Helen Black - Taking Liberties - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472124203
    • Publication date:24 Aug 2017
Books in this series

Taking Liberties

By Helen Black

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Meet Liberty Chapman - a high-flying lawyer with a very murky past... and where a murky future beckons when she is reunited with the family she thought she left behind a long time ago.

'Gripping and gritty, this book will keep you hooked from the first page to the last.' Roberta Kray

Liberty Chapman had a difficult childhood. The oldest of four kids, she tried to protect them from their violent father until one day he murdered their mother and got sent down.

What was left of the family rattled through the care system, bouncing from foster placement to care home. Liberty would have probably ended up on drugs, or dead, or worse if it hadn't been for a ballsy solicitor who told her to get her act together.So that's what she did. She kept her nose clean, got an education.

And look at her now. New name, new accent, new town. The past is far behind her and she's concentrating on her own legal career. She has a Porsche, a house in Hampstead... and then one morning her boss asks her to do a favour. He wants her to go to Leeds, to get an important client's son off an assault charge.

But Leeds is in Liberty's past. And once she hits town, the past slaps her in the face... and pulls her back into what she worked so hard to leave behind.

Biographical Notes

HELEN BLACK grew up in Pontefract, West Yorkshire. At 18 she went to Hull university and left three years later with a tattoo on her shoulder and a law degree. She became a lawyer in Peckham and soon had a loyal following of teenagers needing legal advice and bus fares. She ended up working in Luton, working predominantly for children going through the care system.

Helen is married to a long-suffering lawyer and is the mother of young twins which take up 90% of her waking hours.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472124197
  • Publication date: 24 Aug 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Constable
Gripping and gritty, this book will keep you hooked from the first page to the last — Roberta Kray
Constable

Bang to Rights

Helen Black
Authors:
Helen Black
Sphere

What We Did

Christobel Kent
Authors:
Christobel Kent

He stole her childhood. She'll take his futureWhat would you do if you accidentally encountered the man who once abused you? And how would you get away with it?Bridget's life is small and safe: she loves her husband and her son, and she works hard to keep her own business afloat. Until one day, her former violin teacher Anthony Carmichael walks into her shop with the teenager he's clearly grooming.Carmichael begins to stalk Bridget, trying to terrify her into silence. But Bridget is older and stronger now and suddenly, she snaps and fights back.Now Bridget must find a way to deal with the aftermath of her actions...The gripping, compelling and timely new thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Loving Husband, The Crooked House and The Day She Disappeared. Perfect for fans of Apple Tree Yard and Lie With Me.

Hachette Audio

Beau Death

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

A wrecking ball crashes through the roof of a terraced cottage in Bath and exposes a skeleton in eighteenth-century clothes. Can these possibly be the remains of Beau Nash, the so-called King of Bath, whose body is said to have ended up in a pauper's grave?Peter Diamond, the city's most experienced detective, is ordered to investigate, but grappling with historical events causes ructions in his team until everyone is diverted by a modern killing during a fireworks display on the Royal Crescent lawn.But Beau Nash refusesto be ignored - and when astonishing new facts emerge about the case, Bath's history is rewritten and mysteries ancient and modern are fused in a devastating climax.

Sphere

The Mole Catcher's Daughter

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

An original short story taken from the anthology Motives for Murder, by members of The Detection ClubHistorical expert Kate Ellis pays tribute to Peter Lovesey's Sergeant Cribb series with this twisty short story, set in the 1800s.Constable Thackery and his nephew Jeremiah are sent to investigate when a parlour maid is killed at a country house - and due to the bright intelligence of Jeremiah, are able to impress Sergeant Cribb with a dramatic solution to the case.

Piatkus

A High Mortality of Doves

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Sphere

Down Among the Dead Men

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

A nightmare discovery in the boot of a stolen BMW plunges car thief Danny Stapleton into the worst trouble of his life. What links his misfortune to the mysterious disappearance of an art teacher at a private school for girls in Chichester? Orders from above push Peter Diamond of Bath CID into investigating a police corruption case in the Chichester force, and he soon finds himself reluctantly dealing with spirited schoolgirls, eccentric artists and his formidable old colleague, Hen Mallin.

Hachette Audio

Close Your Eyes

Michael Robotham
Authors:
Michael Robotham
Constable

Agatha Raisin and the Walkers of Dembley

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton

An unexpected hike to the Other Side . . . After time away, Agatha Raisin returns to her beloved Cotswold village of Carsely - and to her handsome neighbour, James Lacey. True, James seems less than thrilled to see her, but Agatha is soon distracted by a sensational murder. The victim, found in a field, is young hiker Jessica Tartinck, who spent her life enraging landowners by insisting on her right to roam. Hope springs eternal in Agatha's breast as she lures the reluctant James into her investigation. There are so many leads to follow, for Jessica's fellow walkers - not to mention the landowners - all seem able to commit murder. Praise for the Agatha Raisin series:'M. C. Beaton's imperfect heroine is an absolute gem.' Publishers Weekly'The detective novels of M. C. Beaton, a master of outrageous black comedy, have reached cult status.' The Times'Being a cranky, middle-aged female myself, I found Agatha charming!' Amazon customer review'I dream of being able to speak out like Aggie . . . she's a heroine!' A. Lucas, Essex, reader review

Constable

Friendless Lane

Helen Black
Authors:
Helen Black
Sphere

Rough Cider

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

It is World War II and American soldiers stationed in rural England have made friends, especially with the local girls. After a dance to celebrate the pressing of the apples into cider, the resentment of the local men leads to violence and a murder. Later, a baby girl is born.Years later, Theo, a university lecturer, is approached by an American girl called Alice. She wants to be told about her father, a GI hanged for murder in Somerset during World War II. As a boy, Theo had been a principal witness for the prosecution.Alice persuades him to revisit the farm where Theo was evacuated, staunchly determined to discover the facts. The horrors of the past take on a frightening immediacy when long-forgotten jealousies come to the surface and another murder is committed.

Sphere

Bertie and the Tinman

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

Bertie and the Seven Bodies

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

Wobble to Death

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

The Detective Wore Silk Drawers

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

Forbidden in Victorian England, the grim and violent world of bare-knuckle fighting has gone underground. So when a headless body is found floating in the Thames, his hands 'pickled' for fighting, Sergeant Cribb knows he is facing a challenge.Desperate for information, they select the young constable Henry Jago to infiltrate the gang, subjecting him to a rigorous programme of purging, pickling and training. Cribb is certain that the losing fighters are being killed, or worse, so getting Jago out just in time is crucial . . .

Sphere

Abracadaver

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

A practical joker is haunting the popular music halls of Victorian London - but far from being funny, his intentions are deeply sinister. A trapeze artist misses her timing when the ropes are shortened; a comedian who invites the audience to sing along with him finds the words of his song 'shamefully' altered; mustard has been applied to a sword swallower's blade; a singer's costume has been rigged; the girl in a magician's box is trapped.And then the mischief escalates to murder. Or was murder intended all along? The indomitable detective team of Sergeant Cribb and Constable Thackeray dive into the back rooms and dark alleyways of London as they pursue the elusive criminal.

Sphere

Mad Hatter's Holiday

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

Invitation to a Dynamite Party

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

'You must understand that we are not dealing with petty thieves or one of your backyard murderers, Cribb. We are fighting a secret society pledged to wrench Ireland from Her Majesty's dominion by every means at its disposal.'The year is 1884 and London is being terrorised by a series of bomb blasts. One of the 'infernal machines' has even bombed the CID office at Scotland Yard and, worst of all, Constable Thackeray is suspected of conspiring with the perpetrators. Determined to help Thackeray at any cost, Sergeant Cribb reluctantly agrees to attend a course on the science of bomb-making in a bid to gain the expert knowledge he needs to infiltrate the terrorists. But before he is ready, he is abducted at gun-point by an Irish-American hammer-thrower, and finds himself an unwilling but vital member of the Dynamite Party . . .

Sphere

A Case of Spirits

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

The spiritualist movement has captivated Victorian society: 'sensitivities' and reaching out to the dead are highly in vogue. But the séance is also the perfect cover-up for fraud, or worse, by some decidedly less authentic individuals. As Sergeant Cribb and Constable Thackeray investigate one such instance resulting in an art-theft, they are drawn into a dark and unsettling world, where it is almost impossible to see who is telling the truth. A medium has been murdered, and the suspects are a mix of the eccentric and the highly unsavoury . . .

Sphere

Swing, Swing Together

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

Waxwork

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

By her own confession, the beautiful Miriam Cromer is a murderess. She is sentenced to death for the killing of her husband's assistant, and the hangman travels to London to earn his fee. Then the Home Office is sent a photograph that casts doubt on her confession, and the matter must be investigated - fast. Sergeant Cribb is called in, but his investigations produce nothing to ease the minds of the authorities. As he plunges deeper into the relationships and history of the intimate group connected with the murder, he becomes increasingly suspicious that something very different indeed happened at Park Lodge, Kew Green, on that March day in 1888.