Alison Bruce - The Backs - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472102133
    • Publication date:17 Apr 2014

The Backs

By Alison Bruce

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

From the author of Cambridge Blue comes the fifth crime thriller featuring DC Gary Goodhew.

A fresh start in a place you hate. Even tougher with a killer watching...

Jane Osborne left Cambridge and vowed she'd never return. An unexpected twist of fortune results in DC Goodhew bringing her back to the remnants of her old life and a confrontation with the man who killed her sister.

Meanwhile a burning car on the outskirts of Cambridge leads to the discovery of the body of its owner, Paul Marshall. There seems nothing to connect it to either a recent assault, or to Jane Osborne, until a shocking discovery rips Goodhew's investigation apart.

Biographical Notes

Alison Bruce was born in Croydon and grew up in Wiltshire. She is a fan of vintage clothes and the rockabilly music scene, and for two years wrote and presented a monthly 1950's music feature on BBC Wiltshire Sound.

Alison is married to singer/songwriter Jacen Bruce and they have two children, Lana and Dean, three cats and a changeable amount of goldfish.

Alison is a Royal Literary Fund Fellow at Anglia Ruskin University, Cambridge.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472102157
  • Publication date: 19 Sep 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: C & R Crime
Little, Brown Young Readers US

CatStronauts: Robot Rescue

Drew Brockington
Authors:
Drew Brockington

In the fourth book in the CatStronauts graphic novel series, the stalwart Cat-Stro-Bot is stranded, and the CatStronauts have to stage an off the books robot rescue! Cat-Stro-Bot has been with the CatStronauts through it all. He's saved the team as a stowaway on their mission to the moon, brought the team back from a crash on Mars, and co-piloted the crucial shuttle in the dreaded space station situation.But now Cat-Stro-Bot is stranded on Jupiter's coldest moon after a mission gone wrong--and his best friend/creator Blanket isn't about to leave him behind. When CATSUP brass declines a rescue mission request, Blanket creates robot stand-ins for the team. Soon, the rest of the CatStronauts, Major Meowser, Pom Pom and Waffles, are off on their longest journey ever with experimental new technology. The robot rescue is afoot! In this full-color graphic novel, debut author/illustrator Drew Brockington takes the CatStronauts to the brink, adding in mounds of robot glitches, wonky cover-ups, and fish jokes by the ton!

Hachette Books

The Clear Skin Diet

Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson
Authors:
Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson
Life and Style

The Freds at Barneys New York Cookbook

Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield
Authors:
Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield

Barneys New York, with its flagship store on Madison Avenue, is a world-famous cutting-edge fashion destination, and a true New York phenomenon. And since 1996, Barneys' restaurant Freds at Barneys New York--named after found Barneys Pressman's son Fred--has been offering in food what Barneys offers in fashion: a luxury destination that provides a level of personal service second to none, where the food keeps their celebrity clientele coming back for more. In THE FREDS AT BARNEYS COOKBOOK, Strausman invites you into the kitchen of this restaurant institution and teaches you how to bring a piece of Fred's into your own home. Whether its the Belgian Fries or Estelle's Chicken Soup, Mark's Madison Avenue Salad or Chicken Paillard, Traditional Bolognese (or Vegan!) or Cheese Fondue Scrambled Eggs, this cookbook commemorates all of the delicious recipes Freds has served over the years at the Madison Avenue, Chelsea, Beverly Hills, and Chicago locations.

Running Press Kids

The Battle of Junk Mountain

Lauren Abbey Greenberg
Authors:
Lauren Abbey Greenberg

For fans of Rebecca Stead and Jennifer L. Holm, this is an atmospheric summer beach read for middle school readers. Twelve-year-old Shayne Whittaker has always spent summers on the Maine coast, visiting her grandmother Bea and playing with her BFF Poppy. Both Shayne and Bea are treasure seekers, in their own ways: Bea trolls flea markets and garage sales for valuable finds, while Shayne revels in golden memories of gorging on lobster rolls, searching for sea glass, and weaving friendship bracelets with Poppy. This summer, though, everything has changed. Poppy would rather talk about boys than bracelets, and Bea's collecting mania has morphed into hoarding. Only Linc, the weird boy next door who is obsessed with the Civil War, seems to care about her. Turns out Linc's coveting a treasure of his own. What begins as the worst summer of Shayne's life becomes the most memorable as she learns when to hang on, when to let go, and how to find treasures in unexpected places.

Constable

I Did It for Us

Alison Bruce
Authors:
Alison Bruce
Sphere

The Empire Girls

Sue Wilsher
Authors:
Sue Wilsher

Sue Wilsher, author of When My Ship Comes In, makes an emotional return to 1950s EssexTilbury, 1950s. The Empire is a boarding house run by Vi, Doris's mother - the Empire Girls of the title. When Doris becomes pregnant out of marriage, she is kicked out of the house and forced to fend for herself. Desperate to look after her daughter, she takes any job going. She falls in with the Windrush immigrants and finds herself helping one to a new life in Britain.

Little, Brown

The Old Man and the Knee

Christopher Matthew
Authors:
Christopher Matthew
Constable

Cambridge Black

Alison Bruce
Authors:
Alison Bruce

A cold case waits to be solved . . . and a killer waits in the wings.Amy was seven years old when her father was arrested for murder. His subsequent trial and conviction scarred her childhood and cast a shadow over her life until, twenty-two years later, new evidence suggests he was innocent and Amy sets out to clear his name. But Amy is not the only person troubled by the past. DC Gary Goodhew is haunted by the day his grandfather was murdered and is still searching for answers, determined to uncover the truth about his grandfather's death and find his killer.But, right now, someone is about to die. Someone who has secrets and who once kept quiet but is now living on borrowed time. Someone who will be murdered because disturbing the past has woken a killer.

Little, Brown

Lightning Men

Thomas Mullen
Authors:
Thomas Mullen
Little, Brown

Travelling Light

Alastair Sawday
Authors:
Alastair Sawday
Hachette Australia

New York Nights

CJ Duggan
Authors:
CJ Duggan
Robinson

Superstition and Science, 1450-1750

Derek Wilson
Authors:
Derek Wilson
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Star Thief

Lindsey Becker
Authors:
Lindsey Becker
ATOM

Missing

Kelley Armstrong
Authors:
Kelley Armstrong
Corsair

The Return of the Witch

Paula Brackston
Authors:
Paula Brackston

After five years in the Summerlands, Gideon has gained his freedom. Elizabeth knows he will go straight for Tegan, and that she must protect the girl she had come to regard as her own daughter. In the time since she the dramatic night in Batchcombe woods, Tegan has traveled the world learning from all manner of witches, and she is no longer the awkward teenager and novice spellcaster she once was. However, her skills are no match for Gideon's dark, vengeful power, and he succeeds in capturing her. Will Elizabeth be able to find her? Will they be able to defeat their nemesis once and for all?In a breathless journey that takes them through history, witch pursues warlock. Three people steeped in magic weave a new story, but not all will survive until the end.

Virago

Peace Breaks Out

Angela Thirkell
Authors:
Angela Thirkell
Forever

Change of Heart

Nicole Jacquelyn
Authors:
Nicole Jacquelyn

Anita Martin has rubbed Abraham Evans the wrong way since she moved in with his parents as a teenager. Over ten years later, she's still abrasive, rude and undeniably attractive, which is why he's been sleeping with her for the past two years. Their arrangement is simple-sex with no strings. When Anita's life changes dramatically, she realizes she needs more from Abraham than the occasional call in the middle of the night. Abraham, however, isn't willing to make things real between them. Months later, a family tragedy nearly brings Abraham to his knees but when he realizes that the only person he wants is Anita, it may be too late for her to forgive him.

Forever

Unbreak My Heart

Nicole Jacquelyn
Authors:
Nicole Jacquelyn
Moon Travel

Moon Coastal California (5th ed)

Stuart Thornton
Authors:
Stuart Thornton
Constable

The Promise

Alison Bruce
Authors:
Alison Bruce