James Craig - All Kinds of Dead - Little, Brown Book Group

All Kinds of Dead

By James Craig

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An Inspector John Carlyle novel, set in central London

Inspector Carlyle has a new partner in crime . . . but for how long?

When a fortune in uncut diamonds are nicked by a group of soldiers, Carlyle teams up with Captain Daniel Hunter of the Military Police to hunt them down. But Hunter has come up against this crew before and they are not going to let him stand in their way a second time.

The investigation is turned upside down when Hunter's family are kidnapped by the gang. The inspector has to look on helplessly while the military policeman goes off on a personal mission of revenge. As events spiral horribly out of control, Carlyle faces a terrible choice: does he let Hunter take matters into his own hands or should he try and bring his new partner to justice?

'A cracking read' BBC Radio 4

'Fast paced and very easy to get quickly lost in' Lovereading.com

Biographical Notes

James Craig was born in Scotland but moved down South early on in his life. Like his protagonist he lives in central London with his wife and daughter. He supports Liverpool FC.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472122193
  • Publication date: 02 Feb 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Constable
A cracking read — BBC Radio 4
Craig writes like an angel — Crimefictionlover.com
Fast paced and very easy to get quickly lost in — Lovereading.com
Hachette Audio

Drowned Lives

Stephen Booth
Authors:
Stephen Booth

Set in and around the dark, misty canals of Lichfield, Stephen Booth's incredible new novel is awash with mystery.When council officer Chris Buckley is approached by an odd old man demanding help in healing a decades-old family rift, he sends the stranger away.But then the old man is murdered, and the police arrive on the Chris's doorstep asking questions to which he has no answers.As Chris begins to look into the circumstances of the murder, he uncovers a deadly secret in the silt and mud of the local canals that he'll realise was better kept buried.PRAISE FOR STEPHEN BOOTH'Makes high summer as terrifying as midwinter'Val McDermid'A modern master'Guardian'Crime writing of the finest quality'Daily Mail'Ingenious plotting and richly atmospheric'Reginald Hill'A first-rate mystery'Sunday Telegraph

Constable

A Death in the Medina

James von Leyden
Authors:
James von Leyden
Hachette Audio

Good Girl, Bad Girl

Michael Robotham
Authors:
Michael Robotham
Sphere

The Stalker

Alex Gray
Authors:
Alex Gray
Constable

Surgeons’ Hall

E. S. Thomson
Authors:
E. S. Thomson
Constable

Dying Days

James Craig
Authors:
James Craig

Dying well is an art . . . the rest is just murderInspector John Carlyle is waiting for his father to die of a terminal illness. Meanwhile, others are dropping like flies.An elderly professor is found dead in his Bloomsbury flat. The verdict is that of heart attack. But who then stuffed the deceased academic in a closet? And who emptied the man's bank account? Across town, Sergeant Alison Roche is back from maternity leave. Struggling to juggle The Job and a new baby, she needs Carlyle's help after a controversial financier is controversially murdered at a charity dinner. Similarities with a previous, unsolved killing, which left a black mark against Carlyle's record, only raise the stakes higher.With problems at work and problems at home, Carlyle just wants to keep his head down but there's little chance of that. Can he do his job, nail a couple of murder cases - and be there for his father at the end?

Little, Brown

The Lost Man

Jane Harper
Authors:
Jane Harper
Constable

Lucifer Falls

Colin Falconer
Authors:
Colin Falconer
Sphere

A Place to Lie

Rebecca Griffiths
Authors:
Rebecca Griffiths
Hachette Audio

Bright Young Dead

Jessica Fellowes
Authors:
Jessica Fellowes
Little, Brown

The Killing Habit

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham
Constable

Mrs Jeffries and the Feast of St Stephen

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell

The case is an unexpected bother for Inspector Witherspoon's household, already abuzz with plans for the holidays, but Scotland Yard wants this crime solved before Christmas. Now the busy sleuths must rally in support of their Inspector - especially since the clues are harder to find than a silver sixpence in a plum pudding . . .Praise for the Mrs Jeffries Mysteries:'It's murder most English all the way!' The Literary Times'Fascinating murder mystery . . . wit and style . . . a winning series. Mrs. Jeffries is the Miss Marple of Victorian Mystery' The Paperback Forum

Piatkus

Bone Driven

Hailey Edwards
Authors:
Hailey Edwards

Book Two in the powerfully addictive fantasy series The Foundling, perfect for fans of Ilona Andrews, Jenn Stark and Helen HarperThe bayou is burning, the battle is just beginning - and Luce Boudreau is smack in the middle of no-man's land . . .Life as a cop in Canton Town, Mississippi, is never dull - particularly when hiding deep within you is a demon bent on the apocalypse. Luce is doing her best to pretend her two worlds aren't crashing into each other, but what should be a routine arson investigation takes a shocking turn when Luce discovers a link between the suspects and her own dark secrets. There's no turning back, even though her search for the truth threatens to burn her old life down around her.Lines are being drawn in a war Luce barely understands, and she just might be on the wrong side of them. Now she must embrace her powerful destiny, or the ones she loves most will pay the ultimate price.Readers LOVE Hailey Edwards:'Edwards creates amazing fantasy worlds' - (Goodreads reviewer) 'A fantasy of a five-star read!' (Amazon reviewer)'Hailey Edwards has exceeded all expectation' (Goodreads)'Well-plotted fantasy with intriguing characters, heart-pounding action, suspenseful intrigue and subtle romance' (RT Book Reviews)'Edwards has this way of writing that makes you feel like the narrator is talking to you and that you're old friends' (Goodreads)'The world building is fresh . . . The characters are well-drawn and easy to root for. And the romance really hits the spot' (Red Hot Books)'She builds dynamic character bases, using common mythology but takes it one step further using previously unseen species or imbibing currently known species with skills and know how that offers readers something new in the paranormal world' (Smexybooks)

Constable

This is Where I Say Goodbye

James Craig
Authors:
James Craig
Piatkus

A Bone to Pick

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Piatkus

Three Bedrooms, One Corpse

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Piatkus

The Julius House

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Constable

Murder in Montparnasse

Kerry Greenwood
Authors:
Kerry Greenwood

The divine Phryne Fisher returns to lead another dance of intrigue.Seven Australian soldiers, carousing in Paris in 1918, unknowingly witness a murder and their presence has devastating consequences. Ten years later, two are dead - under very suspicious circumstances.Phryne's wharfie mates, Bert and Cec, appeal to her for help. They were part of this group of soldiers in 1918 and they fear for their lives and for those of the other three men. It's only as Phryne delves into the investigation that she, too, remembers being in Montparnasse on that very same day.While Phryne is occupied with memories of Montparnasse past and the race to outpace the murderer, she finds troubles of a different kind at home. Her lover, Lin Chung, is about to be married. And the effect this is having on her own usually peaceful household is disastrous.'Phryne Fisher is young, wealthy, beautiful, smart, confident and independently minded . and she has a knack for solving murders when she is not sipping a strengthening cocktail or planning another seduction.' - The Australian's Review of Books

Sphere

The Sister

Louise Jensen
Authors:
Louise Jensen
Sphere

The Nature of the Beast

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny

The award-winning novel from worldwide phenomenon and number one New York Times bestseller Louise PennyHardly a day goes by when nine-year-old Laurent Lepage doesn't cry wolf. His boundless sense of adventure and vivid imagination mean he has a tendency to concoct stories so extraordinary and so far-fetched that no one can possibly believe him. But when Laurent disappears, former Chief Inspector Armand Gamache is faced with the possibility that one of his tall tales might have been true.So begins a frantic search for the boy and the truth. And what Gamache uncovers deep in the forest leads back to crimes of the past, betrayal and murder, with more sinister consequences than anyone could have possibly imagined . . .