B. E. Jones - Make Him Pay - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Make Him Pay

By B. E. Jones

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An irresistible, twisty thriller from the author of Where She Went, perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Gillian Flynn.

An irresistible, twisty thriller from the author of Where She Went, perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Gillian Flynn.

Jen's life is exactly how it should be. She has a steady job as a press officer for the police and a stable relationship with police inspector Dan, now her fiancé. But her stable life is thrown into turmoil when Jen receives a phone call from a mysterious woman that leaves her doubting everything. Convinced that Dan is having an affair, Jen retaliates and the next day finds her waking up in an empty bed, far from home, with a pounding headache and two used condoms beside her.

Feeling guilty, Jen reconciles with a contrite Dan and the wedding plans continue. But then a video of her having sex with the stranger surfaces.

Desperate to stop it being exposed to the public, Jen starts searching for the blackmailer. But as she does so, darker secrets begin to emerge and she starts to realise that there may be more to husband-to-be than she'd ever known . . .

~ Previously published as Holiday Money ~

Praise for B. E. Jones

'Claustrophobic and infused with menace. B. E. Jones creates a sinister world of secrets, twists and revelations' Alison Bruce

'I got completely sucked in by this . . . irresistible!' Catriona McPherson

'Bev Jones is a first class writer . . . I can thoroughly recommend this book' ***** Amazon Reviewer

'A gripping summer must-read! Addictive!' ***** Amazon Reviewer

Biographical Notes

B.E. Jones is a former journalist and police press officer, now a novelist and book obsessive. She was born in a small village in the South Wales valleys, north of Cardiff and started her journalism career with Trinity Mirror newspapers before becoming a broadcast journalist with BBC Wales Today.

She has worked on all aspects of crime reporting (as well as community news and features) producing stories and content for newspapers and live TV. Most recently she worked as a press officer for South Wales Police, dealing with the media and participating in criminal investigations, security operations and emergency planning. Perhaps unsurprisingly she channels these experiences of 'true crime,' and her insight into the murkier side of human nature, into her dark, psychological thrillers set in and around South Wales.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472129499
  • Publication date: 04 Oct 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Constable
Sphere

Dead End

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Blood Lines

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Trust Her

Jessica Vallance
Authors:
Jessica Vallance
Hachette Audio

Fear of Falling

Cath Staincliffe
Authors:
Cath Staincliffe
Constable

Halfway

B. E. Jones
Authors:
B. E. Jones
Constable

Fire

L.C. Tyler
Authors:
L.C. Tyler
Sphere

Death Watch

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Constable

Fear the Dark

B. E. Jones
Authors:
B. E. Jones
Constable

The Lies You Tell

B. E. Jones
Authors:
B. E. Jones
Sphere

Lethal White

Robert Galbraith
Authors:
Robert Galbraith
Piatkus

The Wedding From Hell: Part 2: The Reception

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Piatkus

The Wedding From Hell: Part 1: The Rehearsal Dinner

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Sphere

Home

Karen Dionne
Authors:
Karen Dionne

'Unlike anything else I've read. Haunting and unputdownable' Laura Marshall, number one bestselling author of Friend Request'Emotionally and intellectually thrilling, tremendously exciting' Sunday Express'If you only read one thriller this year, make it this' Clare Mackintosh, number one bestselling author of I Let You Go***THE KINDLE BESTSELLER AND SOON TO BE A MAJOR FILM***You'd recognise my mother's name if I told it to you. You'd wonder, briefly, where is she now? And didn't she have a daughter while she was missing?And whatever happened to the little girl? Helena's home is like anyone else's, with a husband and two daughters and a job she enjoys. But no one knows the truth about her dark and twisted childhood. Born into captivity and brought up in an isolated cabin until she was twelve, Helena was raised by her terrified, broken mother and the man who held them both prisoner - Helena's own father.Now with news that he has escaped from prison, Helena instinctively knows that her father is coming for her and if she wants to keep her family safe, she must find him - before he finds her. Even if that means returning to the darkest parts of her past, the scariest place imaginable, home.An unforgettable, read-in-one-sitting thriller packed with gripping suspense.__________'I loved this book' LEE CHILD 'Gorgeously written eerie suspense' KARIN SLAUGHTER 'SO GOOD' LAURA MARSHALL 'You won't be able to stop turning the pages' MEGAN ABBOTT 'A wonderful book... Mesmerising' ALEX MARWOOD 'A nail-biter' COSMOPOLITAN 'A knockout' SARAH HILARY 'I was absolutely gripped' GILLY MACMILLAN 'Eerie and breathtaking, terrific and terrifying' TÉA OBREHT 'Original and exciting, with a thrilling ending' MARK EDWARDSPreviously published as The Marsh King's Daughter

Fleet

Everything You Do Is Wrong

Amanda Coe
Authors:
Amanda Coe
Orbit

Provenance

Ann Leckie
Authors:
Ann Leckie

NOMINATED FOR THE HUGO AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL 2018 SHORTLISTED FOR THE BSFA (BRITISH SCIENCE FICTION ASSOCIATION) AWARDS 'Excellent' Book Smugglers 'A fitting addition to the Ancillary world' NPR 'Gripping . . . richly detailed and rewarding' SciFiNow 'Thrilling, out-of-this world stuff' Stylist Following her record-breaking debut trilogy, Ann Leckie, winner of the Hugo, Nebula, Arthur C. Clarke and Locus Awards, returns with a thrilling new story of power, theft, privilege and birthright. A power-driven young woman has just one chance to secure the status she craves and regain priceless lost artefacts prized by her people. She must free their thief from a prison planet from which no one has ever returned. Ingray and her charge will return to their home world to find their planet in political turmoil, at the heart of an escalating interstellar conflict. Together, they must make a new plan to salvage Ingray's future, her family, and her world, before they are lost to her for good. The Imperial Radch trilogy begins with Ancillary Justice, continues in Ancillary Sword and concludes with Ancillary Mercy. Also available now: Provenance is a stunning standalone adventure set in the same world as Ancillary Justice. NPR calls it 'A fitting addition to the Ancillary world'.

Constable

The Girl in the Green Dress

Cath Staincliffe
Authors:
Cath Staincliffe
Constable

Russian Roulette

Sara Sheridan
Authors:
Sara Sheridan

Brighton 1956When Mirabelle's on-off boyfriend, Superintendent Alan McGregor, is taken off a gruesome murder case because the key suspect is an old school friend, Mirabelle steps in to unravel the tangle of poisoned gin, call girls and high stakes gambling that surrounds the death. It isn't long before McGregor's integrity is called into question and Mirabelle finds herself doubting him. So when a wartime hero's body turns up on the Sussex Downs, she is glad that McGregor is caught up in a mystery of his own as Brighton's establishment closes ranks. Mirabelle is in a dangerous situation though and she doesn't have McGregor watching her back on this one. And when the dead man on the Downs turns out to have been a member of a deadly thrillseekers club, related to the earlier murder, Mirabelle is determined to uncover the truth and free the innocent people who are bearing the brunt of the cover up. As her relationship with McGregor reaches breaking point, she has to draw on all her wartime experience to stand up for what she believes in - even if it means their relationship may not survive.

Sphere

The Secrets She Keeps

Michael Robotham
Authors:
Michael Robotham

'A genuine page-turner and ideal holiday read. It leaves you unsettled and enthralled in equal measure' DAILY EXPRESS_____Everyone has an idea of what their perfect life is. For Agatha, it's Meghan Shaughnessy's.These two women from vastly different backgrounds have one thing in common - a dangerous secret that could destroy everything they hold dear.Both will risk everything to hide the truth, but their worlds are about to collide in a shocking act that cannot be undone.The compelling new psychological thriller that will break your heart into tiny pieces, from world-renowned author MICHAEL ROBOTHAM.'Two terrific female characters, both with secrets. Add Michael Robotham's clean prose and whipcrack pacing. The result? A book you won't be able to put down, although you may occasionally want to hide your eyes' STEPHEN KING____Praise for Michael Robotham's pulse-pounding writing:'Will have you turning the pages compulsively' The Times'Robotham doesn't just make me scared for his characters, he makes my heart ache for them' Linwood Barclay'Superbly exciting . . . a terrific read' Guardian'A nerve-shredding thriller with the heart and soul so often missing from lesser crime and suspense novels. I couldn't stop reading, yet I didn't want Audie's story to end. Robotham is an absolute master' Stephen King on Life or Death

Constable

The City of Lies

Michael Russell
Authors:
Michael Russell

Dublin 1940. An IRA attack leaves two guards dead on the streets of Dublin. Two days later, a battle between warring gangs erupts at a race meeting, and on Ireland's east coast the cremated bodies of a wealthy family of five are found in their shuttered, burned-out villa. Dispatched from Special Branch to investigate, Detective Inspector Stefan Gillespie soon finds himself caught in a web of Irish, British and German Intelligence - all playing against each other, all watching each other, and all plagued by rogue operators they can't quite control, as the certainty grows that Hitler is about to invade England. And then, Stephen is sent to Berlin on a sensitive mission. His journey home becomes a dangerous pursuit in which no one can be trusted and the information he carries puts his life on the line.

Sphere

Orchestrated Death

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles