Gregory Benford - Mammoth Books presents Anomalies - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

Mammoth Books presents Anomalies

By Gregory Benford

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Craftsman and amateur astronomer Geoffrey Carlisle from Ely discovers that the moon is fractionally ahead of its usual elliptical orbit. He is becomes instantaneously well-known for his unique observation. Using Carlisle's findings, astronomy experts discover that each star circling the moon has been slightly warped. Yet after some time, as Professor Wright from Cambridge University had predicted, the warped stars return to their rightful places, suggesting that the world is an information-ordered one, like an analogue program acting out. What then, are the actual repercussions of a computational error in reality?

Biographical Notes

Gregory Benford has written some of the best "extreme SF" of recent years. Just check out his collection on Worlds Vast and Various (2000) for some examples. Benford (b. 1941) is a professor of physics at the University of California, Irvine, specializing in plasma turbulence and astrophysics He advises NASA on national space policy and has been heavily involved in the Mars exploration programme.
His novels, The Martian Race (1999) and The Sunborn (2005), are generally regarded as amongst the most authentic considerations of the race to and exploration of Mars. In 1995 he received the prestigious Lord Foundation award for scientific achievement.
In the world of science fiction, Benford has received many awards including the Nebula for Timescape (1980), still one of the most realistic time-travel novels. His most sustained sequence of books is the Galactic Centre series, tracing the continuing conflict between organic life forms and AI machines. The series began with Across the Sea of Suns (1983).
Amongst his more recent novels perhaps the most extreme is Cosm (1998) involving an artificially created micro-universe.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472103420
  • Publication date: 26 Jul 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Robinson
Orbit

Velocity Weapon

Megan O'Keefe
Authors:
Megan O'Keefe

Dazzling space battles, intergalactic politics and rogue AI collide in Velocity Weapon, the first book in this epic space opera by award-winning author Megan O'Keefe.Sanda and Biran were siblings destined for greatness. Her: a hard-nosed marine with the skills to save the universe. Him: a savvy politician with ambitions for changing the course of intergalactic war. However, on a routine manoeuvre, Sanda's gunship gets blown out of the sky. Instead of finding herself in friendly hands, she awakens 230 years later upon an empty enemy smartship who calls himself Bero. The war is lost. The star system and everyone in it is dead. Ada Prime and its rival Icarion have wiped each other from the universe.Now, separated by space and time, Sanda and Biran will find a way to put things right.

Sphere

The War of the Worlds

H. G. Wells
Authors:
H. G. Wells

This is the official TV tie-in edition of the classic and terrifying HG Wells novel of alien invasion, now a landmark series for the BBC from the makers of Poldark, Victoria and And Then There Were None.One night a shooting star is seen over the skies of Surrey. The next day, it's discovered to have been a mysterious metallic cylinder from Mars. What comes next is a terrifying alien attack, as tentacled Martian invaders emerge from the cylinder and prey on humankind using shocking new weapons against which the people of Victorian England can offer no resistance. The aliens begin to devastate the area in their tripod machines, and as our narrator struggles to return to his wife, the fight for London - and the world - begins.

Orbit

Splintered Suns

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley

'Proper galaxy-spanning space opera' Iain M. Banks on Seeds of EarthAction-orientated sci-fi with a spaceship crewed by rogues and scoundrels, perfect for fans of Star Wars, Firefly or FarscapeFor Pyke and his crew it should have been just another heist. Travel to a backwater desert planet, break into a museum, steal a tracking device then use it to find a ship buried in the planet's vast and trackless sandy wastes. Except that the museum vault is a bio-engineered chamber, and the tracking device is sought after by another gang of treasure hunters led by an old adversary of Pyke's, the devious Raven Kaligara. Also, the ship is a quarter of a million years old and about two kilometres long and somewhere aboard it is the Essavyr Key, a relic to unlock all the treasures and technologies of a lost civilisation . . .'Splintered Suns splices new and old space opera, cyberpunk, quest fantasy and heist caper -- the maddest thing I've read since Van Vogt!' Ken MacLeod"Splintered Suns is a masterpiece of future nostalgia. All who love mischievous interstellar derring-do in pursuit of ancient relics of departed races as well as exotic panoplies of sentient species, all who love space opera should feast upon this generous novel. Let us revel in the admirable jaunty technicolour richness which Mike Cobley serves up so entertainingly-for this is how the universe ought to be" Ian Watson, author of the Games Workshop Warhammer 40K novels Space Marine and The Inquisition Wartrilogy

Orbit

Red Moon

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson
Orbit

Adrift

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard
Orbit

Blackfish City

Sam J. Miller
Authors:
Sam J. Miller
Orbit

Autonomous

Annalee Newitz
Authors:
Annalee Newitz
Orbit

Babylon's Ashes

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey

A revolution brewing for generations has begun in fire. It will end in blood.The Free Navy - a violent group of Belters in black-market military ships - has crippled the Earth and begun a campaign of piracy and violence among the outer planets. The colony ships heading for the thousand new worlds on the far side of the alien ring gates are easy prey, and no single navy remains strong enough to protect them.James Holden and his crew know the strengths and weaknesses of this new force better than anyone. Outnumbered and outgunned, the embattled remnants of the old political powers call on the Rocinante for a desperate mission to reach Medina Station at the heart of the gate network. But the new alliances are as flawed as the old, and the struggle for power has only just begun. As the chaos grows, an alien mystery deepens. Pirate fleets, mutiny and betrayal may be the least of the Rocinante's problems. And in the uncanny spaces past the ring gates, the choices of a few damaged and desperate people may determine the fate of more than just humanity.

Orbit

Blackout

Mira Grant
Authors:
Mira Grant
Orbit

Gears of War: The Slab

Karen Traviss
Authors:
Karen Traviss
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 14

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 15

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois

Orbit

Ender's Shadow

Orson Scott Card
Authors:
Orson Scott Card

Orson Scott Card is one of the world's bestselling SF authors, and the award-winning Ender saga is one of the best-loved series in the genre. ENDER'S SHADOW is the first volume in a new Ender series. Returning to the time of Ender's Game, ENDER'S SHADOW follows the incredible story of one of Ender Wiggin's fellow pupils at Battle School. Compelling, compulsive reading, ENDER'S SHADOW is certain to thrill all fans of the original series and attract many new readers.Look out for more information on this book and others on the Orbit website at www.orbitbooks.co.uk

Orbit

Gears Of War: Coalition's End

Karen Traviss
Authors:
Karen Traviss

When the bestselling video game Gears of War was released in late 2006, it quickly became the fastest selling original Xbox title ever, and has since gone on to sell more than five million copies, received more than fifty industry awards, and has garnered high praise from critics and fans alike. And the first novel in the series was released at the end of 2008, to coincide with the release of the second Gears of War video game.With this terrific track record to build on, this is the third tie-in novel to be based on the Gears of War franchise. The massive Gears of War fan-base will be eager to see more in this series of original novels.

Orbit

Germline

T. C. McCarthy
Authors:
T. C. McCarthy

A hundred years from now, Russia and the USA are at odds again. This time, the cold war has gone hot. Heavily armored soldiers battle genetically engineered troops hundreds of meters below the icy, mineral rich mountains of Kazakhstan.War is Oscar Wendell's ticket to greatness. A reporter for the Stars and Stripes, he has the only one way ticket to the front lines. The front smells of blood and fire and death - it smells like a Pulitzer.But Kaz changes people and the chaos of war feels a bit too much like home. Hooked on a dangerous cocktail of drugs and adrenaline, Oscar starts down a dark road that he won't be able to turn back from.

Orbit

Deep State

Walter Jon Williams
Authors:
Walter Jon Williams
Orbit

Version 43

Philip Palmer
Authors:
Philip Palmer

The odds of surviving quantum teleportation to the Exodus Universe are, more or less, fifty/fifty. The only ones crazy enough to try it are the desperate, the insane and those sentenced to death for their crimes. Belladonna is home to the survivors and, in a planet run by criminals and desperados, death is commonplace. But a particularly horrific (and improbable) killing attracts the Galactic Police force, and a cyborg cop is sent to investigate.Version 43 has been here before, and has old scores to settle. The cop was human once, but is now more programme than man. And he intends to clean up this planet, permanently, whatever the cost.

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Apocalyptic SF

Mike Ashley
Authors:
Mike Ashley
Orbit

The Eternal Prison

Jeff Somers
Authors:
Jeff Somers
Orbit

Ender In Exile

Orson Scott Card
Authors:
Orson Scott Card