Fiona Melrose - Johannesburg - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472152848
    • Publication date:03 Aug 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472152855
    • Publication date:03 Aug 2017

Johannesburg

By Fiona Melrose

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

Set during a single day in Johannesburg - the day of Nelson Mandela's death - Melrose's second novel is a hymn to an extraordinary city and its people, an ambitious homage to Virginia Woolf's Mrs Dalloway, and a devastating personal and political manifesto on love.

6 December 2013. Johannesburg.

Gin has returned home from New York to throw a party for her mother's eightieth birthday; a few blocks away, at the Residence, Nelson Mandela's family prepares to announce Tata's death...

So begins Johannesburg, Fiona Melrose's searing second novel.

An irascible mother, an anxious daughter trying to negotiate her birthplace and her past, her former lover, their domestic workers, a homeless hunchback fighting for justice, a mining magnate, a troubled novelist called Virginia - these are the characters who give voice to the city on a day hot with nerves and tension and history.

Set across the course of a single day, responsive to Virginia Woolf's Mrs Dalloway, Johannesburg is a profound hymn to an extraordinary city, and a devastating personal and political manifesto on love.

Biographical Notes

Fiona Melrose was born in Johannesburg but has spent the majority of her adult life in the UK, first in London and then in East Anglia. Previously Fiona has worked in academia, NGO's, public affairs and as an emerging markets analyst. She continues to keep a foot in both continents and is currently spending the majority of her time back in South Africa.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472152831
  • Publication date: 03 Aug 2017
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Corsair
Sphere

Million Love Songs

Little, Brown

Tangerine

Christine Mangan
Authors:
Christine Mangan
Fleet

Black Teeth and a Brilliant Smile

Adelle Stripe
Authors:
Adelle Stripe
Forever

Sugarplum Way

Debbie Mason
Authors:
Debbie Mason

Former DEA agent Aidan Gallagher has moved back to Harmony Harbor in hopes of winning shared custody of his seven-year-old daughter. He also hopes that finding the person responsible for the deaths of his mother and sister and bringing them to justice will give him the closure he needs. So he reopens the case, and the beautiful Julia Landon quickly becomes a person of interest... not only as a suspect. Julia Landon has a secret, a secret she has kept for eight long years. But when Aiden comes back to town, Julia can't help but fall for him and his adorable daughter. She knows that now more than ever she must hide the truth about what happened on the night of the drunk driving accident that killed Aidan's family. But with a little Christmas magic, maybe Julia can help Aiden find the forgiveness he needs...

Hachette Audio

Seven Days of Us

Francesca Hornak
Authors:
Francesca Hornak
Little, Brown

The House of Unexpected Sisters

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith

Corsair

The Locals

Jonathan Dee
Authors:
Jonathan Dee
Sphere

Two by Two

Nicholas Sparks
Authors:
Nicholas Sparks
Sphere

Before I Was Yours

Virginia Macgregor
Authors:
Virginia Macgregor

'A future classic'Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go, on What Milo SawSam and Rosie Keep have always wanted children of their own but life hasn't worked out that way for them. The only option available to them now is adoption: they'll do anything to have a child to love.Seven-year-old Jonah is far away from home and his mama promised he'd be looked after in England. But the man who's meant to be taking care of him has disappeared and now Jonah's all alone.When Sam and Rosie meet Jonah they're certain they've found their son, and open their home and their hearts to him. Finally, their family is complete.And then the unthinkable happens and life changes for all three members of the Keep family. Suddenly Sam and Rosie must answer an impossible question: how far are they willing to go for a child who isn't really theirs?

Sphere

Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses

'A gorgeous novel that will delight' Katie FfordeA heart-warming and poignant novel of romance, family and second chances, Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses is Sunday Times bestselling Carole Matthews at her outstanding best. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson.Christie Chapman is a single working mother who spends her days commuting to her secretarial job in London and looking after her teenage son, Finn. It can be tough just getting through the day but Christie has always found comfort in her love of crafting and any spare time she has is spent in her parents' summerhouse working on her beautiful creations. From intricately designed birthday cards to personalised gifts, Christie's flair for the handmade knows no bounds and it's not long before opportunity comes knocking. All of a sudden Christie sees a different future for her and Finn - one full of hope and possibility, and if the handsome Max Alexander is to be believed, one full of love too. It's all there for the taking.And then, all of sudden, Christie's world is turned upside down. Christie knows that something has to give, but what will she choose? Will she give up her dreams and the chance of real love? What price will she pay for doing the right thing? Can Christie find her happy ending in . . . Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses.

Corsair

Midwinter

Fiona Melrose
Authors:
Fiona Melrose

LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS PRIZE FOR FICTION 2017'Finely judged writing like this comes from a place of instinct, and it marks Melrose out as someone to watch . . . Midwinter is a great success' Melissa Harrison, Guardian Father and Son, Landyn and Vale Midwinter, are Suffolk farmers, living together on land their family has worked for generations. But they are haunted there by a past they have long refused to confront: the death of Cecelia, beloved wife and mother, when Vale was just a child. Both men have carried her loss, unspoken. Until now.With the onset of a mauling winter, something between them snaps.While Vale makes increasingly desperate decisions, Landyn retreats, finding solace in the land, his animals - and a vixen who haunts the farm and seems to bring with her both comfort and protection.Tender and lyrical, alive to language and nature, Midwinter is a novel about guilt, blame, lost opportunities and, ultimately, it is a story about love and the lengths we will go to find our way home.Longlisted for the New Angle Prize 2017'Melrose elegantly weaves narratives detailing the men's internal tumult with lush descriptions of their natural surroundings . . . A moving story about the cruelty of chance, modern masculinity and the transformative power of the bonds between men' Financial Times'I have rarely read a narrative voice as distinctive as Landyn's, and the loving depiction of regional English working-class masculinity is unusual and timely . . . This is certainly not a light-hearted book, but it offers the true consolation of some very good writing' Sarah Moss, TLS'A penetrating study of grief and guilt' Daily Mail

Sphere

The Return of Norah Wells

Virginia Macgregor
Authors:
Virginia Macgregor

'A future classic'Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go, on What Milo SawOne family. Two mothers. Which one will they choose? A moving family drama perfect for fans of Dorothy Koomson, Harriet Evans and Lisa Jewell.One ordinary morning, Norah Wells walked out of her house on Willoughby Street and never looked back. Six years later, she returns to the home she left only to find another woman in her place. Fay held Norah's family together after she disappeared, she shares a bed with Norah's husband and Norah's youngest daughter calls Fay 'Mummy'.Now that Norah has returned, everyone has questions. Where has she been? Why did she leave? And why is she back? As each member of the family tries to find the answers they need, they must also face up to the most pressing question of all - what happens to The Mother Who Stayed when The Mother Who Left comes back?Powerful, emotional and perceptive, The Return of Norah Wells is a novel about what it takes to hold a family together and what you're willing to sacrifice for the ones you love.*Originally published with the title The Astonishing Return of Norah Wells*

Sphere

Career of Evil

Robert Galbraith
Authors:
Robert Galbraith
Sphere

The Chocolate Lovers' Wedding

Sphere

Trust

Mike Bullen
Authors:
Mike Bullen

The debut novel from BAFTA Award-winning writer of TV's COLD FEET: a laugh-out-loud tale of contemporary relationships, this is perfect for anyone who has ever fallen in love. Or out of love. Or back in love again.'Trust wasn't something you could have in degrees; it was all or nothing...'Greg and Amanda are happy. They've been together thirteen years and have two young daughters. They're very much in love. Dan and Sarah aren't so fortunate. Their marriage is going through the motions and they're just staying together for the sake of their son.When one bad decision sends a happy couple into turmoil and turns an unhappy couple into love's young dream, there's only one thing that can keep everything from falling apart: trust.Praise for TRUST:'A smart and fun story about relationships from the creator of Cold Feet' (Heat) 'A funny, poignant and complex story of what happens to relationships when trust breaks down, beautifully handled by an accomplished writer' (Carole Matthews)'Move over David Nicholls. For here's a serious contender for your contemporary-urban-ironic crown. A comic tour de force, brimming with wit and weary wisdom' (Daily Mail)'A brilliantly funny debut novel about mid-life relationships from the creator of Cold Feet' (The Pool)

Sphere

What Milo Saw

Virginia Macgregor
Authors:
Virginia Macgregor
Sphere

The Chocolate Lovers' Christmas

Virago

Circling the Sun

Paula McLain
Authors:
Paula McLain
Sphere

The Cake Shop in the Garden

***PRE-ORDER CAROLE'S SENSATIONAL SEASONAL SEQUEL! CHRISTMAS CAKES & MISTLETOE NIGHTS COMING THIS OCTOBER***What readers are saying about The Cake Shop in the Garden:'A novel with heart''Brilliant. A relaxing book to read''I loved reading every part of this book and didn't want it to end''I could not put this book down''Would make a great film!''Carole at her very best'The scrumptious Cake Shop in the Garden is Carole Matthews' bestselling book ever! Perfect for fans of Milly Johnson and Jill Mansell.Fay Merryweather runs her cake shop from her beautiful garden. She whips up airy sponges and scrumptious scones, while her customers enjoy the lovely blossoms and gorgeous blooms. Looking after the cake shop, the garden and her cantankerous mother means Fay is always busy but she accepts her responsibilities because if she doesn't do all this, who will?Then Danny Wilde walks into her life and makes Fay question every decision she's ever made.When a sudden tragedy strikes, Fay's entire world is thrown off balance even further and she doesn't know which way to turn. Can Fay find the strength to make a life-changing decision - even if it means giving up the thing she loves the most? Life, love and family are about to collide in The Cake Shop in the Garden.

Sphere

The Silver Collection