Alison Bruce - The Moment Before Impact - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £20.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472123879
    • Publication date:03 Jan 2019

The Moment Before Impact

By Alison Bruce

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472123886
  • Publication date: 03 Jan 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Constable
Sphere

Dead End

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Blood Lines

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Trust Her

Jessica Vallance
Authors:
Jessica Vallance
Hachette Audio

Fear of Falling

Cath Staincliffe
Authors:
Cath Staincliffe

What if the child you have longed for ends up hurting those you love?Lydia and Bel have been best friends for years, from wild teenage days all the way through to motherhood. Bel becomes pregnant by accident and has a fraught relationship with daughter Freya, while Lydia and love-of-her-life Mac, after failed fertility treatment, choose to adopt. Gorgeous toddler Chloe challenges them more than either of them had ever expected ... and as a teenager her behaviour escalates increasingly out of control, pushing their marriage, and Lydia and Bel's relationship, to breaking point.A modern tragedy. A harrowing and heart-breaking story of the splinters that can tear mothers and daughters, husbands and wives - and friends - apart.Praise for Cath Staincliffe:'Harrowing and humane. A real knockout' Ian Rankin'It's always exciting to see a writer get better and better and Cath Staincliffe is doing just that' Val McDermid'Remarkable depth ... The most grown-up writer in British crime fiction' Telegraph'Complex and satisfying' Sunday Times'Powerful, humane and moving' Ann Cleeves

Constable

Halfway

B. E. Jones
Authors:
B. E. Jones

An irresistible, twisty new thriller from the author of Where She Went, perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Gillian Flynn.If everyone is lying, who can you trust?The Halfway Inn is closed to customers, side-lined by a bypass and hidden deep in inhospitable countryside. One winter's night, two women end up knocking on the door, seeking refuge as a blizzard takes hold. But why is the landlord less than pleased to see them? And what is his elderly father trying so hard to tell them?At the local police station PC Lissa Lloyd is holding the fort while the rest of her team share in the rare excitement of a brutal murder at an isolated farmhouse. A dangerous fugitive is on the run - but how can Lissa make a name for herself if she's stuck at her desk? When a call comes in saying the local district nurse is missing, she jumps at the chance to investigate her disappearance.The strangers at Halfway wait out the storm, but soon realise they might have been safer on the road. It seems not all the travellers will make it home for Christmas . . . 'Claustrophobic and infused with menace. B. E. Jones creates a sinister world of secrets, twists and revelations' Alison Bruce

Constable

Fire

L.C. Tyler
Authors:
L.C. Tyler

Sphere

Death Watch

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Orbit US

It Takes One

Kate Kessler
Authors:
Kate Kessler
Sphere

Lethal White

Robert Galbraith
Authors:
Robert Galbraith

'I seen a kid killed . . . He strangled it, up by the horse.' When Billy, a troubled young man, comes to private eye Cormoran Strike's office to ask for his help investigating a crime he thinks he witnessed as a child, Strike is left deeply unsettled. While Billy is obviously mentally distressed, and cannot remember many concrete details, there is something sincere about him and his story. But before Strike can question him further, Billy bolts from his office in a panic. Trying to get to the bottom of Billy's story, Strike and Robin Ellacott - once his assistant, now a partner in the agency - set off on a twisting trail that leads them through the backstreets of London, into a secretive inner sanctum within Parliament, and to a beautiful but sinister manor house deep in the countryside. And during this labyrinthine investigation, Strike's own life is far from straightforward: his newfound fame as a private eye means he can no longer operate behind the scenes as he once did. Plus, his relationship with his former assistant is more fraught than it ever has been - Robin is now invaluable to Strike in the business, but their personal relationship is much, much more tricky than that . . . The most epic Robert Galbraith novel yet, LETHAL WHITE is both a gripping mystery and a page-turning next instalment in the ongoing story of Cormoran Strike and Robin Ellacott.

Constable

I Did It for Us

Alison Bruce
Authors:
Alison Bruce
Sphere

Home

Karen Dionne
Authors:
Karen Dionne
Constable

Cambridge Black

Alison Bruce
Authors:
Alison Bruce

A cold case waits to be solved . . . and a killer waits in the wings.Amy was seven years old when her father was arrested for murder. His subsequent trial and conviction scarred her childhood and cast a shadow over her life until, twenty-two years later, new evidence suggests he was innocent and Amy sets out to clear his name. But Amy is not the only person troubled by the past. DC Gary Goodhew is haunted by the day his grandfather was murdered and is still searching for answers, determined to uncover the truth about his grandfather's death and find his killer.But, right now, someone is about to die. Someone who has secrets and who once kept quiet but is now living on borrowed time. Someone who will be murdered because disturbing the past has woken a killer.

Constable

The Girl in the Green Dress

Cath Staincliffe
Authors:
Cath Staincliffe
Constable

Russian Roulette

Sara Sheridan
Authors:
Sara Sheridan

Brighton 1956When Mirabelle's on-off boyfriend, Superintendent Alan McGregor, is taken off a gruesome murder case because the key suspect is an old school friend, Mirabelle steps in to unravel the tangle of poisoned gin, call girls and high stakes gambling that surrounds the death. It isn't long before McGregor's integrity is called into question and Mirabelle finds herself doubting him. So when a wartime hero's body turns up on the Sussex Downs, she is glad that McGregor is caught up in a mystery of his own as Brighton's establishment closes ranks. Mirabelle is in a dangerous situation though and she doesn't have McGregor watching her back on this one. And when the dead man on the Downs turns out to have been a member of a deadly thrillseekers club, related to the earlier murder, Mirabelle is determined to uncover the truth and free the innocent people who are bearing the brunt of the cover up. As her relationship with McGregor reaches breaking point, she has to draw on all her wartime experience to stand up for what she believes in - even if it means their relationship may not survive.

Sphere

The Secrets She Keeps

Michael Robotham
Authors:
Michael Robotham

'A genuine page-turner and ideal holiday read. It leaves you unsettled and enthralled in equal measure' DAILY EXPRESS_____Everyone has an idea of what their perfect life is. For Agatha, it's Meghan Shaughnessy's.These two women from vastly different backgrounds have one thing in common - a dangerous secret that could destroy everything they hold dear.Both will risk everything to hide the truth, but their worlds are about to collide in a shocking act that cannot be undone.The compelling new psychological thriller that will break your heart into tiny pieces, from world-renowned author MICHAEL ROBOTHAM.'Two terrific female characters, both with secrets. Add Michael Robotham's clean prose and whipcrack pacing. The result? A book you won't be able to put down, although you may occasionally want to hide your eyes' STEPHEN KING____Praise for Michael Robotham's pulse-pounding writing:'Will have you turning the pages compulsively' The Times'Robotham doesn't just make me scared for his characters, he makes my heart ache for them' Linwood Barclay'Superbly exciting . . . a terrific read' Guardian'A nerve-shredding thriller with the heart and soul so often missing from lesser crime and suspense novels. I couldn't stop reading, yet I didn't want Audie's story to end. Robotham is an absolute master' Stephen King on Life or Death

Constable

The Silence Between Breaths

Cath Staincliffe
Authors:
Cath Staincliffe
Constable

The City of Lies

Michael Russell
Authors:
Michael Russell
Constable

The City in Darkness

Michael Russell
Authors:
Michael Russell

Christmas 1939. In Europe the Phoney War hides carnage to come. In Ireland Detective Inspector Stefan Gillespie keeps tabs on Irishmen joining the British Forces. It's unpleasant work, but when an IRA raid on a military arsenal sends Garda Special Branch in search of guns and explosives, Stefan is soon convinced his boss, Superintendent Terry Gregory, is working for the IRA. At home for Christmas, Stefan is abruptly called to Laragh, an isolated mountain town. A postman has disappeared, believed killed, and Laragh's Guards are hiding something. Stefan is the nearest Special Branch detective, yet is he only there because Gregory wants him out of the way? Laragh is close to the lake where Stefan's wife Maeve drowned years earlier, and when events expose a connection between the missing postman and her death, Stefan realises it wasn't an accident, but murder. And it will be a difficult, dangerous journey where Stefan has to finally confront the ghosts of the past not only in the mountains of Wicklow, but in Spain in the aftermath of its bloody Civil War, before he can return to Dublin to find the truth.

Sphere

Career of Evil

Robert Galbraith
Authors:
Robert Galbraith

When a mysterious package is delivered to Robin Ellacott, she is horrified to discover that it contains a woman's severed leg.Her boss, private detective Cormoran Strike, is less surprised but no less alarmed. There are four people from his past who he thinks could be responsible - and Strike knows that any one of them is capable of sustained and unspeakable brutality.With the police focusing on the one suspect Strike is increasingly sure is not the perpetrator, he and Robin take matters into their own hands, and delve into the dark and twisted worlds of the other three men. But as more horrendous acts occur, time is running out for the two of them...A fiendishly clever mystery with unexpected twists around every corner, Career of Evil is also a gripping story of a man and a woman at a crossroads in their personal and professional lives. You will not be able to put this book down.

Sphere

Orchestrated Death

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles