Jonathan Dee - The Locals - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472151933
    • Publication date:10 Aug 2017
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472151926
    • Publication date:10 Aug 2017

The Locals

By Jonathan Dee

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A rural, working class New England town elects as its mayor a New York hedge fund millionaire in this urgent and inspired novel for our times.

A rural, working class New England town elects as its mayor a New York hedge fund millionaire in this urgent and inspired novel for our times.

Mark Firth is a home builder in Howland, Massachusetts who, after being swindled by a financial advisor, feels opportunity passing him and his family by. What future can he promise to his wife Karen and their young daughter Haley? When a wealthy money manager, Philip Hadi, moves to Howland to escape post-9/11 New York, he hires Mark to turn his his house into a secure location. The collision of these two men's very different worlds -- rural vs urban, middle class vs rich -- propels Jonathan Dee's powerful new novel. After the town's first selectman passes away suddenly, Hadi runs for office and begins subtly transforming the town in his image with unexpected results for Mark and his extended family. THE LOCALS is that rare work of fiction capable of capturing a fraught American moment in real time. It is also a novel that is timeless in its depiction of American small town life.

Biographical Notes

Jonathan Dee is the author of seven novels, including The Locals, A Thousand Pardons, and The Privileges, which was a finalist for the 2011 Pulitzer Prize. A recipient of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Guggenheim Foundation, he teaches in the graduate writing program at Syracuse University.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472151940
  • Publication date: 10 Aug 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Corsair
Sphere

Untitled Carole Matthews 3

Corsair

Future Home of the Living God

Louise Erdrich
Authors:
Louise Erdrich
Abacus

My Italian Bulldozer

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith

Virago

Love & Fame

Susie Boyt
Authors:
Susie Boyt

Susie Boyt's sixth novel is the story of the first year of a marriage. Eve a nervous young actress from a powerful theatrical dynasty has found herself married to an international expert on anxiety called Jim. Could it work? Should it work? Must the show always go on? This is a highly-strung comedy about love, fame, grief, showbusiness and the depths of the gutter press. Its witty and sincere tone - familiar to fans of Susie's newspaper column - will delight and unnerve in equal measure.

Little, Brown US

Fly Me

Daniel Riley
Authors:
Daniel Riley
Little, Brown US

Swell

Jill Eisenstadt
Authors:
Jill Eisenstadt
Fleet

Everything You Do Is Wrong

Amanda Coe
Authors:
Amanda Coe

'Do You Know This Girl?'Harmony's teenage craving for drama is answered when a body is discovered by her aunt Mel on Evensand beach. But the naked, lifeless young woman turns out - problematically - to be alive. Unable to speak or remember where she came from, the woman is named Storm by her nurses. Surrounded by doctors, psychiatrists and policemen, Storm remains provocatively silent. Harmony is desperate to fill in the gaps in Storm's story, while the responsibility Mel feels for the woman she rescued begins to skew the course of her own settled life. Their efforts to solve the mystery clash with the efforts of rookie constable Mason, assigned to the case and determined to help this damsel he feels to be very much in distress.Will any of them be able to find out who Storm really is? And what if the distress belongs to everyone but her?Everything You Do Is Wrong is a compelling exploration of how this enigma sets a family's good and bad intentions crashing into each other, with unforgettable consequences.

Hachette Audio

Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights

Join Fay and her friends this Christmas and indulge in this wonderful, cake-filled novel of romance and friendship. Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights is Sunday Times bestselling Carole Matthews doing what she does best! Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson.Fay and Danny are madly in love and it's all Fay's ever dreamed of. But she left everything - including the delightful cake shop she used to run - to be with Danny on his cosy canal boat The Dreamcatcher. And as she soon finds out, making delicious cakes on the water isn't always smooth sailing!Then Fay gets a call from her friends, a call that sends her back to where it all began, back to where she first met Danny, back to her friends and the Cake Shop in the Garden. It will be hard being away from Danny but their relationship is strong enough to survive . . . isn't it?Fay soon falls happily back in love with her passion for baking - especially now she's on dry land again! - and starts to wonder if she ever should have left. With Christmas around the corner, Fay is determined that her friends will have a very merry time, but does that mean even more time away from Danny? Can Fay really get everything she ever wanted in Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights.

Corsair

Under the Frog

Tibor Fischer
Authors:
Tibor Fischer
Corsair

Don't Read This If You're Stupid

Tibor Fischer
Authors:
Tibor Fischer
Corsair

The Thought Gang

Tibor Fischer
Authors:
Tibor Fischer

Sphere

The Last Flag Flying

Darryl Ponicsán
Authors:
Darryl Ponicsán

Sphere

The Last Detail

Darryl Ponicsán
Authors:
Darryl Ponicsán

Little, Brown

The House of Unexpected Sisters

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith
Abacus

English Animals

Laura Kaye
Authors:
Laura Kaye
Constable

A Cold Case in Amsterdam Central

Anja de Jager
Authors:
Anja de Jager
Little, Brown

Little Fires Everywhere

Celeste Ng
Authors:
Celeste Ng

'I read Little Fires Everywhere in a single, breathless sitting' Jodi Picoult'Witty, wise and tender. It's a marvel' Paula HawkinsThe brilliant new novel from the author of the New York Times bestseller, Everything I Never Told You. Everyone in Shaker Heights was talking about it that summer: how Isabelle, the last of the Richardson children, had finally gone around the bend and burned the house down. In Shaker Heights, a placid, progressive suburb of Cleveland, everything is meticulously planned - from the layout of the winding roads, to the colours of the houses, to the successful lives its residents will go on to lead. And no one embodies this spirit more than Elena Richardson, whose guiding principal is playing by the rules.Enter Mia Warren - an enigmatic artist and single mother- who arrives in this idyllic bubble with her teenage daughter Pearl, and rents a house from the Richardsons. Soon Mia and Pearl become more than just tenants: all four Richardson children are drawn to the alluring mother-daughter pair. But Mia carries with her a mysterious past, and a disregard for the rules that threatens to upend this carefully ordered community.When the Richardsons' friends attempt to adopt a Chinese-American baby, a custody battle erupts that dramatically divides the town and puts Mia and Mrs. Richardson on opposing sides. Suspicious of Mia and her motives, Mrs. Richardson becomes determined to uncover the secrets in Mia's past. But her obsession will come at unexpected and devastating costs to her own family - and Mia's. Little Fires Everywhere explores the weight of long-held secrets and the ferocious pull of motherhood-and the danger of believing that planning and following the rules can avert disaster, or heartbreak.

Corsair

Midwinter

Fiona Melrose
Authors:
Fiona Melrose

'Finely judged writing like this comes from a place of instinct, and it marks Melrose out as someone to watch . . . Midwinter is a great success' Melissa Harrison, Guardian Father and Son, Landyn and Vale Midwinter, are Suffolk farmers, living together on land their family has worked for generations. But they are haunted there by a past they have long refused to confront: the death of Cecelia, beloved wife and mother, when Vale was just a child. Both men have carried her loss, unspoken. Until now.With the onset of a mauling winter, something between them snaps.While Vale makes increasingly desperate decisions, Landyn retreats, finding solace in the land, his animals - and a vixen who haunts the farm and seems to bring with her both comfort and protection.Tender and lyrical, alive to language and nature, Midwinter is a novel about guilt, blame, lost opportunities and, ultimately, it is a story about love and the lengths we will go to find our way home.'Melrose elegantly weaves narratives detailing the men's internal tumult with lush descriptions of their natural surroundings . . . A moving story about the cruelty of chance, modern masculinity and the transformative power of the bonds between men' Financial Times'I have rarely read a narrative voice as distinctive as Landyn's, and the loving depiction of regional English working-class masculinity is unusual and timely . . . This is certainly not a light-hearted book, but it offers the true consolation of some very good writing' Sarah Moss, TLS'A penetrating study of grief and guilt' Daily Mail

Sphere

Nineteen Letters

Jodi Perry
Authors:
Jodi Perry

Sphere

Before I Was Yours

Virginia Macgregor
Authors:
Virginia Macgregor

'A future classic'Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go, on What Milo SawSam and Rosie Keep have always wanted children of their own but life hasn't worked out that way for them. The only option available to them now is adoption: they'll do anything to have a child to love.Seven-year-old Jonah is far away from home and his mama promised he'd be looked after in England. But the man who's meant to be taking care of him has disappeared and now Jonah's all alone.When Sam and Rosie meet Jonah they're certain they've found their son, and open their home and their hearts to him. Finally, their family is complete.And then the unthinkable happens and life changes for all three members of the Keep family. Suddenly Sam and Rosie must answer an impossible question: how far are they willing to go for a child who isn't really theirs?