton
Authors:
Stuart Thornton