Mick Dawson - Rowing the Pacific - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472140418
    • Publication date:21 Sep 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405539227
    • Publication date:21 Sep 2017

Rowing the Pacific

7,000 Miles from Japan to San Francisco

By Mick Dawson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The thrilling story of Mick Dawson's most challenging rowing feats in the open ocean, culminating in his greatest achievement: rowing 7,000 miles across the North Pacific Ocean, from Japan to San Francisco.

Storms, fatigue, equipment failure, intense hunger, and lack of water are just a few of the challenges that ocean rower Mick Dawson endured whilst attempting to complete one of the World's 'Last Great Firsts'.

In this nail-biting true story of man versus nature, former Royal Marine commando Dawson, a Guinness World Record-holder for ocean-rowing and high-seas adventurer takes on the Atlantic and ultimately the North Pacific.

It took Dawson three attempts and a back-breaking voyage of over six months to finally cross the mighty North Pacific for the first time. Dawson and his rowing partner Chris Martin spent 189 days, 10 hours and 55 minutes rowing around the clock, facing the destruction of their small boat and near-certain death every mile of the way, before finally reaching the iconic span of San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge.

Dawson's thrilling account of his epic adventure details how he and Chris propelled their fragile craft, stroke by stroke for thousands of miles across some of the most dangerous expanses of ocean, overcoming failure, personal tragedy and everything that nature could throw at him along the way.

Biographical Notes

MICK DAWSON is one of the most experienced and successful ocean rowers in the world. To date, he has spent over 440 days at sea in rowing boats, covering a distance of over 18,000 nautical miles. He is a former Royal Marines commando, who saw active service both in the Falklands War and the Middle East. His lifelong passion for the ocean continued after his time in the Royal Marines when he went on to become a professional sailor and ultimately record-breaking ocean rower. He is currently working with veterans on maritime projects to assist with their recovery from PTSD and combat injuries.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472140395
  • Publication date: 21 Sep 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Robinson
Orbit

Beyond the Empire

K. B. Wagers
Authors:
K. B. Wagers

The adrenaline-fueled, explosive conclusion to the Indranan War trilogy by K. B. Wagers.Gunrunner-turned-Empress Hail Bristol was dragged back to her home planet to take her rightful place in the palace. Her sisters and parents have been murdered, and the Indranan Empire is reeling from both treasonous plots and foreign invasion.Now, on the run from enemies on all fronts, Hail prepares to fight a full-scale war for her throne and her people, even as she struggles with the immense weight of the legacy thrust upon her. With the aid of a motley crew of allies old and new, she must return home to face off with the same powerful enemies who killed her family and aim to destroy everything and everyone she loves. Untangling a legacy of lies and restoring peace to Indrana will require an empress's wrath and a gunrunner's justice.Beyond the Empire is the adrenalin-fueled conclusion to the Indranan War space adventure trilogy by K. B. Wagers - perfect for fans of Star Wars.

Orbit

Jade City

Fonda Lee
Authors:
Fonda Lee

TWO CRIME FAMILIES, ONE SOURCE OF POWER: JADE. Jade is the lifeblood of the city of Janloon - a stone that enhances a warrior's natural strength and speed. Jade is mined, traded, stolen and killed for, controlled by the ruthless No Peak and Mountain families. When a modern drug emerges that allows anyone - even foreigners - to wield jade, simmering tension between the two families erupts into open violence. The outcome of this clan war will determine the fate of all in the families, from their grandest patriarch to even the lowliest motorcycle runner on the streets. Jade City is an epic tale of blood, family, honour, and of those who live and die by ancient laws in a changing world.

Orbit

The Eternity War: Pariah

Jamie Sawyer
Authors:
Jamie Sawyer
Orbit

Successor's Promise

Trudi Canavan
Authors:
Trudi Canavan

International No.1 bestselling author Trudi Canavan returns with the third instalment in the Millennium's Rule series - her most powerful and thrilling adventure yet.Five years have passed since the Rebels confronted the Raen. Five years, in which Qall - the boy Rielle rescued - has grown up among the Travellers, with no memory of the life that was stolen from him.Five years of chaos, barely contained by Baluka and the Restorers. Worlds are at war, some overrun by deadly machines, some drained of magic by power-hungry sorcerers.As Qall comes of age, and Rielle and Tyen's hard-won peace is threatened, their loyalties are tested - and Qall's very existence is at stake.Because Dahli is still determined to restore Valhan to power, and he will stop at nothing to succeed. Escape to a new world. Discover the magic of Trudi Canavan.

Sphere

The Cuban Affair

Nelson DeMille
Authors:
Nelson DeMille
Orbit

Raising Fire

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett

Fans of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher will revel in this fiery tale of magic, mayhem and modern-day mythology.Life isn't treating Red Ben Garston well. He's lost everything he once held dear, including the love of his life. Still, at least he escaped the clutches of a malevolent spirit bent on total destruction. So there is that.Now Ben just wants to drink, and forget, and drink some more. But he can't. Not yet.Because someone is stirring up trouble. Someone who wants to unleash a powerful ancient magic that could bring the realm of mythology crashing into the modern world.If Ben fails to stop them, the world will burn - and that's the last thing he needs on his conscience.

Orbit

The Dragon Lords: False Idols

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins
Sphere

Shock Wave

Clive Cussler
Authors:
Clive Cussler

A hundred and forty years after a British ship wrecks on the way to an Australian penal colony and the survivors discover diamonds on the tropical island where they wash up, Maeve Fletcher, one of their descendants, is stranded on an island in Antarctica with a party of passengers after their cruise ship seemingly abandons them.Dirk Pitt, on an expedition to find the source of a deadly plague that is killing dolphins and seals in the Weddell Sea, finds Maeve and the passengers and rescues them from death. When Pitt later uncovers the cause of the plague, he discovers that Maeve's father, Arthur Dorsett, and her two sisters are responsible because of their diamond-mining technology. A deadly race develops to stop Dorsett from continuing his murderous mining operations and to head off a disaster that will kill millions. Pitt's struggle to foil Dorsett's ruthless plan to destroy the market for diamonds and thus gain a monopoly of his own takes him from harrowing adventures off the west coast of Canada to being cast adrift in the Tasman Sea.

Sphere

Flood Tide

Clive Cussler
Authors:
Clive Cussler

Tracking a notorious Chinese smuggler's activities leads Dirk Pitt from Washington State to Louisiana, where his quarry is constructing a huge shipping port in the middle of nowhere. Why has he chosen this unlikely location? The trail then leads to the race to find the site of the mysterious sinking of the ship that Chiang Kai-shek filled with treasure when he fled China in 1949, including the legendary boxes containing the bones of Peking Man that had vanished at the beginning of World War I. As Pitt prepares for a final showdown, he is faced with the most formidable foe he has ever encountered...

Orbit

Raid

K. S. Merbeth
Authors:
K. S. Merbeth

Clementine is a bounty-hunter in a world gone mad. Bound and gagged in her passenger seat is the most revered and reviled raider king in the eastern wastes. She can't cash him in and she can't let him go, so together they cross the wasteworld, following a dying road and dodging bloodthirsty raiders who either want to free Jedediah or claim him as their own. And in a world where lawlessness reigns, a tyrant worse than they could have ever imagined emerges to take the throne.

Hachette Audio

The Fifth Ward: First Watch

Dale Lucas
Authors:
Dale Lucas
Orbit

The Legion of Flame

Anthony Ryan
Authors:
Anthony Ryan
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Wonder at the Edge of the World

Nicole Helget
Authors:
Nicole Helget

In this captivating quest that spans the globe, a young girl who wants to know everything challenges her assumptions about family, loyalty, and friendship as she fights to save her father's legacy--and to begin creating her own.Hallelujah Wonder wants to become one of the first female scientists of the nineteenth century. She knows every specimen and rare artifact that her explorer father hid deep in a cave before he died, and she feels a great responsibility to protect the objects (particularly a mesmerizing and dangerous one called Medicine Head) from a wicked Navy captain who would use it for evil. Now she and her friend Eustace, a runaway slave, must set out on a sweeping adventure by land and by sea to the only place where no one will ever find the cursed relic... the cold of Antarctica.

Orbit

Bound

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka
Fleet

A Hope More Powerful than the Sea

Melissa Fleming
Authors:
Melissa Fleming

Orbit

A Blade of Black Steel

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall
Orbit

After the Crown

K. B. Wagers
Authors:
K. B. Wagers
Orbit

Babylon's Ashes

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Orbit

Fireborn

David Dalglish
Authors:
David Dalglish

The next breathtaking novel in the Seraphim series - a soaring new fantasy adventure from USA Today bestselling author, David Dalglish Bree and Kael Skyborn have seen their island invaded, their Seraphim disbanded and their royal family imprisoned. A rebellion grows from the ashes, demanding Bree to be their Phoenix, their symbol against Center's tyranny, and for Kael to find the doomsday prophet Johan and sway his cult to their side. Should they fail, the hope of their rebellion fails with them.

Orbit

Behind the Throne

K. B. Wagers
Authors:
K. B. Wagers

Meet Hail: Captain. Gunrunner. Fugitive.Quick, sarcastic, and lethal, Hailimi Bristol doesn't suffer fools gladly. She has made a name for herself in the galaxy for everything except what she was born to do: rule the Indranan Empire. That is, until two Trackers drag her back to her home planet to take her rightful place as the only remaining heir. But trading her ship for a palace has more dangers than Hail could have anticipated. Caught in a web of plots and assassination attempts, Hail can't do the one thing she did twenty years ago: run away. She'll have to figure out who murdered her sisters if she wants to survive.A gun smuggler inherits the throne in this Star Wars-style science fiction adventure from debut author K. B. Wagers. Full of action-packed space opera exploits and courtly conspiracy - not to mention an all-out galactic war - Behind the Throne will please fans of James S. A Corey, Becky Chambers and Lois McMaster Bujold, or anyone who wonders what would happen if a rogue like Han Solo were handed the keys to an empire . . .