Anonymous - Chameleon in a Candy Store - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472153098
    • Publication date:14 Mar 2017
Books in this series

Chameleon in a Candy Store

By Anonymous

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Anonymous is back with the intoxicating, darkly dangerous, and wildly addictive sequel to his New York Times bestselling debut novel Diary of an Oxygen Thief.

Anonymous is back with the intoxicating, darkly dangerous, and wildly addictive sequel to his New York Times bestselling debut novel Diary of an Oxygen Thief.

Picking up the story where it left off, the controversial protagonist of cult classic Diary of an Oxygen Thief retools his advertising skills to seduce women online. It's a pursuit that quickly becomes a dangerous fixation, often requiring even more creativity and deception than his award-winning ad campaigns. Dazzling, daunting, and darkly hilarious, this spellbinding sequel is a spectacular indictment of a modern love twisted beyond recognition.

This title was previously published as Chameleon on a Kaleidoscope.

Biographical Notes

Anonymous is the New York Times bestselling author of Diary of an Oxygen Thief.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472153104
  • Publication date: 14 Mar 2017
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Corsair
Lively and colourful . . . will make you laugh even as you wince. — Emerald Street
Enthralling . . . the cult tale of a misogynist's ruin — the Guardian on Diary of an Oxygen Thief
A massively enjoyable, very quick read that's as hipster as a three pound bowl of Rice Krispies on Shoreditch High Street, but less of a rip-off — The Pool on Diary of an Oxygen Thief
A cinematic dream-capsule; somebody is going snap this up and make a movie out of it. — Barry Alexander Brown, Oscar-nominated Filmmaker, Writer and Editor
Little, Brown

500 Reflections on the RCP, 1518-2018: Book Nine

Anonymous
Authors:
Anonymous
Piatkus

Haven

Lindsay Pryor
Authors:
Lindsay Pryor
Little, Brown

Physicians and their Images

Anonymous
Authors:
Anonymous

The Royal College of Physicians celebrates its 500th anniversary in 2018, and to observe this landmark is publishing this series of ten books. Each of the books focuses on fifty themed elements that have contributed to making the RCP what it is today, together adding up to 500 reflections on 500 years. Some of the people, ideas, objects and manuscripts featured are directly connected to the College, while others have had an influence that can still be felt in its work.This, the eighth book in the series looks at the art and portraits of the Royal College.

Little, Brown

The Physicians 1660-2018: Ever Persons Capable and Able

Anonymous
Authors:
Anonymous
Hachette Audio

The Burning Girl

Claire Messud
Authors:
Claire Messud

A bracing and hypnotic portrait of the complexities of female friendship from the New York Times bestselling author of The Woman Upstairs.Julia Robinson and Cassie Burnes have been friends since nursery school. They have shared everything, including their desire to escape the stifling limitations of their birthplace, the quiet town of Royston, Massachusetts. But as the two girls enter adolescence, their paths diverge: while Julia comes from a stable, happy, middle-class family, Cassie never knew her father, who died when she was an infant, and has an increasingly tempestuous relationship with her single mother, Bev. When Bev becomes involved with the mysterious Anders Shute, Cassie feels cruelly abandoned. Disturbed, angry and desperate for answers, she sets out on a journey that will put her own life in danger, and shatter her oldest friendship. Compact, compelling, and ferociously sad, The Burning Girl is at once a story about childhood, friendship and community, and a complex examination of the stories we tell ourselves about childhood and friendship. Claire Messud brilliantly mixes folklore and Bildungsroman, exploring the ways in which our made-up stories, and their consequences, become real.

Sphere

Before Evil

Alex Kava
Authors:
Alex Kava
Little, Brown

Summary Justice

John Fairfax
Authors:
John Fairfax
Little, Brown

Curiosities from the College Museum

Anonymous
Authors:
Anonymous
Sphere

A Boy Made of Blocks

Keith Stuart
Authors:
Keith Stuart

***THE RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB 2017 BESTSELLER***'The publishing sensation of the year: a compelling, uplifting and heart-rending debut novel'Mail on SundayThe number one Amazon bestseller A Boy Made of Blocks is a moving, funny and heartwarming story of family and love inspired by the author's own experiences with his son, the perfect latest obsession for fans of The Rosie Project, David Nicholls and Jojo Moyes. A father who rediscovers love Alex loves his wife Jody, but has forgotten how to show it. He loves his son Sam, but doesn't understand him. He needs a reason to grab his future with both hands.A son who shows him how to live Meet eight-year-old Sam: beautiful, surprising - and different. To him the world is a frightening mystery. But as his imagination comes to life, his family will be changed . . . for good.Keith Stuart's magical and moving second novel Days of Wonder is available to pre-order now. 'One of those wonderful books that makes you laugh and cry at the same time' Good Housekeeping 'Funny, expertly plotted and written with enormous heart. Readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project will love A Boy Made of Blocks - I did'Graeme Simsion 'Very funny, incredibly poignant and full of insight. Awesome.' Jenny Colgan 'Heartwarming' The Unmumsy Mum 'A wonderful, warm, insightful novel about family, friendship and love' Daily Mail 'A great plot, with a rare sense of honesty' Guardian 'A truly beautiful story' Heat 'A heartwarming and wise story' Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of The Last Act of Love

Corsair

Diary of an Oxygen Thief

Anonymous
Authors:
Anonymous
Robinson

Speak My Language, and Other Stories

Torsten Højer
Authors:
Torsten Højer
FaithWords

Balm of Gilead

Adina Senft
Authors:
Adina Senft
Abacus

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry

Gabrielle Zevin
Authors:
Gabrielle Zevin

Originally published as The Collected Works of A. J. Fikry."Who the hell are you?" A.J. asks the baby. For no apparent reason, she stops crying and smiles at him. "Maya," she answers. That was easy, A.J. thinks. "How old are you?" he asks. Maya holds up two fingers. "You're two?" Maya smiles again and holds up her arms to him." A.J. Fikry, the grumpy owner of Island Books, is going through a hard time: his bookshop is failing, he has lost his beloved wife, and a prized rare first edition has been stolen. But one day A.J. finds two-year-old Maya sitting on the bookshop floor, with a note attached to her asking the owner to look after her. His life - and Maya's - is changed forever.

Corsair

I Am Max Lamm

Raphael Brous
Authors:
Raphael Brous

A young tennis prodigy with a wildcard to the US open, Max Lamm's future looks bright . . . until footage of him enjoying a night of passion with a Salvadorean prostitute in New York appears on the Internet, and categorically derails his career. After a bungled suicide attempt in the Hudson River, he decides to flee America and begin a new life in London. But Max is jinxed. One night, in Camden, he accidentally kills a fifteen-year-old Pakistani boy who tries to mug him -inadvertently sparking the worst race riots seen in the East End of the capital in over a generation. On the run, Max finally finds refuge beneath Hyde Park. Deep underground, with chaos raging in the streets above, he tries to plot his salvation. I am Max Lamm is a darkly humorous exploration of family loyalty, disgrace and collective hysteria in an age of terror.

Corsair

They Eat Puppies, Don't They?

Christopher Buckley
Authors:
Christopher Buckley

In an attempt to gain Congressional approval for a top secret weapons system, Washington lobbyist "Bird" McIntyre and sexy Neo-Con wonkette Angel Templeton start a rumour that the Chinese secret service is trying to assassinate the Dalai Lama. Their outrageous scheme provokes a series of crises involving the White House, the CIA, and a strangely sympathetic and vulnerable Chinese president, with both countries veering perilously towards war.Buckley has drawn his most convincing and outrageous characters to date: Bird, failed novelist of amusingly awful Clancy-esque thrillers; Angel, combination Anne Coulter and Ayn Rand; Bird's demanding, equestrian wife, Myndi; Bewks, his feckless but endearing Civil War re-enactor brother; the mild-mannered Chinese President Fa and his devoted aide Gang, manoeuvring desperately against sinister Politburo hard-liners Minister Lo and General Han. Blending the skewering genius of Thank You For Smoking with Dr. Strangelove's dark comedy, They Eat Puppies Don't They? has something to offend -- and amuse -- everyone.Praise for Christopher Buckely: "One of the funniest writers in the English language." Tom Wolfe."A Benchley with WordPerfect." John Updike."An effervescent joy." Joseph Heller.

Canvas

The Paradise Guest House

Ellen Sussman
Authors:
Ellen Sussman
Sphere

A Walk To Remember

Nicholas Sparks
Authors:
Nicholas Sparks
Canvas

Naked Angel

Logan Belle
Authors:
Logan Belle
Grand Central Publishing

Shattered

Kia Dupree
Authors:
Kia Dupree
Canvas

The Dark Glamour

Gabriella Pierce
Authors:
Gabriella Pierce