Emily Brightwell - Mrs Jeffries and the Feast of St Stephen - Little, Brown Book Group

Mrs Jeffries and the Feast of St Stephen

By Emily Brightwell

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A charming series of Victorian murder mysteries featuring mild-mannered Inspector Witherspoon of Scotland Yard and, more importantly, Mrs Jeffries, his housekeeper.

The case is an unexpected bother for Inspector Witherspoon's household, already abuzz with plans for the holidays, but Scotland Yard wants this crime solved before Christmas. Now the busy sleuths must rally in support of their Inspector - especially since the clues are harder to find than a silver sixpence in a plum pudding . . .


Praise for the Mrs Jeffries Mysteries:

'It's murder most English all the way!' The Literary Times

'Fascinating murder mystery . . . wit and style . . . a winning series. Mrs. Jeffries is the Miss Marple of Victorian Mystery' The Paperback Forum

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472125798
  • Publication date: 07 Jun 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Constable
Sphere

The Woman in the Dark

Vanessa Savage
Authors:
Vanessa Savage

A chilling psychological thriller about dark family dysfunction and the secrets that haunt us - perfect for fans of BEHIND CLOSED DOORS and THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR.For Sarah and Patrick, family life has always been easy. But when Sarah's mother dies, it sends Sarah into a downwards spiral. Knowing they need a fresh start, Patrick moves the family to the beachside house he grew up in.But there is a catch: while their new home carries only happy memories for Patrick, to everyone else it's known as the Murder House - named for the family that was killed there.Patrick is adamant they can make it perfect again, though with their children plagued by nightmares and a constant sense they're being watched, Sarah's not so sure. Because the longer they live in their 'dream home', the more different her loving husband becomes . . .

Hachette Audio

Fear of Falling

Cath Staincliffe
Authors:
Cath Staincliffe

What if the child you have longed for ends up hurting those you love?Lydia and Bel have been best friends for years, from wild teenage days all the way through to motherhood. Bel becomes pregnant by accident and has a fraught relationship with daughter Freya, while Lydia and love-of-her-life Mac, after failed fertility treatment, choose to adopt. Gorgeous toddler Chloe challenges them more than either of them had ever expected and as a teenager her behaviour escalates increasingly out of control, pushing their marriage, and Lydia and Bel's relationship, to breaking point.A modern tragedy. A harrowing and heart-breaking story of the splinters that can tear mothers and daughters, husbands and wives - and friends - apart.-----Praise for Cath Staincliffe:'Harrowing and humane. A real knockout' Ian Rankin'It's always exciting to see a writer get better and better and Cath Staincliffe is doing just that' Val McDermid'Remarkable depth ... The most grown-up writer in British crime fiction' Telegraph'Complex and satisfying' Sunday Times'Powerful, humane and moving' Ann Cleeves'Emotionally unsparing, powerful, humane and moving . . . This is a timely, brave and brilliant book' Crime Review

Piatkus

A Snapshot of Murder

Frances Brody
Authors:
Frances Brody

Taking the perfect photograph can be murder . . . Yorkshire, 1928. Indomitable sleuth Kate Shackleton is taking a well-deserved break from her detective work and indulging in her other passion: photography. When her local Photographic Society proposes an outing, Kate jumps at the chance to visit Haworth and Stanbury, in the heart of Brontë country, the setting for Wuthering Heights.But when an obnoxious member of their party is murdered, the group is thrown into disarray. Is the murderer amongst them, or did the loud-mouthed Tobias have more enemies than they might have imagined?Armed with her wit and wiles, and of course her trusty camera, it's up to Kate to crack the case, and get that perfect shot too . . .

Hachette Audio

The Bone Readers

Jacob Ross
Authors:
Jacob Ross
Grand Central Publishing

The Breakers

Marcia Muller
Authors:
Marcia Muller

Private investigator Sharon McCone returns in New York Times bestselling author Marcia Muller's latest page-turning mystery!"[Marcia Muller's] stories crackle like few others on the mystery landscape." -San Francisco Examiner & Chronicle"Muller undoubtedly remains one of today's best mystery writers." -Associated Press

Corsair

The Sinners

Ace Atkins
Authors:
Ace Atkins
Dialogue Books

One More Chance

Lucy Ayrton
Authors:
Lucy Ayrton

'Hard to believe it's a debut! It's really accomplished and the main character was totally sympathetic with a refreshing and authentic voice that just carried me through the story. I couldn't put it down - that voice, honest, flawed and yet utterly compelling.' - JENNY BLACKHURST Dani hasn't had an easy life. She's made some bad choices and now she's paying the ultimate price; prison.With her young daughter Bethany, growing up in foster care, Dani is determined to be free and reunited with her. There's only one problem; Dani can't stay out of trouble.Dani's new cellmate Martha is quiet and unassuming. There's something about her that doesn't add up. When Martha offers Dani one last chance at freedom, she doesn't hesitate.Everything she wants is on the outside, but Dani is stuck on the inside. Is it possible to break out when everyone is trying to keep you in . . .

Constable

Mrs Jeffries Rocks The Boat

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Mrs Jeffries Weeds the Plot

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell

Eccentric Annabeth Gentry pretty much keeps to herself. Besides her recent inheritance - and the attention her bloodhound gets for digging up the body of a murdered thief - her life is in fact, rather dull. So why does she think that someone is trying to kill her? That's what Mrs. Jeffries and her staff have to find out. What they discover is a dead body next door, and three attempts on Annabeth's life. It sounds like there's a jealous dog in their midst. Mrs. Jeffries will have to sniff out some clues before the plot thickens . . .Praise for the Mrs Jeffries Mysteries:'It's murder most English all the way!' The Literary Times 'Fascinating murder mystery . . . wit and style . . . a winning series. Mrs. Jeffries is the Miss Marple of Victorian Mystery' The Paperback Forum

Constable

Mrs Jeffries Pinches the Post

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell

A RUTHLESS END FOR A RUTHLESS MANHarrison Nye may have been involved in some dubious business dealings, but no one ever expected him to be murdered. Now Inspector Witherspoon must root out the perpetrator of the underhanded deed. Nye's business associate visited him just hours before the murder and seems to know more than he's letting on. And when his maid disappears, this dirty business gets even deadlier. Now, Mrs. Jeffries and her staff must root through the sins of Nye's past to discover which one caught up with him . . .Praise for the Mrs Jeffries Mysteries:'It's murder most English all the way!' The Literary Times 'Fascinating murder mystery . . . wit and style . . . a winning series. Mrs. Jeffries is the Miss Marple of Victorian Mystery' The Paperback Forum

Constable

Mrs Jeffries Pleads her Case

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Mrs Jeffries Sweeps the Chimney

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Mrs Jeffries Stalks the Hunter

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Mrs Jeffries and the Silent Knight

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Mrs Jeffries and the Best Laid Plans

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Sphere

It Was Her

Mark Hill
Authors:
Mark Hill

Do you want a thriller where nothing is as it seems?Twenty years ago, Tatia was adopted into a well-off home where she seemed happy, settled. Then the youngest boy in the family dies in an accident, and she gets the blame. Did she do it?Tatia is cast out, away from her remaining adopted siblings Joel and Poppy. Now she yearns for a home to call her own. So when she see families going on holiday, leaving their beautiful homes empty, there seems no harm in living their lives while they are gone. But somehow, people keep ending up dead.Did she kill them?As bodies start to appear in supposedly safe neighbourhoods, DI Ray Drake and DS Flick Crowley race to find the thinnest of links between the victims. But Drake's secret past is threatening to destroy everything.PRAISE FOR MARK HILL'A fantastic debut: dark, addictive and original. I couldn't put it down'Robert Bryndza, author of The Girl in the Ice'Grips from the start and never lets up' The Times 'Wreaks havoc with your assumptions. Hill has a hell of a career ahead of him' Alex Marwood, author of The Wicked Girls and The Darkest Secret 'A cracking debut. I can't wait to see more of Ray Drake' Mark Billingham, #1 bestselling author of Love Like Blood and In The Dark 'Utterly gripping, packed with unforgettable characters - and SO well-written. The twists had me reeling!' Louise Voss

Little, Brown

The Good Son

You-jeong Jeong
Authors:
You-jeong Jeong
Sphere

A Fatal Grace

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny
Sphere

His First Lie

Mark Hill
Authors:
Mark Hill

'A fantastic debut: dark, addictive and original. I couldn't put it down'Robert Bryndza, author of The Girl in the IceDo you want a thriller that grips from the first line?Do you want a thriller to leave you gasping for air?Connor Laird frightens people: he's intense, he's fearless, and he seems to be willing to do anything to protect himself and those he loves. He arrives in the Longacre Children's Home seemingly from nowhere, and instantly becomes hero and villain to every other child there. Thirty years later, someone is killing all of those who grew up in the Longacre, one at a time. Each of them has secrets, not least investigating cop DI Ray Drake.One by one the mysteries of the past are revealed as Drake finds himself in a race against time before the killer gets to him.Who is killing to hide their secret?And can YOU guess the ending?'Grips from the start and never lets up'The Times'Wreaks havoc with your assumptions. Hill has a hell of a career ahead of him'Alex Marwood, author of The Wicked Girls and The Darkest Secret'A cracking debut. I can't wait to see more of Ray Drake.'Mark Billingham, #1 bestselling author of Love Like Blood and In The Dark'Utterly gripping, packed with unforgettable characters - and SO well-written. The twists had me reeling!'Louise Voss**THE GRIPPING THRILLER PREVIOUSLY PUBLISHED AS TWO O'CLOCK BOY**

Constable

Mrs Jeffries Appeals the Verdict

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell

After a perfectly decent local woman is killed during a robbery, the Witherspoon household receives a surprising visit from a stranger named Blimpey Groggins. He claims his best buddy was convicted of the crime. He also claims the peaceable chap didn't even know how to fire a gun. And considering he's to be hanged in three weeks, Blimpey's desperate to find the real killer. With the trail cold, the crime allegedly solved, and the evidence mucked up, Mrs. Jeffries and her belowstairs cohorts have their work cut out for them if they want to save an innocent man from the gallows.Praise for the Mrs Jeffries Mysteries:'It's murder most English all the way!' The Literary Times'Fascinating murder mystery . . . wit and style . . . a winning series. Mrs. Jeffries is the Miss Marple of Victorian Mystery' The Paperback Forum