Dennis Tirch - ACT Practitioner's Guide to the Science of Compassion - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

ACT Practitioner's Guide to the Science of Compassion

Tools for Fostering Psychological Flexibility

By Dennis Tirch

  • Paperback
  • £37.99

An important addition to any ACT professional's library, The ACT Practitioner's Guide to the Science of Compassion explores the emotionally healing benefits of compassion-based practices when applied to traditional acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT.)

Acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) is proven effective in the treatment of an array of disorders, including addiction, depression, anxiety, self-harm, eating disorders and more. Evidence shows that mindfulness and acceptance exercises help clients connect with the moment, uncover their true values, and commit to positive change. But did you know that compassion-based exercises can also greatly increase clients' psychological flexibility?

More and more therapists are finding that the act of compassion-both towards oneself and towards others-can leas to greater emotional and physical well-being, increased distress tolerance, and a broader range of effective responses to stressful situations. The best part of compassion-based exercises is that they can be easily integrated in the flexible ACT model.

An important addition to any ACT professional's library, The ACT Practitioner's Guide to the Science of Compassion explores the emotionally healing benefits of compassion-based practices when applied to traditional acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT). This book offers case conceptulisation, assessments, and direct clinical applications that integrate ACT, functional analytic psychotherapy (FAP), and the science of compassion to enchance your clinical practice.

This is the first book on the market to provide an in-depth discussion of compassion in the context of ACT and other behavioral sciences. The integrative treatment model in this book provides powerful transdiagnostic tools and processes that will essentially build bridges across therapies. If you are ready for a new, easily integrated range of techniques that can be used for a variety of treatment applications, this guide will prove highly useful. And if you are looking to build on your previous experience with cognitive and behavioral therapies, this book will help you enhance your treatment sessions with clients and increase their psychological flexibility.

Biographical Notes

Dennis Tirch, PhD, is founder and director of The Centre for Mindfulness and Compassion Focused Therapy in New York and the Compassionate Mind Foundation USA. An internationally-known expert on compassion-focused psychology, Tirch is the author of several books, including The Compassionate-Mind Guide to Overcoming Anxiety. Tirch is assistant clinical professor at Weill Cornell Medical College in New York, NY and trains psychotherapists throughout the world in applied mindfulness, acceptance, and compassion.

Benjamin Schoendorff, MA, MSc, is a licensed psychologist in Quebec, Canada and founder of the Contextual Psychology Institute. An acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) pioneer in the French-speaking world, he has authored, coauthored, and coedited several books about ACT and functional analytic psychotherapy (FAP), including The ACT Matrix with coeditor Kevin Polk. A peer-reviewed ACT trainer and certified FAP trainer, Shoendorff gives training workshops across the world. He lives near Montreal in Quebec, Canada, where he works as a researcher at the Montreal Mental Health University Institute.

Laura R. Silberstein, PsyD, is a licensed psychologist in New York and New Jersey. Silberstein is the director of The Centre for Mindfulness and Compassion-Focused Therapy in New York and has advanced training in evidence-based therapies such as compassion-focused therapy (CFT), acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), dialectical behavior therapy (DBT), and cognitive behavior therapy (CBT) for adults and adolescents. Silberstein is also a clinical supervisor, CFT trainer, and coauthor of Buddhist Psychology and Cognitive Behavioral Therapy.

Foreword writer Paul Gilbert, PhD, is world-renowned for his work on depression, shame, and self-criticism. He is the head of the mental health research unit at the University of Derby in the United Kingdom, founder of compassion-focused therapy (CFT), and author of several books, including The Compassionate Mind and Overcoming Depression.


Foreword writer Steven C. Hayes, PhD, is Nevada Foundation Professor in the department of psychology at the University of Nevada, NV. An author of thirty-four books and more than 470 scientific articles, his research focuses on how language and thought lead to human suffering. Hayes is cofounder of acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT)- a powerful therapy method that is useful in a wide variety of areas-and has served as president of several scientific societies. He has received several national awards, including the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781626250550
  • Publication date: 29 Jan 2015
  • Page count: 296
  • Imprint: New Harbinger
Corsair

Jack the Ripper: Case Closed

Gyles Brandreth
Authors:
Gyles Brandreth
Orbit

Beyond the Empire

K. B. Wagers
Authors:
K. B. Wagers
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of New Comic Quotes

Geoff Tibballs
Authors:
Geoff Tibballs
Little, Brown

The Old Man and the Knee

Christopher Matthew
Authors:
Christopher Matthew
Constable

Backing into the Spotlight

Michael Whitehall
Authors:
Michael Whitehall
Little, Brown US

Fly Me

Daniel Riley
Authors:
Daniel Riley
Constable

Shabby

Emlyn Rees, Josie Lloyd
Authors:
Emlyn Rees, Josie Lloyd
Sphere

Beer Craft

Jon Finch
Authors:
Jon Finch
Robinson

The Fish Book

Paul Peacock
Authors:
Paul Peacock

This book will give you the knowledge and confidence to choose, prepare, cook and enjoy fresh food and seafood. It explains simply how to gut, clean and fillet fish and how to deal with shellfish and crustaceans such as crab and lobster, and what knives and tools you'll need for the job.The numerous recipes take into consideration sustainable fishing and advise on which fish can be used instead of those at risk. The book also encourages the use of locally caught produce rather than those shipped around the world.As well as recipes for cooking sea and river fish, shellfish, crustaceans you'll discover how to preserve fish.

Robinson

Growing up Wild

Alexia Barrable, Duncan Barrable
Authors:
Alexia Barrable, Duncan Barrable

Have you ever noticed how much calmer and more engaged your children are when they are outside in the natural world? A growing body of evidence is pointing to the need for children to spend more time outside. Being outdoors has the potential to energise, entertain and educate our children, often with minimal input from adults. Growing Up Wild is for anyone who wants to encourage their kids to spend more time outdoors. Combining the latest scientific research with a host of enjoyable activities, the authors show you how to access nature with your children. From making the most of local parks, woodlands, the beach, and your own back garden Growing Up Wild gives you easy ways to get out there, connect with nature, and have fun together.Inspired by the increasingly popular forest school philosophy, and emphasising the benefits of starting early with your baby or toddler, Growing Up Wild tells you:- The reasons why getting dirty makes you happier and healthier.- Activities that make the most of wind, rain or snow- Tips on hiking and foraging with your children- How to run wild with kids - from parks to fells and beyond- How to build an outdoor space in your back garden.This book is a must have for parents who love nature and want to give their children the proven benefits of playing outdoors.

Running Press Adult

Batman: Metal Die-Cast Bat-Signal

Matthew K. Manning
Authors:
Matthew K. Manning
Little, Brown

Travelling Light

Alastair Sawday
Authors:
Alastair Sawday

A charming and beautifully written account of the pleasures of slow travel - for readers of Patrick Leigh Fermor, Colin Thubron and Eric Newby.'Lawrence Sterne once suggested that we travel for one of just three reasons: imbecility of mind, infirmity of body or inevitable necessity. One might add to Sterne's little list: envy, curiosity - or just too much bloody rain at home. Escape, in other words.' Campaigner, publisher and wanderer Alastair Sawday has spent his life travelling. En route he has unearthed a multitude of stories - stories of people ploughing their own furrows, of travellers' tales, stories from the 'front line' of his publishing , ruminations and reflections about places, people and ideas. In this deeply charming, erudite and spirited book, he shares his experiences and explores the value of travel.'The richer our imaginations, the richer our travel experience. We British do things one way and the Spaniards another; there are unlimited ways of doing everything. Kindness is found in unexpected places, as is eccentricity. Eccentrics are an endangered species and need as much protection as does the house sparrow.'Travelling Light is a gradual awakening to the fragility of everything we love through contemplative, consciously slow journeying. Every visit uncovers difference - from France profonde to the darker side of Sicily, and to the woodland, flora, fauna, views and silence of rural Britain. Alastair Sawday gives voice to those of us who have climbed no mountains, discovered no rivers, created no great institutions, powered no legislation, changed very little - but who yearn to understand the world and make sense of its infinite variety.

Black Dog & Leventhal

This is What a Librarian Looks Like

Kyle Cassidy
Authors:
Kyle Cassidy
ATOM

Missing

Kelley Armstrong
Authors:
Kelley Armstrong
Constable

Devil's Breath

G.M. Malliet
Authors:
G.M. Malliet
Corsair

The Return of the Witch

Paula Brackston
Authors:
Paula Brackston

After five years in the Summerlands, Gideon has gained his freedom. Elizabeth knows he will go straight for Tegan, and that she must protect the girl she had come to regard as her own daughter. In the time since she the dramatic night in Batchcombe woods, Tegan has traveled the world learning from all manner of witches, and she is no longer the awkward teenager and novice spellcaster she once was. However, her skills are no match for Gideon's dark, vengeful power, and he succeeds in capturing her. Will Elizabeth be able to find her? Will they be able to defeat their nemesis once and for all?In a breathless journey that takes them through history, witch pursues warlock. Three people steeped in magic weave a new story, but not all will survive until the end.

Robinson

The Bacon Jam Cookbook

Eat 17
Authors:
Eat 17
Forever

Change of Heart

Nicole Jacquelyn
Authors:
Nicole Jacquelyn
ATOM

Deadly

Sara Shepard
Authors:
Sara Shepard

It's all fun and games until everybody gets hurt.Spencer, Hanna, Emily, and Aria are forced to watch as all their secrets finally come to light, from their littlest lies to their darkest deeds. Now, one by one, the girls' worlds come crashing down around them. Spencer gets kicked out of Princeton. Hanna gets kicked out of her dad's campaign - and his heart. Emily gets kicked to the curb. And Aria may get kicked out of the country.Thanks to me, these girls have lost everything - except their lives, of course. But I'm not done yet. And if my deadly plan succeeds, the pretty little liars will have finally told their last lie. . .

ATOM

Toxic

Sara Shepard
Authors:
Sara Shepard