Paul Mendelson - Apostle Lodge - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472121882
    • Publication date:05 Oct 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472121868
    • Publication date:05 Oct 2017
Books in this series

Apostle Lodge

By Paul Mendelson

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The fourth acclaimed thriller set in South Africa and featuring Colonel Vaughn de Vries.

From the author of the acclaimed The First Rule of Survival, praised by Lee Child as 'excellent and uncompromising', comes Paul Mendelson's explosive latest thriller.

Apostle Lodge looks out over the ocean, an award-winning mansion built by a renowned architect. Stark and minimal, its black opaque windows hide a terrible secret. As Colonel Vaughn de Vries investigates the depraved crime committed within its walls, he believes there may be more than one killer on the loose, all with connections to a charismatic man who, as a child, drowned his sister and shattered his family.

And his work is not over yet.

'A jaw-droppingly brilliant crime thriller. Imagine The Killing moved to Cape Town and into the landscape of the hot and dusty African veld' Philip Glenister

'Mendelson plots so smoothly and writes so powerfully' The Guardian

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472121875
  • Publication date: 22 Feb 2018
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Constable
Excellent and gripping novel . . . Like all the best fictional detectives, De Vries is brave, intuitive, stubborn and always ready to disobey an order. He, his colleagues and Cape Town itself seem vividly real — Literary Review
Sphere

Bright Young Dead

Jessica Fellowes
Authors:
Jessica Fellowes
Constable

Murder at Greysbridge

Andrea Carter
Authors:
Andrea Carter

Dialogue Books

Brothers in Blood

Amer Anwar
Authors:
Amer Anwar
Robinson

Thinking About Bridge

Paul Mendelson
Authors:
Paul Mendelson
Constable

Death of an Honest Man

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton
Sphere

Insidious Intent

Val McDermid
Authors:
Val McDermid
Abacus

The Dry

Jane Harper
Authors:
Jane Harper
Constable

The History of Blood

Paul Mendelson
Authors:
Paul Mendelson
Sphere

Another Little Christmas Murder

Lorna Nicholl Morgan
Authors:
Lorna Nicholl Morgan

A classic country house mystery republished for the first time in nearly seventy years. Perfect for fans of Murder at the Old Vicarage and Partners in Crime.When Dilys Hughes finds herself snowbound in the middle of a bleak and lonely stretch of Yorkshire, she has no option but to accept help from passing motorist Inigo Brown, who is on his way to visit his uncle.Arriving at his uncle's remote country house, Wintry Wold, the couple encounters a less than warm welcome from Inigo's new young aunt, Theresa. Why is she reluctant to let Inigo see his uncle, and is he really as ill as they are told?As the snowstorm brings more stranded strangers to their door, Dilys starts to realise that all is not as it seems at Wintry Wold. When the morning brings news of the death of Inigo's uncle, Dilys sets out to investigate - was it a natural death, or was it murder?

Constable

The Serpentine Road

Paul Mendelson
Authors:
Paul Mendelson
Constable

Beloved Poison

E. S. Thomson
Authors:
E. S. Thomson

'It's rare that a book is Gothic enough for me, but Beloved Poison is killing it. The blood, the bones...' LAURA PURCELLA dark and richly atmospheric thriller, perfect for fans of Laura Purcell's The Silent Companions, Sarah Perry's Melmoth and Elly Griffiths' The Stranger Diaries.London, 1846.Ramshackle and crumbling, St Saviour's Infirmary awaits demolition. Within its stinking wards and cramped corridors the doctors bicker and fight. Ambition, jealousy and hatred seethe beneath the veneer of professional courtesy.Always an outsider, and with a secret of her own to hide, apothecary Jem Flockhart observes everything, but says nothing.And then six tiny coffins are uncovered, inside each a handful of dried flowers and a bundle of mouldering rags. When Jem comes across these strange relics hidden inside the infirmary's old chapel, her quest to understand their meaning prises open a long-forgotten past - with fatal consequences . . .Praise for E.S. Thomson:'Vivid, pungent and perilous' CHRIS BROOKMYRE'Evocative...brilliant plotting' REBECCA GRIFFITHS'Complex, harrowing and highly enjoyable' DAILY EXPRESS'Marvellous, vivid . . . breathtakingly dark' JANET ELLIS'Jem Flockhart books are the best I've read in years' KIRSTY LOGAN'A marvel . . . thoroughly engrossing' MARY PAULSON ELLIS

Constable

Death of a Nurse

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton
Constable

Death of a Liar

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton
Piatkus

Blood Magick

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

Branna O'Dwyer has a rich and remarkable life. Her little shop in County Mayo is thriving and her close circle of friends and family have found love and happiness. But Branna's own heart remains closed - to protect herself and the man she loves from a terrible threat.She reached out once to Finbar Burke - and it almost destroyed them both. Fin and Branna have both inherited a gift for magic, but Fin shares his blood with an old and terrible enemy. And so the two friends have kept their distance, both secretly yearning for the impossible.That distance has kept them safe - and unhappy. But as a final battle draws close, Branna and Fin are brought irresistibly together. And while they succumb to the heat between them, there can be no promises for tomorrow . . .

Sphere

The Bird That Did Not Sing

Alex Gray
Authors:
Alex Gray
Robinson

The Golden Rules Of Bridge

Paul Mendelson
Authors:
Paul Mendelson

Constable

The First Rule Of Survival

Paul Mendelson
Authors:
Paul Mendelson
Piatkus

Shadow Spell

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

In the enchanted woods of County Mayo, a young woman must fight the one thing she fears the most - her own heart. Meara Quinn is in trouble. Fiercely independent and scarred by a tough childhood, she is convinced that love is for other people. She is certainly not going to fall for Connor O'Dwyer - her best friend's brother. He may be drop dead gorgeous, with a good heart and a wicked smile, but he's never taken his relationships seriously. Safer for them to stay friends, share the odd pint - nothing more. And loving Connor would be a dangerous business. With his sister Branna and his American cousin Iona, Connor has inherited a dark gift, passed down through generations. The cousins use their powers for good, but they are being hunted by evil. An evil that is determined to destroy them - and everyone they care for...

Hachette Audio

Stranded

Alex Kava
Authors:
Alex Kava
C & R Crime

Death of a Policeman

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton

A pen pusher from Head Office soon finds himself pushing up the daisies...Local police stations all over the Scottish Highlands are being threatened with closure and this presents the perfect opportunity for Detective Chief Inspector Blair, who would love nothing more than to get rid of Sergeant Hamish Macbeth. Blair suggests that Cyril Sessions, a keen young police officer, visit the town of Lochdubh to monitor exactly what Hamish does every day. On hearing of Blair's plans Hamish is fully prepared to ensure young Cyril returns back to headquarters with a full report... but before he can do that, Cyril is found dead and Hamish very quickly becomes the prime suspect for his murder...