Phil Vischer - Buck Denver's Hammer of Strength: A Lesson in Loving Others - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Buck Denver's Hammer of Strength: A Lesson in Loving Others

By Phil Vischer

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

From VeggieTales creator Phil Vischer, this vibrant and easy-to-read picture book, based on the popular Buck Denver Asks. . . What's in the Bible? video series, helps elementary-age children learn the value of loving well through relevant Bible stories wrapped in real life adventures.

What does it mean to love well?

Buck Denver wants to show everyone how strong he is, so he goes around whacking things with a giant carnival hammer to prove just that. But before he gets himself or anyone else hurt, Buck's friends encourage him to show his strength by loving others. Buck protests, thinking love is just gentle hugs and mushy-gushy kisses, but through love-filled Bible stories, the gang helps Buck realize love is hugs and kisses, but most of all, love is putting others first, which takes the greatest strength of all.

Biographical Notes

Phil Vischer is an author, speaker, filmmaker, and voice actor, best known for the Christian children's series VeggieTales®, which he created in a spare bedroom as a 25-year-old newly married starving artist. Since then, Phil has continued to pursue innovative ways to integrate faith and storytelling through fun and practical resources for families. Collectively, Phil's creations, which include the educational series What's in the Bible? and the autobiographical book Me, Myself & Bob, have sold more than 70 million copies around the world. Phil lives with his wife Lisa (aka Junior Asparagus) in West Chicago, Illinois. They have three adult children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781546011910
  • Publication date: 28 Mar 2019
  • Page count: 40
  • Imprint: FaithWords
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Zip! Zoom! On a Broom

Teri Sloat, Rosalinde Bonnet
Contributors:
Teri Sloat, Rosalinde Bonnet

One goes zip,two go zoom.Three witches glide from room to room.So begins this witchy counting story, for the first time as a board book. Counting up from 1 to 10 and back down again, ten witches jump on a broom--and then fall off one by one! Written in pitch-perfect rhyme, and full of fun read-aloud energy that will have kids memorizing lines and clamoring to read the book again and again, this book hits the mash-up sweet spot between perennially important concept and growing holiday moment.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rise

Ellen Goodlett
Authors:
Ellen Goodlett
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Don't Worry Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr

Todd Parr brings his trademark bright colors and bold lines to his new book about things that might make kids worry--from loud news, to loud neighbors or a big day at school. With his signature humor and instantly recognizable style, Todd speaks out to kids who are feeling the weight of their world, offering solutions and comfort, as well as giggles.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Hangry

Drew Brockington
Authors:
Drew Brockington

When a young lizard monster gets a hankering for his favorite hot dog spot, he takes the train all the way to the city--only to find that the place is closed for vacation. But when this little monster gets too hungry, he starts to get angry. And when he gets hangry, this poor city is at risk of a full-scale monster attack. As his rage swells, so does he, until he's the size of a skyscraper, and it falls to the citizens to find him some food--and fast! In a hilarious story about a hunger-induced tantrum, Drew Brockington uses speech bubbles and sight gags to bring a smile to the face of any little monster.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Bear Came Along

Richard T. Morris, LeUyen Pham
Contributors:
Richard T. Morris, LeUyen Pham
Little, Brown Young Readers US

When We Were Lost

Kevin Wignall
Authors:
Kevin Wignall
Running Press Kids

Super Jake & the King of Chaos

Naomi Milliner
Authors:
Naomi Milliner

Little, Brown Young Readers US

How to Be a Supervillain: Bad Guys Finish First

Michael Fry
Authors:
Michael Fry
Little, Brown Young Readers US

We Contain Multitudes

Sarah Henstra
Authors:
Sarah Henstra
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Absence of Sparrows

Kurt Kirchmeier
Authors:
Kurt Kirchmeier

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Abner & Ian Get Right-Side Up

Dave Eggers, Laura Park
Contributors:
Dave Eggers, Laura Park
FaithWords

Midnight Lullabies

Lauren Eberspacher
Authors:
Lauren Eberspacher

Moms, you need these words of hope and light during the early days while you cradle your new baby in the midnight hours.Often, mothers are told about the joyful, exciting things that they are about to embark on as they enter into parenthood. What people fail to share is the hard seasons of motherhood: loneliness, anxiety, depression, insecurity, comparison, disconnect with the Lord and their husbands, and loss of identity. These seasons can consume their hearts and steal their joy, leaving them hopeless and full of shame. Most mothers hide during this time, thinking that they are alone or that something is wrong with them. The simple truth is that having children changes everything. But so does Jesus. His Word can breathe life into every space, and MIDNIGHT LULLABIES meets the weary mama in the trenches of motherhood while she does Kingdom work within the four walls of her home, shining light and giving hope when it seems most far away.In MIDNIGHT LULLABIES, over 31 days, Lauren Eberspacher explores those places of motherhood that are often left unspoken. While embarking on her own journey of being a mama, she has encountered seasons that shocked and surprised her. But there is always hope. As a storyteller, Lauren takes the everyday moments and gives biblical insight to the mother facing these hard seasons, giving the reader a sense that they are having a conversation with a friend around a cozy kitchen table.Mothers often just want to hear another mom say she's in it with them. And when Eberspacher addresses these hard issues, she not only says, "I've been there; I understand," but she follows it with, "But God." Eberspacher shows that Jesus can be found in every moment of motherhood and that His strength and His Word are enough for you.

FaithWords

Crushing

T. D. Jakes
Authors:
T. D. Jakes

In this insightful book, #1 New York Times bestselling author T.D. Jakes wrestles with the age-old questions: Why do the righteous suffer? Where is God in all the injustice?In his most personal offering yet, Bishop Jakes tells crushing stories from his own journey-the painful experience of learning his young teenage daughter was pregnant, the agony of watching his mother succumb to Alzheimer's, and the shock and helplessness he felt when his son had a heart attack.Bishop Jakes wants to encourage you that God uses difficult, crushing experiences to prepare you for unexpected blessings. If you are faithful through suffering, you will be surprised by God's joy, comforted by His peace, and fulfilled with His purpose.Crushing will inspire you to have hope, even in your most difficult moments. If you trust in God and lean on Him during setbacks, He will lead you through.

FaithWords

What a Great Word for Grads

Karen Moore
Authors:
Karen Moore
FaithWords

What a Great Word for Moms

Karen Moore
Authors:
Karen Moore
FaithWords

Exceptional You Study Guide

Victoria Osteen
Authors:
Victoria Osteen
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rule

Ellen Goodlett
Authors:
Ellen Goodlett

Three Dark Crowns meets Pretty Little Liars in this sensational and striking new fantasy from debut author Ellen Goodlett, for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Kristin Cashore.Three girls. Three deadly secrets. Only one can wear the crown.The king is dying, his heir has just been murdered, and rebellion brews in the east. But the kingdom of Kolonya and the outer Reaches has one last option before it descends into leaderless chaos.Or rather, three unexpected options.Zofi has spent her entire life trekking through the outer Reaches with her band of Travelers. She would do anything to protect the band, her family. But no one can ever find out how far she's already gone.Akeylah was raised in the Eastern Reach, surrounded by whispers of rebellion and abused by her father. Desperate to escape, she makes a decision that threatens the whole kingdom.Ren grew up in Kolonya, serving as a lady's maid and scheming her way out of the servants' chambers. But one such plot could get her hung for treason if anyone ever discovers what she's done.When the king summons the girls, they arrive expecting arrest or even execution. Instead they learn the truth: they are his illegitimate daughters, and one must become his new heir. But someone in Kolonya knows their secrets, and that someone will stop at nothing to keep the sisters from their destiny... to rule.Magic, mystery, and blackmail abound in the first book of this sensational and striking fantasy duology.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Finding Yvonne

Brandy Colbert
Authors:
Brandy Colbert

For fans of Nicola Yoon and Nina LaCour comes a striking novel about difficult choices from acclaimed author Brandy Colbert.Since she was seven years old, Yvonne has had her trusted violin to keep her company, especially in those lonely days after her mother walked out on their family. But with graduation just around the corner, she is forced face the hard truth that she just might not be good enough to attend a conservatory after high school.Full of doubt about her future, and increasingly frustrated by her strained relationship with her successful but emotionally closed-off father, Yvonne meets a street musician and fellow violinist who understands her struggle. He's mysterious, charming, and different from Warren, the familiar and reliable boy who has her heart. But when Yvonne becomes unexpectedly pregnant, she has to make the most difficult decision yet about her future.

Running Press Kids

Caleb and Kit

Beth Vrabel
Authors:
Beth Vrabel

Twelve-year-old Caleb is shorter, frailer, and more protected than most kids his age. That's because he has cystic fibrosis, a diagnosis meaning lungs that fill with mucus and a shortened lifespan. Caleb tries not to let his disorder define him, but it can be hard with an overprotective mom and a perfect big brother. Then Caleb meets Kit-a vibrant, independent, and free girl-and his world changes instantly. Kit reads Caleb's palm and tells him they are destined to become friends. She calls birds down from the sky and turns every day into an adventure. Her magic is contagious, making Caleb question the rules and order in his life. But being Kit's friend means embracing deception and danger, and soon Caleb will have to decide if his friendship with Kit is really what's best for him-or her.

FaithWords

Pray for Me

Rick Hamlin
Authors:
Rick Hamlin