Alan Hunter - Gently French - Little, Brown Book Group

Gently French

By Alan Hunter

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

She was the most alluring murder suspect he'd ever dealt with, but Gently knew Mimi Deslauriers was key to the execution of an underworld crime boss, and he was determined to prove it.

The unflappable Inspector George Gently has become a household name through the hit BBC TV series starring Martin Shaw. These are the original books on which the TV series was based, although the George Gently in Alan Hunter's whodunits is somewhat different to his TV counterpart. He is more calculating, more analytical, and his investigations are even more enthralling.

Biographical Notes

Born in Norfolk, ALAN HUNTER left school at 14 to work on his father's farm, spending his spare time sailing on the Norfolk Broads and writing nature notes for the Eastern Evening News. By 1950 he was running his own bookshop and, in 1955, wrote the first of 45 Inspector George Gently novels. He died in 2005.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472108784
  • Publication date: 21 Nov 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Constable
Constable

Death of a Maid

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton

Amazing news is spreading like wildfire across the Scottish countryside: the most famous of all Highland bachelors, police sergeant Hamish Macbeth, is planning to marry at last! Everyone in the village of Lochdubh adores Josie McSween, Hamish's newest constable and blushing bride-to-be. While locals think she is quite a catch, Hamish has a severe case of pre-nuptial jitters... after all, if it wasn't for the recent murder of a beautiful woman in a neighbouring village there wouldn't be a wedding in the first place.For it was a mysterious Valentine's Day card - delivered to the victim before her death - which initially drew Hamish and Josie together in the investigation. And now, as they work side by side, they soon discover that the woman's list of admirers was endless - confirming Hamish's suspicion that love can be deaf, blind... and deadly!

Constable

Fire

L.C. Tyler
Authors:
L.C. Tyler
Hachette Audio

I Know You Know

Gilly Macmillan
Authors:
Gilly Macmillan
Sphere

Dead in the Dark

Stephen Booth
Authors:
Stephen Booth
Constable

Halfway

B. E. Jones
Authors:
B. E. Jones

An irresistible, twisty new thriller from the author of Where She Went, perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Gillian Flynn.If everyone is lying, who can you trust?The Halfway Inn is closed to customers, side-lined by a bypass and hidden deep in inhospitable countryside. One winter's night, two women end up knocking on the door, seeking refuge as a blizzard takes hold. But why is the landlord less than pleased to see them? And what is his elderly father trying so hard to tell them?At the local police station PC Lissa Lloyd is holding the fort while the rest of her team share in the rare excitement of a brutal murder at an isolated farmhouse. A dangerous fugitive is on the run - but how can Lissa make a name for herself if she's stuck at her desk? When a call comes in saying the local district nurse is missing, she jumps at the chance to investigate her disappearance.The strangers at Halfway wait out the storm, but soon realise they might have been safer on the road. It seems not all the travellers will make it home for Christmas . . . 'Claustrophobic and infused with menace. B. E. Jones creates a sinister world of secrets, twists and revelations' Alison Bruce

Constable

Star of the East

Tasha Alexander
Authors:
Tasha Alexander

From New York Times best-selling author Tasha Alexander comes Star of the East, a Lady Emily holiday story that will enchant readers and keep them guessing until the very last page... Emily and Colin Hargreaves make it a rule to spend as little time as possible with her parents in Kent, but are unable to refuse Lady Catherine Bromley's invitation to join them for a pre-Christmas party that includes the family of Ala Kapur Singh, a powerful Punjabi maharaja who has come to England after receiving the Order of the Star of India. Lady Bromley, quite taken with the exotic beauty and spectacular jewels of the maharani and her daughter, Sunita, throws herself with abandon into planning a spectacular feast. But when a priceless diamond maang tika and a simple gold bangle disappear from Sunita's room, a diplomatic incident seems imminent, particularly when the maang tika turns up in Emily's possession. Emily may have what appears to be the more valuable of the two pieces, but the maang tika cannot be worn without the bangle, upon which is engraved the words necessary to ward off a curse placed on the set 500 years ago by a princess forced to forsake the man she loved. Sunita must wear the maang tika at her wedding but cannot do so without the bangle. Can Emily convince the maharaja that she is not a thief? And, more important, can she and Colin find the bangle?'A holiday treat for Lady Emily fans' Library Journal

Little, Brown

Deadfall

Linda Fairstein
Authors:
Linda Fairstein

A wild heart beats within New York City. Amid concrete and skyscrapers, the Wildlife Conservation Society works to preserve and protect the animal kingdom both within and beyond the borders of the five boroughs. But dangerous creatures don't always have claws and fangs, as Assistant DA Alexandra Cooper and NYPD detectives Mike Chapman and Mercer Wallace know all too well. Predators lurk close to home, and in the aftermath of the shocking drive-by murder of an important city employee - someone Alex has worked with for years - the trio must discover who the bigger snake is: the killer or the victim.Investigations into the death provide more questions than answers, as a tangled mess of secrets slowly comes to light. From bribes to secret societies, from big-game hunting to the illegal animal trade, from New York City zoos to behind closed doors in government buildings, Alex will have her work cut out for her if she wants to uncover the truth - and uphold the integrity of the office she has so proudly served.Deadfall proves once again why Linda Fairstein is hailed as "a champion teller of detective tales."* *USA Today

Sphere

The Trials of Margaret

L.C. Tyler
Authors:
L.C. Tyler

An original short story taken from the anthology Motives for Murder, by members of The Detection ClubAward-winning author L.C. Tyler brings us a humorous tale of domestic intrigue and murder.When Margaret poisons her husband after a small argument, she annoyingly fails to convince the law she is innocent and has to endure a trial. But the jury are on her side - aren't they?

Constable

The Frangipani Tree Mystery

Ovidia Yu
Authors:
Ovidia Yu

First in a delightfully charming crime series set in 1930s Singapore, introducing amateur sleuth SuLin, a local girl stepping in as governess for the Acting Governor of Singapore.1936 in the Crown Colony of Singapore, and the British abdication crisis and rising Japanese threat seem very far away. When the Irish nanny looking after Acting Governor Palin's daughter dies suddenly - and in mysterious circumstances - mission school-educated local girl SuLin - an aspiring journalist trying to escape an arranged marriage - is invited to take her place. But then another murder at the residence occurs and it seems very likely that a killer is stalking the corridors of Government House. It now takes all SuLin's traditional skills and intelligence to help British-born Chief Inspector Thomas LeFroy solve the murders - and escape with her own life.'Simply glorious. Every nook and cranny of 1930s Singapore is brought richly to life, without ever getting in the way of a classic puzzle plot. But what's a setting without a jewel? Chen Su Lin is a true gem. Her slyly witty voice and her admirable, sometimes heartbreaking, practicality make her the most beguiling narrator heroine I've met in a long while.' Catriona McPherson'Charming and fascinating with great authentic feel. Ovidia Yu's teenage Chinese sleuth gives us an insight into a very different culture and time. This book is exactly why I love historical novels.' Rhys Bowen

Corsair

Bad Blood

Brian McGilloway
Authors:
Brian McGilloway
Constable

The Plague Road

L.C. Tyler
Authors:
L.C. Tyler
Constable

A Masterpiece of Corruption

L.C. Tyler
Authors:
L.C. Tyler
Constable

Gently Heartbroken

Alan Hunter
Authors:
Alan Hunter
Constable

Gently in the Past

Alan Hunter
Authors:
Alan Hunter

In a lonely thicket of gorse near the Suffolk coast, a man lies dead on a summers afternoon: Frederick Quennell, amateur yachtsman and head of a successful local firm of printers. Later examining the site, Chief Superintendent Gently (newly married to Gabrielle Orbec, and reluctantly in charge of the investigation) wonders who wanted Quennell dead.There is no shortage of suspects, as the Suffolk police point out. Quennell's neglected wife is deeply in love with an artist - a man moreover, who's been suspected of murder once before. What about Raymond Tallis, who headed the printing firm until Quennell took his place? Tallis's own family affairs are complex: his brother Arthur drowned in a yachting accident, with Tallis and Quennell both on board at the time, and Tallis then married his brother's widow . . .In the tranquil Suffolk countryside, scented with heather and sea-breezes, Gently sets to work to disentangle the emotional bonds - the jealousy, love, hatred, and remorse - that enmesh the dead man's family and friends. And he starts by contemplating not just one previous death, but two . . .

Constable

Gently Between Tides

Alan Hunter
Authors:
Alan Hunter
Constable

Gently with Passion

Alan Hunter
Authors:
Alan Hunter
Constable

Gently to a Sleep

Alan Hunter
Authors:
Alan Hunter

The twenty-fifth George Gently adventure, featuring the indomitable Inspector George Gently.

Constable

A Cruel Necessity

L.C. Tyler
Authors:
L.C. Tyler
C & R Crime

Gently Sinking

Alan Hunter
Authors:
Alan Hunter
C & R Crime

Gently Instrumental

Alan Hunter
Authors:
Alan Hunter