Jonathan Dee - The Locals - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472151933
    • Publication date:10 Aug 2017
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472151926
    • Publication date:10 Aug 2017

The Locals

By Jonathan Dee

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A rural, working class New England town elects as its mayor a New York hedge fund millionaire in this urgent and inspired novel for our times.

A rural, working class New England town elects as its mayor a New York hedge fund millionaire in this urgent and inspired novel for our times.

Mark Firth is a home builder in Howland, Massachusetts who, after being swindled by a financial advisor, feels opportunity passing him and his family by. What future can he promise to his wife Karen and their young daughter Haley? When a wealthy money manager, Philip Hadi, moves to Howland to escape post-9/11 New York, he hires Mark to turn his his house into a secure location. The collision of these two men's very different worlds -- rural vs urban, middle class vs rich -- propels Jonathan Dee's powerful new novel. After the town's first selectman passes away suddenly, Hadi runs for office and begins subtly transforming the town in his image with unexpected results for Mark and his extended family. THE LOCALS is that rare work of fiction capable of capturing a fraught American moment in real time. It is also a novel that is timeless in its depiction of American small town life.

Biographical Notes

Jonathan Dee is the author of seven novels, including The Locals, A Thousand Pardons, and The Privileges, which was a finalist for the 2011 Pulitzer Prize. A recipient of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Guggenheim Foundation, he teaches in the graduate writing program at Syracuse University.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472151940
  • Publication date: 10 Aug 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Corsair
Sphere

It Was Her

Mark Hill
Authors:
Mark Hill
Little, Brown Young Readers US

CatStronauts: Robot Rescue

Drew Brockington
Authors:
Drew Brockington
Hachette Books

The Clear Skin Diet

Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson
Authors:
Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson

From YouTube rising stars Nina and Randa Nelson comes the doctor-approved, clinically-tested, low-fat vegan diet that instantly and dramatically transformed their skin.The Clear Skin Diet is the natural and safe solution to banish acne and remain acne-free for good. The vegan diet, developed by twin actors and social media stars Nina and Randa Nelson (whose careers and personal lives were nearly destroyed by out of control acne) teaches people how to naturally conquer acne once and for all.Before they created The Clear Skin Diet, Nina and Randa and-tried nearly everything to deal with their acne-expensive facials, lotions, antibiotics, and other painful procedures. Several doctors told them their only hope for recovery was Accutane. So they decided to try to deal with their problem from the inside out-by changing their diet. Their dietary intervention worked, and there has been no stopping them since. The girls now share the good news about how they achieved beautiful skin without drugs with millions of people across the world, many of whom write regularly with their own heart-warming success stories. The recipes Nina and Randa created for The Clear Skin Diet are based on diets eaten by a variety of people around the world who have no acne in their society, such as Papua New Guinea, Eastern Paraguay, and rural South Africa. The food is healthy, starch-based, low-fat, inexpensive, and delicious. An acne solution and easy diet, all in one.

Life and Style

The Freds at Barneys New York Cookbook

Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield
Authors:
Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield
Sphere

What We Did

Christobel Kent
Authors:
Christobel Kent
Running Press Kids

The Battle of Junk Mountain

Lauren Abbey Greenberg
Authors:
Lauren Abbey Greenberg
Orbit

The Skaar Invasion: Book Two of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks

Following The Black Elfstone comes the second book in the triumphant four-part conclusion to the Shannara series, from one of the all-time masters of fantasy.Tensions in the Four Lands are high. The mysterious force that laid waste to Paranor has revealed a more human face. While some gain a new understanding of the invaders and what they are after, others continue their existing quests even as the peril rises. For what looked to be a formidable invading force proves only the forerunner of a much vaster army - one that is now marching against the Four Lands in all its fury.'Terry's place is at the head of the fantasy world' Phillip Pullman'I can't even begin to count how many of Terry Brooks's books I've read (and re-read) over the years' Patrick Rothfuss'I would not be writing epic fantasy today if not for Shannara' Peter V. Brett'A master of the craft . . . required reading' Brent Weeks

Running Press Mini Editions

By Hand

Nicole Miyuki Santo
Authors:
Nicole Miyuki Santo

Learn the art of modern hand lettering, and create adorable banners, with By Hand: A Modern Lettering Kit!This kit includes:* Miniature watercolor brush.* Two pots of watercolor paint.* 10 miniature banner sheets, with holes for hanging.* 20 printed, instructional art paper cards.* 10 blank art paper cards.* White string for banners.* 32-page miniature book.

Corsair

Felicity

Mary Oliver
Authors:
Mary Oliver
Corsair

A Thousand Mornings

Mary Oliver
Authors:
Mary Oliver
Corsair

Future Home of the Living God

Louise Erdrich
Authors:
Louise Erdrich
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Star Thief

Lindsey Becker
Authors:
Lindsey Becker

Honorine's life as as maid at the Vidalia mansion is rather dull, dusting treasures from faraway places and daydreaming in front of maps of the world. But everything changes when she catches two brutish sailors ransacking Lord Vidalia's study, and then follows a mysterious girl with wings out into the night....Suddenly, Honorine is whisked into the middle of a battle between the crew of a spectacular steamship and a band of mythical constellations. The stars in the sky have come to life to defend themselves against those who want to harness their powers. Much to her surprise, Honorine is the crux of it all, the center of an epic clash between magic and science, the old ways and the new. But can this spirited young girl bring both sides of a larger-than-life fight together before they unleash an evil power even older than the stars?

Sphere

Out of Bounds

Val McDermid
Authors:
Val McDermid
Piatkus

The Hating Game: 2017's funniest romcom

Sally Thorne
Authors:
Sally Thorne

'Warm, witty and wise.' The Daily Mail'The next Sophie Kinsella.' Bustle'Charming, self-deprecating, quick-witted and funny.' The New York Times'I made a mistake when I first met Joshua: I smiled at him.My best sunny smile with all my teeth, my eyes sparkling with stupid optimism. His eyes scanned me from the top of my head to the soles of my shoes. Then he looked away out the window. He did not smile back, and somehow I feel like he's been carrying my smile around in his breast pocket ever since. He's one up.'Lucy Hutton, baker-of-cakes and usually a determined people-pleaser, has finally had enough. Joshua Templeman is officially her nemesis. Over months in a shared office they've faced off against each other and now that a big promotion is up for grabs, it's time to take him down. But as the tension between Lucy and Joshua reaches its boiling point, it's clear that the real battle has only just begun . . . Perfect for fans of Fiona Gibson's THE WOMAN WHO MET HER MATCH, Christina Lauren's DATING YOU HATING YOU and Sarra Manning's UNSTICKY'A smart and funny modern romance.' Good Housekeeping**RT REVIEWERS CHOICE WINNER****iBooks Best Romance 2016****Amazon Pick Best Romance 2016**

Piatkus

Duchess in Love

Eloisa James
Authors:
Eloisa James
Da Capo Press

Queens of Noise

Evelyn McDonnell
Authors:
Evelyn McDonnell
Corsair

The Liberty Campaign

Jonathan Dee
Authors:
Jonathan Dee

Gene Trowbridge, a successful advertising executive, fills the days before his retirement assessing his past and contemplating the future, increasingly aware of his own irrelevance in a field dominated by the very young. But a chance meeting with Albert Ferdinand, a reclusive neighbour who wins his regard and friendship, upsets the tenuous balance of Gene's cosseted world. Spurred on by a persistent journalist and overwhelmed by his instinctive liking and acceptance of a man apparently capable of indescribable evil, Gene is drawn into a suspenseful search for the truth about Ferdinand's past.The Liberty Campaign is a riveting, multilayered portrait of an ordinary man whose moral universe is tested by a situation that defies the parameters of his decidedly American upbringing and sensibility.

Abacus

A Shed Of One's Own

Marcus Berkmann
Authors:
Marcus Berkmann
Piatkus

Beyond Temptation

Audrey Boss, Sophie Boss
Authors:
Audrey Boss, Sophie Boss
Piatkus

Chaos in Death/Possession in Death

J. D. Robb
Authors:
J. D. Robb

Two exclusive J.D. Robb short stories.Possession in DeathAfter a Russian woman whispers her dying words to Eve Dallas, strange things begin to happen. Unable to concentrate on anything, Eve realises that in order to reclaim her mind, she must find the woman's great-granddaughter - one of a string of young missing girls, forgotten by all.Set between Indulgence in Death and Treachery in Death.Chaos in DeathWhen eye-witness testimony paints the killer as a green skinned monster, with swollen red eyes and goblin ears, even Eve Dallas is shaken. But as she gets closer, the trail suggests something even more disturbing - someone is playing at science . . .Set between New York to Dallas and Celebrity in Death.